DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant submits the prior art does not disclose the following limitations of the claimed invention:
wherein a first edge of the strip closest to the perimeter is separated from the perimeter by a predetermined distance, as stated in claims 1; and
comprising corner regions of the black mask layer inset into a material of the black mask layer, as sat4ed in claim 8. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Re claim 1) The Nishimura reference discloses a cover wherein a first edge of the strip closest to the perimeter is separated from the perimeter by a predetermined distance (see figure 22 and para 271: the predetermined distance in this case is zero). Therefore, the prior art discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention.
Re claim 8) The Nishimura reference discloses a cover with mask comprising corner regions of the black mask layer inset into a material of the black mask layer (see figure 24, element 131b). Therefore, the prior art discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 6/5/26, with respect to claims 15, 16, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of claims 15, 16, and 20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura, US 2021/0223512.
In regard to claim 1, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses a cover for an image sensor comprising:
an optically transmissive portion (see figure 22, element 321 and para 268-272); and
a black mask layer (see figure 22, element 321a) applied as a strip adjacent a perimeter of a largest planar surface of the optically transmissive portion (see 268-272);
wherein a first edge of the strip closest to the perimeter is separated from the perimeter by a predetermined distance (see figure 22 and para 271).
In regard to claim 3, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the cover of claim 1, wherein a width of the strip between the first edge and a second edge is constant around the strip (see figure 22, element Z2).
In regard to claim 4, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the cover of claim 1, wherein a width of the strip between the first edge and a second edge is the same for at least two portions of the strip applied adjacent two sides of the optically transmissive portion (see figure 22, element Z2).
In regard to claim 7, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the cover of claim 1, further comprising corner regions of the black mask layer inset into a material of the black mask layer beyond the predetermined distance (see figure 22).
In regard to claim 8, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses a cover for an image sensor comprising:
an optically transmissive portion (see figure 22, element 321 and para 268-272); and
a black mask layer (see figure 22, element 321a) applied as a strip around a perimeter of a largest planar surface of the optically transmissive portion and comprising corner regions of the black mask layer inset into a material of the black mask layer (see 268-272).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 6, and 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claims 15-20, the prior art does not disclose a method with the combination of limitations specified in the claimed invention, specifically the limitations of:
contacting and pressing the optically transmissive cover into the adhesive material to a first height; drawing the adhesive material to a desired second height above the image sensor die with the optically transmissive cover; and releasing the optically transmissive cover, as stated in claim 15
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs