DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Status of Claims Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and are presently examined. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regard as the invention. Claims 1 & 18 state “the two second extending plates extending into the accommodating space in a direction near the bottom plate”. The meaning of “a direction near the bottom plate” is unclear. For present examination, Examiner presumes that the following is intended: “a direction near towards the bottom plate”. Claims 1 & 18 state “the second side plates” and “the two second side plates”. Examiner presumes both refer to the same structure. One of these phrases should be used consistently throughout the claims. Claims 2-17 & 19-20 are rejected due to their dependence on claims 1 or 18. Claims 3 & 20 refer to a second direction, but fail to define which direction is the second direction. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The claims are in bold font , the prior art is in parentheses. Claims 1-4, 9, & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20190237712A1 (Zhang). Zhang teaches the following claim 1 limitations (amended according to Examiner’s interpretation): A battery housing, comprising: a first housing (paragraph 49; figure 2: case 2) , comprising a bottom plate, two opposite first side plates and two opposite second side plates, the two first side plates being respectively connected with the two second side plates, and an accommodating space with an opening being defined by the two first side plates, the two second side plates and the bottom plate (Figure A below) ; and a second housing (paragraph 47; figure 2: cap plate 1) , comprising a body (Figure A below) , two opposite first extending plates and two opposite second extending plates, the two first extending plates and the two second extending plates being arranged on a peripheral edge of the body (paragraphs 47-48; figures 2 & 4; Figure A below: main portion 11 includes a first exterior surface 111 and a second exterior surface 112) ; the second housing covering the opening of the first housing (figures 1-2) , the two first extending plates and the two second extending plates extending into the accommodating space in a direction near towards the bottom plate (paragraph 49; figures 2 & 6: the main portion 11 of the cap plate 1 is inserted into an opening of the case 2) , the two first extending plates corresponding to and being fixedly connected with the two first side plates, and the two second extending plates respectively corresponding to and being fixedly connected with the two second side plates so as to seal the accommodating space of the first housing (paragraph 49; Figure A below: the main portion 11 of the cap plate 1 is fixed to an inner wall 21 of the case 2) ; and an avoiding region located on one of the two second side plates, the avoiding region extending in a direction from one end of the second side plate far away from the bottom plate to the bottom plate, the direction being a first direction (Figure A below) , a width dimension of the second extending plate corresponding to the second side plate provided with the avoiding region in the first direction being smaller than or about equal to a width dimension of the avoiding region in the first direction (Figure A below) , and a width of the two first extending plates in the first direction being about equal to or greater than a width of the second extending plate corresponding to the second side plate provided with the avoiding region in the first direction (Figure A below) Figure A: Annotated Zhang Figure 2 With regard to claim 2 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitation of claim 2: a width dimension of the first extending plate in the first direction is about the same as a width dimension of the first side plate in the first direction (Figure A above. Note that “about the same” is vague and is open to broad interpretation.) With regard to claim 3 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitation of claim 3: a length dimension of at least a part of the first extending plate in a second direction is smaller than a length dimension of the first side plate in the second direction The main portion 11 of the cap plate 1 is inserted into an opening of the case 2 (paragraph 49; figures 2 & 6). The main portion 11 must be smaller in order to insert into the opening of the case 2. With regard to claim 4 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitation of claim 4: a dimension of the second extending plates in the first direction is about equal to or greater than about 0.5 mm The main portion 11 [claimed extending plates ] includes a first exterior surface 111 and a second exterior surface 112 (paragraphs 47-48; figures 2 & 4). The first exterior surfaces 111 and the second exterior surfaces 112 are welded to the case 2 [claimed first housing ] by laser welding (paragraph 70). Welding height is 0.5 mm to 10 mm (paragraphs 70). The first exterior surfaces 111 and the second exterior surfaces 112 are at least as large as the weld, and thus at least 0.5 mm to 10 mm. With regard to claim 9 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitation of claim 9: the first extending plates and the second extending plates are both about perpendicularly connected with the body (paragraph 54; figures 9-10: “the two first exterior surfaces 111 are perpendicular to a transverse direction X, and the two second exterior surfaces 112 are perpendicular to a longitudinal direction Y”) With regard to claim 14 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitations of claim 14: the first extending plates and the second extending plates are both fixedly connected with the side plates through laser welding (paragraph 51; Figure A above) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. The claims are in bold font , the prior art is in parentheses. Claims 5, 15-16, & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190237712A1 (Zhang) in view of US20150243938A1 (Kim) , together “modified Zhang”. With regard to claim 5 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Zhang, however, fails to teach the following limitation of claim 5, which is taught by Kim: the second extending plate corresponding to the second side plate provided with no avoiding region is abutted against the bottom plate Kim is directed to improved sealing between a can and a cap (paragraph 1). Kim’s cap 200 includes a downward side wall 220 which abuts against an upward side wall 120 of the can 100 ( paragraph 47; figure 5 ). