DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over CHOI et al Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0089198 A1) hereinafter referred as CHOI, in view of NAM et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2023/0232363 A1) hereinafter referred as NAM.
For claim 1, CHOI teaches a first device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to perform:
establishing a first positioning session between the first device (see 705 fig 7 managing position device) and an anchor device (see 714 and 702 Fig 7) (paragraphs [0099], lines [0107], lines 43-51 discloses the position device and the target device or anchor device with indications combined into a composite LOS/NLOS status of each positioning device in the positioning session relative to each other positioning device in the positioning session). However, CHOI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the sending, from the first device to a second device, positioning assistance data comprising a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session established between the first device and the anchor, wherein the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session is provided to the second device for reuse in a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device as recited in claim 1.
NAM from the same or analogous art teaches the sending, from the first device to a second device, positioning assistance data comprising a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session established between the first device and the anchor device (paragraph [0125], lines 1-18) and (paragraph [0128], lines 12-15), wherein the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session is provided to the second device for reuse in a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device (paragraph [0074], lines 1-10) and (paragraph [0134], lines 5-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the sending, from the first device to a second device, positioning assistance data comprising a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session established between the first device and the anchor, wherein the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session is provided to the second device for reuse in a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device as taught by NAM into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The sending, from the first device to a second device, positioning assistance data comprising a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session established between the first device and the anchor, wherein the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session is provided to the second device for reuse in a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device can be modify/implemented by combining the sending, from the first device to a second device, positioning assistance data comprising a most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session established between the first device and the anchor, wherein the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session is provided to the second device for reuse in a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of NAM into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in NAM, the motivation for the combination would be to use the positioning assistance data to improve the position accuracy, reducing the latency and faster coverage. Reusing the PRS will help to identify a faster position coverage and improve the lower power consumption becoming more efficient and reliable for a better connection.
For claim 2, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the first device is caused to perform: determining that a trigger condition is satisfied, wherein the sending is performed based on determining that the trigger condition is satisfied (paragraph [0107], lines 36-50).
For claim 3, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the determining that the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the anchor device or the second device, a request for the positioning assistance data (751 fig. 7) (paragraph [0098], lines 12-15) and (paragraph [0108], lines 16-23).
For claim 5, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the position assistance data comprises information identifying a set of one or more anchor devices including the anchor device and a set of one or more positioning reference units associated with the first positioning session (paragraph [0100], lines 1-6).
For claim 7, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein the position assistance data comprises at least one of: information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device for performing with respect to the first positioning session; or information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device that resulted in failure of the first positioning session for the first device (paragraph [0102], lines 1-22) and (paragraph [0107], lines 1-10).
For claim 9, CHOI teaches the first device, wherein sending the positioning assistance data further comprises sending one or more conditions of when the positioning assistance data can be used by the second device (paragraph [0097], lines 4-10).
For claim 10, CHOI teaches a second device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second device at least to perform:
receiving, at the second device from a first device associated with a previously established first positioning session between the first device and an anchor device (see 714 and 702 Fig 7) (paragraphs [0099], lines [0107], lines 43-51 discloses the position device and the target device or anchor device with indications combined into a composite LOS/NLOS status of each positioning device in the positioning session relative to each other positioning device in the positioning session). However, CHOI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the positioning assistance data comprising most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session; establishing a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device, by reusing at least in part the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the first device and the anchor device based on the positioning assistance data as recited in claim 10.
NAM from the same or analogous art teaches the positioning assistance data comprising most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session (paragraph [0125], lines 1-18) and (paragraph [0128], lines 12-15); establishing a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device, by reusing at least in part the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the first device and the anchor device based on the positioning assistance data (paragraph [0074], lines 1-10) and (paragraph [0134], lines 5-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the positioning assistance data comprising most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session; establishing a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device, by reusing at least in part the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the first device and the anchor device based on the positioning assistance data as taught by NAM into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The positioning assistance data comprising most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session; establishing a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device, by reusing at least in part the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the first device and the anchor device based on the positioning assistance data can be modify/implemented by combining the positioning assistance data comprising most recent positioning reference signal configuration used for the first positioning session; establishing a second positioning session between the second device and the anchor device, by reusing at least in part the most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the first device and the anchor device based on the positioning assistance data with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of NAM into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in NAM, the motivation for the combination would be to use the positioning assistance data to improve the position accuracy, reducing the latency and faster coverage. Reusing the PRS will help to identify a faster position coverage and improve the lower power consumption becoming more efficient and reliable for a better connection.
