DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on May 15th, 2026. Claims 1-44 are pending, with claims 1-25, 27, 36-42, and 44 being directed to the elected invention.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 43 now recites a controller configured to control whether a respective shim electrode is in electrical communication with a shim voltage source. Since the shim electrode and shim voltage source are parts of non-elected invention III, the claim now stands as non-elected. Claim 40, from which is depends, is now a linking claim linking elected invention I and non-elected invention III.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 6 now recites “the two or more switchable control voltage sources and the one or more broadcast control voltage source are configured to generate respective voltage signals that, when applied to respective electrodes of the respective pluralities of electrodes, causes each trapping region to perform a respective one of a first action or a second action in parallel, wherein whether a particular trapping region performs the first action or the second action is dependent on whether the first switchable control electrode of the particular trapping region is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source or with the second switchable control voltage source.”
The voltage sources are not part of the apparatus, the apparatus comprises a plurality of control electrodes and connectors (including switches and “fixed” connectors) that give the electrodes the capacity to be connected to voltage sources, but does not include the voltage sources themselves. It is noted that the sole difference between claims 1 and 14 is that claim 14 includes the voltage sources, hence if examiner where to interpret the apparatus claims to include the voltage sources themselves claims 14-23 would be objected to as claiming identical subject matter to claims 1-13. In order to avoid such a scenario, and because it comports with standard claim interpretation practice, examiner must interpret the claims based on how they limit the electrodes and connectors only. Hence, the entirety of the above recited limitation to the signals generated by the voltage sources is non-limiting, since the electrodes and switches/connectors are the same regardless of the signals generated by voltage sources connected during intended use.
For the same reasons, the following limitation in claim 13 is also non-limiting “the two or more switchable control voltage sources are configured to provide a plurality of control voltage signals and the plurality of control voltage signals are partitioned into two subsets of voltage signals, the two subsets of voltage signals consisting of a left partition and a right partition, … the voltage signals of the left partition configured to cause one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the left partition on”.
Claim Interpretation Under 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses purely functional language. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “switch signal generators” in claims 20-22, and “switch signal generators each configured to generate a respective switch signal” in claims 25 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a plurality of electrode sequences each comprising … one or more switches,” clearly indicating that “each” electrode sequence comprises a separate set of “one or more switches”. However, the same claim recites “wherein each electrode sequence … is associated with a respective switch of the one or more switches” clearly indicating that there is only one set of “one or more switches” for all the electrode sequences and a “respective” switch from that set is separately “associated” with “each” electrode sequence. These limitations are mutually exclusive and cannot be resolved.
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-12 recite “a plurality of electrode sequences each comprising a respective plurality of electrodes and a plurality of switches”, clearly indicating that “each” sequence includes a “plurality” of switches. However, the same claims recite “wherein each electrode sequence is associated with a respective switch of the plurality of switches”, clearly indicating that “each” electrode sequence is associated with only one “respective” switch of the plurality of switches. These limitations are mutually exclusive and cannot be resolved. Examiner will assume applicant intends to claim a single switch for each electrode sequence, because claims 9-12 only make sense under that interpretation. It is suggested applicant amend the claim to remove the limitation requiring that each electrode sequence comprises “a plurality of switches”.
Claim 16 recites voltages source “configured to generate respective voltage signals that, when applied to respective electrodes of the respective pluralities of electrodes, causes each trapping region to perform a respective one of a first action or a second action in parallel”. It is unclear what signals the voltage sources must be configured to generate, since neither the form of the signals or the actions they are designed to cause are claimed. It is therefore unknown how the voltage sources must be configured to generate these signals. The claim has not been evaluated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-22, 24-25, 27, 36-42, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0325698 (Furtner).
Regarding claim 1, Furtner discloses a quantum confinement apparatus comprising:
an electrode sequence configured to control an electric potential along a one-dimensional trapping region of the quantum object confinement apparatus, the electrode sequence comprising a plurality of control electrodes (“In some embodiments, a set of electrodes or a portion of an ion shuttling system may have electrodes in a single dimension, along a single movement path, or the like.” P 42) wherein:
the plurality of control electrodes comprises one or more switchable control electrodes, each switchable control electrode of the plurality of control electrodes is configured to be dynamically selectively placed into electrical communication with selected switchable control voltage of two or more switchable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44), and
the plurality of control electrodes comprises one or more broadcast control electrodes (multiple figures, elements 414), each broadcast control electrode of the one or more broadcast control electrodes is in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of one or more broadcast control voltage sources (“Similarly, another DAC 354 may provide a keeping voltage VK 358 used to set a voltage in multiple electrodes, reducing the number of needed DACs 354.” P 39).
