Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/22/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 09/22/2023 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. US 2022/0320064 (Hereinafter Takahashi) in view of Yan et al. US 2008/0174771 (Hereinafter Yan).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a system (Figs. 2-9; display device) comprising:
a glass panel (Figs. 2-9; [0022 0109-0112, 0234; glass substrate), comprising a conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer), wherein the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer) is disposed on top of an LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED);
a radio frequency generator (Figs. 2-9; [0355]; power supply that applies RF) configured to apply a radio frequency signal (Figs. 2-9; [0355]; power supply that applies RF) to the glass panel (Figs. 2-9; [0022 0109-0112, 0234; glass substrate), wherein the radio frequency signal illuminates the LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED) by induction through the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer);
a camera (Figs. 20-22; [0014, 0130-0132; 0477, 0481]; camera, image sensor: From [0481]: “The electronic device 6500 includes a housing 6501, a display portion 6502, a power button 6503, buttons 6504, a speaker 6505, a microphone 6506, a camera 6507, a light source 6508, and the like.”) configured to capture an image of the LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED) illuminated by the radio frequency signal (Figs. 20-22; [0130-0132]; image sensor; capturing an image); and
a processor (Figs. 2-9; [0088-0095]; processing circuit) in electronic communication with the camera (Figs. 20-22; [0014, 0130-0132; 0477, 0481]; camera, image sensor) that is configured to:
receive the image from the camera (Figs. 2-9; [0125, 0130]; light-receiving element; From [0125]: “That is, by sensing light with the light-receiving portion, image data, i.e., imaging, can be obtained and the approach or contact of an object (e.g., a finger or a stylus) can be detected”).
Takahashi does not specifically teach a processor configured to: determine whether the LED is a defective LED or a functioning LED based on the image of the LED.
However, Yan does teach a processor (Figs. 1, 2; [0090-0093]; claim 2; controller) configured to: determine whether the LED (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; LED) is a defective LED or a functioning LED based on the image of the LED (Figs. 1, 2; [0002, 0025-0027]; claims 42, 44; defect detection).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Takahashi by implementing the teachings of Yan regarding a processor configured to: determine whether the LED is a defective LED or a functioning LED based on the image of the LED; for the purpose of “inspecting and detecting defects in printed patterns on flat substrates” (See Yan; [0002]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein the radio frequency signal has a frequency of 5 to 10 MHz (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF; “he frequency can be higher than or equal to 1 kHz and lower than or equal to 100 MHz, for example.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Yan further teaches wherein the LED comprises an array of LEDs disposed on a substrate (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; claim 1; lens array, LED), and the glass panel is disposed on top of the array of LEDs (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; claim 1; lens array, LED).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the system of claim 3, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein the radio frequency signal applied to the glass panel simultaneously illuminates each LED of the array of LEDs by induction through the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Yan further teaches wherein the LED has a lateral chip structure (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; LED).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer) is disposed on a bottom surface of the glass panel (Figs. 2-9; [0022 0109-0112, 0234; glass substrate), and the LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED) contacts the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein the conductive layer comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) ([0245]; indium tin oxide).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi teaches a method (Figs. 2-9; display device) comprising:
generating a radio frequency signal (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF) using a radio frequency generator (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF);
applying the radio frequency signal (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF) to a glass panel (Figs. 2-9; [0022 0109-0112, 0234; glass substrate), wherein the glass panel comprises a conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer), and the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer) is disposed on top of an LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED);
emitting light from the LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED) based on induction between the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer) and the LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED) caused by the radio frequency signal (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF);
capturing an image (Figs. 20-22; [0130-0132]; image sensor; capturing an image) using a camera (Figs. 20-22; [0014, 0130-0132; 0477, 0481]; camera, image sensor: From [0481]: “The electronic device 6500 includes a housing 6501, a display portion 6502, a power button 6503, buttons 6504, a speaker 6505, a microphone 6506, a camera 6507, a light source 6508, and the like.”) based on the light emitted from the LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED).
Takahashi does not specifically teach determining, using a processor, whether the LED is a defective LED or a functioning LED based on the image of the LED.
