DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 1-3, 6, 9 and 11-13 are currently amended; and claims 4-5, 7-8, 10 and 14-20 are original. The amendment dated February 17, 2026 has been entered into the record.
Claim 6 was previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The rejection is now withdrawn as the applicant has amended the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to at least claim 1 have been fully considered, but are moot in light of the new ground of rejection set forth below. The new ground of rejection cite Lim (US 20190235822).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20190235822 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses an electromagnetic communication system (Figs. 1 and 13-19; see Paras. [0018] and [0030]-[0036] identifying the embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 13-19) comprising:
an electromagnetic source (22 in Fig. 13) existing in a first environment of matter occupiable free space (see “Environment A” denoted by the examiner in Fig. 13 below);
a first polarized medium (First Polarizer and/or Second Polarizer and Liquid Crystals in 220 in Fig. 19) having a first polarization direction (a polarization direction of Liquid Crystals in 220) separating the first environment from a second environment of matter occupiable free space (“Environment B” in Fig. 13 below); and
a second polarized medium (First Polarizer and/or Second Polarizer and Liquid Crystals in 222 in Fig. 19) having a second polarization direction (a polarization direction of and Liquid Crystals in 222) separating the second environment from a third environment of matter occupiable free space (“Environment C”), wherein electromagnetic waves originating from the first environment are substantially blocked from passing directly through the second environment to the third environment due to a polarization-dependent interaction with the first and the second polarized media (see Figs. 1 and 10 wherein the exterior environment 18 is blocked by 66, and wherein 220 and 222 include polarizers and liquid crystals to control the transparency; Paras. [0046]-[0050], [0072]).
Lim does not explicitly disclose the first polarization direction differing from the second polarization direction.
However, Lim teaches the first polarized medium and the second polarized medium, which are capable of changing their polarization directions (see Figs. 8-11 and Paras. [0072], [0079]-[0080] and [0091] teaching 210 is operable in the blocking mode, see-through mode, background mode, and dual see-through and display mode, thereby teaching different polarization directions for 220 and 222, and the controller 64 causes the LCD to orient its pixels to control the transparency) (see also Paras. [0046]-[0050] describing the structure of LCDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim, wherein the first polarization direction differing from the second polarization direction, for the purpose of realizing an image generation feature based on the needs of viewers (Lim: Para. [0080]).
<Figure 13 of Lim, annotated by the examiner>
(Regarding the newly added term “an environment of matter occupiable free space”, the examiner considers the applicant’s acknowledgement in Remark, Page 7, where the applicant states “the environment” can contain matter occupiable free space (e.g., light source 506, target 516, user's eye 514 of FIG. 5 and users 614, 616, 608 of FIG. 6). In this case, each “environment” denoted by the examiner in Fig. 13 below, is capable of containing matter, i.e., the light sources 22, 226 and 24).
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses a method for communicating information through at least two polarized media (Figs. 1 and 13-19; see Paras. [0018] and [0030]-[0036] identifying the embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 13-19; see also First Polarizer and/or Second Polarizer and Liquid Crystals in 220 and 222 in Fig. 19) comprising:
generating electromagnetic waves (22 in Fig. 13) for transmission of information from a first environment of matter occupiable free space (see “Environment A” denoted by the examiner in Fig. 13 above);
changing the electromagnetic waves as they pass through two polarized media (see First Polarizer and/or Second Polarizer and Liquid Crystals in 220 and 222 in Fig. 19), a second environment of matter occupiable free space existing (see “Environment B” in Fig. 13 above) between the two polarized media;
receiving the electromagnetic waves at a recipient in a third environment of matter occupiable free space (“Environment C”), wherein the electromagnetic waves originating from the first environment are substantially blocked from passing directly through the second environment to the third environment due to a polarization-dependent interaction with the first and the second polarized media (see Figs. 1 and 10 wherein the exterior environment 18 is blocked by 66, and wherein 220 and 222 include polarizers to control the transparency; Paras. [0046]-[0050], [0072]).
Lim does not explicitly disclose each having a different polarization direction.
