DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 filed on 03/03/2026 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Claims 1, and 18, 19 have been amended.
Claims 20-23 have been newly added.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/03/2026 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/03/2026, regarding the rejections of claim 6, 15, 18, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Cimetrix for claim 6, in view of Sugawara for claim 15, and in view of Okuno for claims 18 and 19.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the claims require a first period and a second period that are fixed relative to the occurrence time of the failure. According to Applicant, the first period must begin a predetermined time before the occurrence time and end at the occurrence time, and the second period must begin at the occurrence time and end a predetermined time after the occurrence time. Applicant further argues that the cited art does not teach this fixed pre-failure and post-failure time arrangement. Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As Applicant acknowledges on Page 15 of Remarks, Yoneda describes an operation in which, after acquiring the alarm notification, the monitoring controller stores alarm image data acquired for “20 seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence.” The periods disclosed by Yoneda are also predetermined. Yoneda does not disclose that the monitoring controller dynamically decides how much pre-error or post-error data should be stored. Rather, Yoneda expressly identifies the recording window as a fixed amount of time before and after the occurrence, such as 20 seconds before and 20 seconds after. Thus, the 20 seconds before the transfer error occurrence corresponds to the claimed first period and the 20 seconds after the transfer error occurrence corresponds to the claimed second period.
For at least these reasons, the rejection is still deemed proper and has been maintained.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest “the operation display structure is further configured to be capable of displaying recipe information related to a time designated from the apparatus information displayed in the chronological order.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoneda teaches displaying apparatus information in chronological order, but does not explicitly teach displaying recipe information related to a designated time. Okuno teaches displaying error information including recipe content upon the occurrence of a transfer error. See the detailed mapping below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoneda et al. (US 2020/0043763 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoneda discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store a plurality of recipes in which process conditions of a substrate are defined, apparatus information reported from within the substrate processing apparatus and failure information generated when a failure occurs in the substrate processing apparatus ([0049]: “The memory device 216 readably stores a control program for controlling the operation of the substrate processing apparatus, a process recipe in which the procedure and conditions of a substrate processing process described later are written, and the like”; [0144]: “The monitoring controller 310 holds the alarm image data acquired from each of the cameras 91 to 95 in the second memory 312b so that the alarm image data acquired for several tens of seconds in the past can be recorded at the time of occurrence of a transfer error”; [0145]: “the apparatus controller 210 alarm-notifies error information to the monitoring controller 310 (S100). The error information includes at least the name of the device in which the transfer error has occurred, an alarm ID indicating the transfer error, and the occurrence time of the transfer error”);
a process vessel in which a processing of the substrate is capable of being executed based on a recipe designated among the plurality of recipes ([0133]: “a process recipe is executed to perform a film-forming process on the wafer W”); and
a controller configured to be capable of: (i) storing failure data in the memory together with an occurrence time of the failure contained in the failure information when the failure occurs in the substrate processing apparatus ([0145]: “the apparatus controller 210 alarm-notifies error information to the monitoring controller 310 (S100). The error information includes at least the name of the device in which the transfer error has occurred, an alarm ID indicating the transfer error, and the occurrence time of the transfer error”), the failure data containing first apparatus-related information reported during a first period defined in advance ([0144]: “The monitoring controller 310 holds the alarm image data acquired from each of the cameras 91 to 95 in the second memory 312b so that the alarm image data acquired for several tens of seconds in the past can be recorded at the time of occurrence of a transfer error. Then, when a transfer error is detected by a sensor (not shown), the apparatus controller 210 is configured to acquire alarm data and stop these transfer means”) and the recipe in the memory ([0051]: “The CPU 212 is configured to read the control program from the memory device 216 and execute the control program thus read, and is configured to read the process recipe from the memory device 216 in response to the input of an operation command from the input/output device 222”),
wherein the first period starts from a time point that is a predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure and ends at the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”); and
(ii) adding second apparatus-related information reported during a second period defined in advance to the failure data ([0145]: “after acquiring the alarm notification, the monitoring controller 310 stores, in the second memory part 313b, the alarm image data of a low-compression/high-definition MJPEG format acquired for a few tens of seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence, for example, 20 seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence (S101)”)
wherein the second period starts from the occurrence time of the failure and ends at a time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”).