However, Yan does teach determining, using a processor (Figs. 1, 2; [0090-0093]; claim 2; controller), whether the LED (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; LED) is a defective LED or a functioning LED based on the image of the LED (Figs. 1, 2; [0002, 0025-0027]; claims 42, 44; defect detection).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Takahashi by implementing the teachings of Yan regarding determining, using a processor, whether the LED is a defective LED or a functioning LED based on the image of the LED; for the purpose of “inspecting and detecting defects in printed patterns on flat substrates” (See Yan; [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein the radio frequency signal has a frequency of 5 to 10 MHz (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF; “he frequency can be higher than or equal to 1 kHz and lower than or equal to 100 MHz, for example.”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein Yan further teaches wherein the LED comprises an array of LEDs disposed on a substrate (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; claim 1; lens array, LED), and the glass panel is disposed on top of the array of LEDs (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; claim 1; lens array, LED).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 12, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein applying the radio frequency signal (Figs. 2-9; [0283, 0355]; power supply that applies RF) to the glass panel simultaneously illuminates the array of LEDs by induction through the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 12, wherein, wherein Yan further teaches before applying the radio frequency signal to the glass panel, the method further comprises: dicing the substrate to electrically separate each LED of the array of LEDs (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; claim 1; lens array, LED).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 12, wherein Yan further teaches further comprising: singulating the substrate to physically separate each LED of the array of LEDs (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; claim 1; lens array, LED); and transferring each functioning LED of the array of LEDs (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; claim 1; lens array, LED) to a display assembly (Fig. 10; image computer).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein Yan further teaches wherein the LED has a lateral chip structure (Figs. 1, 2; Abstract; [0025-0032]; LED).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer) is disposed on a bottom surface of the glass panel (Figs. 2-9; [0022 0109-0112, 0234; glass substrate), and the LED (Figs. 2-9; [0077, 0125-0128, 0136-0163]; light-emitting element, LED) contacts the conductive layer (Figs. 2-9; [0209, 0210, 0221, 0245]; conductive layer).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Takahashi and Yan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein Takahashi further teaches wherein the conductive layer comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) ([0245]; indium tin oxide).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 1 and 3,
“…a stage configured to move in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the camera, wherein the substrate is disposed on the stage; wherein the camera is configured to capture an image of at first LED set of the array of LEDs within a field of view of the camera, and by moving the stage relative to the camera, the camera is further configured to capture an image of a second LED set of the array of LEDs within the field of view of the camera, the second LED set containing at least some LEDs not present in the first LED set or a subset of the first LED set.”
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1,
“…wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the LED is a defective LED or a functioning LED by: determining an illumination intensity of the LED based on the image; and comparing the illumination intensity of the LED to a preset threshold; wherein the LED is a defective LED if the illumination intensity is less than the preset threshold, and the LED is a functioning LED if the illumination intensity is greater than or equal to the preset threshold.”
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 10 and 12,
“…wherein the substrate is disposed on a stage that is configured to move in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the camera, and capturing the image using the camera based on the light emitted from the LED comprises: capturing a first image of a first LED set of the array of LEDs within a field of view of the camera; moving the stage relative to the camera to place a second LED set of the array of the LEDs within the field of view of the camera, wherein the second LED set contains at least some LEDs not present in the first LED set or a subset of the first LED set; and capturing a second image of the second LED set.”
Regarding claim 20, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 10,
“…wherein determining, using the processor, whether the LED is a defective LED or a functioning LED comprises: determining an illumination intensity of the LED based on the image; and comparing the illumination intensity of the LED to a preset threshold; wherein the LED is a defective LED if the illumination intensity is less than the preset threshold, and the LED is a functioning LED if the illumination intensity is greater than or equal to the preset threshold.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Horn US 2015/0276616 - Field curvature of an optical system is modified based on topography of the surface of a wafer such that an image of each of the segments of the surface is in focus across the segment.
Nesbitt et al. US 2017/0061597 - Inspection systems and methods for adjusting/optimizing imaging performances of the inspection systems are disclosed.
Wen et al. US 2018/0276811 - An automatic optical inspection system includes a first AOI machine and a second AOI machine, and the second AOI machine is electrically connected to the first AOI machine.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858