Attorney Docket Number: QCOM-4999US (2304612)
Filling Date: 09/19/23
Inventor: Li et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Species 1, Figure 3, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 04/27/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 is generic to species 1 and 2 (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4).
This is found persuasive.
Claims 18-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih (US 9, 607,967 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Shih discloses a package (Figs. 11, 15) comprising: a first metallization portion 400 (col. 5, lines 20-2) comprising: at least one first dielectric layer412 (col. 7, lines 57-60); and a first plurality of metallization interconnects 414, 416 (col. 7, lines 57-60); a first integrated device 420 (col. 6, line 27) coupled to the first metallization portion 400; a bridge 100a (col. 5, line 50) coupled to the first metallization portion 400; an encapsulation layer 550 (col. 6, line 53) coupled to the first metallization portion 400; a second metallization portion 500 (col. 7, line 23) coupled to the bridge 100a and the encapsulation layer 550, such that the first integrated device 420, the bridge 100a and the encapsulation layer 550 are located between the first metallization portion 400 and the second metallization portion 500, wherein the second metallization portion 500 comprises: at least one second dielectric layer 512 (col. 8, lines 65-67); and a second plurality of metallization interconnects 514 (col. 8, lines 65-67); and a second integrated device 230 (col. 5, lines 9-11) coupled to the second metallization portion 500, wherein the second integrated device 220 and the bridge 100a at least partially vertically overlap (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 2, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the bridge 100a comprises: a silicon substrate (col. 4, line 50); and a plurality of bridge interconnects (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 3, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first integrated device 420 includes a first chiplet and the second integrated device 230 includes a second chiplet.
Regarding claim 4, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first metallization portion 400 includes a first redistribution portion (col. 5, lines 20-22), wherein the first plurality of metallization interconnects 414, 416 include a first plurality of redistribution interconnects, wherein the second metallization portion 500 includes a second redistribution portion (col. 7, line 23), and wherein the second plurality of metallization interconnects 514 include a second plurality of redistribution interconnects (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 5, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of post interconnects 200 (Fig. 11, col. 6, lines 12-13) located at least partially in the encapsulation layer 550.
Regarding claim 6, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, wherein an electrical path between the first integrated device 420 and the second integrated device 230 includes the first metallization portion 400, the bridge 100a and the second metallization portion 500.
Regarding claim 7, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, wherein a bridge 100a interconnect of the bridge is coupled to a metallization interconnect 416b (col. 5, line 59) from the first metallization portion 400 without any intervening solder interconnect.
Regarding claim 8, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first integrated device 420 is coupled to a metallization interconnect 414, 416b from the first metallization portion 400 without any intervening solder interconnect (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 9, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, further comprising a second encapsulation layer 650 coupled to the second metallization portion 500 and the second integrated device 230.
Regarding claim 10, Shih further discloses the package of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of post interconnects 680 (col. 9, lines 50-67) located at least partially in the second encapsulation layer 650.
Regarding claim 11, Shih further discloses the package of claim 9, further comprising a third metallization portion 680, 650 coupled to the second encapsulation layer 650.
Regarding claim 12, Shih further discloses the package of claim 9, further comprising a substrate 100a coupled to the second encapsulation layer 650.
Regarding claim 13, Shih further discloses the package of claim 12, wherein the substrate 100a is coupled to a plurality of post interconnects 200 through a plurality of solder interconnects 416b.
Regarding claim 14, Shih further discloses the package of claim 12, further comprising a third integrated device 220 col. 5, lines 9-11) coupled to the substrate 100a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih (US 9, 607,967 B1).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Shih does not explicitly disclose the package of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of post interconnects 200 (Fig. 11, col. 6, lines 12-13) located at least partially in the encapsulation layer 550, wherein the plurality of post interconnects 200 comprise a first pitch, and wherein the bridge 100a comprises a plurality of bridge interconnects 100a comprising a second pitch.
However, Shih discloses a plurality of post interconnects 200 (Fig. 11, col. 6, lines 12-13) located at least partially in the encapsulation layer 550, wherein the plurality of post interconnects 200 comprise a first pitch, and wherein the bridge 100a comprises a plurality of bridge interconnects 100a comprising a second pitch (Fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain a plurality of post interconnects located at least partially in the encapsulation layer, wherein the plurality of post interconnects comprise a first pitch, and wherein the bridge comprises a plurality of bridge interconnects comprising a second pitch for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the pitch.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed pitch or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 17, Shih further discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the package is implemented in a device that is selected from a group consisting of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device (col. 6, lines 40-50, high frequency signal used in internet is obvious), and a device in an automotive vehicle.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817