DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2022/0359369).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, a gate-tie-down (GTD) cell (region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, figure 29C), comprising:
a gate (right 100/102 in region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, [12], figure 29C) extending in a first direction (A-A’ direction, figures), the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) defining an edge of the GTD cell (region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, figure 29C);
a nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]) extending in a second direction (C-C’ direction, figures) different from the first direction (A-A’ direction, figures), the nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]) being formed within the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) at least partially;
a backside power (BSP) rail (132, [92]) extending in the second direction (C-C’ direction, figures), the BSP rail (132, [92]) being formed below the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and below the nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]);
a backside contact (129/130, [89]) on and electrically coupled with the BSP rail (132, [92]);
a source/drain (S/D) (92, [12]) on and electrically coupled with the backside contact (129/130, [89]);
a frontside contact (112, [71]) on and electrically coupled with the S/D (92, [12]); and
a jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) on and electrically coupled with the frontside contact (112, [71]) and on and electrically coupled with the gate (right 100/102, [12]),
wherein the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) is electrically coupled with the BSP rail (132, [92]) through the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]), the frontside contact (112, [71]), the S/D (92, [12]), and the backside contact (129/130, [89]).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses the GTD cell of claim 1 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the first (A-A’ direction, figures) and second (C-C’ direction, figures) directions are orthogonal to each other.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai discloses the GTD cell of claim 1 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) is in direct contact with one or both of the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and the frontside contact (112, [71]),
the frontside contact (112, [71]) is in direct contact with the S/D (92, [12]),
the S/D (92, [12]) is in direct contact with the backside contact (129/130, [89]),
the backside contact (129/130, [89]) is in direct contact with the BSP rail (132, [92]), or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Tsai discloses the GTD cell of claim 1 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) is a first gate (first gate 100/102 in region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and the edge is a first edge (first edge of region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, [12], figure 29C),
wherein the GTD cell (region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, figure 29C) further comprises a second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) extending in the first direction (A-A’ direction, figures), the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) defining a second edge of the GTD cell (region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, figure 29C), the nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]) being formed within the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) at least partially,
wherein the backside contact (129/130, [89]), the S/D (92, [12]), and the frontside contact (112, [71]) are horizontally in between the first (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and second (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) gates,
wherein the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) is formed on and electrically coupled with the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C), and
wherein the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) is electrically coupled with the BSP rail (132, [92]) through the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]), the frontside contact (112, [71]), the S/D (92, [12]), and the backside contact (129/130, [89]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai discloses the GTD cell of claim 4 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) is in direct contact with the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai discloses the GTD cell of claim 1 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the backside contact (129/130, [89]) is formed from any one or more of copper (Cu) ([89]), cobalt (Co) ([89]), tungsten (W) ([89]), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru) ([89]), titanium aluminide (TiAl), and titanium nitride (TiN).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai discloses the GTD cell of claim 1 as described above.
The claimed limitation of "an apparatus selected from the group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, an Internet of things (IoT) device, a laptop computer, a server, and a device in an automotive vehicle" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as intended use.
Regarding claim 12, Tsai discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, a method of fabricating a gate-tie-down (GTD) cell (the limitation of "a gate-tie-down (GTD) cell" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as intended use) (region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, figure 29C), the method comprising:
forming a gate (right 100/102 in region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, [12], figure 29C) extending in a first direction (A-A’ direction, figures), the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) defining an edge of the GTD cell (region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, figure 29C);
forming a nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]) extending in a second direction (C-C’ direction, figures) different from the first direction (A-A’ direction, figures), the nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]) being formed within the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) at least partially;
forming a backside power (BSP) rail (132, [92]) extending in the second direction (C-C’ direction, figures), the BSP rail (132, [92]) being formed below the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and below the nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]);
forming a backside contact (129/130, [89]) on and electrically coupled with the BSP rail (132, [92]);
forming a source/drain (S/D) (92, [12]) on and electrically coupled with the backside contact (129/130, [89]);
forming a frontside contact (112, [71]) on and electrically coupled with the S/D (92, [12]); and
forming a jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) on and electrically coupled with the frontside contact (112, [71]) and on and electrically coupled with the gate (right 100/102, [12]),
wherein the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) is electrically coupled with the BSP rail (132, [92]) through the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]), the frontside contact (112, [71]), the S/D (92, [12]), and the backside contact (129/130, [89]).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai discloses the method of claim 12 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the first (A-A’ direction, figures) and second (C-C’ direction, figures) directions are orthogonal to each other.
Regarding claim 14, Tsai discloses the method of claim 12 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) is in direct contact with one or both of the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and the frontside contact (112, [71]),
the frontside contact (112, [71]) is in direct contact with the S/D (92, [12]),
the S/D (92, [12]) is in direct contact with the backside contact (129/130, [89]),
the backside contact (129/130, [89]) is in direct contact with the BSP rail (132, [92]), or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 15, Tsai discloses the method of claim 12 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the gate (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) is a first gate (first gate 100/102 in region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and the edge is a first edge (first edge of region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, [12], figure 29C),
wherein the method further comprises forming a second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) extending in the first direction (A-A’ direction, figures), the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) defining a second edge of the GTD cell (region of middle gate 100/102 to right gate 100/102, figure 29C), the nano ribbon (55 (54A-C), [11], [22]) being formed within the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) at least partially,
wherein the backside contact (129/130, [89]), the S/D (92, [12]), and the frontside contact (112, [71]) are horizontally in between the first (right 100/102, [12], figure 29C) and second (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) gates,
wherein the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) is formed on and electrically coupled with the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C), and
wherein the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C) is electrically coupled with the BSP rail (132, [92]) through the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]), the frontside contact (112, [71]), the S/D (92, [12]), and the backside contact (129/130, [89]).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai discloses the method of claim 15 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the jumper contact (114/122, [71], [73]) is in direct contact with the second gate (middle 100/102, [12], figure 29C).
Regarding claim 21, Tsai discloses the method of claim 12 as described above.
Tsai further discloses, in at least figures 1, 29A-29C, and related text, the backside contact (129/130, [89]) is formed from any one or more of copper (Cu) ([89]), cobalt (Co) ([89]), tungsten (W) ([89]), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru) ([89]), titanium aluminide (TiAl), and titanium nitride (TiN).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1 and 6 that recite "the logic gate is horizontally in between the frontside contact and the logic contact" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1 and 6.
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1 and 8 that recite "the GTD cell is configured to abut another GTD cell such that the gate is a common gate to the GTD cell and to the another GTD cell, wherein the another GTD cell comprises: another backside contact on and electrically coupled with the BSP rail; another S/D on and electrically coupled with the another backside contact; and another frontside contact on and electrically coupled with the another S/D, and wherein the jumper contact is on and electrically coupled with the another frontside contact" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1 and 8.
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 12 and 17 that recite "the logic gate is horizontally in between the frontside contact and the logic contact" in combination with other elements of the base claims 12 and 17.
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 12 and 19 that recite "the GTD cell is configured to abut another GTD cell such that the gate is a common gate to the GTD cell and to the another GTD cell, wherein the another GTD cell comprises: another backside contact on and electrically coupled with the BSP rail; another S/D on and electrically coupled with the another backside contact; and another frontside contact on and electrically coupled with the another S/D, and wherein the jumper contact is on and electrically coupled with the another frontside contact" in combination with other elements of the base claims 12 and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811