Furtner does not disclose that the broadcast control electrodes are in fixed electrical communication, using multiplexed electrical communication instead. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the quantum object confinement apparatus of Furtner to use fixed electrical communication for any electrodes that do not require the ability to be switched, since fixed connections are easily to form and maintain.
Regarding claim 2, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more switchable control electrodes comprises a first switchable control electrode and a second switchable control electrode, and the first switchable control electrode and the second switchable control electrode are each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective one of a first switchable control voltage source and a second switchable control voltage source of the two or more switchable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources), wherein:
when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source, the second switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, and when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source (intended use, the multiplexer allows the control electrodes to be connected to the voltage sources in any combination desired).
Regarding claim 3, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a switch associated with the electrode sequence and the switch is configured to control switching of the electrical communication of the first switchable control electrode and the second switchable control electrode to respective ones of the two or more switchable voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 4, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of electrode sequences each comprising a respective plurality of control electrodes and one or more switches (“In some embodiments, the method further includes identifying, as second shuttling electrode elements of the shuttling electrode group, second electrode elements of the plurality of electrode elements, where the second shuttling electrode elements are located at a second location along a second shuttling lane” P 7), wherein each electrode sequence of the one or more electrode sequences is associated with a respective switch of the one or more switches and the respective switch is configured to control switching of the electrical communication of the one or more switchable control electrodes of the respective plurality of electrodes with the respective selected switchable control voltage sources of the two or more switchable voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 5, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of electrode sequences each comprising a respective plurality of control electrodes comprising a respective one or more switchable control electrodes and a respective one or more broadcast electrodes (fig. 2 shows a plurality of electrode sequences), wherein the plurality of electrode sequences define a periodic array or quasi-periodic array of trapping regions (multiple figures how such arrays of trapping regions).
Regarding claim 6, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 2, wherein the electrode sequence is one of a plurality of electrode sequences each comprising a respective plurality of electrodes comprising one or more switchable control electrodes and one or more broadcast control electrodes (fig. 2 shows a plurality of electrode sequences) and the two or more switchable control voltage sources and the one or more broadcast control voltage source are configured to generate respective voltage signals that, when applied to respective electrodes of the respective pluralities of electrodes, causes each trapping region to perform a respective one of a first action or a second action in parallel, wherein whether a particular trapping region performs the first action or the second action is dependent on whether the first switchable control electrode of the particular trapping region is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source or with the second switchable control voltage source (non-limiting, the voltages are not part of the quantum confinement apparatus so how they are configured is of no relevance to the claimed quantum confinement apparatus).
Regarding claim 7, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 5, wherein a number of the broadcast control voltage sources scales with a number of broadcast control electrodes in the respective plurality of control electrodes (“Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.” P 44) and does not scale with a number of electrode sequences (“Each DAC 354 may be set with a keeping voltage or shuttling voltage, so that, for example, an entire row, column, segment of columns or rows may be set. Setting a single row, column, row segment or column segment of the electrodes permits a limited number of DACs 354 to be used, as the DACs 354 may be reused to set another group of electrodes.” P 37).
Regarding claim 8, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of electrode sequences each comprising a respective plurality of electrodes and a plurality of switches (fig. 2 shows a plurality of electrode sequences), wherein each electrode sequence is associated with a respective switch of the plurality of switches and the respective switch is configured to control switching among two or more switch positions, each respective switch position of the two or more switch positions configured to cause the first switchable control electrode to be in electrical communication with a selected one of two or more selectable control voltage sources and to cause the second switchable control electrode to be in electrical communication with a different one of the two or more selectable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 9, Furtner discloses the claimed apparatus except the switch is not a double-pole double-throw switch. Double-pole, double throw switches are well-known in the art, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art make portions of the multiplexer of Furtner 2-to-1 (double-pole, double throw) in order to better coordinate the switching for different electrodes.
Regarding claim 10, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 8, wherein the respective switch is configured to be controlled by a respective switch signal (“The voltage control circuit selectively provides at least one voltage to one or more electrode elements of the first electrode elements and of the second electrode elements according to signaling from the electrode control circuit,” abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 10, wherein the respective switch signal is a digital signal (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69).
Regarding claim 12, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 8, wherein each electrode sequence of the plurality of electrode sequences is coupled to one switch of the plurality of switches and each switch of the plurality of switches is controlled independently (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44).
Regarding claim 13, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the respective trapping region of the one or more trapping regions is a cyclic path trapping region (fig. 2, multiple cyclic paths possible with the electrodes as shown),
the two or more switchable control voltage sources are configured to provide a plurality of control voltage signals and the plurality of control voltage signals are partitioned into two subsets of voltage signals, the two subsets of voltage signals consisting of a left partition and a right partition (non-limiting, the control voltage sources are not part of the apparatus so how they are configured is not relevant to the claimed quantum confinement apparatus), and
(a) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source, each switchable control electrode of the plurality of control electrodes is configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the left partition, the voltage signals of the left partition configured to cause one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the left partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a first direction and (b) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, each switchable control electrode of the plurality of control electrodes is configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the right partition, the voltage signals of the right partition configured to cause the one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the right partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a second direction that is opposite the first direction (intended use, see also fig. 5A-C which shows movement via moving potential wells, the direction could be changed by selecting different voltage differentials, the same principle clearly applies to any cyclic path chosen, and could take the form of the movement shown in fig. 6A-D at four corners to form a cyclic path).
Regarding claim 14, Furtner et al. discloses a system comprising:
two or more switchable control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective switchable control voltage signal (“The electrode control 330 may have a multiplexer register 332 that provides a control signal that selects one or more DACs 354 used to provide one or more voltages to selected electrode elements 362.” P 39);
one or more broadcast voltage sources each configured to generate a respective broadcast control signal (“Similarly, another DAC 354 may provide a keeping voltage VK 358 used to set a voltage in multiple electrodes, reducing the number of needed DACs 354.” P 39);
a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising one or more electrode sequences (fig. 2, elements 210, also 204 and 206), each electrode sequence of the one or more electrode sequences comprising a respective plurality of control electrodes configured to control the electric potential in a respective trapping region of one or more trapping regions of the quantum object confinement apparatus (fig. 1, ion trap areas), wherein the respective plurality of control electrodes comprises:
one or more switchable control electrodes each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective selected switchable control voltage source of the two or more switchable control voltage sources such that a respective selected switchable control voltage signal of two or more switchable control voltage signals is applied thereto sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44); and
one or more broadcast control electrodes are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of the one or more broadcast control voltage sources such that a respective broadcast control voltage signal is applied thereto (multiple figures, element 414);
a controller configured to control operation of each of the two or more switchable control voltage sources, and with which of the two or more switchable control voltage sources the set of one or more switchable control electrodes are respectively in electrical communication (multiple figures, element X02).
Furtner does not disclose that the broadcast control electrodes are in fixed electrical communication, using multiplexed electrical communication instead. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the quantum object confinement apparatus of Furtner to use fixed electrical communication for any electrodes that do not require the ability to be switched, since fixed connections are easily to form and maintain.
Regarding claim 15, Furtner discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the one or more switchable control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes comprises a first switchable control electrode and a second switchable control electrode and the two or more switchable control voltage sources comprise a first switchable control voltage source and a second switchable control voltage source (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44), wherein:
when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source, the second switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source (intended use, the multiplexer allows the control electrodes to be connected to the voltage sources in any combination desired), and
when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, the second switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source (intended use, the multiplexer allows the control electrodes to be connected to the voltage sources in any combination desired).
Regarding claim 17, Furtner discloses the system of claim 14, wherein a number of the broadcast control voltage sources is proportional to a number of broadcast control electrodes in the respective plurality of control electrodes and is not proportional to a number of electrode sequences (“Each DAC 354 may be set with a keeping voltage or shuttling voltage, so that, for example, an entire row, column, segment of columns or rows may be set. Setting a single row, column, row segment or column segment of the electrodes permits a limited number of DACs 354 to be used, as the DACs 354 may be reused to set another group of electrodes.” P 37).
Regarding claim 18, Furtner discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the quantum object confinement apparatus further comprises one or more switches, wherein each electrode sequence is associated with a respective switch of the one or more switches and the respective switch is configured to control switching among two or more switch positions, each respective switch position of the two or more switch positions configured to cause a first switchable control electrode of the electrode sequence to be in electrical communication with a selected set of one of two or more selectable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 19, Furtner discloses the claimed system except the switch is not a double-pole double-throw switch. Double-pole, double throw switches are well-known in the art, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art make portions of the multiplexer of Furtner 2-to-1 (double-pole, double throw) in order to better coordinate the switching for different electrodes.
