DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 1-19 are original; and claim 20 is currently amended. The amendment dated February 26, 2026 has been entered into the record.
Claim 20 was previously objected to for informalities. The objection is now withdrawn as the applicant has amended the claim.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that “because the second layer 220 is actually a spin-coated metal oxide layer on the device structures of the first patterned layer 214, the second layer 220 cannot be considered the claimed substrate as suggested by the Examiner” (Remarks, Pages 7-8).
Applicant's arguments with respect to at least claim 1 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive by the following reasons: the applicant does not further specify "the substrate" in the claim. For example, while the applicant argues the claimed substrate is not fabricated by a spin-coating method, the applicant is silent on how the substrate is fabricated. Is “the substrate” an etched glass substrate having a thickness in the micrometer range? It appears the thickness of "the substrate" is as thin as the index-matched layer made by spin-coating (Paragraphs [0031] “the index-matched layer 108 may be disposed over the top surface 110 of the substrate 100 by a spin-on coating processes” and see Fig. 2A below annotated by the examiner, where the thickness of parts of “the substrate” is even thinner than the thickness of parts of the index-matched layer (see two arrows added by the examiner having the same thickness)).
<Fig. 2A, annotated by the examiner>
[AltContent: textbox (The thickness of “the substrate” is as thin as, or even thinner than the index-matched layer 108, which is made by a spin coating method (see the two double-headed arrows annotated by the examiner having the same thickness).)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Because the applicant does not further specify “the substrate” in the claim, “the substrate” is construed as a layer or a film based on the present specification and drawings.
Furthermore, the examiner notes that claim 1 recites a product (i.e., an optical device, but not a fabrication method). Even if the substrate is formed by a different method, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (See MPEP 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu (US 2020/0003936), of record.
Regarding claim 1, Fu discloses an optical device (Figure 4D; see Paragraphs [0011] and [0014] identifying the embodiment shown in Figure 4D), comprising:
a substrate (220), the substrate having a substrate depth defined by a top surface of the substrate and a bottom surface of the substrate (see the top surface and the bottom surface of 220), wherein the substrate depth varies across the optical device;
an index-matched layer (214; see Figures 1 and 2A-2C and Paragraph [0017] teaching 214, i.e., 204 in Figures 2A-2B, having a refractive index (RI) the same as the substrate 202, thereby becoming an index-matched layer) disposed over the substrate, the index-matched layer having a layer depth defined by an upper surface of the index-matched layer and a lower surface of the index-matched layer, wherein the layer depth varies across the optical device (Figure 4D);
a plurality of optical device structures (316) formed over the index-matched layer, wherein adjacent structure top surfaces of the plurality of optical device structures are planar (see Figure 4D); and
an encapsulation material (202) disposed between the plurality of optical device structures and the index-matched layer.
Regarding claim 5, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the encapsulation material is an encapsulation layer (a layer of 202) disposed between the plurality of optical device structures and the index-matched layer, the encapsulation layer conformal to the upper surface of the index-matched layer (see Figure 4D).
Regarding claim 9, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the plurality of optical device structures are angled relative to the bottom surface of the substrate (see Figure 4D).
Regarding claim 10, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein a device height defined from the bottom surface to each of the structure top surfaces is constant (see Figure 4D).
Regarding claim 12, Fu discloses a method of forming an optical device (Figures 1 and 4D; see Paragraphs [0011] and [0014] identifying the embodiment shown in Figures 1 and 4D), comprising:
disposing an index-matched layer over a substrate (214 disposed on 220; see Figures 1 and 2A-2C and Paragraph [0017] teaching 214, i.e., 204 in Figures 2A-2B, having a refractive index (RI) the same as the substrate 202, thereby becoming an index-matched layer), the substrate having a substrate depth defined by a top surface of the substrate and a bottom surface of the substrate (see the top surface and the bottom surface of 220), wherein the substrate depth varies across the optical device such that a lower surface of the index-matched layer varies according to the substrate depth (Figure 4D);
patterning the index-matched layer (Figures 2B-2C and Paragraph [0018]), wherein the index-matched layer and the substrate define a target thickness distribution that varies across the substrate (Figure 4D);
disposing an encapsulation layer (202 on 214 in Figure 3A) over an upper surface of the index-matched layer;
disposing an optical device film (316 being disposed in Figure 3D; Paragraph [0023]) over the encapsulation layer; and
patterning a plurality of optical device structures in the optical device film (316 being patterned; Paragraph [0023]), wherein adjacent structure top surfaces of the plurality of optical device structures are planar (Figure 4D), wherein a device height defined from the bottom surface to each of the structure top surfaces is constant (Figure 4D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Chen (US 2015/0131035), of record.
Regarding claim 8, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Fu does not disclose the encapsulation material is a nitrogen containing material.
However, Chen teaches providing an encapsulation material which includes a nitrogen containing material (Paragraph [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the encapsulation material as disclosed by Fu with the teachings of Chen, wherein the encapsulation material is a nitrogen containing material, for the purpose of forming a moisture barrier layer (Chen: Paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 11, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Fu does not disclose the index-matched layer is polymer material or a nanoparticle based material.
However, Chen teaches an index-matched layer is polymer material (Paragraph [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the index-matched layer as disclosed by Fu with the teachings of Chen, wherein the index-matched layer is polymer material or a nanoparticle based material., for the purpose of using known index-materials forming an index-matched layer (Chen: Paragraph [0068]).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Franke (US 2022/0082936), of record.