Regarding claim 2, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the apparatus information contains at least one selected from the group of process system information or transfer system information reported while the substrate processing apparatus is in operation ([0043-0044]: “A vacuum pump 74 as a vacuum exhaust device is connected to the exhaust pipe 68 via a pressure sensor 70 as a pressure detector (pressure detection part) for detecting the pressure in the process chamber 54 and an APC (Auto Pressure Controller) valve 72 as a pressure regulator (pressure regulation part)… The reaction tube 50 is provided with a temperature detection part 76 as a temperature detector,” where pressure and temperature information correspond to process system information; [0051]: “The CPU 212 is configured to, according to the contents of the process recipe thus read, control… the driving operation of the horizontal drive mechanism 26 based on the sensors 25B and 28A, the substrate transfer operation by the substrate transfer machine 86 with respect to the boat 58, and the like,” where driving operation and substrate transfer operation information correspond to transfer system operation).
Regarding claim 3, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the process system information contains information reported when there is a change in at least one among a temperature, a gas and a pressure ([0043-0044]: “A vacuum pump 74 as a vacuum exhaust device is connected to the exhaust pipe 68 via a pressure sensor 70 as a pressure detector (pressure detection part) for detecting the pressure in the process chamber 54 and an APC (Auto Pressure Controller) valve 72 as a pressure regulator (pressure regulation part)… The reaction tube 50 is provided with a temperature detection part 76 as a temperature detector”; [0051]: “The CPU 212 is configured to, according to the contents of the process recipe thus read, control the flow rate adjustment operation of various gases by the MFC 64a, 64b, 64c and 64d,” where a mass flow controllers (MFC) reports gas information).
Regarding claim 4, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the transfer system information contains information reported when there is a change in an operation of a structure of the substrate processing apparatus ([0051]: “The CPU 212 is configured to, according to the contents of the process recipe thus read, control… the driving operation of the horizontal drive mechanism 26 based on the sensors 25B and 28A, the substrate transfer operation by the substrate transfer machine 86 with respect to the boat 58, and the like,” where driving operation and substrate transfer operation information correspond to transfer system information; [0143]: “Sensors as detection means for detecting a transfer error generated during the transfer of the wafer W are respectively attached to the transfer means for transferring the wafer W, such as the pod transfer device 40, the substrate transfer machine 86, the boat 58, and the like”).
Regarding claim 5, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the first period and the second period are capable of being set by parameters ([0173]: “The data acquisition cycle may be changed between the first image data and the second image data. For example, the first image data may be 3 frames per second, and the second image data may be 30 seconds per second as in the embodiments”), and
wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of obtaining the first apparatus-related information and the second apparatus-related information by referring to the first period and the second period set by the parameters when the failure occurs ([0145]: “after acquiring the alarm notification, the monitoring controller 310 stores, in the second memory part 313b, the alarm image data of a low-compression/high-definition MJPEG format acquired for a few tens of seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence, for example, 20 seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence (S101)”).
Regarding claim 7, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the apparatus information stored in the memory is updated using the first apparatus-related information in a case where the first period has passed after being reported ([0145]: “after acquiring the alarm notification, the monitoring controller 310 stores, in the second memory part 313b, the alarm image data of a low-compression/high-definition MJPEG format acquired for a few tens of seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence, for example, 20 seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence (S101). In other words, the monitoring controller 310 is configured to convert the alarm image data held in the second memory 312b into a file and store (alarm-record) them in the second memory part 313b”).
Regarding claim 8, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of adding the second apparatus-related information to the failure data in a case where the second period has passed after the failure occurs ([0145]: “after acquiring the alarm notification, the monitoring controller 310 stores, in the second memory part 313b, the alarm image data of a low-compression/high-definition MJPEG format acquired for a few tens of seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence, for example, 20 seconds before and after the transfer error occurrence (S101). In other words, the monitoring controller 310 is configured to convert the alarm image data held in the second memory 312b into a file and store (alarm-record) them in the second memory part 313b”).
