DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments are directed to the amended subject matter; new prior art is provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230033768 A1 Chong; Dading et al. (hereinafter Chong) in view of US 20210319266 A1 Chen; Ting et al. (hereinafter Chen) and further in view of US 20190355366 A1 NG; Raymond W.M. et al. (hereinafter NG).
Re claim 1, Chong teaches
1. A method for efficient speech representation, comprising: (fig. 4 & fig. 5)
receiving, by a speech representation learning computer program, …audio training data comprising raw audio data; (raw audio data expressly taught 0088-0090 and 0021…fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
training, by the speech representation learning computer program, a teacher model using the raw audio data to generate target outputs; (using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092… raw audio data expressly taught 0088-0090 and 0021 with 0074 where audio features element 506 and teacher data/features element 514 are used to produce labeled outputs for loss calculation element 516 and model updates using an iterative routine as in fig. 5…)
adding, by the speech representation learning computer program, audio distortion to the raw audio data; (using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092… raw audio data expressly taught 0088-0090 and 0021 with 0074 where audio features element 506 and teacher data/features element 514 are used to produce labeled outputs for loss calculation element 516 and model updates using an iterative routine as in fig. 5…)
training, by the speech representation learning computer program, a student model with the raw audio data and audio distortion to mimic the target outputs; (the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092… raw audio data expressly taught 0088-0090 and 0021 with 0074 where audio features element 506 and teacher data/features element 514 are used to produce labeled outputs for loss calculation element 516 and model updates using an iterative routine as in fig. 5…)
injecting, by the speech representation learning computer program, a known audio feature into a layer of the student model, wherein workers guide the layer of the student model in learning the known audio feature; (neural network based audio + noise teacher and student model training overall featuring labels, layers, and frequency features, with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075, the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
…comprising features form the teaches model and features from the known audio features (using raw audio for instance 0021 with 0074 where audio features element 506 and teacher data/features element 514 are used to produce labeled outputs for loss calculation element 516 and model updates using an iterative routine as in fig. 5…)
However, while Chong teaches neural network layers for speech recognition or audio concepts and labels as in element 420, as well as the task of ASR in itself, it fails to teach heads per se as follows:
Unlabeled audio training data… (Chen unlabeled training data can be audio 0119)
providing, by the speech representation learning computer program, a neural network head to the student model; (Chen heads, in the context of audio content training 0112, applicable in a teacher model 0135 fig. 13, for student models 0007-0008, using fig. 2a-2b with 0127-0129 heads for NN and specific task, 0139 per application, utilizing a CNN layers 0123)
training, by the speech representation learning computer program, the neural network head with a labeled dataset …; and (Chen heads, in the context of audio content training 0112, applicable in a teacher model 0135 fig. 13, for student models labeled 0007-0008, using fig. 2a-2b with 0127-0129 heads for NN and specific task, 0139 per application, utilizing a CNN layers 0123)
deploying, by the speech representation learning computer program, the student model with the neural network head to an application for the specific task. (Chen 0127-0129 heads for NN and specific task, 0139 per application… heads, in the context of audio content training 0112, applicable in a teacher model 0135 fig. 13, for student models labeled 0007-0008, using fig. 2a-2b with 0127-0129 heads for NN and specific task, 0139 per application, utilizing a CNN layers 0123)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chong to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Chen to allow for use of a known technique of neural network heads to improve similar methods of teacher-student model training with labeled outputs in the same way, wherein the system of Chong is improved with pretrained projection head neural network layers and is fine-tuned with a small number or fraction of labeled data, and then distillation training is performed based on reusing the unlabeled pretraining data to distill the network to a student network that performs one or more specialized tasks, thus learning improves accuracy and computational efficiency.