However, Lim teaches the first polarized medium and the second polarized medium, which are capable of having different polarization directions (see Figs. 8-11 and Paras. [0072], [0079]-[0080] and [0091] teaching 210 is operable in the blocking mode, see-through mode, background mode, and dual see-through and display mode, and the controller 64 causes the LCD to orient its pixels to control the transparency) (see also Paras. [0046]-[0050] describing the structure of LCDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim, to have each having a different polarization direction, for the purpose of realizing an image generation feature based on the needs of viewers (Lim: Para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 10, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 9 above.
Lim does not explicitly disclose rotating one of the polarized media with reference to the other of the polarized media, wherein the rotation affects the information passed from the first environment to the third environment.
However, Lim teaches the first polarized medium and the second polarized medium include liquid crystals (Fig. 13) wherein the LCD alters its transparency by rotation of liquid crystals (see Paras. [0046]-[0050] describing the structure of LCDs) such that wherein the rotation affects the information passed between different environments (see Figs. 8-11 and Paras. [0072], [0079]-[0080] and [0091] teaching 210 is operable in the blocking mode, see-through mode, background mode, and dual see-through and display mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim, wherein rotating one of the polarized media with reference to the other of the polarized media, wherein the rotation affects the information passed from the first environment to the third environment, for the purpose of realizing an image generation feature based on the needs of viewers (Lim: Para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 11, Lim discloses a light communication system (Figs. 1 and 13-19; see Paras. [0018] and [0030]-[0036] identifying the embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 13-19) comprising:
a light source (22 in Fig. 13) existing in a first environment of matter occupiable free space (see “Environment A” denoted by the examiner in Fig. 13 above);
a first polarized filter (see First Polarizer and/or Second Polarizer and Liquid Crystals in 220 in Fig. 19) having a first polarization direction (a polarization direction of the filter in 220) separating the first environment from a second environment of matter occupiable free space (see “Environment B” denoted by the examiner in Fig. 13 above); and
a second polarized filter (see First Polarizer and/or Second Polarizer and Liquid Crystals in 222 in Fig. 19) having a second polarization direction (a polarization direction of the filter in 222) separating the second environment from a third environment of matter occupiable free space (“Environment C”), wherein light originating from the first environment is substantially blocked from passing directly through the second environment to the third environment due to a polarization-dependent interaction with the first and the second polarized media (see Figs. 1 and 10 wherein the exterior environment 18 is blocked by 66, and wherein 220 and 222 include polarizers to control the transparency; Paras. [0046]-[0050], [0072]).
Lim does not explicitly disclose the first polarization direction differing from the second polarization direction.
However, Lim teaches the first polarized medium and the second polarized medium, which are capable of having different polarization directions (see Figs. 8-11 and Paras. [0072], [0079]-[0080] and [0091] teaching 210 is operable in the blocking mode, see-through mode, background mode, and dual see-through and display mode, and the controller 64 causes the LCD to orient its pixels to control the transparency) (see also Paras. [0046]-[0050] describing the structure of LCDs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim, to have the first polarization direction differing from the second polarization direction, for the purpose of realizing an image generation feature based on the needs of viewers (Lim: Para. [0080]).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Kwon et al. (US 20170205636, hereinafter “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lim does not explicitly disclose one of the first and the second polarized media is a layer of material rotatable with reference to the other of the first and the second polarized media, wherein the rotation affects information passed from the first environment to the third environment.
However, Kwon teaches one of the first and the second polarized media is a layer of material rotatable with reference to the other of the first and the second polarized media, wherein the rotation affects information passing between different environments (Fig. 3 and Paras. [0042]-[0043] teaching rotating a first polarized media, i.e., a layer of material, to adjust the information passing between polarized media).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Kwon, wherein one of the first and the second polarized media is a layer of material rotatable with reference to the other of the first and the second polarized media, wherein the rotation affects information passed from the first environment to the third environment, for the purpose of controlling the image via polarizers (Kwon: Paras. [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 12, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Lim does not explicitly disclose one of the first and the second polarized filters is a layer of material rotatable with reference to the other of the first and the second polarized filters, wherein the rotation affects information passed from the first environment to the third environment.