Regarding claim 20, Furtner discloses the system of claim 18, further comprising one or more switch signal generators (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69), wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the one or more switch signal generators and the respective switch is configured to be controlled by a respective switch signal generated by a respective switch signal generator of the one or more switch signal generators (“The voltage control circuit selectively provides at least one voltage to one or more electrode elements of the first electrode elements and of the second electrode elements according to signaling from the electrode control circuit,” abstract).
Regarding claim 21, Furtner discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the respective switch signal is a digital signal (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69).
Regarding claim 22, Furtner discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the one or more electrode sequences comprises a plurality of electrode sequences (fig. 2 shows a plurality of electrode sequences), the one or more switches comprises a plurality of switches, the one or more switch signal generators comprises a plurality of switch signal generators, and the controller is configured control operation of each switch signal generator of the plurality of switch signal generators independently (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44).
Regarding claim 24, Furtner discloses a system comprising:
two or more switchable control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective switchable control voltage signal (“The electrode control 330 may have a multiplexer register 332 that provides a control signal that selects one or more DACs 354 used to provide one or more voltages to selected electrode elements 362.” P 39);
a plurality of broadcast control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective broadcast control voltage signal (“A neutral region voltage VB may be applied to one or more target electrodes 412, and the target electrodes 412 may be located between keeping electrodes 414 that have a keeping voltage VA applied.” P 46);
a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising a plurality of electrode sequences (fig. 2, elements 210, also 204 and 206), each electrode sequence comprising a respective plurality of control electrodes configured to control the electric potential in a respective trapping region of a plurality of trapping regions of the quantum object confinement apparatus (fig. 1, ion trap areas), wherein:
one or more switchable control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective set of selected switchable control voltage sources of two or more sets of switchable control voltage sources such that a respective set of selected switchable control voltage signals of two or more switchable control voltage signals is applied thereto, and
a plurality of broadcast control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes are each in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources such that the respective broadcast control voltage source is in electrical communication with respective broadcast control electrodes of at least two electrode sequences (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44); and
a controller configured to control operation of each of the two or more switchable control voltage sources, and with which of the two or more sets of switchable control voltage sources the one or more switchable control electrodes are respectively in electrical communication (multiple figures, element X02).
Furtner does not disclose that the broadcast control electrodes are in fixed electrical communication, using multiplexed electrical communication instead. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the quantum object confinement apparatus of Furtner to use fixed electrical communication for any electrodes that do not require the ability to be switched, since fixed connections are easily to form and maintain.
Regarding claim 25, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 24, further comprising a plurality of switch signal generators each configured to generate a respective switch signal (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69), and wherein:
the quantum object confinement apparatus further comprises a plurality of switches (multiplexer),
each electrode sequence is associated with a respective switch of the plurality of switches (“The electrode control 330 may have a multiplexer register 332 that provides a control signal that selects one or more DACs 354 used to provide one or more voltages to selected electrode elements 362.” P 39),
the respective switch is configured to control switching among two or more switch positions, each respective switch position of the two or more switch positions configured to cause the one or more switchable control electrodes to be in electrical communication with a selected set of the two or more sets of switchable control voltage sources (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44),
the respective switch is configured to be controlled by a respective switch signal generated by a respective switch signal generator of the plurality of switch signal generators (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44), and
the controller is configured to individually control operation of each of the plurality of switch signal generators (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44).
Regarding claim 27, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 25, wherein the controller is configured to control operation of each switchable control voltage source of the two or more sets of switchable control voltage sources, the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources, and the plurality of switch signal generators such that a respective quantum object confined in the respective trapping region moves along the respective trapping region in (a) a first direction when the respective switch is in the first position (fig. 6A-C) and (b) a second direction when the respective switch is in the second position (fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 36, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the plurality of trapping regions forms a periodic array or quasi-periodic array of trapping regions (multiple figures).
Regarding claim 37, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources comprise a first set of broadcast control voltage sources and a second set of broadcast control voltage sources (“The DACs may include a plurality of keeping voltage DACs 372” P 43) and the plurality of broadcast control electrodes of a first electrode sequence are in electrical communication with respective broadcast control voltage sources of the first set of voltage sources and the plurality of broadcast control electrodes of a second electrode sequence are in electrical communication with respective broadcast control voltages of the second set of broadcast voltage sources (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44) so as to reduce cross-talk between the first sequence of electrodes and the second sequence of electrodes (appears to be an intended result, and therefore non-limiting, regardless, if the structures are identical any properties are considered to be present unless evidence shows otherwise).