Regarding claim 9, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
Yoneda further discloses further comprising an operation display structure configured to be capable of displaying the failure data ([0146]: operation part PC 400),
wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of acquiring the failure data corresponding to the occurrence time of the failure, and capable of displaying the recipe, the first apparatus-related information, the second apparatus-related information and the failure information during the first period and the second period on a same screen of the operation display structure ([0146]: “the same failure occurrence screen as that of the substrate processing apparatus in which a failure has occurred is displayed on the operation part PC 400 (S102). Then, when the device (e.g., the E-CAM button 410 shown in FIG. 19 or the like) for displaying the image data recorded by the cameras 91 to 95 is selected on the operation screen, the monitoring controller 310 causes the operation part PC 400 to display an alarm information screen including image data (event image data) at the time of alarm occurrence from the alarm ID or the error information at the time of transfer error occurrence… by causing the operation screen of the operation part PC 400 to display the event image data and/or the alarm image data recorded by the cameras 91 to 95, the monitoring controller 310 can perform transfer error recording analysis such as motion image analysis, comparative motion image analysis, error information analysis or the like (S104)”).
Regarding claim 10, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the operation display structure is further configured to be capable of designating a date and time, and wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of switching a display of the failure data in accordance with the date and time designated by using the operation display structure (FIGS. 17, 20-22 and [0150]: “if a display candidate having the matched event information is not present in the event recording candidate information (if NO in step S26), the event recording information list storing the event image data of the same date as the time stamp at the time of transfer error occurrence is displayed on the left screen of the operation screen of the operation part PC 400 (step S27)”).
Regarding claim 11, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the operation display structure is further configured to be capable of switching a display of an occurrence location of the failure to be displayed ([0146]: “the same failure occurrence screen as that of the substrate processing apparatus in which a failure has occurred is displayed on the operation part PC 400 (S102)”).
Regarding claim 12, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the operation display structure is further configured to preferentially display the failure data corresponding to the occurrence time of the failure ([0146]: “the same failure occurrence screen as that of the substrate processing apparatus in which a failure has occurred is displayed on the operation part PC 400 (S102)”).
Regarding claim 13, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of identifying an occurrence location of the failure by referring to information contained in the failure information (FIG. 14 and [0118]: “the alarm ID and the camera number are defined according to the location where the transfer error has occurred”), and
wherein the operation display structure is configured to preferentially display the occurrence location of the failure ([0154]: “Depending on the display contents of the overview display part 407 and the failure information display part 409, it is possible to grasp the apparatus in which the transfer error has occurred, the location of the transfer error, the content of the transfer error, and the like”).
Regarding claim 14, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of identifying an occurrence location of the failure by referring to information contained in the failure information (FIG. 14 and [0118]: “the alarm ID and the camera number are defined according to the location where the transfer error has occurred”), and
wherein the operation display structure is configured to preferentially display information related to the occurrence location of the failure ([0154]: “Depending on the display contents of the overview display part 407 and the failure information display part 409, it is possible to grasp the apparatus in which the transfer error has occurred, the location of the transfer error, the content of the transfer error, and the like”).
Regarding claim 16, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of identifying an occurrence location of the failure by referring to information contained in the failure information (FIG. 14 and [0118]: “the alarm ID and the camera number are defined according to the location where the transfer error has occurred”), and
wherein the controller is further configured to be capable of acquiring the apparatus information during a third period related to the occurrence location of the failure and capable of displaying the apparatus information during the third period on the operation display structure in a chronological order (FIG. 20 and [0134]: “as shown in FIG. 16, an event recording information list 405 is displayed on the operation screen of the operation part PC 400. The event recording information list 405 displays event information such as event occurrence date and time, event contents and the like. Then, when the event information written in the event recording information list 405 is selected, each event is cued”).
Regarding claim 21, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
Yoneda further discloses wherein the memory is provided with an area storing the failure data ([0085]: “monitoring controller 310 includes a database 311 a as a storage part for storing a list of event image data and alarm image data, memories 312 a and 312 b as buffer parts for temporarily storing motion images of event image data and alarm image data, and memory parts 313 a and 313 b as hard disk drives for storing event image data and alarm image data, respectively”), and stores at least one of: the time point that is the predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure ([0159]: “Then, the database 311 a is searched from the playback start time stamp (time stamp of alarm occurrence time −20 seconds) of the selected alarm motion image and the target camera name, and the file of the first image data (event image data) is taken out from the first memory part 313 a”); the time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0160]: “the motion images as the event image data acquired until a transfer error occurs and the motion images as the alarm image data acquired before and after a transfer error occurs (for 20 seconds before alarm occurrence and 20 seconds after alarm generation: 40 seconds in total) can be displayed on the screen”); the first apparatus-related information; or the second apparatus-related information ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda et al. (US 2020/0043763 A1), in view of Cimetrix (Cimetrix. “SEMI E157 - Specification for Module Process.” Internet Archive, 01 Oct. 2015).
