DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 9/21/2023 has been acknowledged.
Restriction/Election of Species
Applicant's election without traverse of Species II, (Claims 1-2, 4-13, and 16-20) in the reply filed on 8/20/2025 is acknowledged and is made FINAL.
Status of Application
Claims 1-4, 7-18, and 20-23 are pending.
Claims 5-6 and 19 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-23 have been added.
Claims 1, 9, 10, 13, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 14-15 have been previously withdrawn from consideration but may be rejoined once allowable subject matter has been captured in the independent claim.
Claims 1 and 13 are the independent claims.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-13, 16-18, and 20-23 will be examined below.
This Final Office action is in response to the “Amendments and Remarks” received on 12/15/2025.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/15/2025; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and were not persuasive. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Office Note: Claims 5-6 and 19 has been cancelled, therefore any rejection or objection pertaining thereupon is now considered moot.
With respect to the Abstract objection, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Abstract objection has been withdrawn.
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered and were persuasive. Therefore the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been withdrawn.
With respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103, applicant has amended the independent claim and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application, which have necessitated new analysis with new application of prior art, and the Office has supplied the new grounds for rejection attached below in the Final office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot.
However, since the Office is using the same cited prior art for a rejection, the Office will address the claimed limitations.
Applicant remarks “Mallinger fails to disclose the features of amended independent claim 1 regarding controlling a vehicle to autonomously navigate using the first separated individual lane marking, and as similarly recited in independent claim 13” and “Col. 2, lines 10-34 and col. 4, line 19 to col. 5, line 9 of Mallinger disclose controlling lane keeping of the vehicle using a virtual and another lane lines, as well as determining whether an outer lane line is invalid for defining a lane in which the vehicle is traveling. However, such disclosure does not reasonably teach controlling a vehicle to autonomously navigate using the first separately individual lane marking, as recited in amended independent claims 1 and 13” and the Office respectfully disagrees.
It remains the Office’s the Mallinger, as discussed in the interview between applicant on 12/3/2025 would still read on autonomous navigation of a vehicle. Lane keeping is a form of ADAS (Advanced Driving Assistance Systems) which use automated technology to assist driving vehicle in all levels of automated driving. Thus, without stating what type of automation is being claimed, Mallinger would still read on this as Mallinger clearly states “The lane keeping system of the vehicle 100 captures image data corresponding to an image area 120 in front of the vehicle 100. Using this image data, the lane keeping system operates a steering assist system of the vehicle 100 to keep the vehicle 100 traveling along a desired path 124, e.g., a center of the lane 116a.” [Mallinger, Col 1, lines 10 – Col 2 lines 3]. Therefore the Office respectfully disagrees with applicants remarks.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
It is the Office’s stance that all of applicant arguments have been considered and the rejections remain.
Final Office Action
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 10 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP 2111.01 (I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See 15 MPEP 2111.01 (II).
A first exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has not provided any lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has not acted as his/her own lexicographer.
A second exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(f) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function limitation in a claim:
the claim limitation uses the term "means" or "step" or a term used as a substitute for "means" that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word "for" (e.g., "means for") or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The Office has found herein that the claims do not contain limitations of means or means type language that must be analyzed under 35 U.S.C. §112 (f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 13, 16, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Mallinger (United States Patent 9,120,486).
With respect to Claim 1: Mallinger discloses “A method for detecting roadway lane markings” [Mallinger Col 2 lines 10-34];
“the method comprising: collecting a frame of image data of a roadway” [Mallinger, Col 4 lines 19-30];
“separating a first individual lane marking from among the frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“assigning an identifier to the first separated individual lane marking” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“and comparing the first separated individual lane marking to a subsequent frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“and controlling a vehicle to autonomously navigate using the first separated individual lane marking” [Mallinger, Col 1, lines 10 – Col 2 lines 3].
With respect to Claim 2: Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining an angle of the first separated individual lane marking with respect to an axis” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“and comparing the angle of the first separated individual lane marking with respect to the axis to an angle of the first separated individual lane marking with respect to the axis from the subsequent frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6].
With respect to Claim 7: Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 1, further comprising: separating a second individual lane marking from among the frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“and defining a first lane of the roadway between the first separated individual lane marking and the second separated individual lane marking” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6].
