Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 18, 2023 & December 02, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment, filed on January 29, 2026, has been received and made of record. Claims 1-10 are pending. Independent claims 1 & 8 have been amended, and claims 9-10 are new. No objections and/or U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections were set forth to the claims in the Final Office Action mailed October 31, 2025, hereafter referred toa as the Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed January 29, 206, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) 1 & 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, and in light of the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Heppekausen (WO 2014166835 A1, Pub. Date. Oct. 16, 2014, hereinafter Heppekausen), and Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
In response to the Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-9 of Applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1 and independent claim 8, reciting subject matter similar to claim 1, under U.S.C. § 103, that prior art references, Koudar (US 10165358 B2, hereinafter Koudar), in view of Hayashi (US 7372775 B2, hereinafter Hayashi), as cited by the Applicant, and further in view of new prior art reference Heppekausen, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually or in combination, the amended feature(s), that “the phase of the damping signal is a function of a length of the brake period.” Koudar, in view of Hayashi and Heppekausen, further disclose the additional limitation(s) that have been amended and included in independent claim 1 and independent claim 8, and meet these requirements. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claims 1 & 8, dependent claims 2-7 & 9, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of claim 1, and dependent claim 10, which depends from and incorporates the limitations of claim 8, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow. Please note, previous prior art references Koudar (US 10165358 B2), has been replaced with Koudar et al. (US 2016/0173981 A1), and Hayashi (US 7372775 B2), has been replaced with Hayashi (US 2004/0240628 A1).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, suggest rephrasing, “An ultra sonic sensor comprising piezoelectric element,” in ll. 1-2, to read “An ultra sonic sensor comprising: a piezoelectric element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koudar et al. (US 2016/0173981 A1, Pub. Date Jun. 16, 2016, hereinafter Koudar) in view of Hayashi (US 2004/0240628 A1, Pub. Date Dec. 02, 2004, hereinafter Hayashi), and further in view of Heppekausen (WO 2014166835 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 16, 2014, hereinafter Heppekausen).
Regarding independent claim 1, Koudar, teaches:
A semiconductor device comprising (Figs. 1 & 15; [0003], [0027]-[0028], [0086]):
a drive circuit (Fig. 1; [0025] & [0028]: controller 203 & 205) configured to be capable of supplying a drive signal in an ultrasonic band to a piezoelectric element (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0025], [0027]-[0029] & [0086]: discloses a transmitter circuit that drives an ultrasonic transducer), and be capable of supplying, after the supply of the drive signal is stopped ([Abstract], [0026] & [0029]), a damping signal ([0026] & [0034]) having a phase different from a phase of the drive signal to the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract], [0026], [0029], [0034] & [0039]: discloses applying an active damping signal with an opposite polarity (phase)); and
a control circuit (Figs. 1 & 3: 203 & 205 control circuit) configured to be capable of controlling the drive circuit (Fig. 1; [0026]-[0028]: discloses controller issuing control signals),
Koudar, is silent in regard to:
wherein the drive circuit includes a full bridge circuit which is provided between a first line and a second line to which a potential higher than the first line is to be applied, and uses the full bridge circuit to be able to supply the drive signal and the damping signal to the piezoelectric element based on a potential difference between the first line and the second line,
the full bridge circuit includes a series circuit of a first switch provided on a side of the second line and a second switch provided on a side of the first line and a series circuit of a third switch provided on the side of the second line and a fourth switch provided on the side of the first line, and can respectively connect a connection node between the first switch and the second switch and a connection node between the third switch and the fourth switch to a first end and a second end of the piezoelectric element,
wherein the control circuit is configured to, after the supply of the drive signal to the piezoelectric element is stopped, and during a brake period in which a brake operation is performed, supply the damping signal to the piezoelectric element using the drive circuit,
in the brake operation, the first switch and the third switch are turned off and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on or the first switch and the third switch are turned on and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off, and
the phase of the damping signal is a function of a length of the brake period.
