DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/470,409 filed on September 19, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Species 1 invention reading on Fig. 1 in the reply filed on 12/11/2025 is acknowledged. The Applicants indicated that claims 1, 2, and 4-9 read on the elected species. Claims 3 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuang (US 2020/0075503).
Regarding Claim 1, Chuang (see, e.g., Fig. 1F), teaches a structure of a chip package integrated antenna, comprising:
a substrate 102 (see, e.g., par. 0025);
at least one chip unit 110A/B disposed on the substrate 102 (see, e.g., par. 0037);
at least two conductive units 108 disposed on the substrate 102 (see, e.g., par. 0034);
an encapsulation 118 disposed on the substrate 102 and covering the at least one chip unit 110A/B and the at least two conductive units 108, wherein the encapsulation 118 has a top surface and at least two through holes (i.e., holes for accommodating elements 214), and the at least two through holes are respectively formed between the top surface and the at least two conductive units 108 (see, e.g., pars. 0081-0083);
at least two conductive structures 214 respectively disposed on the at least two conductive units 108 and located in the at least two through holes (see, e.g., par. 0045); and
an antenna 206 disposed on the top surface and connected to the at least two conductive structures 214, wherein the antenna 206 is electrically connected to the at least one chip unit 110A/B through the at least two conductive structures 214, the at least two conductive units 108 and the substrate 102 in sequence (see, e.g., par. 0053).
Regarding Claim 2, Chuang teaches all aspects of claim 1. Chuang (see, e.g., Fig. 1F), teaches that at least one of the at least two conductive structures 214 protrudes from the top surface of the encapsulation 118.
Regarding Claim 5, Chuang teaches all aspects of claim 1. Chuang (see, e.g., Fig. 1F), teaches that a material of the at least two conductive structures 214 is a conductive silver paste or a solder paste (see, e.g., par. 0056).
Regarding Claim 6, Chuang teaches all aspects of claim 1. Chuang (see, e.g., Fig. 1F), teaches that the at least two conductive units 108 are a pin or a metal post (see, e.g., par. 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang (US 2020/0075503).
Regarding Claim 4, Chuang teaches all aspects of claim 1. Chuang (see, e.g., Fig. 1F), teaches an antenna 206 formed on the top surface. Chuang is silent with respect to the claim limitation that the antenna is formed by a pad printing process.
In reference to the claimed process step “that the antenna is formed by a pad printing process” this is considered an intermediate method step that does not affect the structure of the final device.
Initially, and with respect to claim 4, note that a “product-by-process” claim is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made. See In re Thorpe et al., 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein which make it clear that it is the final product per se which must determine in a “product-by-process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that, as here, an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product-by-process” claim or not. As stated in Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 162 USPQ 145 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26, USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir 1935).
NOTE that the applicant has burden of proof in such cases as the above case law makes clear.
As to the grounds of rejection under section 103, see MPEP §2113 which discusses the handling of “product-by-process” claims and recommends the alternative (§ 102/§ 103) grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are allowed.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached on (571)272-1705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Nelson Garces/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814