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Zhang’s second exterior surface 112, without the avoiding region, to abut against the bottom plate as taught by Kim, for improved sealing between case and cap. With regard to claim 15 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Zhang teaches the following limitation of claim 15: a peripheral side of the second housing is located in the first housing (figures 1-2) Zhang fails to teach the following limitations of claim 15, which are taught by Kim: the second housing is embedded in the first housing, and does not extend out of the first housing (figures 3 & 5) Kim is directed to improved sealing between a can and a cap (paragraph 1). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Zhang’s cap plate 1 to be embedded in the case 2, and not extend out of the case, as taught by Kim for improved sealing. With regard to claim 16 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Claim 16 states: A battery, comprising a cell and a battery housing according to claim 1, the cell being accommodated in the accommodating space. Zhang refers to a battery (abstract), but fails to explicitly teach putting the cell or electrode assembly in the case 2. The cell / electrode assembly is an essential part of a battery. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to put a cell / electrode assembly in Zhang’s case in order to make the battery functional. Kim provides added guidance. Kim teaches putting an electrode assembly 300 (i.e. cell) in a can 100, then sealing the can 100 with a cap 200 (paragraph 47; figure 5). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to add an electrode assembly to Zhang’s case in order to make a functional battery. With regard to claim 18 , Zhang teaches the following limitations (amended according to Examiner’s interpretation): the battery housing comprises: a first housing (paragraph 49; figure 2: case 2) , comprising a bottom plate, two opposite first side plates and two opposite second side plates, the two first side plates being respectively connected with the two second side plates, and an accommodating space with an opening being defined by the two first side plates, the two second side plates and the bottom plate (Figure A below) ; and a second housing (paragraph 47; figure 2: cap plate 1) , comprising a body (Figure A below) , two opposite first extending plates and two opposite second extending plates, the two first extending plates and the two second extending plates being arranged on a peripheral edge of the body (paragraphs 47-48; figures 2 & 4; Figure A below: main portion 11 includes a first exterior surface 111 and a second exterior surface 112) ; the second housing covering the opening of the first housing (figures 1-2) , the two first extending plates and the two second extending plates extending into the accommodating space in a direction near towards the bottom plate (paragraph 49; figures 2 & 6: the main portion 11 of the cap plate 1 is inserted into an opening of the case 2) , the two first extending plates corresponding to and being fixedly connected with the two first side plates, and the two second extending plates respectively corresponding to and being fixedly connected with the two second side plates so as to seal the accommodating space of the first housing (paragraph 49; Figure A below: the main portion 11 of the cap plate 1 is fixed to an inner wall 21 of the case 2) ; and an avoiding region located on one of the two second side plates, the avoiding region extending in a direction from one end of the second side plate far away from the bottom plate to the bottom plate, the direction being a first direction (Figure A below) , a width dimension of the second extending plate corresponding to the second side plate provided with the avoiding region in the first direction being smaller than or about equal to a width dimension of the avoiding region in the first direction (Figure A below) , and a width of the two first extending plates in the first direction being about equal to or greater than a width of the second extending plate corresponding to the second side plate provided with the avoiding region in the first direction (Figure A below) Figure A: Annotated Zhang Figure 2 Claim 18 also states: An electronic device, comprising : a device body and a battery, the battery comprising a cell and a battery housing for accommodating the cell Zhang fails to teach the electronic device , which is taught by Kim (paragraphs 2 & 4). Zhang refers to a battery (abstract), but fails to explicitly teach putting the cell or electrode assembly in the case 2. The cell / electrode assembly is an essential part of a battery. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to put a cell / electrode assembly in Zhang’s case in order to make the battery functional. Kim provides added guidance. Kim teaches putting an electrode assembly 300 (i.e. cell) in a can 100, then sealing the can 100 with a cap 200 (paragraph 47; figure 5). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to add an electrode assembly to Zhang’s case in order to make a functional battery. It also would have been obvious, to use Zhang’s housing and Kim’s electrode assembly with an electronic device, as taught by Kim, in order to provide a use for the battery. With regard to claim 19 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitation of claim 19: a width dimension of the first extending plate in the first direction is about the same as a width dimension of the first side plate in the first direction (Figure A above. Note that “about the same” is vague and is open to broad interpretation.) With regard to claim 20 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitation of claim 20: a length dimension of at least a part of the first extending plate in a second direction is smaller than a length direction of the first side plate in the second direction The main portion 11 of the cap plate 1 is inserted into an opening of the case 2 (paragraph 49; figures 2 & 6). The main portion 11 must be smaller in order