DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Turbulence generating unit in claims 1-5 and 7-20
First turbulence generating unit in claim 6
Second turbulence generating unit in claim 6
The term “turbulence generating unit” has the general placeholder “unit” and “turbulence generating” is the functional language. “Turbulence generating unit” is interpreted as elements 400 (Figs. 1, 5, 6, and 10) , 410 (Figs. 3-6 and 10), 800 (Figs. 7 and 8), 910 (Fig. 9), and 930 (Fig. 9). Upon review of the Figures and the originally filed specification, it is noted that all the examples of “turbulence generating unit” are structures that affect the flow (generating turbulence) of the fluid by protruding from the showerhead 300 See funnel shape [0066], cylinder shape [0021] and cone [0105]. For the purposes of examination, the term “turbulence generating unit” is interpreted as those in the specification and equivalents thereof that are capable of generating turbulence or creating turbulent flow.
First turbulence generating unit is interpreted as element 910 see Fig. 9 and original specification [0101] – [0103]. For the purposes of examination, the term “turbulence generating unit” is interpreted as those in the specification and equivalents thereof that are capable of generating turbulence or creating turbulent flow.
Second turbulence generating unit is interpreted as element 930 see Fig. 9 and original specification [0101] – [0103]. For the purposes of examination, the term “turbulence generating unit” is interpreted as those in the specification and equivalents thereof that are capable of generating turbulence or creating turbulent flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An et al (US 2021//0098232).
Regarding claim 1. A substrate treating apparatus comprising: an electrode plate 113
applied with a power (RF source 140) ; an ion blocker 115a positioned at a bottom side of the electrode plate 113, which has a plurality of top holes (fine holes H2) formed thereon, and which is grounded (see [0034] where the ion blocker is known as grounded plate); a shower head 117 positioned at a bottom side of the ion blocker and which has a plurality of bottom holes H4 see [0045] formed thereon; and a turbulence generating unit (See Fig. 6C above) configured to have a turbulence space (IDR1, IDR2) therein, and which is positioned at a space between the ion blocker and the shower head, and wherein the top hole H2 is positioned to overlap the turbulence space when seen from above, and the bottom hole H4 is positioned at an outer side of the turbulence space, and which faces at least one of a bottom surface of the ion blocker 115a and an outer wall of the turbulence generating unit when seen from below. See Fig. 6C of An et al below. See Fig. 3 which also illustrates the turbulence generating unit. For the purposes of examination, the term “turbulence generating unit” is interpreted as those in the specification and equivalents thereof that are capable of generating turbulence or creating turbulent flow.
In the case of An et al note the shape of the circled elements that that protrude from the plates 115/115a and/or 117.
Fig. 3 of An et al
Fig. 6C of An et al
Regarding claim 2. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the turbulence generating unit (see IDR1 illustrates turbulence space with the turbulence generating unit) is configured to be formed at a top end of the shower head 117 and which has an open top portion, and a top end of the turbulence generating unit is positioned apart from a bottom end of the ion blocker. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 5. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the top hole H2 and the bottom hole H4 are positioned to not overlap each other when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 6. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the turbulence generating unit includes: a first turbulence generating unit (see Fig. 6C) formed at a top end of the shower head 117 and which is configured to have a first turbulence space IDR1 therein, and which has an open top portion; and a second turbulence generating unit formed at a bottom end of the ion blocker 115a and which is configured to have a second turbulence space IDR2 therein, and which has an open bottom portion, and wherein the top hole H2 is positioned to overlap the first turbulence space when seen from above, and the bottom hole H4 is positioned to overlap the second turbulence space when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 7. The prior art of An et al teaches a substrate treating apparatus having a first space, a second space which is below the first space, and a third space which is below the second space and which treats a substrate, the substrate treating apparatus comprising: a first gas line (see Fig. 6C, lines 122/124) which supplies a first gas to the first space; a second gas line 132 which supplies a second gas to the second space; a first plate 113 and a second plate 115a which couple to define the second space; and a turbulence generating unit (See Fig. 6C) configured to have a turbulence space (See IDR1, IDR2) therein, and which is positioned in the second space and which generates a turbulence in the turbulence space and second space, and wherein a plurality of first holes H1 are formed at the first plate 113 which communicate with the first space and the second space, and the first hole is positioned to overlap with the turbulence space when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 8. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first plate 113 is positioned above the second plate 115a, and wherein the turbulence generating unit (see Fig. 3 above) has an open top portion, and which is formed at a top end of the second plate 115a. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 9. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second plate 115a has a plurality of second holes H2 which communicate with the second space and the third space, and wherein the plurality of second holes H4 are positioned at an outside of the turbulence space. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 10. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 9, wherein a plurality of second gas discharge ports connected to the second gas line 132 are formed at a top portion of the second plate 115a, and the second gas discharge ports are positioned at the outside of the turbulence space. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 11. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first hole H1, the second hole H2, and the second gas discharge port are disposed to not overlap each other when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 12. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 9, wherein a top end of the turbulence generating unit (See Figs. 3 and 6C) is spaced apart from the bottom end of the first plate 113.
Regarding claim 15. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 7, further comprising: an electrode plate 113 which is spaced apart from the first plate and positioned at a top side of the first plate 115 and wherein the electrode plate is applied with a high frequency power 140 , and the first plate is grounded. See Fig. 6C of An et al which illustrates three plates 113,115a, and 117.
Regarding claim 16. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 15, wherein a plurality of first gas discharge ports connected to the first gas line 132/134 are formed at a bottom portion of the first plate, and the plurality of first gas discharge ports are positioned to not overlap each of the plurality of first holes when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 17. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first space generates a plasma by exciting the first gas, and the second gas forms an etchant by reacting a radical R among a material including the plasma and the second gas. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 18. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first gas includes an NF3 (see [0025] of An et al). The prior art of An et al does not teach the second gas includes an NH3 however, the specific type of gas is interpreted as a matter of an intended use as the prior art of An et al teaches gas supplies 1 and 2 and provides the structure with the capacity to supply a plethora of various gases to include NH3.
Regarding claim 19. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 18, further comprising a pre gas line supplying a pre-gas to the first space, and wherein the pre-gas reacts with the radical R in the first space. See Fig. 6C of An et al where there are two lines from gas supply 2 132,134. The prior art of An et al does not specifically teach that the gas supply 2 is a pre-gas line. Note that the specific type of gas is interpreted as a matter of an intended use. The prior art of An et al teaches gas supplies 1 and 2 and provides the structure with the capacity to supply a plethora of various gases to include “pre-gas”. Note further that the pre-gas can be the same gas as supplied from gas line 2 as the claim does not the exclude the same gas being used. For the purposes of examination An et al teaches a gas reacting with radicals, R in the abstract, [0035] – [0039], [0040], [0044], [0046], [0050], [0054] – [0057], [0059], [0072], [0073], [0083], [0084], and claims 1, 3, 11, and 14 of An et al.
Regarding claim 20. A substrate treating apparatus comprising: an electrode plate applied with a high frequency power 140; an ion blocker 115a positioned at a bottom side of the electrode plate and spaced apart from the electrode plate, which has a plurality of top holes H2 formed thereon, and which is grounded; a shower head 117 positioned at a bottom side of the ion blocker and spaced apart from the ion blocker, and which has a plurality of bottom holes H4 formed thereon; and a turbulence generating unit (see Fig. 6C) configured to have a turbulence space IDR1, IDR2therein, and which is positioned at a top end of the shower head; a support unit (pedestal 119) configured to support a substrate at a bottom side of the shower head; a first gas supply unit configured to supply a first gas to a space between the electrode plate and the ion blocker; and a second gas supply unit configured to supply a second gas to a space between the ion blocker and the shower head, and wherein a top end of the turbulence generating unit (See Fig. 6C above) is spaced apart from a bottom end of the shower head, the top hole and the bottom hole are positioned to not overlap each other when seen from above, the top hole faces the turbulence space when seen from above, and the bottom hole is positioned at an outside of the turbulence space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 2021//0098232) in view of Strang (US 6,872,259).
