DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant Election filled on 01/08/2026. Currently, claims 1-18 are pending in the application. Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from Consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II and Species IID, claims 12-18, in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged. The first traversal is on the ground(s) that the examination of all of claims 1-18 would not present an undue burden on the Examiner, and respectfully request reconsideration and withdrawal of the Restriction Requirement.
This is not found persuasive and the Examiner has already established burden (as defined in M.P.E.P. 808.02) in the restriction requirement dated 11/24/2025. There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species or device/method claims, wherein they require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources or non-patent language, or deploying different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another; and/or the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C 101 and/or 35 U.S.C 112, first paragraph. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SONG et al (US 20200227373 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Figure 10 of SONG discloses a light emitting device comprising:
a base (115, under 160, [0273]) including a first wall (portion of 115 under has a wall);
a light emitting element (120, [0049]) disposed on the base and surrounded by the first wall in a plan view;
a second wall (wall of 160+117, [0057]) positioned on an upper face of the first wall, the second wall having a light shielding part (117) and a light reflecting part (160), the light reflecting part having a light reflectance higher than a light reflectance of the light shielding part (160 is white silicone which has high reflectance than the material of 117, wherein 117 can be transparent material too according to SONG, and when transparent is used then 117 anticipates to reflect some light due to the type of materials, [0058]-[0059]); and
a light transmissive member (140, [0110]) disposed in a cavity (C, [0050]) that is defined by the base and the second wall;
wherein the light shielding part (117) and the light reflecting part (160) both contain a resin (115, 160 and 117 includes resin, [0058], [0059], [0281]), an outer lateral face of the second wall (wall of 160+117) and an outer lateral face of the first wall (wall of 115 under 160) are continuously formed, the light reflecting part (160) partly constitutes an inner lateral face of the second wall, and the light shielding part (117) constitutes the outer lateral face and an upper face of the second wall (wall of 160+117).
Regarding claim 13, Figure 10 of SONG discloses that the light emitting device according to claim 12, wherein the cavity (C, [0050]) is defined by the first wall, the light reflecting part, and the light shielding part, and wherein the light reflecting part (160) is positioned between the light shielding part (117) and the first wall (of 115) in the cavity.
Regarding claim 15, Figure 10 of SONG discloses that the light emitting device according to claim 12, wherein the light transmissive member (140, [0102]) is composed of a lower part that covers the light emitting element (120, [0109]) and an upper part positioned on the lower part, wherein the lower part is disposed in a portion defined by the base (115), and wherein the upper part is disposed in a portion defined by an upper face of the lower part and the second wall (wall of 160+117).
Regarding claim 17, Figure 10 of SONG discloses that the light emitting device according to claim 12, wherein the light shielding part (160), the light reflecting part (117), and the light transmissive member (140) contain a same base material (115, 160, 117 and 140 includes resin, [0058], [0059], [0108] and [0281]).
Regarding claim 18, Figure 10 of SONG discloses that the light emitting device according to claim 12, wherein the outer lateral face of the first wall (of 115 under 160) and the outer lateral face of the second wall (of 160+117) are coplanar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over SONG et al (US 20200227373 A1) in view of MURUGAN et al (US 20230135465 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Figure 10 of SONG discloses that the light emitting device according to claim 12, wherein the light reflecting part (160, [0058]) is white colored.
Figure 10 of SONG does not teach that the light shielding part (117) is black colored.
However, MURUGAN is a pertinent art which teaches a light emitting device, wherein a micro LED display device includes a plurality of micro light-emitting diodes disposed on a substrate; a reflective layer and a black layer sequentially stacked on the substrate, the reflective layer and the black layer cover a surface of the substrate, wherein a top surface of each micro light-emitting diode is exposed through the reflective layer and the black layer, and a sidewall of each micro light-emitting diode is covered by the reflective layer and the black layer in order to improve luminance. Furthermore, capping the plurality of reflective banks with the plurality of black banks may more effectively absorb unwanted ambient light ([0004] and [0020]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the light shielding part (117, Figure 10 of SONG) is black colored in the light emitting device of SONG in order to improve luminance according to the teaching of MURUGAN ([0020]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over SONG et al (US 20200227373 A1) in view of CHOI et al (US 20150084537 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Figure 10 of SONG does not teach that the light emitting device according to claim 15, wherein the upper part and the lower part have an interface therebetween, wherein the upper part is divided into three regions in a plan view, and wherein the three regions having different chromaticity from one another.
However, CHOI is a pertinent art which teaches a semiconductor light emitting diode wherein Figure 122 of CHOI teaches a white light emitting device package 3030 includes a package main body 3031, a blue light emitting device 3035, and a transparent rein package part 3039. The blue light emitting device 3035 is mounted on the bottom of a reflection cup. The transparent resin encapsulation part 3039 encapsulates the blue light emitting device 3035 within the reflection cup ([0423]-[0426]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light emitting device of SONG, wherein the upper part and the lower part have an interface therebetween, wherein the upper part is divided into three regions in a plan view, and wherein the three regions having different chromaticity from one another according to the teaching of CHOI in order to form a white light emitting device with improved external light extraction efficiency ([0002] and [0423]-[0426] of CHOI).
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813