Regarding claim 6, Yoneda teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
While Yoneda teaches recording event occurrences, ([0134]: “The event recording information list 405 displays event information such as event occurrence date and time, event contents and the like”), Yoneda does not explicitly teach “wherein the memory is configured to store the recipe designated among the plurality of recipes when the processing of the substrate is executed and a start time of an execution of the processing of the substrate.”
Cimetrix further teaches wherein the memory is configured to store the recipe designated among the plurality of recipes when the processing of the substrate is executed (Page 2: “The Module Process Tracking state model captures all the recipe steps, as defined by the equipment supplier, from processing start to processing stop”) and a start time of an execution of the processing of the substrate (Page 1: “The reporting capability provides a record of start and/or end of processing, with granularity to the recipe step level”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the apparatus of Yoneda to incorporate the teachings of Cimetrix so as to include the memory being configured to store the recipe designated among the plurality of recipes when the processing of the substrate is executed and a start time of an execution of the processing of the substrate. Doing so would allow recipe data to be stored for analysis with the aim of improving quality and performance (Cimetrix, Page 1: “there was previously insufficient context data (e.g. substrate ID, job ID, recipe ID) and insufficient events to support critical equipment data collection. Furthermore, trace data collection cannot be started at the optimum time (e.g., when a certain recipe step starts). The result was fabs could not collect important event data properly... The collection of process data during recipe execution is important to today's semiconductor factories in order to optimize equipment processes, finished product quality, yield, and overall factory performance. The E157 specification enables the process data to be associated with the recipe steps. This association makes it much easier for the fabs to analyze the process data”).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda et al. (US 2020/0043763 A1), in view of Sugawara et al. (JP 6887545 B2) (Note: a machine translation is used for mapping, attached to this action).
Regarding claim 15, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9.
While Yoneda teaches using an operation display structure for recipe execution ([0133]: “Next, a process recipe is executed to perform a film-forming process on the wafer W… The operation part PC 400 may cause the operation screen of the operation part PC 400 or the like to display the image data (the motion images or the still images) acquired in the transfer events (the carrier loading step, the lid opening step, the wafer charging step and the boat loading step) which have been completed so far. This makes it possible to confirm the operation”) and displaying failure data ([0146]: “by causing the operation screen of the operation part PC 400 to display the event image data and/or the alarm image data recorded by the cameras 91 to 95, the monitoring controller 310 can perform transfer error recording analysis such as motion image analysis, comparative motion image analysis, error information analysis or the like (S104)”), Yoneda does not explicitly teach “wherein the operation display structure is provided with a recipe editing function, and is further configured to be capable of editing an item of the recipe corresponding to a portion designated by using the operation display structure while the failure data is being displayed.”
Sugawara further teaches wherein the operation display structure is provided with a recipe editing function ([0030]: “The first editing screen, Pe1, is a screen that displays a list of detailed conditions for all steps of 'RecipeA' and is configured to be editable”), and is further configured to be capable of editing an item of the recipe corresponding to a portion designated by using the operation display structure while the ([0043]: “In the example shown in Figure 6, the comparison screen PC is configured to be editable, meaning that the comparison screen PC and the editing screen Pe are configured on the same screen”; [0063-0064]: “Furthermore, although the above embodiment described an example of comparing and editing process-related information between different semiconductor manufacturing equipment 1, it is not limited to this, and for example, process-related information from different periods of the same semiconductor manufacturing equipment 1 can also be compared and edited. Furthermore, although the above embodiment described an example in which process related information is a recipe or parameters used in the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus 1, the invention is not limited to this, and process-related information may be other information related to the semiconductor process in the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus 1.” Thus, process related information may include failure data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the apparatus of Yoneda to incorporate the teachings of Sugawara so as to include the operation display structure being provided with a recipe editing function and being further configured to be capable of editing an item of the recipe corresponding to a portion designated by using the operation display structure while the failure data is being displayed. Doing so would an operator to refer to information without switching screens with the aim of improving efficiency and reducing error (Sugawara, [0005-0006]: “traditionally, when editing data based on comparison results, administrators would check the comparison results, temporarily remember the data items to be edited, manually launch the appropriate editor, and then search for and edit the data items within the editor. Therefore, the operation is complicated and may lead to errors by administrators and other personnel. Therefore, one aspect of the present invention aims to provide a semiconductor system that can reduce the burden on administrators and others when editing data and reduce operational errors”).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda et al. (US 2020/0043763 A1), in view of Okuno et al. (US 2014/0176701 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 16.
