DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the election filed on December 9th, 2025. Claims 1-44 are pending, with claims 1-25, 27, and 36-44 being directed to the elected invention.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on December 9th is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation – Claims 13 & 23
Claim 13 recites “switchable control voltage signals” and “control voltage signals (which) are partitioned into two subsets of voltage signals, the two subsets of voltage signals consisting of a left partition and a right partition”. Signals are not patent eligible because they are transitory and further does not fall into any of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter. The claim, as a whole, is directed to patent eligible subject matter relating to an apparatus, specifically a quantum object confinement apparatus, hence no 101 rejection has been made. However, the limitation to the control voltage signals relates to non-patent eligible subject matter and is furthermore is not a part of the claimed quantum object confinement apparatus but a signal that can be sent to such an apparatus. Hence, the limitation will be treated as non-limiting.
There is a similar limitation in claim 23, but in that case the parent claim recites “two or more switchable control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective voltage signal”. As a result, claim 23 further limits the switchable control voltage sources, rather than claiming the signals themselves. In particular, the limitation in clam 23 to “the two or more switchable control voltage signals are configured to provide a plurality of control voltage signals and the plurality of control voltage signals are partitioned into two subsets of voltage signals, the two subsets of voltage signals consisting of a left partition and a right partition,” will be treated as requiring the voltage sources to be configured to generate a signal partitioned into two subsets of signals.
Claims 13 & 23 also recite the control electrodes being “configured to (a) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source, the plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the left partition, the voltage signals of the left partition configured to cause one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the left partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a first direction and (b) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, the plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the right partition, the voltage signals of the right partition configured to cause the one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the right partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a second direction.”
This is an intended use limitation and will be treated as requiring that the electrodes be capable of carrying out the function. In other words, the limitation requires the electrodes to be capable of supporting the formation of moving potential wells in two directions, something that is in fact inherent in electrodes since electrodes can take on any time varying voltages desired. Claim 23 depends from a system claim including a controller, and it is suggested that the relevant portion of claim 23 be re-written as a function of the controller, for example as done in claim 27, rather than as a function of the electrodes. Such a claim would require a controller configured to actually create the necessary voltage signals, rather than merely reciting electrodes with the ability of accepting such signals.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses purely functional language. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “switch signal generators” in claims 20-22, and “switch signal generators each configured to generate a respective switch signal” in claims 25 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 1-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-13 recite “wherein a first switchable control … is configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources.” Claims 14-23 contain a similar limitation to “wherein a first switchable control electrode … are each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources”, claims 24-39 recite “one or more first switchable control electrodes … are each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective set of selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources”, and claims 40-44 recite “a first switchable control electrode configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources”. It is unclear if the first switchable control electrode(s) is/are configured to be switchably connected to one or both of the two or more switchable control voltage sources.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the connections between the broadcast control voltage sources and rest of the claimed elements.
Claim 7 recite “a number of the broadcast control voltage sources” and describes how the number scales with the numbers of other elements, but the claim never discloses that the broadcast control voltage sources are connected to any part of the system. It is suggested that claim 7 be made dependent on claim 5, rather than claim 4, since claim 5 includes the connections between the broadcast voltage sources and the broadcast control electrodes.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the two or more switchable control voltage signals" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the one or more switch signal generators" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Suggested correction: make claim 22 dependent on claim 20.
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 37-39 recite “the plurality of broadcast control electrodes of a given electrode sequence are selectively in electrical communication with respective broadcast control voltage sources of the first set of broadcast sources or the second set of broadcast sources so as to reduce cross-talk between sequences of electrodes of the plurality of sequences of electrodes.” It is unclear how the selective electrical communication would need to be configured in order to reduce cross-talk between sequences of electrodes. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as requiring selective electrical communication between the relevant elements.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: whatever is being connected to the “same one of the … switchable control voltage sources” as the first switchable control electrode.
Claim 41 recites “wherein the first switchable control electrode corresponding to trapping regions in the first subset of trapping regions are in electrical communication with a same one of the two or more switchable control voltage sources.” The claim appears to be claiming that the first switch control electrode is connected to the same voltage source as something else, but it never says what the something else is. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted, and has not been evaluated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 43 is a claim to a controller, but the limitations relate to a shim voltage source and a shim electrode that are not part of the claimed controller. Claim 43 contains no limitations relating to the claimed controller, hence the claim fails to further limit the controller. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
It is noted that the shim voltage source, shim electrodes, and control of such are part of non-elected group III. Therefore, any attempt to rewrite the claim to recite a control related to such will result in a claim that would be withdrawn. Applicant may choose to either rewrite the claim to include control of shim electrodes and let the claim pend, though withdrawn, in hopes that it may later be rejoined. Alternatively, applicant may simply cancel the claim.
