DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to a Restriction Requirement mailed on 11/19/2025, the Applicant elected Group I (claims 1-10) in a reply filed on 01/08/2026. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). As such, claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Currently, claims 1-10 are examined as below.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 09/19/2023 and 01/29/2025. The IDS have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0024905 A1 to He et al. (“He”).
Regarding independent claim 1, He in Figs. 1A-1E teaches an integrated circuit (IC) (Figs. 1A-1E, ¶ 24, ¶ 27, ¶ 32 & ¶ 34, integrated circuit includes MOS capacitor comprising substrate 100, gate conductor 200 and dielectric 300, and a metal interconnect capacitor comprising metal levels M1-M5), comprising:
a metal-oxide-metal (MOM) capacitor (MOMCAP) M1-M5/304 (Figs. 1A-1E & ¶ 34, a collective of metal interconnect capacitor M1-M5 and dielectric 304 between the metal levels M1-M5), comprising:
a first terminal 414 (Figs. 1B, 1D & ¶ 34, metal contact bus 414) coupled to a first plurality of fingers 415 (Figs. 1A-1D & ¶ 34, metal fingers 415) of a first metal interconnect layer M1 (Figs. 1A-1D & ¶ 34, metal level M1), and
a second terminal 410 (Figs. 1B, 1D & ¶ 34, metal contact bus 410) coupled to a second plurality of fingers 411 (Figs. 1B, 1D & ¶ 34, metal fingers 411) of the first metal interconnect layer M1 and interdigitated with the first plurality of fingers 415 of the first metal interconnect layer (Fig. 1D & ¶ 35-¶ 36); and
a first metal-oxide-semiconductor (MOS) capacitor (MOSCAP) 100/200/300 (Figs. 1A-1C & ¶ 27, a collective of substrate 100, gate conductor 200 and dielectric 300) comprising:
a polysilicon terminal 200 (Figs. 1A-1C, ¶ 27 & ¶ 32, gate conductor 200 comprises polysilicon) coupled to the first plurality of fingers 415 of the MOMCAP M1-M5/304 (Figs. 1A-1D, ¶ 34, ¶ 42, polysilicon gate conductor 200 couples to the metal fingers 415 through the metal contact bus 414 and the vertical contacts 520), and
a diffusion terminal 110 (Figs. 1A-1C & ¶ 42, n-doped region 110 of diffusion level) coupled to the second plurality of fingers 411 of the MOMCAP M1-M5/304 (Figs. 1B-1D & ¶ 42, diffusion terminal 110 couples to the metal fingers 411 through the metal contact bus 410 and the vertical contacts 500).
Regarding claim 3, He in Figs. 1B-1D further teaches the diffusion terminal 110 is coupled to the second terminal 410 through a plurality of diffusion contacts 500 (Figs. 1B-1D & ¶ 42, vertical contacts 500 that connect to the diffusion terminal 110 make the contacts 500 diffusion contacts).
Regarding claim 4, He in Figs. 1B-1D further teaches the diffusion terminal 110 is coupled to ends of the second plurality of fingers 411 (Figs. 1C-1D, the diffusion terminal 110 couples to ends of fingers 411 through vertical contacts 500 and metal contact bus 410), distal from the second terminal 410 through a plurality of diffusion contacts 500 (Fig. 1B & ¶ 42, the diffusion terminal 110 is distal from the terminal 410 through contacts 500).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of US 11,121,072 B1 to Zhu et al. (“Zhu”).
Regarding claim 2, He in Figs. 1A-1D teaches outer ones of the first plurality of fingers 415 are coupled to the polysilicon terminal 200 through a plurality of contacts 520 (Fig. 1B & ¶ 42, vertical contacts 520).
He further discloses the contacts 520 are vertical contacts (Fig. 1B & ¶ 42).
However, He does not explicitly disclose the vertical contacts are polysilicon contacts.
Zhu recognizes a need for providing an interconnect structure that electrically couples different components (col. 5, ln. 27-52). Zhu satisfies the need by providing vertical contacts 46, 48, 50 (Fig. 2 & col. 5, ln. 27-52, fingers 46, 48, 50) that are polysilicon contacts (col. 5, ln. 27-52).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use polysilicon taught by Zhu for the vertical contacts taught by He, so as to provide an interconnect structure that electrically couples different components (Zhu: col. 5, ln. 27-52).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of US 2019/0386092 A1 to Cheng et al. (“Cheng”).
Regarding claim 9, He does not explicitly disclose the IC of claim 1 integrated in a radio frequency (RF) front-end (RFFE) module.
He further discloses the IC comprises the MOM capacitor M1-M5/304 and the MOS capacitor 100/200/300.
Cheng recognizes a need for improving analog/radio frequency (RF) performance and supporting communication enhancements (¶ 2). Cheng satisfies the need by integrating high performance capacitor components including a MOM capacitor and a MOS capacitor to a radio frequency front end (RFFE) module (¶ 2-¶ 3 & ¶ 35-¶ 39).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the IC taught by He with the RFFE module taught by Cheng, so as to improve analog/radio frequency (RF) performance and support communication enhancements (Cheng: ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of He and Cheng further teaches the RFFE module is integrated in a mobile phone, a set top box, a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a computer, a hand-held personal communication systems (PCS) unit, a portable data unit, and/or a fixed location data unit (Cheng: ¶ 107).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if (i) rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or (ii) the objected claim and any intervening claims are fully incorporated into the base claim.
Claim 5 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 5, a second MOSCAP coupled to the first MOSCAP; and a third MOSCAP coupled to the second MOSCAP.
Claims 6-8 would be allowable, because they depend from the allowable claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0152379 A1 to Fujimoto et al.
/M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817