With respect to Claim 8: Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 7, further comprising: separating a third individual lane marking from among the frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“and defining a second lane of the roadway between the second separated individual lane marking and the third separated individual lane marking” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6].
With respect to Claim 9: Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of collecting the frame of image data of the roadway is performed by a forward facing camera of the vehicle” [Mallinger, Col 3 line 57-Col 4 line 4 and Col 4 lines 19-30].
With respect to Claim 13: Mallinger discloses “A vehicle navigation system, the system comprising” [Mallinger Col 2 lines 10-34];
“ a vehicle” [Mallinger Col 2 lines 10-34];
“an image collection device arranged on the vehicle” [Mallinger Col 2 lines 10-34];
“a processor” [Mallinger Col 2 lines 10-34];
“and, a vehicle controller” [Mallinger Col 2 lines 10-34];
“wherein the image collection device, the processor, and the vehicle controller are connected to one another via a network, and wherein the processor may receive input data from the image collection device, separate lane markings within the input data, and transmit an output to the vehicle controller to control the vehicle” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“to autonomously navigate using a first separated individual lane marking” [Mallinger, Col 1, lines 10 – Col 2 lines 3].
With respect to Claim 16: Mallinger discloses “The vehicle navigation system of claim 13, wherein the output transmitted from the processor causes the vehicle controller to control the vehicle to follow a curvature in a roadway.” [Mallinger, Col 4 lines 19-30].
With respect to Claim 17: Mallinger discloses “The vehicle navigation system of claim 13, wherein the output transmitted from the processor causes the vehicle controller to control the vehicle to follow a curvature in a roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6].
With respect to Claim 22: Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining an angle of the first separated individual lane marking with respect to an axis” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“determining a trajectory of the vehicle between the frame of image data and the subsequent frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“and adjusting the axis in response to the trajectory of the vehicle veering to a predetermined direction between the frame of image data and the subsequent frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 18, 20, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mallinger (United States Patent 9,120,486) in view of Piao et al. (United States Patent Publication 2020/0393265).
With respect to Claims 4 and 20: While Mallinger discloses “wherein the step of separating the first individual lane marking from the frame of image data of the roadway is performed” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
Mallinger does not state that a user may perform this function of identifying the lane lines.
Piao, which is also a system that identifies lane lines teaches “separating the first individual lane marking from the frame of image data of the roadway is performed on a user interface” [Piao, ¶ 0060, 0169, 0201, 0203 and Figures 19a-19b];
“further comprising a user interface communicatively coupled to the vehicle navigation system” [Piao, Abstract, ¶ 0201-0203];
“and wherein the user interface is configured to allow a user to isolate pixels of roadway data comprising a lane marking” [Piao, ¶ 0060, 0169, 0201, 0203 and Figures 19a-19b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Piao into the invention of Mallinger to not only include using image data to identify lane lines as Mallinger discloses but to also use user input to identify areas on a display that are lane lines as taught by Piao with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Piao into Mallinger to create a more robust system that account for sections where lane lines are not detectable, thus reverting to conventional lane line identification [Piao, ¶ 0060] Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as lane line identification and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
With respect to Claim 18: While Mallinger discloses “The vehicle navigation system of claim 13, wherein the output transmitted from the processor causes the vehicle controller to control the vehicle” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
Mallinger does not state changing lanes, rather staying in one lane, which could be changing lanes.
Piao, which is also a system that identifies lane lines teaches “causes the vehicle controller to control the vehicle to execute a lane change maneuver” [Piao, ¶ 0085].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Piao into the invention of Mallinger to not only include using image data to identify lane lines and control the vehicle accordingly as Mallinger discloses but to also have the vehicle control change lanes as taught by Piao with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Piao into Mallinger to create a more robust system that control the vehicle is many known ways, such as lane change and lane keeping. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as lane line identification and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
With respect to Claim 21: While Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle that includes a vehicle controller configured to control steering of the vehicle without operator inputs” [Mallinger, Col 1, lines 10 – Col 2 lines 3];
Mallinger does not specifically state controlling acceleration or braking or other aspects of autonomous vehicle control.