While Yoneda teaches displaying apparatus information in chronological order (FIG. 20 and [0134]: “as shown in FIG. 16, an event recording information list 405 is displayed on the operation screen of the operation part PC 400. The event recording information list 405 displays event information such as event occurrence date and time, event contents and the like. Then, when the event information written in the event recording information list 405 is selected, each event is cued”), Yoneda does not explicitly teach “wherein the operation display structure is further configured to be capable of displaying recipe information related to a time designated from the apparatus information displayed in the chronological order.”
Okuno further teaches wherein the operation display structure is further configured to be capable of displaying recipe information related to a time designated from the apparatus information displayed in the chronological order ([0160]: “if a transfer error is detected by the wafer detection sensors 124 s, the primary controller 239 causes the transfer control part 236 t to stop the transfer part and generates error information, which includes an error notification indicating the occurrence of the transfer error, time data indicating the occurrence time of the transfer error, a recipe content upon the occurrence of the transfer error, and monitoring data upon the occurrence of the transfer error.”; FIG. 12 and [0163]: “the primary controller 239 displays the error information on the operation screen installed in the primary operating device 237m or the secondary operating device 237s. In this case, the file including the image data or the numerical data in a normal state may be displayed in addition to the file, the numerical data, and the comparative data associated with the error information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the apparatus of Yoneda to incorporate the teachings of Okuno so as to include the operation display structure being further configured to be capable of displaying recipe information related to a time designated from the apparatus information displayed in the chronological order. Doing so would allow a data to be presented to an operator for analysis with the aim of making it easier to determine a cause of failure (Okuno, [0008]: “since image data concerning substrate transfer can be efficiently collected and stored for use in analyzing a transfer error by displaying image data and a substrate state upon the occurrence of the transfer error, the cause of the transfer error can be easily determined”).
Claims 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno et al. (US 2014/0176701 A1), in view of Yoneda et al. (US 2020/0043763 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Okuno teaches a substrate processing method, comprising:
(a) processing a substrate based on a recipe in which process conditions of the substrate are defined ([0055]: “the overall controller 90 is connected to each of the wafer detection sensors ST1 to ST4, SL1, SL2, and the like as the above-described detection parts, and prepares and frequently updates position information indicating a position of a wafer W in the substrate processing apparatus 10 based on the detection signals from the wafer detection sensors ST1 to ST4, SL1, SL2, and the like. The overall controller 90 also control operations of the vacuum side robot VR as the first transfer part, the atmosphere side robot AR as the second transfer part, the gate valves GP1 to GP4 and GV1 to GV4, or the like, based on data such as process processing situations of a wafer W, a wafer ID or carrier IDs for identifying the wafer W or the pods PD1 to PD3, a recipe performed on the wafer W, and the like”);
(b) storing the recipe, apparatus information reported while the substrate is being processed and failure information reported when a failure occurs ([0160]: “if a transfer error is detected by the wafer detection sensors 124s, the primary controller 239 causes the transfer control part 236t to stop the transfer part and generates error information, which includes an error notification indicating the occurrence of the transfer error, time data indicating the occurrence time of the transfer error, a recipe content upon the occurrence of the transfer error, and monitoring data upon the occurrence of the transfer error”);
(c) storing failure data containing first apparatus-related information reported before the failure during a first period defined in advance and the recipe when the failure occurs together with an occurrence time of the failure contained in the failure information ([0064]: “the image data before and after a transfer error occurs are stored in the hard disc HD”; [0069]: “when a transfer error occurs, the image data of the set accumulation time as a single part is converted into a file and the file is stored in the hard disc HD. Therefore, the image data for a predetermined time interval included in this file are image data acquired from the initial point to the end point of the accumulation time, or from the initial point of the accumulation time to a time point when a transfer error occurs and thus the accumulation is stopped”; [0160]: “if a transfer error is detected by the wafer detection sensors 124s, the primary controller 239 causes the transfer control part 236t to stop the transfer part and generates error information, which includes an error notification indicating the occurrence of the transfer error, time data indicating the occurrence time of the transfer error, a recipe content upon the occurrence of the transfer error, and monitoring data upon the occurrence of the transfer error”); and
(d) adding second apparatus-related information reported after the failure during a second period defined in advance to the failure data ([0064]: “the image data before and after a transfer error occurs are stored in the hard disc HD”; [0069]: “when a transfer error occurs, the image data of the set accumulation time as a single part is converted into a file and the file is stored in the hard disc HD. Therefore, the image data for a predetermined time interval included in this file are image data acquired from the initial point to the end point of the accumulation time, or from the initial point of the accumulation time to a time point when a transfer error occurs and thus the accumulation is stopped”).