Claims 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 44 is a claim to a controller, but the limitations relate to a periodic or quasi-periodic array of trapping regions. Claim 44 contains no limitations relating to the claimed controller, and whether the trapping regions form a periodic or quasi-periodic array does not have any bearing on the claimed control operations, hence the claim fails to further limit the controller. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-18, 20-25, 27, 36-40, and 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0325698 (Furtner).
Regarding claim 1, Furtner discloses a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising: one or more electrode sequences (fig. 2, elements 210, also 204 & 206), each electrode sequence comprising a respective plurality of control electrodes configured to control the electric potential in a respective trapping region of one or more trapping regions of the quantum object confinement apparatus (fig. 1, ion trap areas), wherein a first switchable control electrode of one or more switchable control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes is configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44).
Regarding claim 2, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more switchable control electrodes comprises the first switchable control electrode and a second switchable control electrode, and the first switchable control electrode and the second switchable control electrode are each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective one of a first switchable control voltage source and a second switchable control voltage source of the two or more switchable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 3, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 2, further comprising one or more switches, wherein each electrode sequence of the one or more electrode sequences is associated with a respective switch of the one or more switches and the respective switch is configured to control switching of the electrical communication of the first switchable control electrode and the second switchable control electrode to respective ones of the two or more switchable voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 4, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more switches, wherein each electrode sequence of the one or more electrode sequences is associated with a respective switch of the one or more switches and the respective switch is configured to control switching of the electrical communication of the first switchable control electrode and the second switchable control electrode to respective ones of the two or more switchable voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 5, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, wherein the respective plurality of control electrodes further comprises one or more broadcast control electrodes that are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of one or more broadcast control voltage sources (“A neutral region voltage VB may be applied to one or more target electrodes 412, and the target electrodes 412 may be located between keeping electrodes 414 that have a keeping voltage VA applied.” P 46).
Regarding claim 6, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more electrode sequences comprises a plurality of electrode sequences (fig. 2 shows a plurality of electrode sequences) and the one or more broadcast control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes of the plurality of electrode sequences are configured to be in electrical communication with the one or more broadcast control voltage sources (“A neutral region voltage VB may be applied to one or more target electrodes 412, and the target electrodes 412 may be located between keeping electrodes 414 that have a keeping voltage VA applied.” P 46).
Regarding claim 7, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 4, wherein a number of the broadcast control voltage sources scales with a number of control electrodes in the respective plurality of control electrodes (“Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.” P 44) and does not scale with a number of electrode sequences (“Each DAC 354 may be set with a keeping voltage or shuttling voltage, so that, for example, an entire row, column, segment of columns or rows may be set. Setting a single row, column, row segment or column segment of the electrodes permits a limited number of DACs 354 to be used, as the DACs 354 may be reused to set another group of electrodes.” P 37).
Regarding claim 8, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more switches, wherein each electrode sequence is associated with a respective switch of the one or more switches and the respective switch is configured to control switching among two or more switch positions, each respective switch position of the two or more switch positions configured to cause the first switchable control electrode to be in electrical communication with a selected one of two or more selectable control voltage sources and to cause the second switchable control electrode to be in electrical communication with a different one of the two or more selectable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 10, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 8, wherein the respective switch is configured to be controlled by a respective switch signal (“The voltage control circuit selectively provides at least one voltage to one or more electrode elements of the first electrode elements and of the second electrode elements according to signaling from the electrode control circuit,” abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 10, wherein the respective switch signal is a digital signal (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69).
Regarding claim 12, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more electrode sequences comprises a plurality of electrode sequences (fig. 2 shows a plurality of electrode sequences), the one or more switches comprises a plurality of switches, and each switch of the plurality of switches is controlled independently (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44).
