Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/ 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (U.S. 2022/0399224 A1, hereinafter refer to Xie).
Regarding Claim 17: Xie discloses a semiconductor device (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown below and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (102/104/106) including a first side and a second side that are opposite to each other in a first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a fin-shaped pattern (107) protruding from the first side of the substrate (102/104/106) in the first direction and extending in a second direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a source/drain pattern (116) on the fin-shaped pattern (107) and connected to the fin- shaped pattern (107) (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a source/drain contact (118) on the source/drain pattern (116) and connected to the source/drain pattern (116) (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a back wiring line (backside power/242) on the second side of the substrate (102/104/106) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above and ¶ [0043]);
a contact connecting via connected to the source/drain contact (116) and extending in the first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above); and
a buried conductive pattern (130) inside the semiconductor substrate (102/104/106) and connecting the contact connecting via and the back wiring line (backside power/242) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above and ¶ [0043]),
wherein the buried conductive pattern (130) includes a first portion and a second portion (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above),
the second portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) is between the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) and the contact connecting via (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above),
the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) has a line shape extending in the second direction longer than a length in the first direction of the second portion (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above), and
the second portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) protrudes from the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) in the first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (U.S. 2022/0399224 A1, hereinafter refer to Xie) in view of CHO et al. (U.S. 2021/0305130 A1, hereinafter refer to CHO).
Regarding Claim 1: Xie discloses a semiconductor device (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown below and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (102/104/106) including a first side and a second side that are opposite to each other in a first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a fin-shaped pattern (107) protruding from the first side of the substrate (102/104/106) in the first direction, and extending in a second direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a source/drain pattern (116) on the fin-shaped pattern (107) and connected to the fin- shaped pattern (107) (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a source/drain contact (118) on the source/drain pattern (116) and connected to the source/drain pattern (116) (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a back wiring line (backside power/242) on the second side of the substrate (102/104/106) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above and ¶ [0043]);
a contact connecting via connected to the source/drain contact (118), and extending in the first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above); and
a buried conductive pattern (130) inside the semiconductor substrate (102/104/106), and connecting the contact connecting via and the back wiring line (backside power/242) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above),
wherein the buried conductive pattern (130) includes a first portion and a second portion (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above),
the second portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) is between the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) and the contact connecting via (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above),
at the first portion of the buried conductive pattern, a width in a third direction of the buried conductive pattern (130) decreases, as the buried conductive pattern goes toward the back wiring line (backside power/242) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above),
at the second portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width in the third direction of the buried conductive pattern (130) increases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (backside power/242) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above),
the first portion of the buried conductive pattern has a line shape extending in the second direction longer than a length in the first direction of the second portion (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above), and
the second portion of the buried conductive pattern protrudes from the first portion of the buried conductive pattern in the first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above).
Xie is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at the first portion of the buried conductive pattern, a width in a third direction of the buried conductive pattern decreases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line.
For support see CHO, which teaches wherein at the first portion of the buried conductive pattern, a width in a third direction of the buried conductive pattern decreases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (LWL) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown below and ¶ [0143]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xie and CHO to enable the width of the first portion of the buried conductive pattern Xie’s to decreases in third direction, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line as taught by CHO in order to obtain an integrated circuit semiconductor device in which a TSV is reliably formed.
Note: the configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was significant.
Regarding Claim 2: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Xie and CHO further teaches wherein the buried conductive pattern (174/156) further comprises a third portion between the second portion of the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via (137) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]), and
at the third portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width of the buried conductive pattern in the third direction decreases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (LWL) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]).
Regarding Claim 3: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Xie and CHO further teaches wherein the buried conductive pattern (174/156) further comprises a third portion between the second portion of the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via (137) (see CHO, Fig.9A as shown below and ¶ [0143]), and
at the third portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width of the buried conductive pattern in the third direction is constant (see CHO, Fig.9A as shown below and ¶ [0143]).