However, Heppekausen, further teaches:
wherein the drive circuit includes a full bridge circuit which is provided between a first line and a second line to which a potential higher than the first line is to be applied (Fig. 1; [0028]-[0029]: discloses a full-bridge circuit connected to a voltage supply line and a ground line), and uses the full bridge circuit to be able to supply the drive signal and the damping signal to the piezoelectric element based on a potential difference between the first line and the second line (Fig. 1; [0028]-[0029] & [0038]: teaches applying the drive and damping signals to the transducer using the full bridge via alternating polarities across the voltage lines),
the full bridge circuit includes a series circuit of a first switch provided on a side of the second line and a second switch provided on a side of the first line and a series circuit of a third switch provided on the side of the second line and a fourth switch provided on the side of the first line (Fig.1; [0028]-[0029]: discloses the for-switch architecture connected between a high potential line (VDRV) and a low potential/ground line (mass/first line), Fig. 1 illustrates switches 20 and 24 on the top side connected to the high line, and switches 26 and 22 on the bottom side connected to the ground line), and can respectively connect a connection node between the first switch and the second switch and a connection node between the third switch and the fourth switch to a first end and a second end of the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1; [0028]-[0031] : maps the exact physical connections from the nodes between the top and bottom switches to the two ends of the piezoelectric transducer),
wherein the control circuit is configured to, after the supply of the drive signal to the piezoelectric element is stopped, and during a brake period in which a brake operation is performed, supply the damping signal to the piezoelectric element using the drive circuit ([0034] & [0037]-[0039]: teaches entering a decay phase (brake period) immediately after the drive signal stops, shorting the circuit (brake operation), and applying active damping pulses),
in the brake operation, the first switch and the third switch are turned off and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on or the first switch and the third switch are turned on and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off (Fig. 1; [0033]-[0034]: teaches short-circuiting the transducer by turning on the two bottom switches (switches 26 and 22) of the full bridge circuit while the top switches are off (switches 20 and 24), and
the phase of the damping signal is a function of a length of the brake period ([0026]-[0034] & [0037]-[0041]: teaches that during the brake period/pause, the transducer stops vibrating at the driven frequency and assumes its own natural frequency, causing its phase to drift relative to the controller. To apply the next active damping pulse at the correct 180° opposing phase, the controller must determine the phase shift that occurred during the pause, therefore the phase of the required damping signal mathematically correlates to, and is a function, of the duration (length) of the brake (period/pause) period and the phase position of the element would need to be determined again during the pause to calculate the correct phase for the subsequent damping pulse).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the drive circuit taught by Koudar using the full-bridge architecture taught by Heppekausen and/or Hayashi (Fig. 6; [0008]-[0010]), and further incorporate the short-circuit brake operation and phase-determination logic of Heppekausen. The motivation would be to provide a robust, bi-directional driving topology capable of generating high-power ultrasonic transmission pulses and subsequent active damping pulses using a power supply/source. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to incorporate the brake operation and phase-determination logic of Heppekausen into the combined full-bridge system of Koudar and Hayashi. The motivation would be to compensate for the resonant frequency drift that naturally occurs when the transducer freewheels during a brake period. By making the phase of the damping signal a function of the brake period’s length, the system ensures the active damping pulse is applied at the precise optimal phase angle (180° opposed) to rapidly put out transducer ringing and improve near-field obstacle detection, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Koudar, teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 15; [0003], [0027]-[0028], [0086]) further comprising:
Koudar, is silent in regard to:
a separation switch which is inserted between a connection node between the second switch and the fourth switch and the first line,
wherein the control circuit keeps the separation switch on in a period during which the drive signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element and in a period during which the damping signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element, and keeps the separation switch off in at least a part of a period during which the first switch and the third switch are turned off and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on by the brake operation.
