DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manci et. al. (US 20060255622 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Manci discloses a shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance, comprising: a fixed guide rail (132), fixedly connected to a vehicle body; a sliding frame (134), arranged in a groove of the fixed guide rail (132), and movable vertically along the fixed guide rail; and a support plate (110), fixedly connected to the sliding frame (134), a displacement regulating mechanism being arranged on the fixed guide rail (120); one end of the displacement regulating mechanism being arranged outside the groove of the fixed guide rail, and another end of the displacement regulating mechanism being connected to one end of a shock absorption spring (140, 142); another end of the shock absorption spring (142) being fixedly connected to the sliding frame (134); and a position of the sliding frame being regulable by the displacement regulating mechanism (120), to adjust a length of the shock absorption spring (140, 142) (see [0057], Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Manci Discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to claim 1, wherein a baffle (138) is arranged at a top of the fixed guide rail (132); the displacement regulating mechanism (152) comprises a regulating screw (156A) and a spring regulating block (152); the regulating screw penetrates the baffle, with one end located outside the groove of the fixed guide rail (132), and another end located inside the fixed guide rail (132) and connected to the spring regulating block (152); and the spring regulating block (152) is connected to one end of the shock absorption spring (142B, 140B) (see Fig. 2, [0059-0070]).
Regarding Claim 4, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to claim 2, wherein a guard plate (134A) is arranged at one side of the fixed guide rail (132) away from the vehicle body; the guard plate (134A) and the fixed guide rail (132) define a channel; the sliding frame is movable vertically in the channel; the guard plate (134A) is further provided with a through hole (A) (see Annotated Fig. 2 below) in a corresponding position of the motion trajectory of the sliding frame; and the position of the sliding frame can be observed through the through hole (A) (see Fig.2, Annotated Fig. 2 below).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 6, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to claim 1, wherein the sliding frame (134) is connected to the fixed guide rail (132) by rollers (136A), and a rotation direction of the roller (136A) is parallel to a relative motion direction of the sliding frame (134) and the fixed guide rail (132); and the sliding frame (134) achieves relative movement with the fixed guide rail (132) by the rollers (136A) (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to claim 6, wherein the sliding frame (134) is connected to a side wall of the groove of the fixed guide rail by the rollers (136B) (see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to claim 1, wherein the sliding frame (134) and the fixed guide rail (132) are further connected to each other by a damper (144), and a movement direction of the damper (144) is consistent with that of the shock absorption spring (142, 140) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to claim 1, wherein a shock absorption pad (136C) fixedly connected to the vehicle body is arranged at a highest point and/or lowest point of stroke of the support plate (110) (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0095]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manci et. al. (US 20060255622 A1) as applied to Claim 1, above, in view of Guest (US 4274798 A).
Regarding Claim 3, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to Claim 2 and that one end of the regulating screw (156A) is located outside the groove of the fixed guide rail is connected to a motor (156) (see Fig. 2).
Manci does not explicitly disclose the shock absorption pedal having one end connected to a regulating handle to screw in or screw out.
Guest teaches the use of a regulating handle (28) to screw in or screw out a regulating screw (27) (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the regulating handle (28) screw taught by Guest with the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance in place of the motor (156) in order to manually actuate the screw without requiring power.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manci et. al. (US 20060255622 A1) as applied to Claim 1, above, in view of Mariotti et. al. (EP 3696134 A9).
Regarding Claim 5, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to claim 4.
Manci does not disclose a scale on an edge of the through hole.
Mariotti teaches a scale (62) on an edge of a through hole in a shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance (see [0022], [0069], Fig. 10, Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to combine the scale for an adjustable shock absorption pedal taught by Mariotti with the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance of Manci in order for the operator to know what level of shock absorption is currently applied to the pedal (see EP 3696134 A1 [Mariotti]; [0069]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manci et. al. (US 20060255622 A1) as applied to Claim 1, above, in view of Van Rooijen. (US 20180118544 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Manci discloses the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance according to Claim 6.
Manci does not disclose the rollers connecting the sliding frame to a bottom wall of the groove of the fixed guide rail.
Van Rooijen teaches an industrial vehicle wherein the sliding frame (25) is connected to a bottom wall of the groove of the fixed guide rail (30) by the rollers (60) (see Fig. 4, [0021-0023]).
It would have been obvious to combine the frame connected to the bootom wall of a groove of a fixed rail by rollers taught by Van Rooijen with the shock absorption pedal with adjustable resistance of Manci in order to relieve tension from the system, reducing weight on the systems mechanical components (see US 20180118544 A1 [Van Rooijen]; [0021-0022]).
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616