DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al (US 2023/0327146 A1).
As to claim 1, Shrivastava discloses a bipolar plate for an electrochemical device (Title “single sheet bipolar plate” Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 11, 26) comprising:
a conductive main body extending between a first side and a second side to define a cross-flow arrangement (Fig. 9 [0013]);
wherein the cross-flow arrangement comprises:
first flow channels interspersed with first ribs along the first side, the first flow channels dimensioned to convey a first fluid in a first direction (#120 Fig. 9B);
second flow channels interspersed with second ribs along the second side, the second flow channels dimensioned to convey a second fluid substantially in the first direction (See annotated image below);
wherein the first flow channels are established in the respective second ribs (See annotated image below);
wherein the second flow channels are established in the respective first ribs (See annotated image below);
cross-over ribs that extend across a floor of the respective second flow channels to interconnect adjacent second ribs (#142 Fig. 9C); and
wherein cross-over channels are established in the respective cross-over ribs, the cross-over channels extend across the respective first ribs to interconnect the adjacent first flow channels, and the cross-over channels are dimensioned to convey the first fluid in a second direction transverse to the first direction ([0181]-[0183]).
As to claim 2, Shrivastava further discloses wherein the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (See arrows Fig. 3D).
As to claim 3, Shrivastava further discloses wherein the main body is monolithic (Title “single sheet”).
As to claim 4, Shrivastava further discloses wherein the main body has a substantially constant thickness along the cross flow arrangement ([0175] Fig. 8 showing a constant thickness across the plate).
As to claim 5, Shrivastava further discloses wherein a floor of each of the cross-over channels is outward of the floor of each adjacent first flow channel. (humps 142 thus deemed outward, see Fig. 26C, [0183] height of hump related the lands).
As to claim 6, Shrivastava further discloses wherein ends of the first flow channels are bounded by a perimeter of the plate (See Fig. 2A and 8a flow field 104, Fig. 13a)
As to claim 7, Shrivastava further discloses wherein at least some of the second flow channels extend from respective ports along a perimeter of the plate ([0190] Fig. 11a-11B from ports 112).
As to claim 8, Shrivastava further discloses wherein one or more ports extend through the main body between the first and second sides, one or more delivery channels extend along the first side to interconnect the first flow channels and the one or more ports (Fig. 2 #s 108).
As to claim 9, Shrivastava further discloses wherein one of the first and seconds fluid is hydrogen, and another one of the first and second fluids is water ([0140]).
As to claim 10, Shrivastava further discloses, wherein each first flow channel defines a first width, each cross-over channel defines a second width, and a ratio of the first width to the second width is between 1:4 and 2:1 (See Fig. 11 where it shows the width of the channels 142 the same width as the channels the humps 140 are formed within 120 thus providing a 1:1 ratio).
As to claim 12, Shrivastava discloses an assembly (Fig. 1A) comprising
A first electrochemical cell including a first proton exchange membrane (PEM #81E [0116]) ) between a first anode and a first cathode (Fig. 1A 81A/81B including GDEs 82/83); a second electrochemical cell including a second proton exchange membrane between a second anode and a second cathode; ([0113]) a conductive bipolar plate between the first anode and the second cathode ([0114])
The bipolar plate for an electrochemical device (Title “single sheet bipolar plate” Fig. 9, Fig. 10, 11, 26) comprising:
a conductive main body extending between a first side and a second side to define a cross-flow arrangement (Fig. 9 [0013]);
wherein the cross-flow arrangement comprises:
first flow channels interspersed with first ribs along the first side, the first flow channels dimensioned to convey a first fluid in a first direction (#120 Fig. 9B);
second flow channels interspersed with second ribs along the second side, the second flow channels dimensioned to convey a second fluid substantially in the first direction (See annotated image below);
wherein the first flow channels are established in the respective second ribs (See annotated image below);
wherein the second flow channels are established in the respective first ribs (See annotated image below);
cross-over ribs that extend across a floor of the respective second flow channels to interconnect adjacent second ribs (#142 Fig. 9C); and
wherein cross-over channels are established in the respective cross-over ribs, the cross-over channels extend across the respective first ribs to interconnect the adjacent first flow channels, and the cross-over channels are dimensioned to convey the first fluid in a second direction transverse to the first direction ([0181]-[0183]).
As to claim 13, Shrivastava further discloses wherein the first electrochemical cell is a PEM electrolyzer ([0116]).
As to claim 14, Shrivastava further discloses wherein the first flow channels are fluidly coupled to a first set of manifolds (#s 110 as seen in Fig. 3A among others), and the second flow channels are fluidly coupled to a second set of manifolds (#s 108 as Seen In Fig. 4A among others)..
As to claim 15, Shrivastava further discloses wherein the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the first direction. (See arrows Fig. 3D).
As to claim 16, Shrivastava discloses a method of forming a bipolar plate ([0216]-[0221]) for an electrochemical device comprising:
forming a first flow field in a first side of a metallic plate body, the first flow field including first flow channels interspersed with first ribs, the first flow channels extending in a first direction, and the first flow field including cross-over channels that extend across the respective first ribs to interconnect adjacent first flow channels, and the cross-over channels extend in a second direction transverse to the first direction (#120 Fig. 9B);;
forming a second flow field in a second side of the plate body opposite of the first side, the second flow field including second flow channels interspersed with second ribs along the second side, and the second flow channels extending substantially in the first direction (See annotated image below); and
wherein the first flow channels are established in the respective second ribs, the second flow channels are established in the respective first ribs, and the cross-over channels are established in the respective cross-over ribs (See annotated image below).
As to claim 17, Shrivastava discloses, wherein the steps of forming the first flow field and the second flow field include stamping the plate body ([0217]).
As to claim 18, Shrivastava further discloses forming the plate body from a foil sheet having a substantially planar geometry prior to the steps of forming the first flow field and the second flow field (Fig. 26A #166).
As to claim 19, Shrivastava further discloses wherein the step of forming the first flow field occurs such that a floor of each of the cross-over channels is raised from a floor of each adjacent first flow channel (See Fig. 26B, 9A-9C).
As to claim 20, Shrivastava further discloses arranging the first flow field along a cathode of the electrochemical device; and arranging the second flow field along an anode of the electrochemical device ([0144]-[0145]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava.
As to claim 11, Shrivastava further discloses wherein an average thickness of the second ribs is less than 20 percent of an average width and an average height of the second flow channels, excluding portions of the second flow channels along the cross-over ribs; and the average thickness of the second ribs is less than 20 percent of an average width and an average height of the first flow channels. ([0215] thickness of plate 0.1-2 mm and groove depth of the channels to be 0.3-2 mm – [0214] thus overlapping the instantly claimed range in selection of a thickness between 0.1-0.4 mm at a depth of 2 mm). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Notably, Shrivastava also discloses the size of the channels may be any size shape or dimension as required to flow the fluids necessary for the reaction, thus providing a different size or proportion would be prima face obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795