While Okuno teaches recording image data for a predetermined time interval, Okuno does not explicitly teach “wherein the first period starts from a time point that is a predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure and ends at the occurrence time of the failure; and wherein the second period starts from the occurrence time of the failure and ends at a time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure.”
Yoneda further teaches wherein the first period starts from a time point that is a predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure and ends at the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”); and wherein the second period starts from the occurrence time of the failure and ends at a time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the method of Okuno to incorporate the teachings of Yoneda so as to include the first period starting from a time point that is a predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure and ending at the occurrence time of the failure and the second period starting from the occurrence time of the failure and ending at a time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure. Doing so would allow a fixed amount of failure data to be recorded with the aim of improving efficiency and reducing errors (Yoneda, [0004-0005]: “even if it is known that the transfer error has occurred, it is difficult to immediately know the detailed state of the substrate such as position shift, dropping, damage or the like and the cause of the state… when visual image data obtained in an operation is continuously stored, it is required to select appropriate image data from a huge amount of image data at the time of occurrence of a transfer error to be displayed. Thus, time required for analysis is wasted”).
Regarding claim 19, Okuno teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer ([0213]: “a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program causing a computer…”), to perform:
(a) processing a substrate based on a recipe in which process conditions of the substrate are defined ([0055]: “the overall controller 90 is connected to each of the wafer detection sensors ST1 to ST4, SL1, SL2, and the like as the above-described detection parts, and prepares and frequently updates position information indicating a position of a wafer W in the substrate processing apparatus 10 based on the detection signals from the wafer detection sensors ST1 to ST4, SL1, SL2, and the like. The overall controller 90 also control operations of the vacuum side robot VR as the first transfer part, the atmosphere side robot AR as the second transfer part, the gate valves GP1 to GP4 and GV1 to GV4, or the like, based on data such as process processing situations of a wafer W, a wafer ID or carrier IDs for identifying the wafer W or the pods PD1 to PD3, a recipe performed on the wafer W, and the like”);
(b) storing the recipe, apparatus information reported while the substrate is being processed and failure information reported when a failure occurs ([0160]: “if a transfer error is detected by the wafer detection sensors 124s, the primary controller 239 causes the transfer control part 236t to stop the transfer part and generates error information, which includes an error notification indicating the occurrence of the transfer error, time data indicating the occurrence time of the transfer error, a recipe content upon the occurrence of the transfer error, and monitoring data upon the occurrence of the transfer error”);
(c) storing failure data containing first apparatus-related information reported before the failure during a first period defined in advance and the recipe when the failure occurs together with an occurrence time of the failure contained in the failure information ([0064]: “the image data before and after a transfer error occurs are stored in the hard disc HD”; [0069]: “when a transfer error occurs, the image data of the set accumulation time as a single part is converted into a file and the file is stored in the hard disc HD. Therefore, the image data for a predetermined time interval included in this file are image data acquired from the initial point to the end point of the accumulation time, or from the initial point of the accumulation time to a time point when a transfer error occurs and thus the accumulation is stopped”; [0160]: “if a transfer error is detected by the wafer detection sensors 124s, the primary controller 239 causes the transfer control part 236t to stop the transfer part and generates error information, which includes an error notification indicating the occurrence of the transfer error, time data indicating the occurrence time of the transfer error, a recipe content upon the occurrence of the transfer error, and monitoring data upon the occurrence of the transfer error”); and
(d) adding second apparatus-related information reported after the failure during a second period defined in advance to the failure data ([0064]: “the image data before and after a transfer error occurs are stored in the hard disc HD”; [0069]: “when a transfer error occurs, the image data of the set accumulation time as a single part is converted into a file and the file is stored in the hard disc HD. Therefore, the image data for a predetermined time interval included in this file are image data acquired from the initial point to the end point of the accumulation time, or from the initial point of the accumulation time to a time point when a transfer error occurs and thus the accumulation is stopped”).
