DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 6 and 13 recite limitations – “receive, from the imaging device, image data from the imaging device of a user interacting with a machine; receive, from the one or more sensors, sensory data of the user interacting with the machine; determine, using a machine learning model, whether the user interacting with the machine is impaired based on the image data or the sensory data, or combinations thereof; responsive to determining that the user is impaired, cause the machine to output a sound or one or more vibration sequences within a predetermined distance from a reader of the machine; receive, from the reader, data associated with the user of the machine; initiate a phone call to a user device associated with the user using a phone number associated with the data; initiate a machine process; receive, from the user device, a command to terminate the machine process; and transmit a termination instruction to the machine”, appears to be directed to a user initiating a financial transaction with a machine such as ATM or like and further upon recognizing by the machine of image sensor data or other sensor data around the user of being impaired, a phone call is initiated to the user of the machine received from the data of user, and a machine process is initiated of terminating the financial transaction based on command from the user device which received a phone call and after the financial transaction is terminated based on the command and message is output to the machine, However, it is not clear as to if a machine process is associated with the same machine that user has started the transaction with initially as it may be any other machine process. Further, if the user does not have his personal user device or phone with at the moment, then how would the machine process be terminated or would remain half incomplete as the machine process has been initiated.
Therefore, the Examiner suggests to amend the claims in order to clarify the features discussed above. In particular, the Examiner suggests to amending the claims similar to –“initiate a process at the machine…”--, and terminating the machine process if the command is not received from the user device in other manner as best mode specified in the best mode embodiments of the original specifications in paragraphs [0028].
Dependent claims do not remedy the deficiencies introduced by the independent claims. Therefore, rejected similarly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dialameh et al. (US Pub No. 20220270512 A1) in view of Wurmfeld et al. (US Pub No. 20190318331 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Dialameh discloses A dynamic detection system comprising: an imaging device; one or more sensors; one or more processors; and memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that are configured to cause the dynamic detection system to: (Dialameh, [0022], discloses a computer/server based augmented reality engines, various alternative configurations are also deemed suitable and may employ various computing devices including servers, interfaces, systems, databases, engines, adapters, controllers, or other types of computing devices operating individually or collectively. One should appreciate the computing devices comprise a processor configured to execute software instructions stored on a tangible, non-transitory computer readable storage medium (e.g., hard drive, solid state drive, RAM, flash, ROM, etc.). The software instructions preferably configure the computing device to provide the roles, responsibilities, or other functionality as discussed below with respect to the disclose apparatus. In especially preferred embodiments, the various servers, systems, databases, or interfaces exchange data using standardized protocols or algorithms, possibly based on HTTP, HTTPS, AES, public-private key exchanges, web service APIs, known financial transaction protocols, or other electronic information exchanging methods. Data exchanges preferably are conducted over a packet-switched network, the Internet, LAN, WAN, VPN, or other type of packet switched network)
receive, from the imaging device, image data from the imaging device of a user interacting with a machine; (Dialameh, Abstract, [0093], discloses providing real-time object recognition to a remote user. The system comprises a portable communication device including a camera, at least one client-server host device remote from and accessible by the portable communication device over a network, and a recognition database accessible by the client-server host device or devices. A recognition application residing on the client-server host device or devices is capable of utilizing the recognition database to provide real-time object recognition of visual imagery captured using the portable communication device to the remote user of the portable communication device. In one embodiment, a sighted assistant shares an augmented reality panorama with a visually impaired user of the portable communication device where the panorama is constructed from sensor data from the device; referring to step 510 of flowchart 500 in conjunction with FIG. 1, step 510 comprises capturing visual imagery of an object by a portable communication device including a camera. Step 510 may be performed using portable communication device 110 including camera 112. As a specific example, let us consider portable communication device 110 to be a smart phone comprising a video camera capable of capturing high resolution imagery. In that example, step 510 can correspond to a user of the smart phone shooting video using the high resolution video camera; image of user is captured using image device camera sensor).