However, Heppekausen, further teaches:
a separation switch (Fig. 1: 52) which is inserted between a connection node (Fig. 1: 38) between the second switch (Fig. 1: 22) and fourth switch (Fig. 1: 26) and the first line (Fig. 1; [0028]-[0034]: discloses switch (52) is located between the damping resistor (50) and the connection line (42; first line) to the ultrasonic transducer (12), where the second switch (22) and the fourth switch (26) connect to the fist line via the node (38), as well as the “ENABLE” switch located between the bottom bridge switches and ground),
wherein the control circuit (Fig. 1: 34) keeps the separation switch on in a period during which the drive signal is supplied (Figs. 2-4; [0028]-[0034] & [0036]: “The four switches 20, 22, 24, 26 are closed in pairs and opened to apply alternately revered control voltages…” switched on and off, so that the ultrasonic transducer 12 is controlled accordingly and its oscillating element 14 in at this point the switch 52 is switched off, i.e., the damping resistor 50 is not active; however, it could be switched active, i.e., connected to ground) to the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1: 12) and in a period during which the damping signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1 & 4; Fig. 4 illustrates the active damping pulse applied by the control unit 34, the ENABLE switch is again drawn in the closed (ON) position), and keeps the separation switch off in at least a part of a period during which the first switch (Figs. 1 & 5: 24) and the third switch (Figs. 1 & 5: 20) are turned off and the second switch (Figs. 1 & 5: 22) and the fourth switch (Figs. 1 & 5: 26) are turned on (closed position) by the brake operation (Fig. 5; [0028]-[0034]: Fig. 5 shows the ENABLE switch open while the bottom bridge switches are closed to short the transducer, “At the end of the transmission interval, the damping resistor (50) is activated by the switch (52) is closed…the two switches (22) and (26) of the full bridge circuit (18) are closed, so that, with reference to the ultrasonic transducer (12), its input terminals (40), (42) are supplied via the parallel circuit from the voltage limiting unit (44) and the damping resistor (50)”, Fig. 5 illustrates the decay/brake period, the top switches (20 and 24) are open (OFF), and the bottom switches (22 and 26) are closed (ON) to short-circuit the transducer. The ENABLE switch is drawn in the open (OFF) position, disconnecting the shorted bottom switches from the ground line). Heppekausen (WO2014/166835A1) discloses a method for measurement by means of ultrasound, particularly as a parking aid for vehicles, and ultrasonic measurement systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ground-isolation separation switch of Heppekausen into the combined full-bridge transducer control system architecture, of Koudar and Hayashi. The motivation for doing so is to isolate the short-circuited transducer loop from the system ground during the braking (freewheeling) phase. Heppekausen, teaches in its operational schematics, opening the separation switch during the braking operation allows the bottom switches to short the transducer, according to known methods, to dampen mechanical vibration without establishing a path for common-mode ground noise to enter the sensitive receiving amplifying circuit (58) while it awaits incoming echo signals. In order to attain and improve a faster energy dissipation from the transducer, and isolate the transducer from the driving bridge, allowing damping to occur more effectively, preventing unwanted interference from the bridge’s low-impedance state, ensuring effectiveness with improved damping and overall system performance, and yielding expected predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Koudar, teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1 further comprising (Figs. 1 & 15; [0003], [0027]-[0028] & [0086]):
Koudar, is silent in regard to:
a separation switch which is inserted between a connection node between the first switch and the third switch and the second line,
wherein the control circuit keeps the separation switch on in a period during which the drive signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element and in a period during which the damping signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element, and keeps the separation switch off in at least a part of a period during which the first switch and the third switch are turned on and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off by the brake operation.
However, Hayashi, further teaches
a separation switch (Fig. 1; [0047]: transmit-receive switching circuit 13, shows the “transmit-receive switching circuit 13” inserted between the “driver circuit 12” and “vibrating element 10”, where the “transmit-receive switching circuit 13” functions as the separation switch) which is inserted between a connection node between the first switch (Fig. 6: FET11) and the third switch (Fig. 6: FET12) and the second line (Fig. 6; [0008]-[0010]: where VB power supply line is the common node between the first and the third switch, the output of the full-bridge circuit is connected to the “vibrating element XD”, the piezoelectric element.),
wherein the control circuit (Fig. 1: 12) keeps the separation switch (Fig. 1: 13) on in a period during which the drive signal is supplied ([0047]: “The transmit-receive switching circuit 13 passes the driving pulse signal output from the driver circuit 12 to the vibrating element 10 during each successive transmit cycle”, where the separation switch (circuit 13) is kept “on” (passes the driving signal) to the piezoelectric element) to the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1: 10) and in a period during which the damping signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1; [0024]-[0025]: XD vibrating element 10 constitutes the piezoelectric element), and keeps the separation switch (Fig. 1: 13) off in at least a part of a period during which the first switch (Fig. 1: FET11) and the third switch (Fig. 1: FET12) are turned on (closed position) and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off (open position) by the brake operation ([0024]-[0025] & [0030], “When the first and fourth switching devices of the full-bridge circuit are set to the ON state and the second switching device of the full-bridge circuit is set to the OFF state, the first and fourth switching devices of the full-bridge circuit and a relevant vibrating element together constitute a closed loop.