While Okuno teaches recording image data for a predetermined time interval, Okuno does not explicitly teach “wherein the first period starts from a time point that is a predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure and ends at the occurrence time of the failure; and wherein the second period starts from the occurrence time of the failure and ends at a time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure.”
Yoneda further teaches wherein the first period starts from a time point that is a predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure and ends at the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”); and wherein the second period starts from the occurrence time of the failure and ends at a time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”).
The reasons to combine Yoneda into Okuno are the same as articulated in Claim 18 above.
Regarding claim 20, Okuno in view of Yoneda teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising processes as described in claim 18 (see claim 18 rejection above).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda et al. (US 2020/0043763 A1), in view of Speir et al. (US 20130124997 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 10.
Yoneda teaches indicating a time period from the time point that is the predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure to the time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”).
While Yoneda teaches playing back video from the time point that is the predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure to the time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0154]: “it is possible to rewind the recorded image on the operation screen shown in FIG. 20, play back the recorded image by a playback button, and perform frame-by-frame playback by a frame-by-frame playback button”), Yoneda does not explicitly teach “wherein the screen of the operation display structure is provided with a slider bar” and “the operation display structure is configured to be capable of shifting a display time of the failure information by using the slider bar.”
Spier further teaches wherein the screen of the operation display structure is provided with a slider bar indicating a time period ([0010]: “Within GUI 100, timeline 102 chronologically represents a range of available and unavailable video near a time of interest indicated by selection indicator 104”)
the operation display structure is configured to be capable of shifting a display time of the failure information by using the slider bar ([0003]: “The selection indicator is movable on the timeline by user input via the input device, and designates a time of interest”; [0021]: “As described above with respect to FIG. 2, GUI 100 allows users to change the time of interest indicated by selection indicator 104 by mouse clicking, dragging, or otherwise providing input via input device 22”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the apparatus of Yoneda to incorporate the teachings of Spier so as to include a slider bar. As set forth in MPEP § 2143, by combining the known technique of a timeline with selection indicator as taught by Spier with the apparatus of Yoneda, one of ordinary skill would expect to achieve the predictable result of an operation display structure being capable of shifting a display time of failure information by using a slider bar.
Regarding claim 23, Yoneda discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 10.
Yoneda teaches indicating a time period from the time point that is the predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure to the time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0087]: “an alarm notification indicative of occurrence of a transfer error by a transfer means, such as position shift, drop, damage, transfer remaining, or the like, which occurs at the time of transferring the wafer W, the data for several tens of seconds, for example, 20 seconds before and after the occurrence of the transfer error in a predetermined range before and after the transfer error occurrence of the alarm image data stored in the second memory 312 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95 is converted into a file and stored in the second memory part 313 b installed in each of the cameras 91 to 95”).
While Yoneda teaches playing back video from the time point that is the predetermined time before the occurrence time of the failure to the time point that is the predetermined time after the occurrence time of the failure ([0154]: “it is possible to rewind the recorded image on the operation screen shown in FIG. 20, play back the recorded image by a playback button, and perform frame-by-frame playback by a frame-by-frame playback button”), Yoneda does not explicitly teach “wherein the screen of the operation display structure is provided with a slider bar” and “the operation display structure is configured to be capable of shifting a display time of the failure information by using the slider bar.”
Spier further teaches wherein the screen of the operation display structure is provided with a slider bar indicating a time period ([0010]: “Within GUI 100, timeline 102 chronologically represents a range of available and unavailable video near a time of interest indicated by selection indicator 104”)
the operation display structure is configured to be capable of shifting a display time of the failure information in accordance with the time designated by using the operation display structure ([0003]: “The selection indicator is movable on the timeline by user input via the input device, and designates a time of interest”; [0021]: “As described above with respect to FIG. 2, GUI 100 allows users to change the time of interest indicated by selection indicator 104 by mouse clicking, dragging, or otherwise providing input via input device 22”).
The reasons to combine Yoneda into Spier are the same as articulated in Claim 22 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117