The teachings of An et al are discussed above.
See Fig. 6C above where the turbulence generating units are illustrated even Fig. 3 shows and enlarged view of the turbulence generating unit.
An et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 3. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 2, wherein the turbulence generating unit has a shape of which a diameter decreases in a direction toward the shower head.
Regarding claim 13. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 12, wherein the turbulence generating unit has a shape of which a diameter decreases from the top end to a bottom end, and the plurality of second holes overlap with at least a portion of an outer wall of the turbulence generating unit when seen from below.
The prior art of Strang teaches a method of and an apparatus for tunable gas injection in a plasma processing system. The apparatus of Strang teachesa an apparatus with a gas injection manifold 50 having a pressurizable plenum 150 and an array of adjustable nozzle units 250 with nozzle plugs 160 that adjust the flow of gas see the abstract of Strang. The nozzle plugs are attached to plug plate 154 which is displaceable relative to an injection plate 124. See Figs. 3A-3D, 3G-3L and 4A-4C. See col. 11 lines 5-18 where the bores 202 are tapered to match the shape of bores 166. See col 14 lines 33-42 where Strang teaches that there is a relationship between the taper angle and the pressure ratio. The design including the shape of the turbulence generating unit is a matter of optimization which barring a showing of criticality would have been determined by one of ordinary skill in the art without undue routine experimentation. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the turbulence generating units of An et al to ensure it has an optimal shape as suggested by Strang which would include a shape of which a diameter decreases in a direction toward the shower head and/or a shape of which a diameter decreases from the top end to a bottom end, and the plurality of second holes overlap with at least a portion of an outer wall of the turbulence generating unit when seen from below as suggested by Strang.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 2021//0098232) in view of Muller et al (US 6,537,418).
The teachings of An et al are discussed above.
See Fig. 6C above where the turbulence generating units are illustrated even Fig. 3 shows and enlarged view of the turbulence generating unit.
An et al fails to specify that the turbulence generating unit has a cylindrical shape.
Namely, Regarding claim 4. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 2, wherein the turbulence generating unit has a cylinder shape.
Namely, Regarding claim 14. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 12, wherein the turbulence generating unit has a cylinder shape. See Fig. 6C above of An et al where the plurality of second holes face the bottom surface of the first plate when seen from below.
Muller et al teaches spatially uniform gas supply. Muller et al teaches gas distribution plate 60 with an upper plate 62 and a lower plate 64 see Fig. 3C. See Fig. 3B of Muller et al where a plurality of spaced apart cylindrical tubes 68 (turbulence generating units) where the tubes 68 defines a gas through channel 69 see col. 4 lines 55-67. The prior art of Muller et al shows that the turbulence generating units with a cylindrical shape are known. The motivation to modify the turbulence generating units of An et al to ensure that they are designed to have a cylindrical shape is that the shape is optimal as it provide the desired flow path. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbulence generating units of An et al to ensure that they are designed to have a cylindrical shape as suggested by the prior art of Muller as the cylindrical shape provides the optimal and desired flow path.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al (US 2007/0256786) teaches plugs 208 disposed in the apertures of a showerhead see Figs. 2 and 3.
Okesaku et al (US 2010/0230387) teaches a showerhead (plate 201) with a ceramic member 206 (plug) in gas discharge hole 206a see [0063] and Figs. 7a and 7b.
Bae et al (US 2007/0209686) teaches a vent 225b formed in a second dispersion region 220b, see [0035], Figs. 2 and 12.
Lee et al (US 2021/0013049) teaches an apparatus and method for processing substrate with a grid electrode 1110 may include an ion blocker see [0080].
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716