Regarding claim 13, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 12 above.
Fu does not necessarily disclose the patterning the index-matched layer is via a gray-tone lithography process, wherein the gray-tone lithography process includes patterning a gray-tone resist with a resist thickness distribution that corresponds to the target thickness distribution.
However, Franke teaches a known lithography process includes patterning a layer via a gray-tone lithography process, wherein the gray-tone lithography process includes patterning a gray-tone resist for a desired resist thickness distribution (Paragraph [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Fu with the teachings of Franke, wherein the patterning the index-matched layer is via a gray-tone lithography process, wherein the gray-tone lithography process includes patterning a gray-tone resist with a resist thickness distribution that corresponds to the target thickness distribution, for the purpose of precisely controlling the film thickness (Franke: Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 15, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 12 above.
Fu does not necessarily disclose the patterning the plurality of optical device structures includes a nanoimprint lithography process.
However, Franke teaches a known lithography process includes nanoimprint lithography (NIL) molding techniques (Paragraph [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Fu with the teachings of Franke, wherein the patterning the plurality of optical device structures includes a nanoimprint lithography process, for the purpose of patterning gratings and filling the gap therebetween (Franke: Paragraph [0106]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Chiba et al. (US 2019/0391484), of record.
Regarding claim 14, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 12 above.
Fu does not necessarily disclose the patterning the index-matched layer includes an inkjet printing process, wherein the index-matched layer is disposed via the inkjet printing process to have the target thickness distribution.
However, Chiba teaches a known lithography process for patterning includes an inkjet printing process, wherein a layer is disposed via the inkjet printing process to have the target thickness distribution (Paragraph [0166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Fu with the teachings of Franke, wherein the patterning the index-matched layer includes an inkjet printing process, wherein the index-matched layer is disposed via the inkjet printing process to have the target thickness distribution, for the purpose of patterning disposing a layer with a desired thickness (Chiba: Paragraph [0166]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the substrate has a first refractive index and the index-matched layer has a second refractive index (Paragraphs [0017], [0020]).
However, Fu does not explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, “the second refractive index is substantially equal to the first refractive index”. Rather, Fu teaches that the first refractive index is higher than the second refractive index (Paragraph [0020]). The examiner further considered Lee et al. (US 2021/0199971, hereinafter “Lee”) and Calafiore (US 2020/0409151). However, Fu, Franke, Chiba, Lee and Calafiore, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 2.
Dependent claims 3-4 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
However, Fu does not explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, “the encapsulation material is infiltrated into the index-matched layer to form an encapsulation material gradient, wherein a concentration of the encapsulation material decreases as a distance from an upper surface of the index-matched layer is increased”.
The examiner further considered Lee and Calafiore. For example, Lee teaches providing a refractive index gradient for a grating (Paragraph [0107]), but fails to disclose the arrangement of elements recited in claim 1. The prior art of Fu, Franke, Chiba, Lee and Calafiore, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
However, Fu does not explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, ”the encapsulation material is infiltrated into the index-matched layer to form an encapsulation material gradient, wherein a concentration of the encapsulation material in the encapsulation material gradient is higher where the index-matched layer is furthest from the bottom surface of the substrate”.
The examiner further considered Lee and Calafiore. For example, Lee teaches providing a refractive index gradient for a grating (Paragraph [0107]) but fails to disclose the arrangement of elements recited in claim 1. The prior art of Fu, Franke, Chiba, Lee and Calafiore, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 7.
Claims 16-20 are allowable over prior art.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, Fu discloses a method of forming an optical device (Figures 1 and 4D; see Paragraphs [0011] and [0014] identifying the embodiment shown in Figures 1 and 4D), comprising:
disposing an index-matched layer over a substrate (214 disposed on 220; see Figures 1 and 2A-2C and Paragraph [0017] teaching 214, i.e., 204 in Figures 2A-2B, having a refractive index (RI) the same as the substrate 202, thereby becoming an index-matched layer), the substrate having a substrate depth defined by a top surface of the substrate and a bottom surface of the substrate (see the top surface and the bottom surface of 220), wherein the substrate depth varies across the optical device such that a lower surface of the index-matched layer varies according to the substrate depth (Figure 4D);
patterning the index-matched layer (Figures 2B-2C and Paragraph [0018]), wherein the index-matched layer and the substrate define a target thickness distribution that varies across the substrate (Figure 4D);
disposing an encapsulation layer (202 on 214 in Figure 3A) over an upper surface of the index-matched layer;
disposing an optical device film (316 being disposed in Figure 3D; Paragraph [0023]) over the encapsulation layer; and
patterning a plurality of optical device structures in the optical device film (316 being patterned; Paragraph [0023]), wherein adjacent structure top surfaces of the plurality of optical device structures are planar (Figure 4D), wherein a device height defined from the bottom surface to each of the structure top surfaces is constant (Figure 4D).
However, Fu does not explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, ”to form an encapsulation material gradient, wherein a concentration of the encapsulation material decreases as a distance from an upper surface of the index-matched layer is increased”. The examiner further considered Lee and Calafiore. However, the prior art of Fu, Franke, Chiba, Lee and Calafiore, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 16.
Dependent claims 17-20 are allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871