However, while the combination teaches frame operations and teach-student model groups on an end-to-end operation, in lieu of official notice on the operations end-to-end teacher model layer and intermediate outputs, the combination thus fails to teach:
wherein the target outputs comprise embeddings at a frame level; (NG taking raw microphone data into a teacher model as in fig. 5, the teacher model operating at a frame-level and outputting embedding vectors to a student model 0048-0049 and 0056)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chong in view of Chen to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by NG to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as for enabling the student to learn high-fidelity speaker characteristics at a granular level rather than just the final utterance-level decision, improving the teacher model of the combination and end-to-end concepts such applicable to knowledge distillation for creating compact, lightweight, and efficient models for real-time or resource-constrained devices.
Re claim 15, this claim has been rejected for teaching a broader, or narrower claim based on general inclusion of hardware alone (e.g. processor, memory, instructions), representation of claim 1 omitting/including hardware for instance, otherwise amounting to a virtually identical scope.
See fig. 1-2 of Chong.
Re claims 4, 11, and 18, Chong teaches
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating, by the speech representation learning computer program, a worker loss for the student model, wherein the worker loss represents a difference between an output of the student model and the target outputs. (loss thereof with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075… neural network based audio + noise teacher and student model training overall featuring labels, layers, and frequency features, with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075, the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
Re claims 5, 12, and 19, Chong teaches
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the specific task comprises speech recognition, speaker verification, keyword spotting, emotion recognition, and/or speech separation. (as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092… neural network based audio + noise teacher and student model training overall featuring labels, layers, and frequency features, with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075, the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
Re claims 6 and 13, Chong teaches
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the known audio feature comprises Mel Frequency Cepstral Coefficients (MFCC), gammatone, Log power spectrum (LPS), FBank, and/or prosody. (0021, 0029, 0088… neural network based audio + noise teacher and student model training overall featuring labels, layers, and frequency features, with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075, the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
Re claims 7 and 14, Chong teaches
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the audio distortion comprises additive noise, reverberation, and/or clipping. (0083 with fig. 4… features 0021, 0029, 0088… neural network based audio + noise teacher and student model training overall featuring labels, layers, and frequency features, with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075, the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
Re claim 8, Chong teaches
8. A system, comprising: (fig. 1-2)
a data source…audio training data comprising raw audio data; (raw audio data expressly taught 0088-0090 and 0021…fig. 4 and 5)
a downstream system executing a specific task; and (downstream as in the flow from teacher to student per se fig. 4 and 5)
an electronic device executing a speech representation learning computer program that is configured to receive the raw audio data from the data source, train a teacher model using the raw audio data to generate target outputs; add audio distortion to the raw audio data, train a student model with the raw audio data and raw audio distortion to mimic the target outputs, inject a known audio feature into a layer of the student model, wherein workers guide the layer of the student model in learning the known audio feature… (raw audio data expressly taught 0088-0090 and 0021 with 0074 where audio features element 506 and teacher data/features element 514 are used to produce labeled outputs for loss calculation element 516 and model updates using an iterative routine as in fig. 5… neural network based audio + noise teacher and student model training overall featuring labels, layers, and frequency features, with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075, the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
……comprising features form the teaches model and features from the known audio features (using raw audio for instance 0021 with 0074 where audio features element 506 and teacher data/features element 514 are used to produce labeled outputs for loss calculation element 516 element 516 and model updates using an iterative routine as in fig. 5…)
However, while Chong teaches neural network layers for speech recognition or audio concepts and labels as in element 420, as well as the task of ASR in itself, it fails to teach heads per se as follows:
Unlabeled audio training data… (Chen unlabeled training data can be audio 0119)
…provide a neural network head to the student model, train the neural network head with a labeled dataset …, and deploy the student model with the neural network head to the downstream system. (Chen 0127-0129 heads for NN and specific task, 0139 per application… heads, in the context of audio content training 0112, applicable in a teacher model 0135 fig. 13, for student models labeled 0007-0008, using fig. 2a-2b with 0127-0129 heads for NN and specific task, 0139 per application, utilizing a CNN layers 0123)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chong to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Chen to allow for use of a known technique of neural network heads to improve similar methods of teacher-student model training with labeled outputs in the same way, wherein the system of Chong is improved with pretrained projection head neural network layers and is fine-tuned with a small number or fraction of labeled data, and then distillation training is performed based on reusing the unlabeled pretraining data to distill the network to a student network that performs one or more specialized tasks, thus learning improves accuracy and computational efficiency.
