DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210265383 A1 (Kim).
Re claim 1, Kim teaches a memory device comprising:
first material layers (insulating layers 22) alternately stacked with second material layers (conductive layers 21);
a vertical hole passing through the first material layers and the second material layers (Fig. 3A);
first insulating patterns (insulating patterns 23) protruding from a side surface of the first material layers exposed through the vertical hole;
a blocking layer (blocking pattern 24) formed along a surface of the second material layers exposed between the first insulating patterns, the blocking layer comprising a plurality of concave sections, each of which is between the first insulating patterns (Fig. 3A); and
charge trap patterns (data storage patterns 25) formed in the concave portions,
wherein portions of the blocking layer are exposed between the charge trap patterns,
wherein a tunnel insulating layer (tunnel insulating layer 26), a channel layer (channel layer 27), and a core pillar (gap-fill layer 28), are formed in an area that is surrounded by the charge trap patterns (Fig. 3A);
wherein the blocking layer is disposed continuously in a direction where the first material layers and the second material layers are stacked (direction II Fig. 3A).
Re claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the first material layers are insulating layers, and the second material layers are conductive layers (insulating layers 22 and conductive layers 21).
Re claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the blocking layer extends over exposed surfaces of the first insulating patterns and the second material layers, in the vertical hole (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the charge trap patterns are radially aligned with the second material layers (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the charge trap patterns are spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 6, Kim teaches wherein a width of the first material layers is the same as a width of the second material layers (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 10, Kim teaches wherein the charge trap patterns are spaced apart from the first insulating patterns by the blocking layer (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 11, Kim teaches wherein at least one of the first insulating patterns has ring shape (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 12, Kim teaches wherein at least one of the charge trap patterns has ring shape (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 13, Kim teaches wherein the first insulating patterns are spaced apart from each other by the blocking layer and at least one of the charge trap patterns (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 14, Kim teaches wherein the tunnel insulating layer is in contact with the charge trap patterns and the blocking layer (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the first insulating patterns protrude towards the tunnel insulating layer more than side surfaces of the second material layers (Fig. 3A).
Re claim 16, Kim teaches wherein the second material layers protrude towards the tunnel insulating layer more than inner side surfaces (surfaces abutting layer 12) of the first insulating patterns (Fig. 3A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the embodiment of the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896