Regarding claim 13, Furtner discloses the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the respective trapping region of the one or more trapping regions is a cyclic path trapping region (fig. 2, multiple cyclic paths possible with the electrodes as shown),
the two or more switchable control voltage signals are configured to provide a plurality of control voltage signals and the plurality of control voltage signals are partitioned into two subsets of voltage signals, the two subsets of voltage signals consisting of a left partition and a right partition (signal is not an appropriate limitation, not evaluated), and
the respective plurality of control electrodes are configured to (a) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source, the plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the left partition, the voltage signals of the left partition configured to cause one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the left partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a first direction and (b) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, the plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the right partition, the voltage signals of the right partition configured to cause the one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the right partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a second direction (intended use, see also fig. 5A-C which shows movement via moving potential wells, the direction could be changed by selecting different voltage differentials, the same principle clearly applies to any cyclic path chosen, and could take the form of the movement shown in fig. 6A-D at four corners to form a cyclic path).
Regarding claim 14, Furtner et al. discloses a system comprising:
two or more switchable control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective switchable control voltage signal (“The electrode control 330 may have a multiplexer register 332 that provides a control signal that selects one or more DACs 354 used to provide one or more voltages to selected electrode elements 362.” P 39);
a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising one or more electrode sequences (fig. 2, elements 210, also 204 and 206), each electrode sequence of the one or more electrode sequences comprising a respective plurality of control electrodes configured to control the electric potential in a respective trapping region of one or more trapping regions of the quantum object confinement apparatus (fig. 1, ion trap areas), wherein a first switchable control electrode of one or more switchable control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources such that a respective selected switchable control voltage signal of two or more switchable control voltage signals is applied thereto sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44); and
a controller configured to control operation of each of the two or more switchable control voltage sources, and with which of the two or more switchable control voltage sources the set of one or more switchable control electrodes are respectively in electrical communication (multiple figures, element X02).
Regarding claim 15, Furtner discloses the system of claim 14, further comprising one or more broadcast control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective broadcast control voltage signal, wherein the respective plurality of control electrodes further comprises one or more broadcast control electrodes that are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of the one or more broadcast control voltage sources such that the respective broadcast control voltage signal is applied thereto (“A neutral region voltage VB may be applied to one or more target electrodes 412, and the target electrodes 412 may be located between keeping electrodes 414 that have a keeping voltage VA applied.” P 46).
Regarding claim 16, Furtner discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more electrode sequences comprises a plurality of electrode sequences and the one or more broadcast control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes of the plurality of electrode sequences are configured to be in electrical communication with the one or more broadcast control voltage sources (“Each DAC 354 may be set with a keeping voltage or shuttling voltage, so that, for example, an entire row, column, segment of columns or rows may be set. Setting a single row, column, row segment or column segment of the electrodes permits a limited number of DACs 354 to be used, as the DACs 354 may be reused to set another group of electrodes.” P 37).
Regarding claim 17, Furtner discloses the system of claim 16, wherein a number of the broadcast control voltage sources is proportional to a number of broadcast control electrodes in the respective plurality of control electrodes and is not proportional to a number of electrode sequences (“Each DAC 354 may be set with a keeping voltage or shuttling voltage, so that, for example, an entire row, column, segment of columns or rows may be set. Setting a single row, column, row segment or column segment of the electrodes permits a limited number of DACs 354 to be used, as the DACs 354 may be reused to set another group of electrodes.” P 37).
Regarding claim 18, Furtner discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the quantum object confinement apparatus further comprises one or more switches, wherein each electrode sequence is associated with a respective switch of the one or more switches and the respective switch is configured to control switching among two or more switch positions, each respective switch position of the two or more switch positions configured to cause the set of one or more switchable control electrodes to be in electrical communication with a selected set of one of two or more selectable control voltage sources (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44, note that fig. 5A-C shows a total of 6 electrodes in each sequence being switched between a total of 5 different voltage sources).
Regarding claim 20, Furtner discloses the system of claim 18, further comprising one or more switch signal generators (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69), wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the one or more switch signal generators and the respective switch is configured to be controlled by a respective switch signal generated by a respective switch signal generator of the one or more switch signal generators (“The voltage control circuit selectively provides at least one voltage to one or more electrode elements of the first electrode elements and of the second electrode elements according to signaling from the electrode control circuit,” abstract).
Regarding claim 21, Furtner discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the respective switch signal is a digital signal (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69).
