DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salter et al. (US 2020/0130751).
Salter et al. discloses a vehicle (10) comprising a vehicle body (10) and a front storage module (26) module coupled to the front of the vehicle body (10), as shown in Figures 1-5. The front storage module (26) comprises a drawer (26) and a drawer actuator (42) configured to move the drawer (26) from a closed position, as shown in Figure 1, within a cavity (24) of the vehicle body to an open position, as shown in Figures 2-4, at least partially extended from the front of the vehicle. In reference to claim 2, the vehicle comprises at least one sensor (34) that provides input to a control unit (32), as shown in Figure 6 and disclosed in paragraph [0019]. The clause “configured to prevent the drawer from opening based on an input from the at least one sensor” is very broad and is given little patentable weight. All of the structure necessary to provide this function is disclosed and is capable of performing this function. In reference to claim 3, the sensor (34) senses an area surrounding the vehicle, as disclosed in paragraphs [0019] and [0025]. Ultrasonic sensors are commonly used to detect obstacles while parking. The clause “configured to prevent the drawer from opening based on a determination that the drawer would collide with an obstacle in the area surrounding the vehicle when opened” is very broad and is given little patentable weight. All of the structure necessary to provide this function is disclosed and is capable of performing this function. In reference to claim 8, the front storage module (26) comprises a light (52) that is actuated based on a position of the drawer (26), as shown in Figure 4 and disclosed in paragraph [0024]. In reference to claim 9, the drawer actuator (42) comprises a motor (50) and at least one of a spindle when a screw jack is used, as disclosed in paragraph [0020]. In reference to claim 10, the method is disclosed. The vehicle receives a signal to open the drawer from a key pad (28), motion activation, or a key fob/smart phone (56), as shown in Figure 4 and disclosed in paragraph [0016] and [0019]. In response to the signal, a drawer signal to the drawer actuator (42) instructing the drawer actuator (42) to move the drawer (26) from a closed position within a cavity (24), as shown in Figure 1, to an open position at least partially extended from the front of the vehicle body, as shown in Figures 2-4. In reference to claim 16, the front storage module (26) comprises a light (52) that is actuated based on a position of the drawer, as shown in Figure 4 and disclosed in paragraph [0024]. In reference to claim 17, the signal is received from a button or a motion sensor, as disclosed in paragraph [0016]. In reference to claim 18, the signal is received over a wireless link from a key fob or smart phone (56), as shown in Figure 4 and disclosed in paragraph [0019].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US 2020/0130751) in view of Salter et al. (US 2017/0044816).
Salter et al. does not disclose a sensor that prevents opening based on the vehicle movement.
Salter et al. teaches a controller that only allows opening of a vehicle closure when the is stationary, as disclosed in paragraph [0022]. A sensor (32) determines the vehicle is stationary.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prevent the opening of the drawer of Salter et al. when the vehicle is moving, as taught by Salter et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to prevent hitting an object with the drawer or obstructing the driver’s vision while driving.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US 2020/0130751) in view of Goto (US 2016/0325712).
Salter et al. does not disclose a sensor that prevents opening based on the vehicle movement exceeding a threshold..
Goto teaches a controller that only allows opening of a vehicle closure when the is vehicle speed is below a threshold speed (vb), as shown in Figure 6 and disclosed in paragraph [0107].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prevent the opening of the drawer of Salter et al. when the vehicle motion exceeds a threshold, as taught by Goto, with a reasonable expectation for success to prevent hitting an object with the drawer or obstructing the driver’s vision while driving.
Claims 6, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US 2020/0130751) in view of Gruber (US 2020/0108688).
Salter et al. does not disclose heating/cooling the drawer.
Gruber teaches heating/cooling a front storage module (46). A controller (30) monitors the battery pack (24) via a sensor and heats/cools the front storage module based on the state of the battery pack (24), as disclosed in paragraphs [0037-0039], [0052], and [0054-0063]. In reference to claim 7, The front storage module (46) is insulated, as disclosed in paragraph [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide heating and cooling functions based on the state of a battery and insulation to the drawer of Salter et al., as taught by Gruber, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide safe storage of temperature critical items without the fear of depleting the battery so the car is immobilized.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US 2020/0130751) in view of Van Wiemeersch (6,411,054)).
Salter et al. does not explicitly state the controller prevents the drawer from extending based on a sensor detecting an obstacle in the path of the drawer.
Van Wiemeersch teaches preventing a vehicle closure (14) from extending when an obstacle (52) is detected in a path of opening the vehicle closure, as shown in Figure 2 and disclosed on lines 14-42 of column 3. Sensors (32) detect the obstacle and send an input to the controller (48), as shown in Figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prevent the drawer of Salter et al. from opening when an obstacle is detected in the path of the drawer, as taught by Van Wiemeersch, with a reasonable expectation for success to prevent damage to the drawer.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 November 10, 2025