Regarding claim 38, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the plurality of broadcast control electrodes of a given electrode sequence are placed into electrical communication with the respective broadcast control voltage sources of the first set of broadcast sources or the second set of broadcast sources based on at least one of (a) a switch position of the respective switch of the given electrode sequence or (b) the switch position of the respective switch of a neighboring electrode sequence (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44).
Regarding claim 39, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 37, wherein a trapping region of the first electrode sequence and a trapping region of the second electrode sequence are joined to one another via a junction (fig. 2 & 6A-D, element 214).
Regarding claim 40, Furtner et al. discloses a controller configured to control operation of a quantum system (multiple figures, element X02),
wherein the quantum system comprises two or more first switchable control voltage sources, a plurality of broadcast control voltage sources, and a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising a plurality of electrode sequences that each define a respective trapping region, each electrode sequence of the plurality of electrode sequences comprising a first switchable control electrode configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources, and a plurality of broadcast control electrodes each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources (not part of the claimed controller, only limiting in how to effects the controller which is addressed below), and
the controller is configured to control operation of each of the two or more switchable control voltage sources, and the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources such that respective quantum objects disposed in a first subset of the plurality trapping regions are moved in a first direction along respective trapping regions and the respective quantum objects disposed in a second subset of the plurality of trapping regions are moved in a second direction along the respective trapping regions (fig. 6A-D),
wherein the plurality of broadcast control electrodes corresponding to trapping regions in the first subset of trapping regions are respectively in electrical communication with the same plurality of broadcast control voltage sources as the plurality of broadcast control electrodes corresponding to trapping regions in the second subset of trapping regions (“The multidimensional ion shuttling system provides for shuttling of multiple ions in multiple different directions simultaneously using the same DACS.” P 22).
Furtner does not disclose that the broadcast control electrodes are in fixed electrical communication, using multiplexed electrical communication instead. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the quantum object confinement apparatus of Furtner to use fixed electrical communication for any electrodes that do not require the ability to be switched, since fixed connections are easily to form and maintain.
Regarding claim 42, Furtner et al. discloses the controller of claim 40, wherein the first switchable control electrode corresponding to trapping regions in the first subset of trapping regions are in electrical communication with a different one of the two or more switchable control voltage sources with respect to the first switchable control electrode corresponding to trapping regions in the second subset of trapping regions (fig. 6A-D shows the voltages on the trapping regions differ).
Regarding claim 44, Furtner discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the one or more electrode sequences comprise a plurality of electrode sequences defining a plurality of trapping regions (fig. 2), and the plurality of trapping regions forms a periodic array of trapping regions or a quasi-periodic array of trapping regions (multiple figures).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose the system of claim 14, wherein the respective trapping region of the one or more trapping regions is a cyclic path trapping region, and the controller is configured to control operation of the two or more switchable control voltage sources to cause the two or more switchable control voltage sources to provide a plurality of control voltage signals and the plurality of control voltage signals are partitioned into two subsets of voltage signals, the two subsets of voltage signals consisting of a left partition and a right partition, and the respective plurality of control electrodes are configured to (a) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source, each switchable control electrode of the plurality of control electrodes is configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the left partition, the voltage signals of the left partition configured to cause one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the left partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a first direction and (b) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, each switchable control electrode of the plurality of control electrodes is configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the right partition, the voltage signals of the right partition configured to cause the one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the right partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a second direction that is opposite the first direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 15th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Furtner is directed to multidimensional shuttling rather than one dimensional shuttling. Furtner discloses multidimensional shuttling but also states that a single dimension can be used. Multidimensional shuttling is a generalization of single dimensional shuttling to additional dimensions and inherently includes at least one dimension.
Applicant argues that Furtner teaches individually setting each electrode via a latch rather than a switch. Each electrode can be individually set, and Furtner uses a multiplexer, which is a form of switch, to select the voltage to send to each electrode.
Applicant argues that Furtner is silent as to fixed connections. Examiner agrees, and has relied on obviousness for this feature. Fixed connections are obviously known, and substituting a fixed connection for a multiplexed one obvious because it simplifies the circuit and makes it easier to maintain. It is noted that removal of a feature, such as a multiplexer, is obvious is the function of the feature (ability to change the connection) is not desired. See MPEP 2144.04, section subtitled “Elimination of a Step or an Element and Its Function”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZA W OSENBAUGH-STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881