DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison et al (US 2012/0046096) in view of Bytnar et al (US 2011/0130197).
Re claim 1, Morrison discloses a system comprising: a host system (fig. 2, 106); and a plurality of location controllers in wireless communication with the host system and forming a wireless network therebetween (pars. [0023], [0029], wherein locations are determined using data from cell phone towers in communication with the remote device 102), wherein at least one location of the plurality of location controllers is coupled to a gaming asset of the plurality of gaming assets ([0023], players are able to place wagers based on their location being in an authorized location, wagers and play of a wagering game being considered gaming assets) and configured to: determine, based on information retrieved by the wireless network, a location of the at least one location controller ([0023] and [0029]); determine whether the location of the at least one location controller has changed; and forward the information retrieved via the wireless network to the host system for updating the location of the gaming asset within the gaming venue in response to determining that the location of the at least one location controller has changed ([0030], the cell phone and towers are in constant communication, and towers determine when the signal needs to be passed off to a nearby cell tower, therefore when the location of the cell phone changes, the towers forward that information to the relevant nearby towers).
However, Morrison does not explicitly disclose determining the location based at least in part on at least one location controller detecting one or more other location controllers of the plurality of location controllers that are proximate to the at least one location controller, and determining whether the location of the at least one location controller has changed with respect to a previously determined location of the at least one location controller.
Bytnar teaches a wagering game communication system utilizing mesh networks ([0043]), wherein the system can query devices in the mesh network for location information of mobile machines ([0058]). Bytnar further discloses using previously determined locations to determine changes in location (again [0058], see “The location information can include the physical location of the mobile machines within the casino's physical property and the direction of movement that the mobile machines are moving”).
It would have been obvious to implement the mesh networking of Bytnar in order to assist in determining the location of devices in the network by utilizing each device’s own location information in conjunction with others in a mesh network, increasing the reach, accuracy, and ease of determining location in the network.
Re claim 2, Morrison discloses the gaming asset comprises a gaming device ([0043], remote devices play a wagering game utilizing a web-browser or dedicated application), and the at least one location controller is further configured to generate a profile based on a device configuration of the gaming device and the location of the at least one location controller, the profile defining a role of the gaming device ([0076], the user logs in or prepares to place a wager, whereupon the system updates location information, therefore the user, account, and location information being considered a profile).
Re claim 3, Morrison discloses updating the profile based on the change in the location of the at least one location controller ([0076], location information is only disclosed when a user logs on or prepares to place a wager).
Re claim 4, Morrison discloses wireless device identifiers broadcast by one or more of the plurality of location controllers that are proximate to the at least one location controller ([0030] and [0031], since the location of devices are determined by cell phone signal strength, the cell phone signals of the various cell phone devices connected to the cell network is considered a plurality of device identifiers for a plurality of location controllers as every cell phone will have its own unique device identifier).
Re claim 8, Morrison discloses the gaming asset comprises a gaming device ([0043]).
Re claims 9-11 and 16-17, see the above rejections.
Claim(s) 6, 12, 14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrison in view of Bytnar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gelman et al (US 2008/0015013).
Re claims 6, 12, 14, and 18, while Morrison discloses determining the location of devices on a wireless network, there is no explicit disclosure of determining one of the location controllers proximate to the location controller and querying the controllers in order to verify the location of the at least one location controller. Gelman teaches a wireless networking system wherein multiple devices may use positioning technologies to determine their own location, and use an algorithm to determine whether the devices are close to one another or not ([0121]). It would have been obvious to implement the location technologies of Gelman with the system of Morrison in order to supplement the cell tower information with known location data of devices on a network, increasing the accuracy of location determination in the wireless network.
Re claim 19, Morrison discloses querying the mobile device in order to verify the location of the mobile device ([0029], [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 13, 15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715