DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-20 have been considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the elements with IDR1 and IDR2 do not generate turbulence, but there location relative to the GMR changes the flow dynamics due their protrusion into the space see Fig. 3 turbulence would be generated at least in proximity to the protrusions. Applicant argues in the last paragraph of page 9 that An et al does not recite the term “turbulence” in the prior art. The term “turbulence” is interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation where there is unsteady movement of fluid.
In fluid dynamics, turbulence is generated a plethora of ways to include disruption of flow (due to such as a for examples a protrusion or introducing various shapes into the flow). Claims 1 and 20 were amended to recite that a substrate treating apparatus where a turbulence generating unit protruding upward from a top end of the showerhead toward the ion blocker, the turbulence generating unit having an open top and defining a turbulence space therein, the turbulence generating unit being positioned in a space between the ion blocker and the shower head. The prior art of An et al still anticipates the present invention as recited by claims 1 and 20 see Fig. 6C of An et al below where the showerhead 117 features turbulence generating unit protruding upward from a top end of the showerhead toward the ion blocker 115, the turbulence generating unit having an open top and defining a turbulence space therein.
Claim 2 was amended to clarify that the top end of the turbulence generating unit is positioned part from a bottom end of the ion blocker see Fig. 6C of An et al below where the top end of the turbulence generating unit with turbulence space IDR1 is spaced from the bottom end of the ion blocker 115.
Claim 6 was amended to recite that the turbulence generating unit is a first turbulence generating unit and the turbulence space is a first turbulence space, the substrate treating apparatus further comprising a second turbulence generating unit having an open bottom and defining a second turbulence space therein. See Fig. 6C above of An et al where this amendment is also illustrated in that the ion blocker/first plate 115 has a turbulence generating unit with a turbulence space IDR2 and showerhead/second plate 117 has a turbulence space IDR1.
Claim 7 was amended to recite that the first plate is positioned above the second plate, and a turbulence generating unit protruding upward from a top end of the second plate towards the first plate, the turbulence generating unit having an open top and defining a turbulence space therein, the turbulence generating unit being position in the second pace generating a turbulence in the turbulence pace and second space. This amendment is still illustrated by the prior art of An et al where the ion blocker is interpreted as first plate 115 and the showerhead is interpreted as the second plate 117.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An et al (US 2021//0098232).
Regarding claim 1. A substrate treating apparatus comprising: an electrode plate 113 is supplied with a power (RF source 140) ; an ion blocker 115a positioned at a bottom side of the electrode plate 113, which has a plurality of top holes (fine holes H2) formed thereon, and which is grounded (see [0034] where the ion blocker is known as grounded plate); a shower head 117 positioned at a bottom side of the ion blocker and which has a plurality of bottom holes H4 see [0045] formed thereon; and a turbulence generating unit (See Fig. 6C above) configured to have a turbulence space (IDR1, IDR2) therein, and which is positioned at a space between the ion blocker and the shower head, and wherein the top hole H2 is positioned to overlap the turbulence space when seen from above, and the bottom hole H4 is positioned at an outer side of the turbulence space, and which faces at least one of a bottom surface of the ion blocker 115a and an outer wall of the turbulence generating unit when seen from below. See Fig. 6C of An et al below. See Fig. 3 which also illustrates the turbulence generating unit. For the purposes of examination, the term “turbulence generating unit” is interpreted as those in the specification and equivalents thereof that are capable of generating turbulence or creating turbulent flow.
See Fig. 3 below An et al where the shape of the turbulence generating units (circled elements) protrude from the plates 115/115a and/or 117.