to insert into the opening of the case 2. Claims 6-8, 12-13, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190237712A1 (Zhang). With regard to claim 6 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 6 states: a surface of the body comprises two opposite first edges and two opposite second edges connected with the two first edges, the two first extending plates are located in positions of the two first edges and are connected with the body, the two second extending plates are located in positions of the two second edges and are connected with the body (Figure B below) Figure B: Annotated Zhang Figure 2 Claim 6 also states: the two second extending plates have the same width dimensions in the first direction As illustrated in figure 3, it looks like Zhang’s second extending plates have the same width; however, Zhang fails to explicitly teach this same width. For manufacturing convenience, it would be easier for Zhang’s second extending plates have the same width. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Zhang’s second extending plates to have the same width based on Zhang figure 3 and for convenience of manufacturing. With regard to claim 7 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 6 as discussed above. Zhang also teaches the following limitation of claim 7: a width dimension of the first extending plates in the first direction is greater than the width dimension of the second extending plates in the first direction (Figure C below) Figure C: Annotated Zhang Figure 2 With regard to claim 8 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 6-7 as discussed above. Claim 8 states: the width dimension of the second extending plates in the first direction is about 1/5 to 1/4 of the width dimension of the first extending plates in the first direction Zhang fails to explicitly teach this ratio. One of ordinary skill in the art would choose these dimensions are based on – accommodating the battery within the housing (smaller width = more space for battery), security of connection of cap and case (longer width = increased security), ease of manufacturing (this ratio affects ease of insertion), and cost (longer width = increased cost). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to achieve the claimed ratio to balance the above four desirable features of battery housing. With regard to claims 12-13 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Claims 12-13 state: Claim 12 a thickness of the first extending plates is smaller than or about equal to a thickness of the body Claim 13 a thickness of the second extending plates is about equal to or smaller than the thickness of the body Zhang fails to explicitly teach these relative thicknesses. It would have been obvious, however, to one of ordinary skill in the art, to make the body thicker because this is the exterior and is handled and is exposed to corrosive chemicals. In contrast, the extending plates insert into an opening of the case. Thus, the extending plates lack the need to be thicker for handling and resistance to chemicals etching through. Furthermore, it is beneficial for the extending plates to be thinner in case they need to bend during insertion. With regard to claim 17 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 16 as discussed above. Claim 17 states: a terminal is arranged on the second side plate provided with the avoiding region, and the terminal is arranged in a region except for the avoiding region on the second side plate provided with the avoiding region Zhang fails to teach this terminal location. One of ordinary skill in the art would select a terminal location based on spacing within the housing and the needed terminal location for the specific application. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to locate the terminal as claimed based on the reasons above. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190237712A1 (Zhang) in view of US20220336935A1 (Takahashi). With regard to claim 10 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Zhang, however, fails to teach the following limitations of claim 10, which are taught by Takahashi: materials of the first housing and the second housing are both stainless steel (paragraph 40: battery cell case is case body & case lid; paragraph 42: case can be stainless steel) Takahashi teaches use of stainless steel as battery case material due to its corrosion resistance and low cost (paragraph 42). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Zhang’s cap plate 1 and case 2 to be stainless steel, as taught by Takahashi, for corrosion resistance and low cost. With regard to claim 11 , Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Zhang, however, fails to teach the following limitations of claim 11, which are taught by Takahashi: a thickness of each of the first housing and the second housing is about 0.03 mm to about 0.1 mm (paragraph 42: thickness is 0.05 mm to 1.0 mm) Takahashi states that if the steel thickness is too thin, then its strength will be insufficient, and if the steel thickness is too thick, then its workability is low and cost increases (paragraph 42). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Zhang’s cap plate 1 and case 2 to be 0.05 mm to 1.0 mm, as taught by Takahashi, for optimizing strength, workability, and cost. Takahashi’s 0.05 mm to 1.0 mm range overlaps the claimed 0.03 mm to 0.1 mm range. MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A) provides the law for this issue: “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim , 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)” Given that Takahashi’s range is similar to and overlaps the claimed range, and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed for the claimed range, the range in claim 11 is an obvious variant of Takahashi’s range. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ROBERT WEST whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT 703-756-1363 and email address is Robert.West@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 10 am - 7 pm ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allison Bourke can be reached at 303-297-4684. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /R.G.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1721 /DUSTIN Q DAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721