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a separation switch which is inserted between a connection node between the first switch and the third switch and the second line, where the control circuit keeps the separation switch on in a period during which the drive signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element and in a period during which the damping signal is supplied to the piezoelectric element, and keeps the separation switch off in at least a part of a period during which the first switch and the third switch are turned on and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off by the brake operation, of Hayashi to Koudar, in order to attain and isolate the transducer from the driving bridge, allowing damping to occur more effectively, resulting in an improved damping and overall system performance from the transducer, where Koudar teaches an active damping phase applied after a drive phase, using a drive signal and a damping signal with specific timing to a transducer, Hayashi provides the teaching of the full-bridge circuit structure and its operation, including the control of switching devices, and Kirchner reinforces damping. The combination of prior art references makes it obvious to implement Koudar’s drive and damping control on the full-bridge architecture of Hayashi, and a switch at the output to control the connection to the transducer, according to known methods, and yield expected predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Koudar, teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1 further comprising (Figs. 1 & 15; [0003], [0027]-[0028] & [0086]):
a damping circuit (Fig. 1; [0027]: active damping circuit 213) which includes a resistive load (236) and an inductive load ([0027]-[0028]: discloses the damping circuit (218 passive damping circuit) comprises an inductor 235 and resistor 236)), wherein the control circuit (203) causes, after the supply of the drive signal to the piezoelectric element (transducer 12) is stopped ([0026]-[0029]: discloses ending the drive (transmission) phase before initiating damping, where the transducer 12 is the piezoelectric element), the drive circuit (207) to supply the damping signal to the piezoelectric element (12) through the brake operation (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0025]-[0029], [0034] & [0086]: as mapped in independent claim 1 Koudar teaches applying an active damping signal/voltage to the transducer and Heppekausen teaches executing this active damping in conjunction with the bridge-shorting brake operation), and thereafter can connect the damping circuit to the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0026], [0029], [0034], [0037] & [0044]: teaches connecting the passive damping circuit (R+L) to the transducer after the active damping phase has conclude to continue draining the remaining stored energy).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Koudar, teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 4 (Figs. 1 & 5; [0003], [0020], [0027]-[0028] & [0086]), wherein the control circuit (203) can perform damper connection control after the supply of the damping signal to the piezoelectric element is stopped ([0042]-[0044]: teaches transitioning from the active damping phase (damper connection control) after the active signal has sufficiently reduced the energy), stops the brake operation after the damping circuit is connected to the piezoelectric element ([0105]-[0107] & [0131]-[0133]) and turns off all the first to fourth switches ([0037]-[0039]: placing the drive bridge in a high-impedance state/closed-loop damping phase).
Koudar, in combination with Hayashi, are silent in regard to:
starts the brake operation in the damper connection control before the damping circuit is connected to the piezoelectric element,
However, Heppekausen, further teaches
starts the brake operation in the damper connection control before the damping circuit is connected to the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1; [0033]-[0034] & [0037]-[0039]: teaches the brake operation (closing the bottom bridge switches 22 & 26 to short the transducer) to safely recirculate current),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to sequence the switch operations taught by Koudar, Hayashi, and Heppekausen, which is a textbook application of “make-before-break” (MBB) switching. Where the sequence starts the brake operation (short the bridge as taught by Heppekausen), connect the damping circuit while the current is safely freewheeling, and stop the brake operation and turn “off” all bridge switches after the passive damper is connected, forcing the reaming recirculating energy out of the short-circuit, into the passive damper, according to knows methods, and yield predictable results (KSR). The switching sequence is a standard, and predictable engineering solution that is used to protect semiconductor devices from inductive/piezoelectric voltage transients.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Koudar, teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 5 (Figs. 1 & 5; [0003], [0020], [0027]-[0028] & [0086]),
wherein the control circuit can perform, after the supply of the damping signal to the piezoelectric element is stopped ([0026]: teaches that after the damping phase is complete, the controller moves to a “distance measuring phase” to receive the faint echo signals. Receiving an echo inherently requires disconnecting the passive damping circuit, otherwise the signal would be dissipated),
and stops the brake operation after the damping circuit is interrupted from the piezoelectric element ([0026], [0034] & [0037]-[0039]: “controller 203” manages the “damping phase” to “reduce the energy stored in transducer 12.”, includes applying a “damping signal”, and later terminating the damping phase when energy is below a threshold, part of the damper disconnection control and the high-impedance state is required so the receiver circuit (210) can detect incoming ultrasonic echoes without the bridge or brake circuit loading down the signal).