Regarding claim 2. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the turbulence generating unit (see IDR1 illustrates turbulence space with the turbulence generating unit) is configured to be formed at a top end of the shower head 117 and which has an open top portion, and a top end of the turbulence generating unit is positioned apart from a bottom end of the ion blocker. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 5. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the top hole H2 and the bottom hole H4 are positioned to not overlap each other when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 6. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 1, wherein the turbulence generating unit includes: a first turbulence generating unit (see Fig. 6C) formed at a top end of the shower head 117 and which is configured to have a first turbulence space IDR1 and a second turbulence generating unit with a second turbulence space IDR2 where the top hole H2 is positioned to overlap the first turbulence space when seen from above, and the bottom hole H4 is positioned to overlap the second turbulence space when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 7. The prior art of An et al teaches a substrate treating apparatus having a first space, a second space which is below the first space, and a third space which is below the second space and which treats a substrate, the substrate treating apparatus comprising: a first gas line (see Fig. 6C, lines 122/124) which supplies a first gas to the first space; a second gas line 132 which supplies a second gas to the second space; a first plate 113 and a second plate 115a which couple to define the second space; and a turbulence generating unit (See Fig. 6C) configured to have a turbulence space (See IDR1, IDR2) therein, and which is positioned in the second space and which generates a turbulence in the turbulence space and second space, and wherein a plurality of first holes H1 are formed at the first plate 113 which communicate with the first space and the second space, and the first hole is positioned to overlap with the turbulence space when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 9. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 7 wherein the second plate 115a has a plurality of second holes H2 which communicate with the second space and the third space, and wherein the plurality of second holes H4 are positioned at an outside of the turbulence space. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 10. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 9, wherein a plurality of second gas discharge ports connected to the second gas line 132 are formed at a top portion of the second plate 115a, and the second gas discharge ports are positioned at the outside of the turbulence space. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 11. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first hole H1, the second hole H2, and the second gas discharge port are disposed to not overlap each other when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 12. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 9, wherein a top end of the turbulence generating unit (See Figs. 3 and 6C) is spaced apart from the bottom end of the first plate 113.
Regarding claim 15. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 7, further comprising: an electrode plate 113 which is spaced apart from the first plate and positioned at a top side of the first plate 115 and wherein the electrode plate is applied with a high frequency power 140 , and the first plate is grounded. See Fig. 6C of An et al which illustrates three plates 113,115a, and 117.
Regarding claim 16. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 15, wherein a plurality of first gas discharge ports connected to the first gas line 132/134 are formed at a bottom portion of the first plate, and the plurality of first gas discharge ports are positioned to not overlap each of the plurality of first holes when seen from above. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 17. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first space generates a plasma by exciting the first gas, and the second gas forms an etchant by reacting a radical R among a material including the plasma and the second gas. See Fig. 6C of An et al.
Regarding claim 18. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first gas includes an NF3 (see [0025] of An et al). The prior art of An et al does not teach the second gas includes an NH3 however, the specific type of gas is interpreted as a matter of an intended use as the prior art of An et al teaches gas supplies 1 and 2 and provides the structure with the capacity to supply a plethora of various gases to include NH3.
Regarding claim 19. The substrate treating apparatus of claim 18, further comprising a pre gas line supplying a pre-gas to the first space, and wherein the pre-gas reacts with the radical R in the first space. See Fig. 6C of An et al where there are two lines from gas supply 2 132,134. The prior art of An et al does not specifically teach that the gas supply 2 is a pre-gas line. Note that the specific type of gas is interpreted as a matter of an intended use. The prior art of An et al teaches gas supplies 1 and 2 and provides the structure with the capacity to supply a plethora of various gases to include “pre-gas”. Note further that the pre-gas can be the same gas as supplied by gas line 2 as the claim does not the exclude the same gas being used. For the purposes of examination An et al teaches a gas reacting with radicals, R in the abstract, [0035] – [0039], [0040], [0044], [0046], [0050], [0054] – [0057], [0059], [0072], [0073], [0083], [0084], and claims 1, 3, 11, and 14 of An et al.
