DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by So et al. (US 12,069,908).
Regarding independent claim 1, So et al. (‘908) teaches in figures 1, 3, and 5, and the corresponding text, a display device comprising: a base substrate (100) including a display area (DA) and a peripheral area (PA) positioned outside the display area; an organic insulating layer (160) disposed on the display area of the base substrate; a light emitting device (180) disposed on the organic insulating layer; a first dam (DM2) disposed on the peripheral area of the base substrate and spaced apart from the organic insulating layer; and a pattern (BP) disposed on the peripheral area of the base substrate and positioned outside a region enclosed by the first dam.
Regarding dependent claim 2, So et al. (‘908) teaches the pattern is disposed on a same layer as the first dam.
Regarding dependent claim 4, So et al. (‘908) teaches the pattern includes a same material as the first dam.
Regarding dependent claim 5, So et al. (‘908) teaches the pattern is integrally formed with the first dam and the pattern protrudes from an outer sidewall of the first dam.
Regarding dependent claim 6, So et al. (‘908) teaches the pattern is spaced apart from the first dam.
Regarding dependent claim 7, So et al. (‘908) teaches a second dam (DM1) spaced apart from the first dam, wherein the first dam has a closed loop shape, and wherein the second dam is disposed in a region encircled by the closed loop shape of the first dam.
Regarding dependent claim 8, So et al. (‘908) teaches a first peripheral area extending along a first straight line extending in a first direction; a second peripheral area extending along a second straight line extending in a second direction crossing the first direction; and a corner peripheral area connecting the first peripheral area to the second peripheral area, wherein the pattern is disposed on the corner peripheral area of the base substrate.
Regarding dependent claim 9, So et al. (‘908) teaches a polygon or fan-out shape.
Regarding dependent claim 10, So et al. (‘908) teaches an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the base substrate and the organic insulating layer, wherein the pattern is disposed on a same layer as the inorganic insulating layer.
Regarding dependent claim 12, So et al. (‘908) teaches a first inorganic encapsulation layer (191) disposed on the organic insulating layer and covering the light emitting device; an organic encapsulation layer (192) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer, covering the display area, and positioned inside an inner region encircled by the first dam; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (193) disposed on the organic encapsulation layer, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer extend beyond the first dam from the inner region encircled by the first dam.
Regarding independent claim 21, So et al. (‘908) teaches a display device comprising: a base substrate (100); an organic insulating layer (160) disposed on the base substrate; a light emitting device (180) disposed on the organic insulating layer; a first dam (DM2) encircling the organic insulating layer and spaced apart from the organic insulating layer; a second dam (DM1) disposed on the base substrate, wherein the second dam is encircled by the first dam, wherein the organic insulating layer is encircled by the second dam, and wherein the second dam is disposed between the first dam and the organic insulating layer; and a pattern (BP) disposed on the base substrate and adjacent to an outer sidewall of the first dam, wherein a portion of the first dam is disposed between the pattern and the second dam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So et al. (US 12,069,908), of record.
Regarding claim 15, So (‘908) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for the claimed pattern height.
Further regarding claim 15, the height appears to be an obvious choice in design based upon the intended size of the display device.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pattern of So for the purpose of preventing the spread of material. The height appears to be an obvious choice in design based upon the intended size of the display device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Claims 3, 11, and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: forming a base substrate including a display area and a peripheral area positioned outside the display area on a carrier substrate; forming a pattern on the peripheral area of the base substrate; forming a light emitting device on the peripheral area of the base substrate; forming an encapsulation layer covering the light emitting device; forming a protective film on the base substrate to cover the pattern and the encapsulation layer; removing the carrier substrate from the base substrate; and removing the protective film disposed on the base substrate by peeling off a portion of the protective film covering the pattern and then peeling off another portion of the protective film covering the encapsulation layer.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875