Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/26/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (assumed to be Species A) in the reply filed on 1/26/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that since the independent claim is generic the search for one species would necessarily encompass the search for the other. This is not found persuasive because the physical differences between the species would require different text searches to specially find the electrode arrangements claimed. This is further evidenced by the actual search conducted by the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakaiso et al. (US PGPub 2017/0345577).
Claim 1: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 2-4A, 10A) a capacitor of a semiconductor device comprising: a lower electrode layer (40); a plurality of upper electrode layers (41,42) disposed over the lower electrode layer in a third direction; a plurality of dielectric layers (21,22) disposed between the lower electrode layer and each of the plurality of upper electrode layers, each dielectric layer configured to include a plurality of storage nodes [0021-0023]; a plurality of line layers (51,52) disposed over at least one of the plurality of upper electrode layers, and configured to receive a voltage for measuring an equivalent series resistance (ESR); and a plurality of contacts (81,82) that electrically couple the plurality of line layers to the at least one of the plurality of upper electrode layers, wherein a resistance resulting from position information of the plurality of line layers and the plurality of contacts in a routing pattern corresponds to the equivalent series resistance (ESR) [0140-0143]. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case the capacitor in Nakaiso reads on the physical claim limitations presented in the current claim and therefore would be able to function as claimed.
Claim 2: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 12A-B), wherein each of the plurality of upper electrode layers (51-54) further includes: an extension region that extends from an edge region in a second direction, wherein the extension region does not overlap with the lower electrode layer (91) in the third direction. In this case the line layers are (TI2) and contacts are (EE).
Claim 3: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 12A-B), wherein: the plurality of line layers are disposed over, in the third direction, the extension region of the at least one of the plurality of upper electrode layers.
Claim 5: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 2-4A) the plurality of line layers (51,52) are disposed to traverse the plurality of upper electrode layers (41, 42) in a first direction.
Claim 6: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 2-4A, 10A) the plurality of line layers configured to receive a voltage for measuring ESR are disposed, over the plurality of upper electrode layers, in parallel to each other while extending in a first direction, and each of the plurality of line layers has a line shapes.
Claim 7: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 2-4A, 10A) the plurality of line layers are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance in a second direction.
Claim 8: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 2-4A, 10A) the plurality of upper electrode layers include: a first upper electrode layer disposed over the lower electrode layer in the third direction; and a second upper electrode layer disposed over the lower electrode layer in the third direction, and spaced apart from the first upper electrode layer by a predetermined distance in a first direction.
Claim 9: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 2-4A, 10A) a first line layer is configured to receive a first voltage as an input and is electrically coupled to the first upper electrode layer through a first contact; and a second line layer is configured to receive a second voltage as an input and is electrically coupled to the second upper electrode layer through a second contact. [0140-0143]. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case the capacitor in Nakaiso reads on the physical claim limitations presented in the current claim and therefore would be able to function as claimed.
Claim 10: Nakaiso teaches (Fig. 2-4A, 10A) the first voltage and the second voltage have different voltage levels [0021-0023, 0140-0143]. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case the capacitor in Nakaiso reads on the physical claim limitations presented in the current claim and therefore would be able to function as claimed.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814