DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 11,532,674).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim (‘674) teaches in figure 3 and the corresponding text a display device comprising: a display panel (DA) including: a first light-emitting element (L1) disposed in a first light-emitting region; and a thin-film encapsulation layer (130) disposed in the first light-emitting region and a non-light-emitting region (BA) adjacent to the first light-emitting region and covering the first light-emitting element; a first scattering pattern (232) disposed on the thin-film encapsulation layer and overlapping the first light-emitting element in a plan view; and a first color filter (242) covering the first scattering pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kim (‘674) teaches the display panel further includes a pixel defining layer (no one number) having an opening (no number), the first light-emitting element includes: a first electrode (EL1) exposed by the opening; a light-emitting structure (OL) disposed on the first electrode; and a second electrode (EL2) disposed on the light-emitting structure and contacting an upper surface of the pixel defining layer, and the light-emitting structure includes: a hole control pattern; a light-emitting pattern disposed on the hole control pattern; and an electron control pattern disposed on the light-emitting pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kim (‘674) teaches the first color filter contacts the first scattering pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Kim (‘674) teaches he first scattering pattern includes a base resin and scattering particles mixed in the base resin.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kim (‘674) teaches the thin-film encapsulation layer includes: a first inorganic encapsulation layer (132); an organic encapsulation layer (134) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (136) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer, the first inorganic encapsulation layer includes a plurality of inorganic layers, and a refractive index of one of the plurality of inorganic layers disposed on a lowermost layer is less than refractive indices of one of the plurality of inorganic layers disposed in the lowermost layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipate by Hwang et al. (US 2024/0215413).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches in figure 6 and the corresponding text a display device comprising: a display panel (10) including: a first light-emitting element (ED) disposed in a first light-emitting region (EA1); and a thin-film encapsulation layer (TFEL) disposed in the first light-emitting region and a non-light-emitting region (no number) adjacent to the first light-emitting region and covering the first light-emitting element (ED); a first scattering pattern (SL) disposed on the thin-film encapsulation layer and overlapping the first light-emitting element in a plan view; and a first color filter (CF1) covering the first scattering pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches a second color filter (CF2) disposed on the first color filter, overlapping the first color filter in a plan view, and not overlapping the first scattering pattern in a plan view; and an overcoat layer (OC) covering the first color filter and the second color filter.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches a second scattering pattern disposed on the thin-film encapsulation layer, wherein the display panel further includes a second light-emitting element disposed in a second light-emitting region spaced apart from the first light-emitting region with the non-light-emitting region disposed between the first light-emitting region and the second light-emitting region, the second scattering pattern overlaps the second light-emitting element in a plan view, and the second color filter covers the second scattering pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the first scattering pattern and the second scattering pattern include substantially a same material.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches a second color filter (CF2)disposed on the first color filter and including an opening corresponding to the first scattering pattern; and an overcoat layer covering the first color filter and the second color filter.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches a pixel defining layer having an opening (OPT1), the first light-emitting element includes: a first electrode (AE) exposed by the opening (OPT1); a light-emitting structure (EL) disposed on the first electrode; and a second electrode (CE) disposed on the light-emitting structure and contacting an upper surface of the pixel defining layer, and the light-emitting structure includes: a hole control pattern; a light-emitting pattern disposed on the hole control pattern; and an electron control pattern disposed on the light-emitting pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the first color filter contacts the first scattering pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the first scattering pattern includes a base resin and scattering particles mixed in the base resin.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the thin-film encapsulation layer includes: a first inorganic encapsulation layer; an organic encapsulation layer disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the organic encapsulation layer, the first inorganic encapsulation layer includes a plurality of inorganic layers, and a refractive index of one of the plurality of inorganic layers disposed on a lowermost layer is less than refractive indices of one of the plurality of inorganic layers disposed in the lowermost layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer. (see paragraph 0199)
Regarding dependent claim 10, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches an input sensor (400) dispose between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the scattering pattern (paragraph 0075).
Regarding independent claim 11, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches in figure 6 and the corresponding text, and similar to claim 1 above, a display device comprising: a display panel (10) including: a first light-emitting element (ED) disposed in a first light-emitting region; and a thin-film encapsulation layer (TFEL) disposed in the first light-emitting region and a non-light-emitting region (no number) adjacent to the first light-emitting region and covering the first light-emitting element; a first color filter (CF1) disposed on the thin-film encapsulation layer and overlapping the first light-emitting element in a plan view; a second color filter (CF2) disposed on the first color filter and including an opening corresponding to the first light-emitting element; and a first scattering pattern (SL) disposed in the opening of the second color filter.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches an inorganic layer disposed on the second color filter and the first scattering pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the inorganic layer can have a refractive index in a range of about 1.6 to about 2.0.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches an overcoat layer (OC) covering the inorganic layer.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches a second scattering pattern, wherein the display panel further includes: a second light-emitting element disposed in a second light-emitting region spaced apart from the first light-emitting region with the non-light-emitting region disposed between the first light-emitting region and the second light-emitting region in a plan view; and a third color filter (EA3 and paragraph 0112) disposed on the second color filter and including an opening corresponding to the second light-emitting element, the second color filter overlaps the second light-emitting element in a plan view, and the second scattering pattern is disposed in the opening of the third color filter.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the first scattering pattern and the second scattering pattern include substantially a same material.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the display panel further includes a pixel defining layer having an opening (OPT1), the first light-emitting element includes: a first electrode (AE) exposed by the opening of the pixel defining layer; a light-emitting structure (EL) disposed on the first electrode; and a second electrode (CE) disposed on the light-emitting structure and contacting an upper surface of the pixel defining layer, and the light-emitting structure includes: a hole control pattern; a light-emitting pattern disposed on the hole control pattern; and an electron control pattern disposed on the light-emitting pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the first color filter contacts the first scattering pattern.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the first scattering pattern includes a base resin and scattering particles mixed in the base resin.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Hwang et al. (‘413) teaches the thin-film encapsulation layer includes: a first inorganic encapsulation layer; an organic encapsulation layer disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the organic encapsulation layer, the first inorganic encapsulation layer includes a plurality of inorganic layers, and a refractive index of one of the plurality of inorganic layers disposed on a lowermost layer is less than refractive indices of one of the plurality of inorganic layers disposed in the lowermost layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875