Note: the configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was significant.
Regarding Claim 6: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Xie and CHO further teaches wherein a field insulating film (112) which on the first side of the substrate (102/104/106) and covering side walls of the fin-shaped pattern (107), wherein a part of the contact connecting via is inside the field insulating film (112) (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 7: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Xie and CHO further teaches wherein the contact connecting via at least partly overlaps the source/drain contact (118) in the third direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Xie and CHO further teaches wherein a front wiring structure (144/146) on the first side of the substrate (150) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above),
wherein the front wiring structure (144/146) includes a front wiring line (144/146) extending in the second direction, and connecting the source/drain contact (140) and the contact connecting via (137) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (U.S. 2022/0399224 A1, hereinafter refer to Xie) and CHO et al. (U.S. 2021/0305130 A1, hereinafter refer to CHO) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HSU et al. (U.S. 2017/0222008 A1, hereinafter refer to HSU).
Regarding Claim 5: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Xie and CHO is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a connecting via silicide film between the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via.
For support see HSU, which teaches wherein a connecting via silicide film (80) between the conductive pattern (110) and the contact connecting via (75) (see HSU, Fig.9 and ¶ [0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xie, CHO, and HSU to enable connecting via silicide film between the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via of Xie’s as taught by HSU in order to functions as a passivation layer that can protect the underlying metal layer (e.g., Co) from being oxidized or damaged in air or during subsequent manufacturing operations and it function as an etch stop layer when the contact opening for a via plus is formed, thereby preventing the via from passing to the underlying layer.
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (U.S. 2022/0399224 A1, hereinafter refer to Xie) in view of CHO et al. (U.S. 2021/0305130 A1, hereinafter refer to CHO) and HSU et al. (U.S. 2017/0222008 A1, hereinafter refer to HSU).
Regarding Claim 11: Xie discloses a semiconductor device (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above and ¶ [0003]) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (102/104/106) including a first side and a second side that are opposite to each other in a first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a fin-shaped pattern (107) protruding from the first side of the substrate (102/104/106) in the first direction and extending in a second direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a source/drain pattern (116) on the fin-shaped pattern (107) and connected to the fin- shaped pattern (107) (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a source/drain contact (118) on the source/drain pattern (116) and connected to the source/drain pattern (116) (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a back wiring line (backside power/242) on the second side of the substrate (102/104/106) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above and ¶ [0043]);
a contact connecting via connected to the source/drain contact (116) and extending in the first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above);
a buried conductive pattern (130) inside the semiconductor substrate (102/104/106), and connecting the contact connecting via and the back wiring line (backside power/242) (see Xie, Figs.9 and 19 as shown above and ¶ [0043]); and
wherein the buried conductive pattern (130) includes a first portion and a second portion (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above),
the second portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) is between the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) and the contact connecting via (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above),
at the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130), a width in a third direction of the buried conductive pattern (130) is constant (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above),
the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) has a line shape extending in the second direction longer than a length in the first direction of the second portion (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above), and
the second portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) protrudes from the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130) in the first direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above).
Xie is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at the second portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width in the third direction of the buried conductive pattern increases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line.
For support see CHO, which teaches wherein at the second portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width in the third direction of the buried conductive pattern increases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (LWL) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xie and CHO to enable the second portion of the buried conductive pattern of Xie’s to have the width in the third direction of the buried conductive pattern increases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line as taught by CHO in order to obtain an integrated circuit semiconductor device in which a TSV is reliably formed.
Note: the configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was significant.
The combination of Xie and CHO is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a connecting via silicide film between the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via.
For support see HSU, which teaches wherein a connecting via silicide film (80) between the conductive pattern (110) and the contact connecting via (75) (see HSU, Fig.9 and ¶ [0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xie, CHO, and HSU to enable connecting via silicide film between the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via of the combination of Xie’s and CHO’s as taught by HSU in order to functions as a passivation layer that can protect the underlying metal layer (e.g., Co) from being oxidized or damaged in air or during subsequent manufacturing operations and it function as an etch stop layer when the contact opening for a via plus is formed, thereby preventing the via from passing to the underlying layer.
