DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2023-0032772, filed on 03/13/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 9543912 by Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a buffer circuit for generating an output voltage according to an input voltage (Fig. 1; Abstract), the buffer circuit comprising:
an input stage (Fig. 1 #110) configured to provide a first differential current (Fig. 1 ILD, ILDB) to a load stage (Fig. 1 #130) or receive a second differential current (Fig. 1 ILU, ILUB) from the load stage based on a difference between the input voltage and the output voltage;
the load stage (Fig. 1, 3 #130) configured to apply gate voltages to a first output transistor (Fig. 3 MP8) and a second output transistor (Fig. 3 MN8) of an output stage (Fig. 1, 3, 4 #150) based on the first differential current (ILD, ILDB) or the second differential current (ILU, ILUB);
the output stage (Fig. 1, 3, 4 #150) configured to regulate the output voltage (Fig. 4 Vout) based on the gate voltages applied to the first output transistor (MP8) and the second output transistor (MN8); and
a slew rate compensator (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7 #160) configured to provide a source current (Fig. 7 ICOMP_PUSH) to the load stage or receive a sink current (Fig. 7 ICOMP_PULL) from the load stage to regulate the gate voltages of the first output transistor and the second output transistor.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the buffer circuit of claim 1, wherein the output stage comprises: a first compensation capacitor (Fig. 4 C1) and a second compensation capacitor (Fig. 4 C2) connected in parallel with an output terminal through which the output voltage is output (Fig. 4 Vout), and the first output transistor (Fig. 4 MP8) and the second output transistor (Fig. 4 MN8) connected in parallel with the output terminal (Vout).
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220383823 by Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a buffer circuit for generating an output voltage according to an input voltage (Fig. 2; Abstract), the buffer circuit comprising:
an input stage (Fig. 2 #11) configured to provide a first differential current (Ipll0 and Ippli) to a load stage (Fig. 2 #14) or receive a second differential current (Ipsli and Ipslo) from the load stage based on a difference between the input voltage and the output voltage;
the load stage (Fig. 3 #14) configured to apply gate voltages to a first output transistor (Fig. 3 P10) and a second output transistor (Fig. 3 N10) of an output stage (fig. 2, 3, #15) based on the first differential current or the second differential current;
the output stage (Fig. 3 #15) configured to regulate the output voltage (Fig. 3 Vout) based on the gate voltages applied to the first output transistor (P10) and the second output transistor (N10); and
a slew rate compensator (Fig. 2 #20) configured to provide a source current to the load stage (Fig. 2 Ipush) or receive a sink current from the load stage (Fig. 2 Ipull) to regulate the gate voltages of the first output transistor (P10) and the second output transistor (N10).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the buffer circuit of claim 1, wherein the load stage comprises:
a first differential mirror circuit configured to have a current mirror structure and a cascode structure and mirror the second differential current and the sink current (Fig. 3 shows the first differential mirror current PS which mirros Ipsli, Ipslo; Fig. 8 also shows a configuration in which the sink current Ipull is connected to node NU1 which is the node connected to the mirror current PS);
a second differential mirror circuit configured to have a current mirror structure and a cascode structure and mirror the first differential current and the source current (Fig. 3 shows the second differential mirror current PL which mirrors Iplli and Ipllo; Fig. 8 also shows a configuration in which the source current Ipush is connected to node NL1 which is the node connected to the mirror current PL); and
a third bias circuit and a fourth bias circuit connected between the first differential mirror circuit and the second differential mirror circuit and configured to control a static state operation and an amplification operation of the first differential mirror circuit and the second differential mirror circuit (Fig. 3 P8, N8 and P9, N9).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the buffer circuit of claim 1, wherein the output stage comprises:
a first compensation capacitor (Fig. 3 C1) and a second compensation capacitor (Fig. 3 C2) connected in parallel with an output terminal (Nout) through which the output voltage (Vout) is output, and
the first output transistor(P10) and the second output transistor (N10) connected in parallel with the output terminal (Nout, Vout).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 14-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6-10, 12, 14, and 18-20 of copending Application No. 18/904,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both refer to the same field of invention: a buffer circuit for generating an output voltage according to an input voltage.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The following chart maps the claims of this application with the copending application:
Current Application 18/468,909
Copending application 18/904,388
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 2
Claim 1
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 6
Claim 5
Claim 8
Claim 6
Claim 8
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 7
Claim 9
Claim 3
Claim 10
Claim 9
Claim 14
Claims 10 and 12
Claim 15
Claim 12
Claim 16
Claim 14
Claim 17
Claim 12
Claim 18
Claims 18, 19, and 20
Claim 19
Claim 19
Claim 20
Claim 20
While certain claims in the copending application have further details, the limitations of the current application can be mapped to limitations in the copending application. Some differences between the current and copending applications include the fact that the copending application has a limitation about a control circuit that the current application does not have.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAREH SHAMIRYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843