Regarding claim 22, Furtner discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the one or more electrode sequences comprises a plurality of electrode sequences (fig. 2 shows a plurality of electrode sequences), the one or more switches comprises a plurality of switches, the one or more switch signal generators comprises a plurality of switch signal generators, and the controller is configured control operation of each switch signal generator of the plurality of switch signal generators independently (“Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes.” P 44).
Regarding claim 23, Furtner discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the respective trapping region of the one or more trapping regions is a cyclic path trapping region (fig. 2, multiple cyclic paths possible with the electrodes as shown),
the two or more switchable control voltage signals are configured to provide a plurality of control voltage signals and the plurality of control voltage signals are partitioned into two subsets of voltage signals, the two subsets of voltage signals consisting of a left partition and a right partition (“The electrode control 330 may have a multiplexer register 332 that provides a control signal that selects one or more DACs 354 used to provide one or more voltages to selected electrode elements 362.” P 39, note that this provides for a number of potential subsets of signals that far exceeds two), and
the respective plurality of control electrodes are configured to (a) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the first switchable control voltage source, the plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the left partition, the voltage signals of the left partition configured to cause one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the left partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a first direction and (b) when the first switchable control electrode is in electrical communication with the second switchable control voltage source, the plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective control voltage signal of the right partition, the voltage signals of the right partition configured to cause the one or more potential wells formed by application of the voltage signals of the right partition on respective electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes to move about the cyclic path trapping region in a second direction (intended use, see also fig. 5A-C which shows movement via moving potential wells, the direction could be changed by selecting different voltage differentials, the same principle clearly applies to any cyclic path chosen, and could take the form of the movement shown in fig. 6A-D at four corners to form a cyclic path).
Regarding claim 24, Furtner discloses a system comprising:
two or more switchable control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective switchable control voltage signal (“The electrode control 330 may have a multiplexer register 332 that provides a control signal that selects one or more DACs 354 used to provide one or more voltages to selected electrode elements 362.” P 39);
a plurality of broadcast control voltage sources each configured to generate a respective broadcast control voltage signal (“A neutral region voltage VB may be applied to one or more target electrodes 412, and the target electrodes 412 may be located between keeping electrodes 414 that have a keeping voltage VA applied.” P 46);
a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising a plurality of electrode sequences (fig. 2, elements 210, also 204 and 206), each electrode sequence comprising a respective plurality of control electrodes configured to control the electric potential in a respective trapping region of a plurality of trapping regions of the quantum object confinement apparatus (fig. 1, ion trap areas), wherein: one or more first switchable control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes are each configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a respective set of selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources such that a respective subset of selected switchable control voltage signals of two or more switchable control voltage signals is applied thereto and a plurality of broadcast control electrodes of the respective plurality of control electrodes are each in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources such that the respective broadcast control voltage source is in electrical communication with respective broadcast control electrodes of at least two electrode sequences (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44); and
a controller configured to control operation of each of the two or more switchable control voltage sources, and with which of the two or more switchable control voltage sources the set of one or more switchable control electrodes are respectively in electrical communication (multiple figures, element X02).
Regarding claim 25, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 24, further comprising a plurality of switch signal generators each configured to generate a respective switch signal (“In some embodiments, the electrode element 720 has an electrode control 722, such as a state machine, latches, digital storage or logic, or the like.” P 69), and wherein:
the quantum object confinement apparatus further comprises a plurality of switches (multiplexer),
each electrode sequence is associated with a respective switch of the plurality of switches (“The electrode control 330 may have a multiplexer register 332 that provides a control signal that selects one or more DACs 354 used to provide one or more voltages to selected electrode elements 362.” P 39),
the respective switch is configured to control switching among two or more switch positions, each respective switch position of the two or more switch positions configured to cause the set of one or more switchable control electrodes to be in electrical communication with a selected subset of two or more selectable control voltage sources (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44),
the respective switch is configured to be controlled by a respective switch signal generated by a respective switch signal generator of the plurality of switch signal generators (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44), and
the controller is configured to individually control operation of each of the plurality of switch signal generators (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44).
Regarding claim 27, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 25, wherein the controller is configured to control operation of each of the two or more switchable control voltage sources, the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources, and the plurality of switch signal generators such that a respective quantum object confined in the respective trapping region moves along the respective trapping region in (a) a first direction when the respective switch is in the first position (fig. 6A-C) and (b) a second direction when the respective switch is in the second position (fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 36, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the plurality of trapping regions forms a periodic array or quasi-periodic array of trapping regions (multiple figures).