receive, from the one or more sensors, sensory data of the user interacting with the machine; (Dialameh, [0009], discloses augmented reality panorama can be built based on sensor data collected via the individual's smart phone, or other sources of ambient data. The assistant can interact with objects, or other aspects augmented reality panorama, and send device commands back to the individual's smart phone to assist the individual or gain further informant about the environment; data around the user environment is collected around the environment of the user)
determine, using a machine learning model, whether the user interacting with the machine is impaired based on the image data or the sensory data, or combinations thereof;(Dialameh,[0012], [0060], Fig.3, discloses apparatus, systems and methods in which a visual impaired person can seek assistance from a sighted assistant. One aspect of the inventive subject matter includes an augmented reality engine comprising a panoramic engine capable of constructing an augmented reality panorama representing a model of a remote environment and its objects. The panorama can be constructed at least partially based on ambient sensor data collected from a remote visually impaired person's smart phone or other mobile sensing device proximate to the visually impaired person. Preferably the ambient sensor data reflects the remote environment of the person, possibly comprising data associated with images, video, audio, acceleration, orientation, location, odometry, or other sensor data. A sighted assistant utilizes a sighted assistant interface to interact with the augmented reality panorama and with its objects to provide assistive feedback to the remote visually impaired person. The assistant interface presents the augmented reality panorama with an integrated current field of view of the remote person's sensing device. The sighted assistant, human or automated shares the experiences of the remote visually impaired person and interacts with objects within the augmented reality panorama causing one or more device commands to be transmitted back to the person's smart phone. The device commands can instruct the smart phone, or other mobile sensing device, to capture additional information relating to corresponding real-world objects. For example, the device commands can provide haptic or audible feedback to the visually impaired person indicating proximity to one or more objects, or can control selection of one or more applicable object recognition algorithms or routines to acquire additional data. a visual frame on which is captured an example display produced by recognition application 124, in FIG. 1, according to one embodiment of the present invention; visual frame on which is captured an example display produced by recognition application 124, in FIG. 1, including an accessible user interface suitable for use by a remote assistant having basic computer skills, according to one embodiment of the present invention. Interface 324 can be considered a sighted assistant interface. Based on a two touch button push a mobile user can connect to a remote assistant with audio and one-way video connection, allowing the remote assistant to act as a remote cameraman to train the system. For example, the remote assistant can first direct the mobile user of portable communication device 110 with audio commands to bring an object of interest into view, using live video from portable communication device 110 in small viewing window 322. Once the object of interest is in full view, the remote assistant can press one of the Capture Image buttons 323a or 323b to either record a frame of video, or request a high resolution image, e.g., captured visual imagery 325. The remote assistant can then enter an object ID in Text Description field 328 that can be used to enunciate the object when the system is in recognition mode; discloses image of user to determine if visually or other impairments and various sensors inputs including audio, orientation, location are taken into account to determine impairment)
responsive to determining that the user is impaired, cause the machine to output a sound or one or more vibration sequences within a predetermined distance from a reader of the machine; (Dialameh, [0129], discloses device commands 751 can take on many different forms depending on the requirements or desires of the assistant. Example commands can include changing data acquisition frame rate for video, adjusting resolution of capture images, change sampling rate for audio capture, adjusting compression or encryption parameters of exchanged data, alternating communication paths between the remote sensing device and the panoramic engine, instructing device to trigger on or more actuators (e.g., weighted plungers, vibrators, Braille pads, etc.), emit audible signals representing object proximity, or other control commands. Thus, the sighted assistant can control the remote sensing device to enhance augmented reality panorama 770 as well as assist the remote visually impaired person. Consider a scenario where the visually impaired person wishes to purchase a new paper. The sighted assistant can issue device commands 751 to the device causing the device to vibrate or emit sounds as the visually impaired person nears the new paper vending machine; sound or other vibrate using a device command is issued by assistant near the user for assistance)
initiate a phone call (Dialameh, [0013], discloses the augmented reality panorama includes multi-modal panoramic data where objects in the augmented realty include multiple types of sensory data possibly include visual data, haptic data, kinesthetic data, audible data, or other types of sensory data. Objects can also be tagged with metadata that includes non-visible data. Example non-visible data includes haptic metadata tags, audio metadata tags, or other types of tags that can be leveraged by the assistant to aid the visually impaired user. The multi-modal metadata tags or non-visible tags can be transmitted back to the remote visually impaired person's device in the form of device commands. Thus, the visually impaired person can navigate through their own personalized environment based on non-visible feedback; a communication to user’s personal device (phone) is initiated in case user is impaired which is more suitable to specific communication requirements)
Dialameh does not explicitly disclose receive, from the reader, data associated with the user of the machine; a user device associated with the user using a phone number associated with the data; initiate a machine process; receive, from the user device, a command to terminate the machine process; and transmit a termination instruction to the machine.