Regarding claim 20. The prior art of An et al teaches a substrate treating apparatus comprising: an electrode plate 113 applied with a high frequency power 140; an ion blocker 115a positioned at a bottom side of the electrode plate and spaced apart from the electrode plate, which has a plurality of top holes H2 formed thereon, and which is grounded; a shower head 117 positioned at a bottom side of the ion blocker and spaced apart from the ion blocker, and which has a plurality of bottom holes H4 formed thereon; and a turbulence generating unit with turbulence space 1DR1 see Fig. 6C above protruding upward from the top end of the showerhead 117 a support unit (pedestal 119) configured to support a substrate at a bottom side of the shower head; a first gas supply unit configured to supply a first gas to a space between the electrode plate and the ion blocker; and a second gas supply unit configured to supply a second gas to a space between the ion blocker and the shower head, and wherein a top end of the turbulence generating unit (See Fig. 6C above) is spaced apart from a bottom end of the ion blocker 115, the top hole and the bottom hole are positioned to not overlap each other when seen from above, the top hole faces the turbulence space when seen from above, and the bottom hole is positioned at an outside of the turbulence space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 2021//0098232) in view of Strang (US 6,872,259).
The teachings of An et al are discussed above.
See Fig. 6C above where the turbulence generating units are illustrated even Fig. 3 shows and enlarged view of the turbulence generating unit.
An et al fails to teach that the turbulence generating unit has a shape of which a diameter decreases in a direction toward the shower head.
The prior art of Strang teaches a method of and an apparatus for tunable gas injection in a plasma processing system. The apparatus of Strang teachesa an apparatus with a gas injection manifold 50 having a pressurizable plenum 150 and an array of adjustable nozzle units 250 with nozzle plugs 160 that adjust the flow of gas see the abstract of Strang. The nozzle plugs are attached to plug plate 154 which is displaceable relative to an injection plate 124. See Figs. 3A-3D, 3G-3L and 4A-4C. See col. 11 lines 5-18 where the bores 202 are tapered to match the shape of bores 166. See col 14 lines 33-42 where Strang teaches that there is a relationship between the taper angle and the pressure ratio. The design including the shape of the turbulence generating unit is a matter of optimization which barring a showing of criticality would have been determined by one of ordinary skill in the art without undue routine experimentation. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the turbulence generating units of An et al to ensure it has an optimal shape as suggested by Strang which would include a shape of which a diameter decreases in a direction toward the shower head and/or a shape of which a diameter decreases from the top end to a bottom end, and the plurality of second holes overlap with at least a portion of an outer wall of the turbulence generating unit when seen from below as suggested by Strang.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al (US 2021//0098232) in view of Muller et al (US 6,537,418).
The teachings of An et al are discussed above.
See Fig. 6C above where the turbulence generating units are illustrated even Fig. 3 shows and enlarged view of the turbulence generating unit.
An et al fails to specify that the turbulence generating unit has a cylindrical shape.
The prior art of Muller et al teaches spatially uniform gas supply. Muller et al teaches gas distribution plate 60 with an upper plate 62 and a lower plate 64 see Fig. 3C. See Fig. 3B of Muller et al where a plurality of spaced apart cylindrical tubes 68 (turbulence generating units) where the tubes 68 defines a gas through channel 69 see col. 4 lines 55-67. The prior art of Muller et al shows that the turbulence generating units with a cylindrical shape are known. The motivation to modify the turbulence generating units of An et al to ensure that they are designed to have a cylindrical shape is that the shape is optimal as it provide the desired flow path. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turbulence generating units of An et al to ensure that they are designed to have a cylindrical shape as suggested by the prior art of Muller as the cylindrical shape provides the optimal and desired flow path.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wanka (US 3,589,394) teaches a device for distributing flow media over several passage openings. Element 1 as interpreted as turbulence generating units and are cylindrically shaped. Plates 2 and 3 are features and holes 4,5,6 are located in plate 3 see Fig. 1.
Williams (US 5,614,026) where turbulence generating units 360, 390 are provided see Figs. 3c and 3d.
Kim et al (US 2007/0163440) where the various shapes and geometries of turbulence generating units 125b are illustrated in Figs. 4 and 7-20 are illustrated.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716