DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/13/2026. Claims 1-20 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over CHOI et al Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0089198 A1) hereinafter referred as CHOI, in view of Bao et al US Patent No.:( US 11,700,507 B2) hereinafter referred as Bao
For claim 1, CHOI teaches a first device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to perform:
establishing a first positioning session between the first device (see 705 fig 7 managing position device) and an anchor device (see 714 and 702 Fig 7) (paragraphs [0099], lines [0107], lines 43-51 discloses the position device and the target device or anchor device with indications combined into a composite LOS/NLOS status of each positioning device in the positioning session relative to each other positioning device in the positioning session); and
sending, from the first device to a second device, positioning assistance data comprising information associated with a configuration of the first positioning session established between the first device and the anchor device(752 fig.7 ) (paragraph [0108], lines 1-6 and 12-23 discloses the position session between devices 705, 701 and 702 through the link 752 instructing or configuring not to transmit). However, CHOI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises most recent sidelink positioning reference signal configuration parameters used for the first positioning session as recited in claim 1.
Bao from the same or analogous art teaches the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises most recent sidelink positioning reference signal configuration parameters used for the first positioning session (column 4, lines 1-16 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises most recent sidelink positioning reference signal configuration parameters used for the first positioning session as taught by Bao into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises most recent sidelink positioning reference signal configuration parameters used for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises most recent sidelink positioning reference signal configuration parameters used for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Bao into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in Bao, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration of the first positioning session in a 5G NR network involves the use of the most recent Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS) configuration parameters. These parameters are crucial for determining the user equipment's (UE) position and supporting various use cases such as Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) communications, public safety, commercial applications, and Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT), becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 2, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the first device is caused to perform: determining that a trigger condition is satisfied, wherein the sending is performed based on determining that the trigger condition is satisfied (paragraph [0107], lines 36-50).
For claim 3, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the determining that the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the anchor device or the second device, a request for the positioning assistance data (751 fig. 7 ) (paragraph [0098], lines 12-15) and (paragraph [0108], lines 16-23).
For claim 5, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises information identifying a set of one or more anchor devices including the anchor device and a set of one or more positioning reference units associated with the first positioning session (paragraph [0100], lines 1-6).
For claim 7, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises at least one of: information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device for performing with respect to the first positioning session; or information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device that resulted in failure of the first positioning session for the first device (paragraph [0102], lines 1-22) and (paragraph [0107], lines 1-10).
For claim 9, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein sending the positioning assistance data further comprises sending one or more conditions of when the positioning assistance data can be used by the second device (paragraph [0097], lines 4-10).
For claim 10, CHOI teaches a second device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second device at least to perform:
receiving, at the second device from a first device associated with a previously established first positioning session between the first device and an anchor device (see 714 and 702 Fig 7) (paragraphs [0099], lines [0107], lines 43-51 discloses the position device and the target device or anchor device with indications combined into a composite LOS/NLOS status of each positioning device in the positioning session relative to each other positioning device in the positioning session), positioning assistance data comprising information associated with a configuration of the first positioning session(752 fig.7 ) (paragraph [0108], lines 1-6 and 12-23 discloses the position session between devices 705, 701 and 702 through the link 752 instructing or configuring not to transmit);
establishing a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device (see 742 fig. 7)(paragraph [0113], lines 1-12), by inheriting, at least in part, on the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session between the first device and the anchor device based on the positioning assistance data (752 fig.7 ) (paragraphs [0072], lines 12-15 and [0108], lines 1-8 discloses the message from 705 to the second device 701 identified as the configuration of the first positioning session). However, CHOI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the positioning assistance data comprises a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session as recited in claim 10.
Bao from the same or analogous art teaches the positioning assistance data comprises a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session (column 4, lines 1-16 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the positioning assistance data comprises a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session as taught by Bao into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The positioning assistance data comprises a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session can be modify/implemented by combining the positioning assistance data comprises a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Bao into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in Bao, the motivation for the combination would be to use the configuration of the first positioning session in a 5G NR network involves the use of the most recent Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (SL-PRS) configuration parameters. These parameters are crucial for determining the user equipment's (UE) position and supporting various use cases such as Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) communications, public safety, commercial applications, and Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT), becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 11, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein the second device is caused to perform: sending, to the first device, a request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device (752 fig.7 ) (paragraph [0108], lines 1-8 discloses the message from 705 to the second device 701 identified as the configuration of the first positioning session).
For claim 12, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein receiving the positioning assistance data further comprises receiving information identifying a set of one or more anchor devices including the anchor device and a set of one or more positioning reference units associated with the first positioning session (paragraph [0100], lines 1-6).
For claim 14, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein the information associated with the configuration of the first positioning session comprises at least one of: information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device for performing with respect to the first positioning session; or information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device that resulted in failure of the first positioning session for the first device (paragraph [0102], lines 1-22) and (paragraph [0107], lines 1-10).
For claim 16, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein determining whether the positioning assistance data applies to the second device comprises: comparing the one or more performance indicators against expected values; or comparing information indicating an area in which the first device is located with information indicating an area in which the second device is located (paragraph [0107], lines 1-26).
For claim 17, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein receiving the positioning assistance data further comprises receiving one or more conditions of when the positioning assistance data can be used by the second device (paragraph [0178], lines 1-6), and wherein establishing the second positioning session is performed based on determining that the one or more conditions are satisfied (paragraph [0099], lines 1-15).
For claim 18, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein the second device is caused to perform: determining that the configuration of the second positioning session comprises a modification to the configuration of the first positioning session (paragraph [0185], lines 1-15); and wherein establishing the second positioning session comprises sending an indication of the modification to the anchor device (see 742 fig. 7)(paragraph [0113], lines 1-12).
For claim 19, CHOI teaches an anchor device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the thirds device at least to perform:
establishing a first positioning session between the anchor device and a first device (see 705 fig 7 managing position device 714 and 702 Fig 7) (paragraphs [0099], lines [0107], lines 43-51 discloses the position device and the target device or anchor device with indications combined into a composite LOS/NLOS status of each positioning device in the positioning session relative to each other positioning device in the positioning session); and establishing a second positioning session between the anchor device and a second device (see 742 fig. 7)(paragraph [0113], lines 1-12), by inheriting at least part of a configuration of the first positioning session between the anchor device and the first device (752 fig.7 ) (paragraphs [0072], lines 12-15 and [0108], lines 1-8 discloses the message from 705 to the second device 701 identified as the configuration of the first positioning session).
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over CHOI et al Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0089198 A1) hereinafter referred as CHOI, in view of Bao et al US Patent No.:( US 11,700,507 B2) hereinafter referred as Bao, in further view of Wachter et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2007/0182547) hereinafter referred as Wachter
For claim 4, CHOI disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted as recited in claim 4.
Wachter from the same or analogous art teaches the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted (Paragraphs [0007] and [0091], lines 1-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted as taught by Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted can be modify/implemented by combining the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in Wachter, the motivation for the combination would be to use the permission request through the assistance data indicating the granted position to communicate more efficiently becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 20, CHOI disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted as recited in claim 20.
Wachter from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted (Paragraphs [0007] and [0091], lines 1-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted as taught by Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in Wachter, the motivation for the combination would be to use the permission request through the assistance data indicating the granted position to communicate more efficiently becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 13, 15 and 16 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642