Wurmfeld Discloses receive, from the reader, data associated with the user of the machine; a user device associated with the user using a phone number associated with the data; (Wurmfeld, [0041-0042], discloses Memory 230 may include transaction data 232. Transaction data 232 may include information related to financial transactions initiated by a user. For example, transaction data may include a user identifier and a transaction type. The user identifier may be a credit or debit card number, and account number, or another means for identifying the user initiating the financial transaction. The transaction type may include an indicator of the type of transaction the user is initiating, such as, ATM cash withdrawal, debit PIN reset, money wire or transfer, call to the customer service center, ordering a new or reissue debit card, ordering certified funds, or other transactions requiring user authentication. Transaction data 232 may also include authentication data obtained from the user for the purposes of authorizing the transaction by verifying the authenticity of provided biometric data as compared to stored biometric data. Additionally or alternatively, transaction data 232 may be stored in database 240 or in an external storage (not shown) in communication with computing system 200 via network 112 or any other suitable network; memory 230 may further include customer data 234. Customer data 234 may include information about particular customers of the financial service provider. For example, customer data 234 may include clients' account information, debit or credit card information, history of purchase transactions, financial statements, credit score, risk profile, username and password, debit card PIN, home and work locations, and/or biometric information. Additionally, customer data 234 may include user device identification information, such as, for example, a phone number, email address, IP address, Bluetooth signature, or other device identifier. Alternatively customer data 234 may be stored in database 240, or in an external storage (not shown) or in personalization database 110 in communication with computing system 200 via network 112 or any other suitable network; the transfer data associated with the user is transferred to the assistant to initiate a phone call)
initiate a machine process; receive, from the user device, a command to terminate the machine process; and transmit a termination instruction to the machine. (Wurmfeld, [0029], [0063], discloses use 108 may further operate user device 106 in order to be detected and recognized by local FSP device 104. For example, user device 106 may detect, through the user of network 112, a local FSP device 104 in its immediate proximity. Additionally or alternatively, local FSP device 104 may detect user device 106 in its immediate proximity. User device 106 may then connect to local FSP device 104 in order to initiate, conduct, or complete a financial transaction; the system may include the camera 605, the automated teller machine 607 having a user interface 621 based on a user profile, and at least one server system 603 geographically remote from the automated teller machine 607. The server system 603 may be configured to receive a recorded user interaction, receive transaction data, determine an emotion state, extract environmental data, determine a quality indicator for the recorded user interaction, update a user profile, an transmit to the automated teller machine 607 the updated user profile; machine process of financial transaction is completed (terminated) based and output to the user profile on the machine)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Dialameh in view of Wurmfeld having determination of a user of the machine being impaired by sensor data processing and communicating the information to user’s personal device, with the teachings of Wurmfeld that have user’s personal data on file within the user’s profile for access to be communicated of the instructions to authenticate the termination of the transaction in efficiently assisting impaired individuals with assistance to perform successful transactions for applications including ATMs or any other machine processes that include financial transactions.