Regarding Claim 12: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Xie, CHO, and HSU further teaches wherein the buried conductive pattern (174/156) further comprises a third portion between the second portion of the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via (137) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]), and
at the third portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width of the buried conductive pattern in the third direction decreases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (LWL) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]).
Note: the configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was significant.
Regarding Claim 13: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Xie, CHO, and HSU further teaches wherein the buried conductive pattern (174/156) further comprises a third portion between the second portion of the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via (137) (see CHO, Fig.9A as shown above and ¶ [0143]), and
at the third portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width of the buried conductive pattern in the third direction is constant (see CHO, Fig.9A as shown above and ¶ [0143]).
Note: the configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was significant.
Regarding Claim 15: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Xie, CHO, and HSU further teaches wherein the contact connecting via at least partly overlaps the source/drain contact (118) in the third direction (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 16: Xie as modified teaches a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Xie, CHO, and HSU further teaches wherein a front wiring structure (144/146) disposed on the first side of the substrate (150), wherein the front wiring structure (144/146) includes a front wiring line (144/146) extending in the second direction (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above), and
the front wiring line (144/146) connects the source/drain contact (140) and the contact connecting via (137) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (U.S. 2022/0399224 A1, hereinafter refer to Xie) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of HSU et al. (U.S. 2017/0222008 A1, hereinafter refer to HSU).
Regarding Claim 18: Xie discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 17 above. Xie is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a connecting via silicide film between the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via.
For support see HSU, which teaches wherein a connecting via silicide film (80) between the conductive pattern (110) and the contact connecting via (75) (see HSU, Fig.9 and ¶ [0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xie and HSU to enable connecting via silicide film between the buried conductive pattern and the contact connecting via of Xie’s as taught by HSU in order to functions as a passivation layer that can protect the underlying metal layer (e.g., Co) from being oxidized or damaged in air or during subsequent manufacturing operations and it function as an etch stop layer when the contact opening for a via plus is formed, thereby preventing the via from passing to the underlying layer.
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (U.S. 2022/0399224 A1, hereinafter refer to Xie) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of CHO et al. (U.S. 2021/0305130 A1, hereinafter refer to CHO).
Regarding Claim 19: Xie discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 17 above. Xie is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at the first portion of the buried conductive pattern, a width in a third direction of the buried conductive pattern decreases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line, and
at the second portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width in the third direction increases of the buried conductive pattern, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line.
For support see CHO, which teaches wherein at the first portion of the buried conductive pattern, a width in a third direction of the buried conductive pattern decreases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (LWL) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]), and
at the second portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width in the third direction increases of the buried conductive pattern, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (LWL) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xie and CHO to enable the know configuration of buried conductive pattern as taught by CHO in order to obtain an integrated circuit semiconductor device in which a TSV is reliably formed.
Note: the configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was significant.
Regarding Claim 20: Xie discloses a semiconductor device as applied to claim 17 above. Xie teaches wherein at the first portion of the buried conductive pattern (130), a width in a third direction of the buried conductive pattern is constant (see Xie, Fig.9 as shown above); however, Xie is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at the second portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width in the third direction of the buried conductive pattern increases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line.
For support see CHO, which teaches wherein at the second portion of the buried conductive pattern, the width in the third direction of the buried conductive pattern increases, as the buried conductive pattern goes away from the back wiring line (LWL) (see CHO, Figs.9A and 12 as shown above and ¶ [0143]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xie and CHO to enable the know configuration of buried conductive pattern as taught by CHO in order to obtain an integrated circuit semiconductor device in which a TSV is reliably formed.
Note: the configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed buried conductive pattern was significant.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812