Piao, which is also a system that identifies lane lines automatically or with the help of users and controls autonomous vehicles with said lane lines teaches “wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle that includes a vehicle controller configured to control acceleration, braking, and steering of the vehicle without operator inputs.” [Piao, ¶ 0003 and 0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Piao into the invention of Mallinger to not only include using image data to identify lane lines and control the vehicle (lane keeping) accordingly as Mallinger discloses but to also have the vehicle control speed, acceleration and braking as taught by Piao with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Piao into Mallinger to create a more robust system that control the vehicle is many known ways, such as lane change, speed, braking and even lane keeping. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as lane line identification and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
With respect to Claim 23: While Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 2, further comprising: in response to the angle of the first separated individual lane marking with respect to the axis not matching the angle of the first separated individual lane marking with respect to the axis from the subsequent frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“identifying lane lines as (invalid) to the first separated individual lane marking from the subsequent frame of image data” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
Mallinger does not state using assigning a unique identifier to the invalid or missing lane lines.
Piao, which is also a system that identifies lane lines automatically or with the help of users and controls autonomous vehicles with said lane lines teaches “assigning a unique identifier to the first separated individual lane marking from the subsequent frame of image data” [Piao, ¶ 0007, 0060, and 0233].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Piao into the invention of Mallinger to not only include using image data to identify lane lines and controlling the vehicle based on valid an invalid lane lines as Mallinger discloses but to also allow a user to confirm updates to the maps based on displayed lane lines (unique identifiers) as taught by Piao with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Piao into Mallinger to create a more robust system that allow users to confirm additions to maps [Mallinger, ¶ 0233]. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as lane line identification and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Office Note: Claim 23 states “unique identifiers” and the Office looked into the specification for understanding and clarification to what these were and were not and the Office will interpret this accordingly: “The first identifier 174 may be a unique string of characters to identify the first lane marking 162 from various other lane markings. While the first identifier 174 is illustrated as a string of alphanumeric characters, it should be understood that any unique identifier may be used, including but not limited to a shape, a color, or any other suitable identifier” [Specification, ¶ 0032].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mallinger (United States Patent 9,120,486) in view of Ikeda et al. (United States Patent Publication 2007/0198146).
With respect to Claim 10: While Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 9, further comprising the differences between the frame of image data of the roadway and the subsequent frame of image data of the roadway” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
Mallinger does not state that the images are corrected due to the vehicle moving or its trajectory.
Ikeda, which is also a system that identifies lane lines teaches “further comprising the differences between the frame of image data of the roadway and the subsequent frame of image data of the roadway is corrected for the trajectory of the vehicle” [Ikeda, ¶ 0110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ikeda into the invention of Mallinger to not only include using image data to identify lane lines as Mallinger discloses but to also use correct the lane lines based on time and distance as the vehicle travels as taught by Ikeda with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Ikeda into Mallinger to create a more robust system that account for vehicle motion when identifying lane lines [Ikeda, ¶ 0110] Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as lane line identification and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mallinger (United States Patent 9,120,486) in view of Gupta et al. (United States Patent Publication 2016/0180180).
With respect to Claims 11-12: While Mallinger discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of isolating a separated individual lane marking from the frame of roadway image data” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
“wherein the step of isolating a lane marking from the frame of roadway image data and placing the bounding box around the isolated lane marking further comprises associating a unique identifier” [Mallinger, Col 2 lines 10-34 and Col 4 line 19-Col 5 line 9 with Figures 5a,5b and 6];
Mallinger does not state using bounding boxes.
Gupta, which is also a system that identifies lane lines teaches “further comprises placing a bounding box around the isolated lane marking” [Gupta, ¶ 0037-0038 and Figure 21 with Claim 10];
“further comprises associating a unique identifier with the bounding box” [Gupta, ¶ 0037-0038 and Figure 21 with Claim 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gupta into the invention of Mallinger to not only include using image data to identify lane lines as Mallinger discloses but to also use bounding boxes for lane line identification as taught by Gupta with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art Gupta into Mallinger to create a more robust system that group and separate lane lines from other data [Gupta, ¶ 0037] Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well known elements such as lane line identification and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).a).
/JESS WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666c