Regarding Claim 2,
The combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, are further configured to cause the dynamic detection system to: determine whether the data associated with the user of the machine comprises a flag indicating the user is impaired, wherein the phone call is initiated in response to determining the user is impaired. (Wurmfeld, [0057], discloses user profile information may include information related to abilities or disabilities of user 108. User profile information may include information related to visual ability, hearing ability or motor skills. For example, in one embodiment ATM 400 may determine that an ATM interface will display interface elements such as buttons, text, or images of a particular size or contrast, or favor, or avoid certain colors, patterns, or animations due to eye conditions or colorblindness. User profile information may also include information related to a user's ability to use touch based input devices. For example, if a user has difficulty with touch based input devices, and have a tendency to select multiple interface elements inadvertently, this tendency may be included in the user's profile information. As a result, the ATM 400 may generate an ATM interface that ignores repeated inputs in a short period of time. User profile information may also include information indicating that a user has a hearing disability. Based on this information ATM 400 may generate an interface that includes amplified or adapted audio, favors visual cues over audio, incorporates Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TTD) services, etc. Additionally or alternatively, user 108's profile information may include an indication that user 108 uses a hearing device such as a hearing aid or an implant such as those distributed by Cochlear Ltd. ATM 400 may automatically pair with a Bluetooth or other wireless audio feature included in such devices based on information included in user profile information; disability information (impairment information) is indicated updated to the user’s profile indicated as such (flag)). Additionally, the rational and motivation to combine the references Dialameh and Wurmfeld as applied in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Regarding Claim 3,
The combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses receive, from the user device during the phone call, audio data associated with the user; and authenticate the user by comparing authentication data extracted from the audio data to the data. (). Additionally, the rational and motivation to combine the references Dialameh and Wurmfeld as applied in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Regarding Claim 4,
The combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses wherein the machine learning model determines the user is impaired by identifying a disability aid in a portion of the image data. (Dialameh,[0012], [0060], Fig.3, discloses apparatus, systems and methods in which a visual impaired person can seek assistance from a sighted assistant. One aspect of the inventive subject matter includes an augmented reality engine comprising a panoramic engine capable of constructing an augmented reality panorama representing a model of a remote environment and its objects. The panorama can be constructed at least partially based on ambient sensor data collected from a remote visually impaired person's smart phone or other mobile sensing device proximate to the visually impaired person. Preferably the ambient sensor data reflects the remote environment of the person, possibly comprising data associated with images, video, audio, acceleration, orientation, location, odometry, or other sensor data. A sighted assistant utilizes a sighted assistant interface to interact with the augmented reality panorama and with its objects to provide assistive feedback to the remote visually impaired person. The assistant interface presents the augmented reality panorama with an integrated current field of view of the remote person's sensing device. The sighted assistant, human or automated shares the experiences of the remote visually impaired person and interacts with objects within the augmented reality panorama causing one or more device commands to be transmitted back to the person's smart phone. The device commands can instruct the smart phone, or other mobile sensing device, to capture additional information relating to corresponding real-world objects. For example, the device commands can provide haptic or audible feedback to the visually impaired person indicating proximity to one or more objects, or can control selection of one or more applicable object recognition algorithms or routines to acquire additional data. a visual frame on which is captured an example display produced by recognition application 124, in FIG. 1, according to one embodiment of the present invention; visual frame on which is captured an example display produced by recognition application 124, in FIG. 1, including an accessible user interface suitable for use by a remote assistant having basic computer skills, according to one embodiment of the present invention. Interface 324 can be considered a sighted assistant interface. Based on a two touch button push a mobile user can connect to a remote assistant with audio and one-way video connection, allowing the remote assistant to act as a remote cameraman to train the system. For example, the remote assistant can first direct the mobile user of portable communication device 110 with audio commands to bring an object of interest into view, using live video from portable communication device 110 in small viewing window 322. Once the object of interest is in full view, the remote assistant can press one of the Capture Image buttons 323a or 323b to either record a frame of video, or request a high resolution image, e.g., captured visual imagery 325. The remote assistant can then enter an object ID in Text Description field 328 that can be used to enunciate the object when the system is in recognition mode; discloses image of user to determine if visually or other impairments and various sensors inputs including audio, orientation, location are taken into account to determine impairment)Additionally, the rational and motivation to combine the references Dialameh and Wurmfeld as applied in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Regarding Claim 5,
The combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses wherein the machine learning model determines the user is impaired by identifying whether the user interacted with a predetermined number of sensors of the one or more sensors. (Dialameh,[0012], [0060], Fig.3, discloses apparatus, systems and methods in which a visual impaired person can seek assistance from a sighted assistant. One aspect of the inventive subject matter includes an augmented reality engine comprising a panoramic engine capable of constructing an augmented reality panorama representing a model of a remote environment and its objects. The panorama can be constructed at least partially based on ambient sensor data collected from a remote visually impaired person's smart phone or other mobile sensing device proximate to the visually impaired person. Preferably the ambient sensor data reflects the remote environment of the person, possibly comprising data associated with images, video, audio, acceleration, orientation, location, odometry, or other sensor data. A sighted assistant utilizes a sighted assistant interface to interact with the augmented reality panorama and with its objects to provide assistive feedback to the remote visually impaired person. The assistant interface presents the augmented reality panorama with an integrated current field of view of the remote person's sensing device. The sighted assistant, human or automated shares the experiences of the remote visually impaired person and interacts with objects within the augmented reality panorama causing one or more device commands to be transmitted back to the person's smart phone. The device commands can instruct the smart phone, or other mobile sensing device, to capture additional information relating to corresponding real-world objects. For example, the device commands can provide haptic or audible feedback to the visually impaired person indicating proximity to one or more objects, or can control selection of one or more applicable object recognition algorithms or routines to acquire additional data. a visual frame on which is captured an example display produced by recognition application 124, in FIG. 1, according to one embodiment of the present invention; visual frame on which is captured an example display produced by recognition application 124, in FIG. 1, including an accessible user interface suitable for use by a remote assistant having basic computer skills, according to one embodiment of the present invention. Interface 324 can be considered a sighted assistant interface. Based on a two touch button push a mobile user can connect to a remote assistant with audio and one-way video connection, allowing the remote assistant to act as a remote cameraman to train the system. For example, the remote assistant can first direct the mobile user of portable communication device 110 with audio commands to bring an object of interest into view, using live video from portable communication device 110 in small viewing window 322. Once the object of interest is in full view, the remote assistant can press one of the Capture Image buttons 323a or 323b to either record a frame of video, or request a high resolution image, e.g., captured visual imagery 325. The remote assistant can then enter an object ID in Text Description field 328 that can be used to enunciate the object when the system is in recognition mode; discloses image of user to determine if visually or other impairments and various sensors inputs including audio, orientation, location are taken into account to determine impairment). Additionally, the rational and motivation to combine the references Dialameh and Wurmfeld as applied in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Claims 6-7, 9-12 recite system with elements corresponding to the system elements recited in Claims (1,2), 3, (4,1), 4, 4 and 1 respectively. Therefore, the recited elements of the system Claims 6-7, 9-12 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of Claims (1,2), 3, (4,1), 4, 4 and 1 respectively. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Dialameh and Wurmfeld references presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to these claims.
Furthermore, the combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses dynamic detection system, comprising:one or more processors; and memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that are configured to cause the dynamic detection system (Wurmfeld, [0022], discloses system 100 may include a financial service provider (FSP) device 102. FSP device 102 may be a system associated with a financial service provider (not shown), such as a bank, a credit card company, a lender, brokerage firm, or any other type of financial service entity that generates, provides, manages, maintains financial service accounts, etc. for one or more users. FSP device 102 may be one or more computing systems that are configured to execute software instructions stored on one or more memory devices to perform one or more operations consistent with the disclosed embodiments. For example, FSP device 102 may include one or more memory device(s) storing data and software instructions and one or more processor(s) configured to use the data and execute the software instructions to perform server-based functions and operations known to those skilled in the art. FSP device 102 may include one or more general purpose computers, mainframe computers, or any combination of these types of components).
Regarding Claim 8,
The combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses wherein authenticating the user further comprises comparing patterns in the audio data to patterns in prerecorded voice data in the data, or comparing authentication responses in the audio data to prerecorded authentication responses in the data. (Wurmfeld, [0041], discloses memory 230 may include transaction data 232. Transaction data 232 may include information related to financial transactions initiated by a user. For example, transaction data may include a user identifier and a transaction type. The user identifier may be a credit or debit card number, and account number, or another means for identifying the user initiating the financial transaction. The transaction type may include an indicator of the type of transaction the user is initiating, such as, ATM cash withdrawal, debit PIN reset, money wire or transfer, call to the customer service center, ordering a new or reissue debit card, ordering certified funds, or other transactions requiring user authentication. Transaction data 232 may also include authentication data obtained from the user for the purposes of authorizing the transaction by verifying the authenticity of provided biometric data as compared to stored biometric data. Additionally or alternatively, transaction data 232 may be stored in database 240 or in an external storage (not shown) in communication with computing system 200 via network 112 or any other suitable network; biometric data of the user (speech (audio), facial image data, fingerprints are compared with stored data to verify identity of the user for authenticating any type of transactions). Additionally, the rational and motivation to combine the references Dialameh and Wurmfeld as applied in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Claims 13-14, 16-17 recite method with steps corresponding to the system elements recited in Claims 1, 2, 1, 4 respectively. Therefore, the recited steps of the method Claims 6-12 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of Claims 1, 2, 1, 4 respectively. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Dialameh and Wurmfeld references presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to these claims.