However, Kwon teaches one of the first and the second polarized media is a layer of material rotatable with reference to the other of the first and the second polarized media, wherein the rotation affects information passing between different environments (Fig. 3 and Paras. [0042]-[0043] teaching rotating a first polarized media, i.e., a layer of material, to adjust the information passing between polarized media).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Kwon, wherein one of the first and the second polarized filters is a layer of material rotatable with reference to the other of the first and the second polarized filters, wherein the rotation affects information passed from the first environment to the third environment, for the purpose of controlling the image via polarizers (Kwon: Paras. [0042]-[0043]).
Claims 4-6 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Nakai (US 20110261268), of record.
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lim does not necessarily disclose that the first and the second polarized media are each linear or circular polarizers.
However, Nakai teaches a known LCD device includes the first and the second polarized media comprising linear or circular polarizers (Para. [0202] teaching twisted nematic modes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Nakai, wherein the first and the second polarized media are each linear or circular polarizers, for the purpose of obtaining switching between different states using known methods (Nakai: Paras. [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 5, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lim does not necessarily disclose one or both of the first and the second polarized media include an area of non-polarization surrounded by another area of polarization.
However, Nakai teaches one or both of the first and the second polarized media include an area of non-polarization surrounded by another area of polarization (Fig. 3, the area wherein the BM is formed, which is also surrounded by another area of polarization; Para. [0233]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Nakai, wherein one or both of the first and the second polarized media include an area of non-polarization surrounded by another area of polarization, for the purpose of obtaining switching between different states using known methods (Nakai: Paras. [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lim does not necessarily disclose one or both of the first and the second polarized media include a non-uniform pattern of polarization.
However, Nakai teaches one or both of the first and the second polarized media include a non-uniform pattern of polarization (see Fig. 3 wherein BM is non-uniformly formed around the pixel region; the examiner considers liquid crystal molecules generally rotate by pixel electrodes 208) (regarding “a non-uniform pattern”, the examiner considers Para. [0065] of the Specification, stating “regions of specific changes as to block out … waves passing therethrough).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Nakai, wherein one or both of the first and the second polarized media include a non-uniform pattern of polarization, for the purpose of producing an image using known methods (Nakai: Paras. [0202], [0233]).
Regarding claim 15, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Lim does not necessarily disclose the first and the second polarized filters are each linear or circular polarizers.
However, Nakai teaches a known LCD device includes the first and the second polarized filters comprising linear or circular polarizers (Para. [0202] teaching twisted nematic modes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Nakai, wherein the first and the second polarized filters are each linear or circular polarizers, for the purpose of obtaining switching between different states using known methods (Nakai: Paras. [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 16, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Lim does not necessarily disclose one or both of the first and the second polarized filters include an area of non-polarization surrounded by another area of polarization.
However, Nakai teaches one or both of the first and the second polarized media include an area of non-polarization surrounded by another area of polarization (Fig. 3, the area wherein the BM is formed, which is also surrounded by another area of polarization; Para. [0233]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Nakai, wherein one or both of the first and the second polarized filters include an area of non-polarization surrounded by another area of polarization, for the purpose of obtaining switching between different states using known methods (Nakai: Paras. [0201]-[0202]).
Regarding claim 17, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Lim does not necessarily disclose one or both of the first and the second polarized filters include a non-uniform pattern of polarization.
However, Nakai teaches one or both of the first and the second polarized media include a non-uniform pattern of polarization (see Fig. 3 wherein BM is non-uniformly formed around the pixel region; the examiner considers liquid crystal molecules generally rotate by pixel electrodes 208) (regarding “a non-uniform pattern”, the examiner considers Para. [0065] of the Specification, stating “regions of specific changes as to block out … waves passing therethrough).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Nakai, wherein one or both of the first and the second polarized filters include a non-uniform pattern of polarization, for the purpose of producing an image using known methods (Nakai: Paras. [0202], [0233]).
Claims 7-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Ras (US 20200375466), of record.
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lim does not disclose multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources and corresponding polarized media, each set arranged in a radial pattern around an object of interest and focused on the object of interest.
However, Ras teaches further providing multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources (12, 16 in Figs. 1-4) and corresponding polarized media (Para. [0068] “a polariser or polarising filter can be provided for each light source(s)”), each set arranged in a radial pattern around an object of interest and focused on the object of interest (Fig. 4; Para. [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electromagnetic communication system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Ras, to have multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources and corresponding polarized media, each set arranged in a radial pattern around an object of interest and focused on the object of interest, for the purpose of providing additional electromagnetic sources for polarizers to obtain better images (Ras: Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Lim does not disclose multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources and corresponding polarized media, each set arranged in three-dimensions around an on object of interest and focused on the object of interest.
