Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hayasaki (US 2005/0282034).
Regarding claim 1, Hayasaki teaches a method of forming a plasma-resistant coating film, the method comprising:
(a) forming a lower coating layer (5) on a target object (4) by depositing a first rare-earth metal compound powder through a physical vapor deposition (PVD) process [0060][0101], fig. 3b;
(b) transferring a second rare-earth metal compound powder [0087];
and (c) forming an upper coating layer (6) by spraying (thermal spraying) the transferred second rare-earth metal compound powder onto the lower coating layer (5) formed in the (a) forming (Fig. 3b, [0099-0101],
wherein each of the first rare-earth metal compound powder (Y203, [0060]) and the second rare-earth metal compound powder (Y2O3, [0087]) is selected from the group consisting of yttria (Y203),
wherein the first rare-earth metal compound powder has the same components as the second rare- earth metal compound powder (Y203; [0087],[0060]) and
Hayasaki teaches the upper coating layer (corrosion resistant film 6) is thermally sprayed onto the lower coating layer (PVD Corrosion resistant film 5). Hayasaki describes the thermal spraying method as a material …, that is melted by means of a heat source such as plasma, is sprayed from a nozzle in the form of fine particles and is caused to deposit and solidify on the surface of a base material made of ceramics or a metal, so as to form the corrosion resistant coating or the corrosion resistant layer. [0007] Upon solidification of the sprayed material energy is released as heat and absorbed the lower layer. Additionally the energy of the impact from the sprayed material hitting the lower coating layer is absorbed by the lower layer Therefore Hayasaki teaches the lower coating layer (5, fig. 3b) receives energy applied to the target object from the second rare-earth metal compound during formation of the upper coating layer (thermally sprayed corrosion resistant film 6).
Regarding claim 2, Hayasaki teaches the physical vapor deposition (PVD) process is one selected from among thermal deposition, electron beam evaporation, and sputtering (Fig. 4, [0056], [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Hayasaki teaches the lower coating layer has a thickness of 100 microns or less at [0049] and gives a specific example thickness of 10 microns at [0121]. Therefore Hayasaki provides a teaching of sufficient specificity that anticipates the range of 0.1 to 10 um ([0049],[0121]). See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 4, Hayasaki teaches the second rare-earth metal compound powder has a median diameter (D50) in a range of 0.1 to 10 m [0087].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayasaki as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Hayasaki teaches the upper coating layer has a thickness of 500 microns or less [0093]. Therefore the prior art provides a range that overlaps Applicant’s range of 1 to 30 m, as such a prima facie case for obviousness has been made. See MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the function and purpose of the underlying layer of the Hayasaki and the claimed invention are different.
The examiner does not agree because the purpose of Hayasaki and Applicant’s invention are to prevent/resist corrosion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOHN J. BRAYTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/JOHN J BRAYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794