DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/470,250 filed on September 19, 2023.
Acknowledgment
The amendment filed on 05/11/2026 responding to the Office action mailed on 02/11/2026, has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Claims 3, 4, 10, and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-14 and newly added claims 21-26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aiba (US 2006/0186524).
Regarding Claim 1, Aiba (see, e.g., Fig. 2), teaches a substrate 71 (see, e.g., par. 0058) comprising:
a core layer 72 (see, e.g., par. 0063);
a plurality of core via interconnects 73 extending through the core layer 72 (see, e.g., par. 0063);
one or more first dielectric layers 76 coupled to a first surface 72A of the core layer 72, wherein the one or more first dielectric layers include a different material from the core layer 72 (see, e.g., pars. 0057, 0066, 0067);
a first plurality of interconnects 75/78 located at least partially in the one or more first dielectric layers 76 (see, e.g., par. 0063),
wherein the first plurality of interconnects 75/78 include:
a first plurality of pad interconnects 75 comprising a first pad interconnect 75 (see, e.g., par. 0063), and
a first plurality of via interconnects 78 comprising a first via interconnect 78 coupled to and touching the first pad interconnect 75 (see, e.g., par. 0063),
wherein:
the first via interconnect 78 extends through a metal layer (i.e., layer of upper via holes 78) of the substrate 71, and
the first via interconnect 78 comprises a first via wall that has a sidewall angle that is about 87-93 degrees (i.e., 90 degrees) relative to a planar surface of the first pad interconnect 75.
Regarding Claim 2, Aiba teaches all aspects of claim 1. Aiba (see, e.g., Fig. 2), teaches:
one or more second dielectric layers 89 coupled to a second surface 72B of the core layer 72 (see, e.g., par. 0064);
a second plurality of interconnects 88/91 located at least partially in the one or more second dielectric layers 89 (see, e.g., par. 0064), wherein the second plurality of interconnects 88/91 comprise:
a second plurality of pad interconnects 88 comprising a second pad interconnect 88 (see, e.g., par. 0064); and
a second plurality of via interconnects 91 comprising a second via interconnect 91 (see, e.g., par. 0064),
wherein:
the second via interconnect 91 extends through another metal layer (i.e., layer of lower via holes 91) of the substrate 71, and
the second via interconnect 91 comprises a second via wall that has a sidewall angle that is about 87-93 degrees (i.e., 90 degrees) relative to a planar surface of the second pad interconnect 88.
Regarding Claim 5, Aiba teaches all aspects of claim 1. Aiba (see, e.g., Fig. 2), teaches that:
the first plurality of via interconnects 78 include a second via interconnect 78 that is located laterally to the first via interconnect 78,
the second via interconnect 78 is coupled to and touching a second pad interconnect 75
the first via interconnect 78 has a first diameter and the second via interconnect 78 has a second diameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiba (US 2006/0186524).
Regarding Claim 24, Aiba (see, e.g., Fig. 2), teaches a package comprising:
an integrated device 111; and
a substrate 71 coupled to the integrated device 111, the substrate 71 comprising:
a core layer 72;
a plurality of core via interconnects 73 extending through the core layer 72;
one or more first dielectric layers 76 coupled to a first surface 72A of the core layer 72;
a first plurality of interconnects 75/78 located at least partially in the one or more first dielectric layers 76,
wherein the first plurality of interconnects 75/78 include:
a first plurality of pad interconnects 75 comprising a first pad interconnect 75;
a first plurality of via interconnects 78 comprising a first via interconnect 78 that is coupled to and touching the first pad interconnect 75;
wherein:
the first via interconnect 78 extends through a metal layer (i.e., layer of upper via holes 78) of the substrate 71,
the first via interconnect 78 comprises a first via wall that is approximately vertical relative to a planar surface of the first pad interconnect 75.
Aiba is silent with respect to the claim limitation that a registration between the first pad interconnect 75 and the first via interconnect 78 is about 7.5 micrometers.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the size of the first pad interconnect and/or the diameter of the first via interconnect in Aiba’s device. The specific claimed limitation that a registration between the first pad interconnect and the first via interconnect is about 7.5 micrometers, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the the size of the first pad interconnect and/or the diameter of the first via interconnect in Aiba’s device, as the courts have held that changes in size, diameter, etc., without any criticality, are within the level of skill in the art. According to the courts, a particular size, diameter, etc., is nothing more than one among numerous sizes, diameters, etc., that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the claimed registration between the first pad interconnect and the first via interconnect, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the claimed registration between the first pad interconnect and the first via interconnect in Aiba’s device.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed registration or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen distance, thickness or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen distance, thickness are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 12-14, and 21-23 are allowed.
Claims 6, 7, 25, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached on (571)272-1705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Nelson Garces/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814