However, while the combination teaches frame operations and teach-student model groups on an end-to-end operation, in lieu of official notice on the operations end-to-end teacher model layer and intermediate outputs, the combination thus fails to teach:
wherein the target outputs comprise embeddings at a frame level; (NG taking raw microphone data into a teacher model as in fig. 5, the teacher model operating at a frame-level and outputting embedding vectors to a student model 0048-0049 and 0056)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chong in view of Chen to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by NG to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as for enabling the student to learn high-fidelity speaker characteristics at a granular level rather than just the final utterance-level decision, improving the teacher model of the combination and end-to-end concepts such applicable to knowledge distillation for creating compact, lightweight, and efficient models for real-time or resource-constrained devices.
Re claim 20, Chong teaches
20. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the known audio feature comprises Mel Frequency Cepstral Coefficients (MFCC), gammatone, Log power spectrum (LPS), FBank, and/or prosody, and the audio distortion comprises additive noise, reverberation, and/or clipping. (0083 with fig. 4… features 0021, 0029, 0088… neural network based audio + noise teacher and student model training overall featuring labels, layers, and frequency features, with element 440 as a worker analogous to a layer pe se 0075, the result is element 430 for instance using the output of the student model with noisy + audio data, and using audio as well as inserted noise to train teach and student models 0021-0029 such as perturbing the signal 0006, and as in fig. 4 & 5 receiving audio input in a speech recognition context 0092)
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230033768 A1 Chong; Dading et al. (hereinafter Chong) in view of US 20210319266 A1 Chen; Ting et al. (hereinafter Chen) and further in view of US 20190355366 A1 NG; Raymond W.M. et al. (hereinafter NG) and further in view of US 20220180202 A1 Yin; Yichun et al. (hereinafter Yin).
Re claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination while teaching neural networks and student-teacher models with layers, fails to teach:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the teacher model and the student model each comprise a plurality of convolutional encoder layers and a plurality of transformer layers. (Yin CNN layers 0121 and transformer layers 0161 with fig. 5, and reduction of M to N layers for student models)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chong in view of Chen and NG to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Yin to allow for the use of a known technique such as CNN layers and also transformer layers in attention mechanisms or heads to improve similar neural network teacher-student methods in the same way, thereby improving the combinations speech recognition or audio handling, wherein the student model can learn to imitate the output data of the intermediate layer and the output layer of the teacher model, so that the student model more accurately learns semantic representation of the teacher model to implement effective knowledge transfer, thereby improving accuracy of a text or audio processing result of the student model, with the capability to operate with a smaller number of parameters and achieve a higher quality output.
Re claims 3, 10, and 17, the combination while teaching neural networks and student-teacher models with layers, fails to teach:
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the student model is initiated with weights from the teacher model and keeps fewer transformer layers than the teacher model. (Yin CNN layers 0121 and transformer layers 0161 with fig. 5, and reduction of M to N layers for student models)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chong in view of Chen and NG to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Yin to allow for the use of a known technique such as CNN layers and also transformer layers in attention mechanisms or heads to improve similar neural network teacher-student methods in the same way, thereby improving the combinations speech recognition or audio handling, wherein the student model can learn to imitate the output data of the intermediate layer and the output layer of the teacher model, so that the student model more accurately learns semantic representation of the teacher model to implement effective knowledge transfer, thereby improving accuracy of a text or audio processing result of the student model, with the capability to operate with a smaller number of parameters and achieve a higher quality output.
Conclusion
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220051105 A1 Fukuda; Takashi et al.
Teacher student models
US 20200334538 A1 MENG; Zhong et al.
Teacher student models with ground truth
/MICHAEL COLUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 (571)-270-1847
Examiner FAX: (571)-270-2847
Michael.Colucci@uspto.gov