Regarding Claim 15,
The combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses wherein authenticating the user further comprises comparing patterns in the audio data to patterns in prerecorded voice data in the data, or comparing authentication responses in the audio data to prerecorded authentication responses in the data. (Wurmfeld, [0041], discloses memory 230 may include transaction data 232. Transaction data 232 may include information related to financial transactions initiated by a user. For example, transaction data may include a user identifier and a transaction type. The user identifier may be a credit or debit card number, and account number, or another means for identifying the user initiating the financial transaction. The transaction type may include an indicator of the type of transaction the user is initiating, such as, ATM cash withdrawal, debit PIN reset, money wire or transfer, call to the customer service center, ordering a new or reissue debit card, ordering certified funds, or other transactions requiring user authentication. Transaction data 232 may also include authentication data obtained from the user for the purposes of authorizing the transaction by verifying the authenticity of provided biometric data as compared to stored biometric data. Additionally or alternatively, transaction data 232 may be stored in database 240 or in an external storage (not shown) in communication with computing system 200 via network 112 or any other suitable network; biometric data of the user (speech (audio), facial image data, fingerprints are compared with stored data to verify identity of the user for authenticating any type of transactions). Additionally, the rational and motivation to combine the references Dialameh and Wurmfeld as applied in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Regarding Claim 20,
The combination of Dialameh and Wurmfeld further discloses receiving, from an imaging device, image data of the user interacting with the machine; determining, using a machine learning model, whether there is a threat to the user in a portion of the image data; and responsive to determining that the user is threatened, sending a signal to the machine to lock an inserted card in a reader of the machine. (Wurmfeld, [0066]. [0070], discloses still images or video recordings may be processed to determine the user's emotion state during the recorded user interaction. Example emotion states may include anger, happiness, sadness, disgust, surprise, and fear. Emotion states may be determined by applying image processing techniques to images and/or video recordings to isolate and identify one or more muscle movements and motion cues that are associated with particular emotions (e.g., being surprised, frustrated, confused, etc.). Determining emotion states may also incorporate applying one or more techniques developed in psychology; a measure of a user's emotional state can be algorithmically deduced from the image and/or video of the user experience. In some embodiments, this measure of the user's emotional state may be integrated with other information, in order to determine user satisfaction with the user interface; emotional state including fear (threat), anger or sadness is determined from the user’s profile sensor data (image data, audio data) and financial transaction is processed accordingly). Additionally, the rational and motivation to combine the references Dialameh and Wurmfeld as applied in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 7864991 B2 (Abstract, A system and method for assisting a visually impaired individual are disclosed. In one embodiment, when the visually impaired individual encounters a situation with an obstacle, the visually impaired individual employs a first wireless device to transfer audiovisual information about the situation to an assistant with a second wireless device. The assistant analyzes the rendered audiovisual information and provides audio information to the visually impaired individual which presents a solution to the obstacle)
US 20080043934 A1 (Abstract, A communication device for visually impaired persons assists the user to determine the function of each key and input on the modern-day device. The communication device includes a plurality of surface sensors that when activated, guide the user in call placement, routing, control options and general communications. The device may include a vibration feature that causes an area on the device to vibrate. A whisper audio feature may audibly coach the user when sensed areas are touched. Additionally, a networked device may provide third party assistance to the user. The techniques of the various embodiments provide effective guidance without disrupting the user, the called party or others in proximity to the user, such as in an office-type environment)
US 20080198222 A1 (A computer based process for providing a visually impaired subject with multi-modal (local, remote, human-aided, computer-aided), multi-sensory (hearing, touch), information about the subject's physical environment is disclosed, involving identifying at least one guide; identifying at least one subject; establishing a communication connection between the guide and the subject; capturing information about the at least one subject's physical environment; presenting the information about the at least one subject's physical environment to the at least one guide; capturing the guide's response to the at least one subject's physical environment; and communicating the guide's response to the at least one subject. The system may involve a guide computer, a user mounted information collection system for receiving visual signals, audio input signals, and a user mounted information dispensing system for dispensing a haptic signal and an audio output signal. A bi-directional communication system operably linked between the computer, the information collection system, and the information dispensing system enables the computer to receive visual and audio signals from the user and communicates audio output signals from the guide to the user)
/Pinalben Patel/Examiner, Art Unit 2673