DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102561703 A (hereinafter “Xie”) in view of US 2015/0008702 A1 (hereinafter “Wu”), and in further view of US 2019/0112172 A1 (hereinafter “Wabnegger”).
Regarding claim 1 Xie teaches an engineering machinery, comprising:
a cab (paragraph 18);
a vehicle body (abstract) located behind the cab;
a rotating platform (“turntable,” e.g. see abstract) provided on the vehicle body (Abstract); and
multiple-sectional booms (see figs. 3-7) articulated in sequence;
wherein a centerline of gyration of the rotating platform (“turntable,” e.g. see abstract) is located in a middle of the vehicle body (see abstract), a first sectional boom (111/112) is articulated with the rotating platform (“turntable”), and the first sectional boom (111/112) extends from the rotating platform (“turntable”) toward a rear end of the vehicle body (see paragraph 52), a second sectional boom (121/122) is articulated with the first sectional boom (111/112) and folded above (fig. 4) the first sectional boom (111/112), the first sectional boom (111/112) to a fourth sectional boom (141/142) are folded into an R shape (see figs. 4-7). Xie fails to teach the third sectional boom overlapping the cab in the way recited in claim 1.
Wu teaches a similar truck-mounted boom system with multiple sectional booms. Wu further teaches that those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention were knowledgeable in making multi-sectional boom arms with a variety of configurations (e.g. see figs. 1b, 2b, and 3-10). These various configurations show a projection of a third sectional boom (3) at least partially overlaps a projection of a cab on a vertical projection plane perpendicular to a length direction of a vehicle body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the third sectional boom of Xie lower, as shown by Wu, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to utilize the empty space behind the turntable of Xie.
Xie fails to teach the cab is located between two ends of the fourth section. Wabnegger teaches a mobile machinery with a cab and multiple sectional booms articulated in sequence, some of the sectional booms behind the cab and some above the cab. Wabnegger further teaches the cab is located between two ends of a fourth sectional boom (see figures 2 and 4). In light of the teachings of Wu and Wabnegger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the cab in between the ends of one or more of the sectional booms with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to shorten the overall length of the vehicle without lessening the extent of the boom.
Regarding claim 2 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches wherein one end (142) of the fourth sectional boom (141/142) extends to above the cab (i.e. is higher in elevation than the cab).
Regarding claim 3 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches wherein the multiple-sectional booms (see figs. 3-7) comprise at least five-sectional booms, a fifth sectional boom (151/152) is articulated with the fourth sectional boom (141/142) and is located above or below the fourth sectional boom (141/142), a hinge point of the fifth sectional boom (151/152) and the fourth sectional boom (141/142) is located above the cab (i.e. at a higher elevation than the cab).
Regarding claim 4 modified Xie teaches the above machinery, and further teaches wherein a height of projection overlap between the third sectional boom (Xie 131/132) and the cab (Xie paragraph 18) on a vertical projection plane is greater than 1/2 of a height of the third sectional boom (Xie 131/132) (i.e. as per Wu).
Regarding claim 5 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches wherein the first sectional boom (111/112) is inverted (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches wherein the third sectional boom (131/132) is [two segment] boom comprising a first straight arm section (131) and a second straight arm section (132), the [sections avoid] the rotating platform (“turntable”); the first straight arm section (131) is articulated with the second sectional boom (121/122) and folded below (fig. 5) the second sectional boom (121/122); the fourth sectional boom (141/142) is articulated with the second straight arm section (132) and folded above (fig. 6) the second straight arm section (132).
Xie (embodiment relied upon above) fails to teach the bending section as set forth in claim 6. This is considered well within the skill of an ordinary craftsperson because both the Xie and Wu references teach bending sectional booms (e.g. Xie has another embodiment where the third sectional boom is a bending sectional boom; see paragraph 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the third sectional boom of Xie with a bending portion with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to give more flexibility to the system.
Regarding claim 7 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches wherein a hinge point of the second sectional boom (121/122) and the third sectional boom (131/132) is located between the cab (paragraph 18) and the rotating platform (“turntable,” e.g. see abstract), or a hinge point of the second sectional boom (121/122) and the third sectional boom (131/132) is located above (higher in elevation than) a rear of the cab (paragraph 18).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 11 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches a fifth sectional boom (151/152 but fails to teach the particulars of claims 8-9 and 11. Wu shows that six-sectional booms, articulated segments, R and Z shaped folded portions, and having different sectional booms above or below another were all well known to the ordinary craftsperson (see Wu figs. 3-10; and paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sectional booms of Xie of any convenient configuration, as shown by Wu to be known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to configure the machinery for a particular purpose.
Regarding claim 10 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches wherein the multiple-sectional booms (see figs. 3-7) comprise at least five-sectional booms, when the multiple-sectional booms (see figs. 3-7) are in a folded state, at least one of the fourth sectional boom (141/142) to a last sectional boom (151/152) comprises multiple arm sections, the multiple arm sections belonging to a same sectional boom are located on a same straight line and adjacent arm sections are articulated with each other, and a fifth sectional boom (151/152) is folded above or below the fourth sectional boom (141/142).
Regarding claim 12 modified Xie teaches the above machinery. Xie further teaches wherein the multiple-sectional booms (see figs. 3-7) comprise at least four-sectional booms. Xie (embodiment relied upon above) fails to teach the bending section as set forth in claim 6, or the exact row configuration set forth in claim 12. This is considered well within the skill of an ordinary craftsperson because Xie teaches a third bending sectional boom in another embodiment; see paragraph 46; and further discusses the knowledge of those of ordinary skill in the art as comprehending spacing components in rows; see also paragraph 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the third sectional boom of Xie with a bending portion, and to configure the sectional booms in rows, as per claim 12, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to give more flexibility to the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654