Koudar, in combination with Hayashi, are silent in regard to:
damper disconnection control after connecting the damping circuit and the piezoelectric element by the damper connection control, starts the brake operation before the damping circuit is interrupted from the piezoelectric element in the damper disconnection control,
However, Heppekausen, further teaches
damper disconnection control after connecting the damping circuit and the piezoelectric element by the damper connection control (Figs. 5 & 7; [0036]-[0039]: teaches “damper disconnection control” by monitoring the transducer voltage and opening the damping switch once the ringing drops below a threshold), starts the brake operation before the damping circuit is interrupted from the piezoelectric element in the damper disconnection control (Fig. 1; [0033]-[0034] & [0037]-[0039]: teaches the brake operation (closing the bottom bridge switches 22 & 26 to short the transducer). Applying this short before opening the switch to the passive damping circuit is a standard “make-before-break” strategy to provide a safe freewheeling path for the current stored in the damping circuit’s inductor),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to sequence the switch operations taught by Koudar, Hayashi, and Heppekausen, which is a textbook application of “make-before-break” (MBB) switching. Where the sequence starts the brake operation (short the bridge as taught by Heppekausen) to safely trap and recirculate the remaining inductive current, interrupt the damping circuit (open switch 219) while the current is safely freewheeling through the shorted bridge, preventing a voltage spike, and stop the brake operation (open the bridge switches to enter a high-impedance state, as taught by Hayashi) after the passive damper is disconnected, preparing the transducer to act as a receiver for the incoming echo signal without the signal being shorted out by the brake operation, according to knows methods, representing an obvious application of known techniques to yield predictable results (KSR). The switching sequence is a standard, and predictable engineering solution that is used to mitigate inductive flyback during load disconnection, to protect semiconductor devices from inductive/piezoelectric voltage transients.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Koudar, teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 4 (Figs. 1 & 5; [0003], [0020], [0027]-[0028] & [0086]),
wherein in the damping circuit ([0027]-[0028] & [0036]), the resistive load (Fig. 1: 36) and the inductive load (Fig. 1: 235) are connected in parallel (Fig. 1; [0027]-[0028] & [0036]: teaches that the passive damping circuit comprises an inductor connected in parallel with a resistor).
Regarding independent claim 8, Koudar, teaches:
An ultrasonic sensor comprising (Figs.1 & 15; [0003], [0025]-[0028] & [0086]: “acoustic system 200” that includes an “acoustic transducer 12”, can be an “ultrasonic transducer”, can be an “ultrasonic transmitter” or an “ultrasonic receiver”)
piezoelectric element ([0025]: discloses an ultrasonic sensor comprising a piezoelectric element), and
a semiconductor device connected to the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1; [0025]-[0028]: “acoustic transducer 12” may be configured as a “piezoceramic element with an attached membrane for acoustic interface”, the “transducer 12” is connected to “controller 203” (semiconductor device) via terminals (17, 19, 223, 28) and various switches, “controller 203 may be configured to enable switch 208” coupled to the output of circuit 207 to transducer 12), the semiconductor device comprising (Figs. 1, 5, & 15; [0003], [0025]-[0028] & [0086]: 100 semiconductor device):
a drive circuit (Fig. 1; [0025]-[0028]: controller 203 & 205) configured to be capable of supplying a drive signal in an ultrasonic band to the piezoelectric element (Fig.1; [Abstract], [0025]-[0029] & [0086]: discloses a transmitter circuit that drives an ultrasonic transducer, controller 203 with TX circuit 207), and be capable of supplying, after the supply of the drive signal is stopped ([Abstract], [0026] & [0029]), a damping signal ([0026] & [0034]) having a phase different from a phase of the drive signal to the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1-2; [Abstract], [0026], [0029], [0034] & [0039]: discloses applying an active damping signal with an opposite polarity (phase)); and
a control circuit (Figs. 1 & 3: 203 & 205 control circuit) configured to be capable of controlling the drive circuit (Fig. 1; [0026]-[0028]: discloses controller issuing control signals),
Koudar, is silent in regard to:
wherein the drive circuit includes a full bridge circuit which is provided between a first line and a second line to which a potential higher than the first line is to be applied, and uses the full bridge circuit to be able to supply the drive signal and the damping signal to the piezoelectric element based on a potential difference between the first line and the second line,
the full bridge circuit includes a series circuit of a first switch provided on a side of the second line and a second switch provided on a side of the first line and a series circuit of a third switch provided on the side of the second line and a fourth switch provided on the side of the first line, and can respectively connect a connection node between the first switch and the second switch and a connection node between the third switch and the fourth switch to a first end and a second end of the piezoelectric element,
wherein the control circuit is configured to, after the supply of the drive signal to the piezoelectric element is stopped, and during a brake period in which a brake operation is performed, supply the damping signal to the piezoelectric element using the drive circuit,
in the brake operation, the first switch and the third switch are turned off and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on or the first switch and the third switch are turned on and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off, and
the phase of the damping signal is a function of a length of the brake period.