Regarding claim 37, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources comprise a first set of broadcast control voltage sources and a second set of broadcast control voltage sources and the plurality of broadcast control electrodes of a given electrode sequence are selectively in electrical communication with respective broadcast control voltage sources of the first set of broadcast sources or the second set of broadcast sources so as to reduce cross-talk between sequences of electrodes of the plurality of sequences of electrodes (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44).
Regarding claim 38, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the plurality of broadcast control electrodes of the given electrode sequence are selectively in electrical communication with the respective broadcast control voltage sources of the first set of broadcast sources or the second set of broadcast sources based on at least one of (a) a switch position of the respective switch of the given electrode sequence or (b) the switch position of the respective switch of a neighboring electrode sequence (‘Each shuttling voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the shuttling voltage DACs 374, and may be switched to provide a shuttling voltage VS[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected one of the shuttling voltage DACs 374 to one or more electrodes. Similarly, each keeping voltage multiplexer is connected to a plurality of the keeping voltage DACs 372, and may be switched to provide a keeping voltage VK[0 . . . n] to a plurality of different electrodes by connecting a selected on the keeping voltage DACs 372 to one or more electrodes.’ P 44).
Regarding claim 39, Furtner et al. discloses the system of claim 38, wherein a trapping region of the given electrode sequence and a trapping region of the neighboring electrode sequence are joined to one another via a junction (fig. 2 & 6A-D, element 214).
Regarding claim 40, Furtner et al. discloses a controller configured to control operation of a quantum system (multiple figures, element X02),
wherein the quantum system comprises two or more first switchable control voltage sources, a plurality of broadcast control voltage sources, and a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising a plurality of electrode sequences that each define a respective trapping region, each electrode sequence of the plurality of electrode sequences comprising a first switchable control electrode configured to be switchably in electrical communication with a selected switchable control voltage source of two or more switchable control voltage sources, and a plurality of broadcast control electrodes each configured to be in electrical communication with a respective broadcast control voltage source of the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources (not part of the claimed controller, only limiting in how to effects the controller which is addressed below), and
the controller is configured to control operation of each of the two or more switchable control voltage sources, and the plurality of broadcast control voltage sources such that respective quantum objects disposed in a first subset of the plurality trapping regions are moved in a first direction along respective trapping regions and the respective quantum objects disposed in a second subset of the plurality of trapping regions are moved in a second direction along the respective trapping regions (fig. 6A-D),
wherein the plurality of broadcast control electrodes corresponding to trapping regions in the first subset of trapping regions are respectively in electrical communication with the same plurality of broadcast control voltage sources as the plurality of broadcast control electrodes corresponding to trapping regions in the second subset of trapping regions (“The multidimensional ion shuttling system provides for shuttling of multiple ions in multiple different directions simultaneously using the same DACS.” P 22).
Regarding claim 42, Furtner et al. discloses the controller of claim 40, wherein the first switchable control electrode corresponding to trapping regions in the first subset of trapping regions are in electrical communication with a different one of the two or more switchable control voltage sources with respect to the first switchable control electrode corresponding to trapping regions in the second subset of trapping regions (fig. 6A-D shows the voltages on the trapping regions differ).
Regarding claim 43, Furtner et al. discloses the controller of claim 40, wherein: the quantum system further comprises a shim voltage source configured to generate a shim voltage, the quantum object confinement apparatus further comprises respective shim electrodes each associated with respective trapping regions of the plurality of trapping regions, and a respective shim electrode is selectively in electrical communication with the shim voltage source (no limitations to the claimed controller, scope identical to parent claim and rejected for the same reasons).
Regarding claim 44, Furtner et al. discloses the controller of claim 40, wherein the plurality of trapping regions forms a periodic array of trapping regions or a quasi-periodic array of trapping regions (no limitations to the claimed controller, scope identical to parent claim and rejected for the same reasons, also multiple figures show periodic arrays of trapping regions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0325698 (Furtner).
Regarding claims 9 & 19, Furtner discloses the claimed invention except the switch is not a double-pole double-throw switch. Double-pole, double throw switches are well-known in the art, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art make portions of the multiplexer of Furtner 2-to-1 (double-pole, double throw) in order to better coordinate the switching for different electrodes.
Conclusion
/ELIZA W OSENBAUGH-STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881