However, Ras teaches providing multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources (12, 16 in Figs. 1-4) and corresponding polarized media (Para. [0068]), each set arranged in three-dimensions around an on object of interest and focused on the object of interest (Fig. 4; Para. [0086]) (the examiner considers light sources are arranged in three-dimensions around an on object in this case, since they have the working distance D from the object and radially arranged; Para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electromagnetic communication system as disclosed by Nakai with the teachings of Ras, to have multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources and corresponding polarized media, each set arranged in three-dimensions around an on object of interest and focused on the object of interest, for the purpose of providing additional electromagnetic sources for polarizers to obtain better images (Ras: Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Lim does not disclose multiple sets of additional light sources and corresponding polarized filters, each set arranged in a radial pattern around an object of interest and focused on the object of interest.
However, Ras teaches further providing multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources (12, 16 in Figs. 1-4) and corresponding polarized media (Para. [0068] “a polariser or polarising filter can be provided for each light source(s)”), each set arranged in a radial pattern around an object of interest and focused on the object of interest (Fig. 4; Para. [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electromagnetic communication system as disclosed by Lim with the teachings of Ras, to have multiple sets of additional light sources and corresponding polarized filters, each set arranged in a radial pattern around an object of interest and focused on the object of interest, for the purpose of providing additional electromagnetic sources for polarizers to obtain better images (Ras: Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
Lim does not disclose multiple sets of additional light sources and corresponding polarized filters, each set arranged in three-dimensions around an on object of interest and focused on the object of interest.
However, Ras teaches providing multiple sets of additional electromagnetic sources (12, 16 in Figs. 1-4) and corresponding polarized media (Para. [0068]), each set arranged in three-dimensions around an on object of interest and focused on the object of interest (Fig. 4; Para. [0086]) (the examiner considers light sources are arranged in three-dimensions around an on object in this case, since they have the working distance D from the object and radially arranged; Para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electromagnetic communication system as disclosed by Nakai with the teachings of Ras, to have multiple sets of additional light sources and corresponding polarized filters, each set arranged in three-dimensions around an on object of interest and focused on the object of interest, for the purpose of providing additional electromagnetic sources for polarizers to obtain better images (Ras: Para. [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 13-14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
However, Lim does not explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, “a third polarized medium having a third polarization direction separating the second environment from a fourth environment of matter occupiable free space existing between the second and the third polarized media, wherein the electromagnetic waves originating from the first environment are substantially blocked from passing directly through the second and the fourth environments to the third environment”. The examiner further considered McNelley et al. (US 20210392290, hereinafter “McNelley”) and Xue (US 8102478). For example, McNelley teaches an electromagnetic communication system comprising polarizers and various environments (Figs. 24, 28, 78-79; Paras. [0247], [0289]-[0294]), but fails to disclose the arrangement of polarized filters and environments recited in claim 1. The prior art of Nakai, Ras, McNelley and Xue, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
However, Lim does not explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, “a third polarized filter having a third polarization direction separating the second environment from a fourth environment of matter occupiable free space existing between the second and the third polarized filters, wherein the light originating from the first environment is substantially blocked from passing directly through the second and the fourth environments to the third environment”.
The prior art of Nakai, Ras, McNelley and Xue, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 13.
Dependent claim 14 is allowable by virtue of their dependence on claim 13.
Regarding claim 18, Lim discloses the limitations of claim 11 above.
However, Lim does not explicitly disclose, in light of the specification, “the light source illuminates a target in the second environment, and the target is visible from the third environment, but light emitted from the light source is substantially blocked from the third environment”. The examiner further considered McNelley. For example, McNelley teaches an electromagnetic communication system comprising polarizers and various environments (Figs. 24, 28, 78-79; Paras. [0247], [0289]-[0294]), but fails to disclose the arrangement of polarized filters and environments recited in claims 11 and 18. Nakai, Ras, McNelley and Xue, applied alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the combination and arrangement of elements recited in Applicant's claim 18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871