DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-11: The preamble of claims 1-11 recite “electrode coating device” which is intended use and applicant is advised it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartlett (US Patent 4,106,437; hereafter ‘437).
Claim 1: ‘437 is directed towards a coating device (title) comprising:
a die block including a first die and a second die coupled to each other (see abstract & #s 40 & 42, Figs. 2 & 3), and at least one of the first die and the second die having an accommodating portion for accommodating slurry (see cavity in # 40, Fig. 3);
a shim plate partially disposed along a circumference of the accommodating portion between the first die and the second die to form a discharge port through which the slurry is discharged (see shim 44, Figs. 2 & 3); and
an expansion plate coupled to the shim plate (shim 46 reads on the expansion plate);
wherein the shim plate includes:
a first section disposed on the opposite side of the discharge port (see Figs. 2 & 3);
a second section extending from both ends of the first section toward the discharge port (see Figs. 2 & 3); and
a third section extending from a center of the first section toward the discharge port to divide the discharge port into a first discharge port and a second discharge port (see Figs. 2-4),
wherein the expansion plate is disposed in a form expanding a width of the third section in a region corresponding to the accommodating portion (see #46 which overlaps the openings 54 in 44 and thus reads on this limitation, Figs. 2-3).
Claim 2: The expansion plate is disposed on both sides of the third section (Figs. 2-3).
Claim 6: The apparatus of ‘437 further comprises:
a supply port formed through the die block and used as a path for supplying the slurry to the accommodating portion (see #38, Figs. 2-3),
wherein the third section is disposed to face the supply port (see Fig. 3).
Claim 10: ‘437 is directed towards a coating device (title) comprising:
a die block including a first die and a second die coupled to each other (see abstract & #s 40 & 42, Figs. 2 & 3), and at least one of the first die and the second die having an accommodating portion for accommodating slurry (see cavity in # 40, Fig. 3);
a shim plate partially disposed along a circumference of the accommodating portion between the first die and the second die to form a discharge port through which the slurry is discharged (see shim 44, Figs. 2 & 3); and
an expansion plate coupled to the shim plate (shim 46 reads on the expansion plate);
wherein the shim plate includes:
a first section disposed on the opposite side of the discharge port (see Figs. 2 & 3); and
a second section and a third section extending from the first section toward the discharge port, respectively (see Figs. 2-3), and
the expansion plate is disposed in a form of reducing a space between the second section and the third section in a region corresponding to the accommodating portion (see #46 which overlaps the openings 54 in 44 and thus reads on this limitation, Figs. 2-3).
Claim 11: The apparatus of ‘437 further comprises:
a supply port formed through the die block and used as a path for supplying the slurry to the accommodating portion (see #38, Figs. 2-3),
wherein the third section is disposed to face the supply port, and the expansion plate is disposed to be in contact with the third section (see Figs. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘437.
Claim 3: The expansion plate is disposed such that one side is in contact with the first section (see Figs. 2-4).
‘437 does not teach that the expansion plate is formed of a square plate.
However, it would have been obvious to make the expansion plate comprised of several components of which at least a portion is a square plate because changes in shape and size and well as making separable are prima facie obvious. See MPEP §§ 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B) & 2144.041(V)(C).
Claims 4-5: ‘437 does not teach the claimed dimensions.
However, changes in shape and size are prima facie obvious. See MPEP §§ 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘437 as applied above, and further in view of Park et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0058834; hereafter ‘834).
Claim 7: The expansion plate of ‘437 includes a flow control portion disposed outside the shim plate (see Figs. 2-4).
‘437 does not teach that the expansion plate and shim plate are coupled or teach the claimed coupling structure.
However, ‘834, which is also directed towards die coaters (title), teaches that shim plates can be coupled using protrusions and grooves (see Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the teachings of ‘834 into the die coater of ‘437 and use protrusions and grooves as taught by ‘834 for coupling between the various components in the die coater of ‘437 because protrusions and grooves are recognized in the art for coupling shims in the art and would have predictably been suitable for the multiple shims (the expansion plate and shim plate) of ‘437.
The combination does not teach the specific location, orientation, or number of protrusions and grooves.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the claimed number of protrusions and grooves with the claimed orientations/locations because it is prima facie obvious to rearrange and duplicate parts for the same intended use without a change in the function. See MPEP §§ 2144.04(III)(C) & (VI)(C).
Claim 8: The combination teaches that the coupling is detachable (see Fig. 6, ‘834).
Claim 9: The flow control portion is disposed on both sides of the third section (see Figs. 2-4, ‘437), and
the combination teaches that the coupling portion connects the two flow control portions and is coupled to the third section (the coupling means as discussed above between the two plates of ‘437).
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759