DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sheet dropping” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is seen as vague and indefinite since the metes and bounds of “sheet dropping” are unknown. The phrase does not appear to be a term of art and is not found anywhere is sufficient disclosure to ascertain its meaning. Additionally, the instant disclosure provides nothing that would allow a skilled artisan to understand the meaning. Finally, if the interface material is to be molten, per claim 1, then how can a sheet of interface material be dropped, per claim 9. Sheet dropping will be interpreted as if the process creates a sheet of interface material in the desired location.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 is already claimed in its entirety in claim 1, thus claim 11 does not further limit claim 1.
Claim 12 is already claimed in its entirety in both claims 11 and 1, thus claim 122 does not further limit claims 11 or 1.
Claim 13 is already claimed in its entirety in claim 1, thus claim 11 does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giller et al (U.S. PGPub 2019/0193335; herein Giller, already of record), in view of Drewnowski et al (U.S. PGPub 2018/0237329; herein Drewnowski). Regarding claim 1:
Giller teaches printing an article material, a support material, and an interface material as claimed, in Figures 4A-5 and paragraphs 0007, 0056, and 0057. The polymer used by Giller, which can be used in both the article and support, can contain potassium chloride (a salt), paragraph 0048.
However, Giller is silent to maintaining the temperature as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor Drewnowski teaches maintaining an elevated temperature during the printing process (paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to use the heat treatment of Drewnowski, since it helps prevent the formation of internal stresses in the part (Drewnowski: paragraph 0030).
Regarding claims 7 and 13:
The polymer used by Giller, which can be used in both the article and support, can contain potassium chloride (a salt), paragraph 0048.
Regarding claim 8:
Giller teaches ejecting the material, as seen in Figure 3.
Regarding claim 9:
Since no description of sheet dropping can be found in the specification or drawings and based on a search it is not a term of art, therefore the fact that Giller creates a sheet of interface material in Figures 4C and 5, means Giller teaches sheet dropping of the interfacial material.
Regarding claim 10:
Since Giller teaches depositing the interface material between the article and support materials, removal would be as claimed.
Regarding claims 11 and 12:
See remarks regarding claim 1 and the teaching of Drewnowski.
Claims 1, 5-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myerberg et al (U.S. PGPub 2017/0297098; herein Myerberg; already of record), in view of Drewnowski. Regarding claim 1:
Myerberg, throughout the disclosure, teaches printing an article material, a support material, and an interfacial material as claimed. Myerberg specifically states that the interface material is a polymer in binder form, which means it is a liquid, i.e. molten (paragraphs 0007, 0038, 0046, 0126, 0172, 0180). However, Giller is silent to maintaining the temperature as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor Drewnowski teaches maintaining an elevated temperature during the printing process (paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to use the heat treatment of Drewnowski, since it helps prevent the formation of internal stresses in the part (Drewnowski: paragraph 0030).
Regarding claims 5 and 6:
Myerberg teaches printing the article from metals including aluminum, paragraph 0065.
Regarding claim 7:
Myerberg teaches that the article material can include glass (paragraph 0061) or salt (paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 8:
Myerberg teaches ejecting the interfacial material (paragraphs 0027, 0084, 0088, 0090)
Regarding claim 10:
Since Myerberg teaches depositing the interface material between the article and support materials, removal would be as claimed.
Regarding claims 11 and 12:
See remarks regarding claim 1 and the teaching of Drewnowski.
Regarding claim 13:
Myerberg teaches that the support material can include glass (paragraph 0061) or salt (paragraph 0060).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giller or Myerberg, in view of Jaker et al (U.S. PGPub 2016/0122541; herein Jaker, already of record). Regarding claims 2-4:
Giller or Myerberg do not teach the claimed interfacial materials.
In the same field of endeavor Jaker teaches using PEI as a support material (paragraph 0143), and that PEI, PAEK, and PEEK are equivalents for the same purpose (paragraph 0122), and that such supports are removable (paragraph 0037). Since the interface material also supports the article, then the materials of Jaker could also act as an interfacial material.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the needed interfacial material, since Jaker shows that the claimed materials are capable of being used as support materials and are easily removed from the part. It has been held that substituting equivalents for the same purpose is obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II) and that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/18/2025, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that in the remarks the Applicant repeatedly states that the claims are for making an inorganic part. It is noted that the claims use “comprises” (not consisting of) when claiming a metal, a glass, a salt, or combinations thereof. The Applicant is directed to MPEP 2111.03. Since the claims use comprises, the printing material can also include other materials. Thus Giller is still able to be used as art, since the polymer used by Giller, which can be used in both the article and support, can contain potassium chloride (a salt), paragraph 0048.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743