However, Heppekausen, further teaches:
wherein the drive circuit includes a full bridge circuit which is provided between a first line and a second line to which a potential higher than the first line is to be applied (Fig. 1; [0028]-[0029]: discloses a full-bridge circuit connected to a voltage supply line and a ground line), and uses the full bridge circuit to be able to supply the drive signal and the damping signal to the piezoelectric element based on a potential difference between the first line and the second line (Fig. 1; [0028]-[0029] & [0038]: teaches applying the drive and damping signals to the transducer using the full bridge via alternating polarities across the voltage lines),
the full bridge circuit includes a series circuit of a first switch provided on a side of the second line and a second switch provided on a side of the first line and a series circuit of a third switch provided on the side of the second line and a fourth switch provided on the side of the first line (Fig.1; [0028]-[0029]: discloses the for-switch architecture connected between a high potential line (VDRV) and a low potential/ground line (mass/first line), Fig. 1 illustrates switches 20 and 24 on the top side connected to the high line, and switches 26 and 22 on the bottom side connected to the ground line), and can respectively connect a connection node between the first switch and the second switch and a connection node between the third switch and the fourth switch to a first end and a second end of the piezoelectric element (Fig. 1; [0028]-[0031] : maps the exact physical connections from the nodes between the top and bottom switches to the two ends of the piezoelectric transducer),
wherein the control circuit is configured to, after the supply of the drive signal to the piezoelectric element is stopped, and during a brake period in which a brake operation is performed, supply the damping signal to the piezoelectric element using the drive circuit ([0034] & [0037]-[0039]: teaches entering a decay phase (brake period) immediately after the drive signal stops, shorting the circuit (brake operation), and applying active damping pulses),
in the brake operation, the first switch and the third switch are turned off and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned on or the first switch and the third switch are turned on and the second switch and the fourth switch are turned off (Fig. 1; [0033]-[0034]: teaches short-circuiting the transducer by turning on the two bottom switches (switches 26 and 22) of the full bridge circuit while the top switches are off (switches 20 and 24), and
the phase of the damping signal is a function of a length of the brake period ([0026]-[0034] & [0037]-[0041]: teaches that during the brake period/pause, the transducer stops vibrating at the driven frequency and assumes its own natural frequency, causing its phase to drift relative to the controller. To apply the next active damping pulse at the correct 180° opposing phase, the controller must determine the phase shift that occurred during the pause, therefore the phase of the required damping signal mathematically correlates to, and is a function, of the duration (length) of the brake (period/pause) period and the phase position of the element would need to be determined again during the pause to calculate the correct phase for the subsequent damping pulse).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the drive circuit of the ultrasonic sensor taught by Koudar using the full-bridge architecture taught by Heppekausen and/or Hayashi (Fig. 6; [0008]-[0010]) and further incorporate the short-circuit brake operation and phase-determination logic of Heppekausen. The motivation would be to provide a robust, bi-directional driving topology capable of generating high-power ultrasonic transmission pulses and subsequent active damping pulses using a power supply/source. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to incorporate the brake operation and phase-determination logic of Heppekausen into the combined full-bridge system of Koudar and Hayashi. The motivation would be to compensate for the resonant frequency drift that naturally occurs when the transducer freewheels during a brake period. By making the phase of the damping signal a function of the brake period’s length, the system ensures the active damping pulse is applied at the precise optimal phase angle (180° opposed) to rapidly put out transducer ringing and improve near-field obstacle detection, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Koudar, teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 5; [0003], [0020], [0027]-[0028] & [0086]), wherein the phase of the damping signal is equal to ([0025]-[0029] & [0038]: teaches that the frequency of the drive signal is set to be the same as the resonant frequency of the transducer) a frequency of the drive signal ([0025]-[0029]),
Koudar, in combination with Hayashi, are silent in regard to:
a product of the length of the brake period, and 2π.
