DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 11-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 7,199,480 B2 to Fripp et al.
Fripp et al. clearly teaches a Vibration Based Power Generator, comprising:
a housing (120);
a port (see Figure 10) in the housing;
a first member (116) whose position relative to the housing depends upon a Bernoulli effect on the member from a fluid flow (arrows in Figure 10) through the port; and
a piezoelectric (see column 7, lines 10-22 and 54-67; column 8, lines 1-8; column 11, lines 10-35; column 17, lines 8-19 and 60-67) voltage generator (126) operably connected to the member (see Figure 10).
With regards to claim 2, Fripp et al. discloses:
the Bernoulli effect of the flowing fluid causes the member to move cyclically, during use.
With regards to claim 4, Fripp et al. discloses:
the generator being a cantilevered structure (see Figure 10).
With regards to claim 5, Fripp et al. discloses:
the member being affixed to the generator (see Figure 10).
With regards to claim 6, Fripp et al. discloses:
the generator comprises a spring (see column 7, lines 45-53; column 10, lines 23-34; and column 12, line 66 to column 13, line 7).
With regards to claim 7, Fripp et al. discloses:
the member being drawn toward the housing with increasing fluid flow velocity (see Figure 10).
With regards to claim 11, Fripp et al. discloses:
the magnitude of the Bernoulli effect is based upon viscosity of the fluid flowing through the arrangement.
With regards to claim 12, Fripp et al. discloses a method for generating electricity, comprising the steps of:
flowing a fluid past a member, the fluid creating pressure change dependent upon flow velocity;
causing a movement of the member by the pressure change;
physically deforming a piezoelectric generator with the movement; and
generating a voltage with the deforming.
With regards to claim 13, Fripp et al. discloses:
the pressure change being caused by the Bernoulli effect.
With regards to claim 14, Fripp et al. discloses:
the pressure change being a reduced pressure.
With regards to claim 15, Fripp et al. discloses:
a structure having a flow path for a fluid (see Figure 10);
an energy harvesting arrangement as described in paragraph 4 above, disposed within at least a portion of the flow path (see Figure 10).
With regards to claim 16, Fripp et al. discloses:
the flow path being a diverted portion of another flow path (see Figure 10).
With regards to claim 17, Fripp et al. discloses:
the structure being a tubular member (see Figures 7 and 10) of a wellbore system (see Figure 1).
With regards to claim 19, Fripp et al. discloses:
a borehole (see Figure 1) in a subsurface formation;
a string (14) in the borehole; and
an arrangement as described in paragraph 4 above, disposed within or as a part of the string.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7,199,480 B2 to Fripp et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,970,877 to Russell et al.
Fripp et al. discloses a Vibration Based Power Generator as described in paragraph 4 above.
However, it fails to disclose the first member being a disk.
Russell et al. discloses Power Generation in Underground Drilling Operations, comprising:
a vibrating flexible disc (10) of piezoelectric material (see column 2, lines 12-25).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the disc disclosed by Russell et al. on the Vibration Based Power Generator disclosed by Fripp et al., for the purpose of generating electrical output from the vibration caused by the mud flow past the disc.
Claims 9, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7,199,480 B2 to Fripp et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0140604 A1 to Chen et al.
Fripp et al. discloses a Vibration Based Power Generator as described in paragraph 4 above.
However, it fails to disclose a second member disposed adjacent the port and on an opposing side of the housing from the first member whose position relative to the housing depends upon flow through the port.
Chen et al. discloses Harvesting Energy From Flowing Fluid, comprising:
a second member disposed adjacent the port and on an opposing side of the housing from the first member (see Figures 8, 9, and 10) whose position relative to the housing depends upon flow through the port.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the dual member arrangement disclosed by Chen et al. on the Vibration Based Power Generator disclosed by Fripp et al., for the purpose of increasing the amount of energy generated by the generator.
With regards to claim 10, Chen et al. discloses:
a second port in the housing, the second port being adjacent a second member, the second member position relative to the housing being dependent upon flow through the second port (see Figures 8, 9, and 10); and
a second piezoelectric voltage generator operably connected to the second member (see Figures 8, 9, and 10).
With regards to claim 18, Chen et al. discloses:
the structure being an inflow control device (see Figures 2 and 4-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest an energy harvesting arrangement as recited by dependent claim 8, wherein:
the housing includes a stop that prevents the member from eliminating flow through the port.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 August 6, 2026