DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura, US 2021/0223512.
In regard to claim 1, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses a cover for an image sensor comprising:
an optically transmissive portion (see figure 22, element 321 and para 268-272); and
a black mask layer (see figure 22, element 321a) applied as a strip adjacent a perimeter of a largest planar surface of the optically transmissive portion (see 268-272);
wherein a first edge of the strip closest to the perimeter is separated from the perimeter by a predetermined distance (see figure 22 and para 271).
In regard to claim 3, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the cover of claim 1, wherein a width of the strip between the first edge and a second edge is constant around the strip (see figure 22, element Z2).
In regard to claim 4, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the cover of claim 1, wherein a width of the strip between the first edge and a second edge is the same for at least two portions of the strip applied adjacent two sides of the optically transmissive portion (see figure 22, element Z2).
In regard to claim 7, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the cover of claim 1, further comprising corner regions of the black mask layer inset into a material of the black mask layer beyond the predetermined distance (see figure 22).
In regard to claim 8, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses a cover for an image sensor comprising:
an optically transmissive portion (see figure 22, element 321 and para 268-272); and
a black mask layer (see figure 22, element 321a) applied as a strip around a perimeter of a largest planar surface of the optically transmissive portion and comprising corner regions of the black mask layer inset into a material of the black mask layer (see 268-272).
In regard to claim 15, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses a method of controlling the height of an adhesive material, the method comprising:
providing an optically transmissive cover (see figure 22, element 321 and para 268-272) and an image sensor die (see figure 22, element 11 and para 114));
applying an adhesive material (see figure 22, element 13) adjacent a perimeter of the image sensor die (see para 117);
contacting and pressing the optically transmissive cover into the adhesive material to a first height (see para 117);
drawing the adhesive material to a desired second height above the image sensor die with the optically transmissive cover (see para 124 and 175); and
releasing the optically transmissive cover (see para 124 and 175).
In regard to claim 16, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising a black mask layer (see figure 22, element 321a) applied as a strip around a perimeter of a largest planar surface of the optically transmissive cover (see 268-272).
In regard to claim 20, Nishimura, US 2021/0223512, discloses the method of claim 15, wherein providing the optically transmissive cover and the image sensor die further comprises providing a plurality of bond pads, bond wires, and wirebonds (see para 220) and wherein applying the adhesive material further comprises applying the adhesive material over the plurality of bond pads, bond wires, and wirebonds (see figure 22 and para 117).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 6, 9-14, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210211595, discloses an imaging device with a black mask. US 2020/0209596, discloses an imaging device a mask formed of a black light absorbing material. US 2017/0125467, discloses an imaging device with a black mask perimeter.
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs