DETAILED ACTION Status of Claims Claims 1-15 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 -3 , 5-6, 8 -11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikegaya (US 5,804,043). Regarding claim 1, Ikegaya discloses a surface treatment plating device for treating cylinder blocks (abstract, Col. 2 lines 62-66) (= an electroplating apparatus for surface modification of pipes; cylinder blocks read on the claimed pipes given their hollow cylindrical shape) comprising: A plating tank (33) with enclosures accommodating electrode (51) in fluid chamber (62) (Col. 5 lines 37-45) (= a housing comprising an inner space accommodating an electrode), plating fluid (Col. 4 line 33) (= a plating solution ), work block cylinder (W1) (Col. 3 lines 12-23) (= and a pipe therein), p l ating fluid delivery conduits and manifold (45) (Col. 5 lines 27-30) (= and a plating solution inlet disposed on a lower surface of the housing and allowing the plating solution to be injected therethrough); Cylinder block fixtures (59) (Col. 5 lines 46-56) (= a plating auxiliary part disposed inside the housing, vertically fixing the pipe inserted into the housing, and guiding the plating solution injected into the housing to flow toward an upper portion of the housing); A bottom lower base plate (58) (Col. 5 lines 46-56) (= an auxiliary support part disposed inside the housing, spacing the plating auxiliary part and the plating solution inlet ap ar t from each other by a predetermined distance, and guiding the plating solution introduced through the plating solution inlet to flow in a direction, where the plating auxiliary part is disposed). Along with the electrode structure, the plating fluid flows into the openings (45) and through the electrode and block fixture structures towards an upper portion of the housing. The bottom lower based plate (58) is positioned such that it spaces the block fixture and inlet (45) apart by a distance. Plating fluid is also driven through the bottom lower base plate. Figure 3 of US 5,804,043. Regarding claim 2, Ikegaya discloses passages (44, reads on the claimed inlet) and conduits (45, read on the claimed supply pipe) (Figure 3). Regarding claim 3, Ikegaya discloses the enclosure is open to the cover area (e.g. openings positioned with posts (64) (Figure 3 , Col. 5 lines 57-64) . Ikegaya discloses fluid outlets (41) (Col. 6 lines 10-14). Regarding claim 5, Ikegaya discloses cylinder block fixtures with an upper surface supporting the cylinder block and an opening whereby the fluid flows (Figure 3, Col. 5 lines 46-56). The block fixture of Ikegaya is a plate. A fixing portion is the area that the cylinder block is positioned and supported on the block. A portion is not particularly structurally limiting. Alternatively, the plate (48) of Ikegaya also reads on the claimed plating auxiliary part (interpreted broadly to include multiple plates since the claimed ‘part’ is not particularly structurally limiting) which is a support plate for the electrodes (51) having a surface by which the block is positioned through . Regarding claim 6, the block (59) is parallel to the lower surface of the housing (Figure 3). Regarding claim 8, the block (59) of Ikegaya includes a plating fluid opening disposed on the upper surface of the plate at a position w ith the cylindrical block (Figure 3). Regarding claim 9, Ikegaya discloses wherein the block (59) comprises an electrode fixing portion disposed at a center of the upper surface of the plate and fixing the electrode inserted into the housing (Figure 3). The instant claim does not appear to require fastening to the electrode. Alternatively, the plate (48) supports and the electrode is fixed thereon. Regarding claim 10, Ikegaya discloses wherein the electrode (51) has an outer surface spaced ap art from an inner surface of the block cylinder (W1) by a predetermined distance (Figure 3). Regarding claim 11, Ikegaya discloses wherein the bottom lower base plate (58) has an open upper portion so that the cylinder block mounting plate (59) is inserted therein, and a protruding step disposed therein to support the plate (59) so that the inserted plate does not contact with the lower surface of the housing (Figure 3). Regarding claim 15, Ikegaya discloses supporting plates having multiple inlets (45) some of which are positioned on the outside electrode and cylinder block area (see middle bottom portion, Figure 3). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikegaya (US 5,804,043). Regarding claim 4, Ikegaya includes outlet piping (39, 41, etc. Figure 3). Ikegaya discloses the use of control valves for the inlets (Col. 4 lines 56-67). Ikegaya does not explicitly disclose the use of valves for the outlet, however, the use of valves for the outlet would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to control the flow of fluid as it is discharged from the device . Regarding claim 12, Ikegaya discloses fixtures (63 = cover) that are supported on the cylindrical work (Col. 5 lines 57-63). Ikegaya does not disclose wherein the cover prevents the plating solution passing through the inner plating solution passage hole from flowing between an outer surface of the pipe and an inner surface of the auxiliary support, however, such modification to the apparatus of Ikegaya would have been an obvious engineering design choice in order to control the flow of plating fluid. Regarding claim 13, the fixture of Ikegaya includes a hollow area for passage of the plating fluid (Figure 3). Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikegaya (US 5,804,043) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 115627506). Regarding claim 7, Ikegaya fails to disclose wherein the pip e fixing portion protrudes upward from the upper surface of the support plate in a ring shape having an inner diameter corresponding to an outer diameter of the pipe so that the pipe is inserted therein. Zhao discloses an electroplating device comprising an aluminum pipe (1) supported by a seat (3 = protruding upward portion) supported on a base (510) for supporting the pipe (1). Zhao discloses that the arrangement provides a sealing seat for electroplating ( Pa g e 7 3 rd full paragraph, Figure 2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a protruding upward portion because Zhao discloses that a plate shape support may be provided with an upward protruding seal. The shaping of Zhao appears to by cylindrical (e.g. ring shaped). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Ikegaya with a sealing seat for providing both support and seal capabilities. Figure 2 of CN 115627506. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikegaya (US 5,804,043) in view of Kondo (JPS63206496, also published as JPH0816278). Regarding claim 14, Ikegaya is silent in regards to the power connections therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily look to the related art and arrive at a reference such as Kondo. Kondo discloses a high-speed plating apparatus for cylinders including negative terminal (23) and positive terminal (19) that are connected with the electrodes for supplying the necessary power for electroplating. Kondo discloses that the cable or terminal can be supplied through a cover flange (21a) in order to reach the electrode (page 4 lines 13-19). Figure 1 of JP S63206496. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a cable passage hole disposed on a cover because Kondo discloses that an electrical terminal may be supplied through an opening in a flange to provide power. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5,527,445 – flow passages Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT STEFANIE S WITTENBERG whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7594 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 7:00 am -4:00 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Luan Van can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-8521 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Stefanie S Wittenberg/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795