However, Heppekausen, further teaches:
a product of the length of the brake period, and 2π ([0026], [0038] & [Official Notice]: teaches that the phase must be determined based on the length of the pause (brake period) to set the correct damping face. Official Notice: The stated relationship is the universal fundamental physics formula for converting a time duration into an angular phase shift: Phase (Φ) = Angular Velocity (ω) X Time (t), Since ω = 2πf, the formula is universally known as: Φ = 2π x f x t. Substituting the claim’s variables: Phase (Φ) = 2π x fdrive x tbrake).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combination of prior art teaches that the phase of the damping signal is a function of the length of the brake period, as taught by Heppekausen, and the frequency of the drive signal is the same as the natural resonant frequency of the transducer, as taught by Koudar. Knowing this, would then make it obvious to a POSITA to calculate the required phase of the damping signal using the formula: Phase = Length of Brake Period X Frequency of the Drive Signal X 2π. This is a fundamental, textbook principle of mathematics and physics that states that the angular phase (Φ) accumulated by a periodic waveform over a specific time duration (t) is equal to the angular frequency (ω) multiplied by that time duration (Φ = ω*t) because angular frequency is equal to 2π times the linear frequency (f), the universal formula is Φ = 2π*f*t. Heppekausen teaches the need to calculate the phase shift that occurs during the brake period. Koudar teaches an embodiment where the drive signal frequency is matched to the transducer’s resonant frequency. A POSITA programming the control circuit to calculate the phase shift during the brake period would apply the mathematical conversion formula (Φ =2π*fdrive*Tbrake). The claim merely recites a universally known law of physics/mathematics used to convert time into phase angle.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Koudar, teaches:
The ultrasonic sensor according to claim 8 (Figs.1 & 15; [0003], [0025]-[0028] & [0086]), wherein the phase of the damping signal is equal to ([0025]-[0029] & [0038]: teaches that the frequency of the drive signal is set to be the same as the resonant frequency of the transducer) a frequency of the drive signal ([0025]-[0029]),
Koudar, in combination with Hayashi, are silent in regard to:
a product of the length of the brake period, and 2π.
However, Heppekausen, further teaches:
a product of the length of the brake period, and 2π ([0026], [0038] & [Official Notice]: teaches that the phase must be determined based on the length of the pause (brake period) to set the correct damping face. Official Notice: The stated relationship is the universal fundamental physics formula for converting a time duration into an angular phase shift: Phase (Φ) = Angular Velocity (ω) X Time (t), Since ω = 2πf, the formula is universally known as: Φ = 2π x f x t. Substituting the claim’s variables: Phase (Φ) = 2π x fdrive x tbrake).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combination of prior art teaches that the phase of the damping signal is a function of the length of the brake period, as taught by Heppekausen, and the frequency of the drive signal, as taught by Koudar is the same as the natural resonant frequency of the transducer. Knowing this, would then make it obvious to a POSITA to calculate the required phase of the damping signal using the formula: Phase = Length of Brake Period X Frequency of the Drive Signal X 2π. This is a fundamental, textbook principle of mathematics and physics that states that the angular phase (Φ) accumulated by a periodic waveform over a specific time duration (t) is equal to the angular frequency (ω) multiplied by that time duration (Φ = ω*t) because angular frequency is equal to 2π times the linear frequency (f), the universal formula is Φ = 2π*f*t. Heppekausen teaches the need to calculate the phase shift that occurs during the brake period. Koudar teaches an embodiment where the drive signal frequency is matched to the transducer’s resonant frequency. A POSITA programming the control circuit to calculate the phase shift during the brake period would apply the mathematical conversion formula (Φ =2π*fdrive*Tbrake). The claim merely recites a universally known law of physics/mathematics used to convert time into phase angle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saito (US20170016958A1) discloses an engine/motor driving device comprising a dynamic braking circuit. Sugae (US 2019/0377074A1) discloses an object detection device and object detection system.
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 16, 2026
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 19, 2026