For claim 11, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein the second device is caused to perform: sending, to the first device, a request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device (752 fig.7 ) (paragraph [0108], lines 1-8 discloses the message from 705 to the second device 701 identified as the configuration of the first positioning session).
For claim 12, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein receiving the positioning assistance data further comprises receiving information identifying a set of one or more anchor devices including the anchor device and a set of one or more positioning reference units associated with the first positioning session (paragraph [0100], lines 1-6).
For claim 14, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein the position assistance data comprises at least one of: information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device for performing with respect to the first positioning session; or information identifying a set of measurements selected by the first device that resulted in failure of the first positioning session for the first device (paragraph [0102], lines 1-22) and (paragraph [0107], lines 1-10).
For claim 16, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein the second device is caused to perform: determining whether the positioning assistance data applies to the second device by
comparing the one or more performance indicators against expected values; or comparing information indicating an area in which the first device is located with information indicating an area in which the second device is located (paragraph [0107], lines 1-26).
For claim 17, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein receiving the positioning assistance data further comprises receiving one or more conditions of when the positioning assistance data can be used by the second device (paragraph [0178], lines 1-6), and wherein establishing the second positioning session is performed based on determining that the one or more conditions are satisfied (paragraph [0099], lines 1-15).
For claim 18, CHOI teaches the second device, wherein the second device is caused to perform: determining that the configuration of the second positioning session comprises a modification to the configuration of the first positioning session (paragraph [0185], lines 1-15); and wherein establishing the second positioning session comprises sending an indication of the modification to the anchor device (see 742 fig. 7)(paragraph [0113], lines 1-12).
For claim 19, CHOI teaches an anchor device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the thirds device at least to perform:
establishing a first positioning session between the anchor device and a first device (see 705 fig 7 managing position device 714 and 702 Fig 7) (paragraphs [0099], lines [0107], lines 43-51 discloses the position device and the target device or anchor device with indications combined into a composite LOS/NLOS status of each positioning device in the positioning session relative to each other positioning device in the positioning session). However, CHOI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the establishing a second positioning session between the anchor device and a second device by reusing at least part of a most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the anchor device and the first as recited in claim 10.
NAM from the same or analogous art teaches the establishing a second positioning session between the anchor device and a second device by reusing at least part of a most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the anchor device and the first device (paragraph [0074], lines 1-10) and (paragraph [0134], lines 5-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the establishing a second positioning session between the anchor device and a second device by reusing at least part of a most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the anchor device and the first as taught by NAM into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The establishing a second positioning session between the anchor device and a second device by reusing at least part of a most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the anchor device and the first can be modify/implemented by combining the establishing a second positioning session between the anchor device and a second device by reusing at least part of a most recent positioning reference signal configuration of the first positioning session between the anchor device and the first with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of NAM into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in NAM, the motivation for the combination would be to use the positioning assistance data to improve the position accuracy, reducing the latency and faster coverage. Reusing the PRS will help to identify a faster position coverage and improve the lower power consumption becoming more efficient and reliable for a better connection.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over CHOI et al Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0089198 A1) hereinafter referred as CHOI, in view of NAM et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2023/0232363 A1) hereinafter referred as NAM, in further view of Wachter et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2007/0182547) hereinafter referred as Wachter
For claim 4, CHOI disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted as recited in claim 4.
Wachter from the same or analogous art teaches the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted (Paragraphs [0007] and [0091], lines 1-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted as taught by Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted can be modify/implemented by combining the trigger condition is satisfied comprises receiving, from the second device, the request for the positioning assistance data, and wherein the first device is caused to perform: sending, to the anchor device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; receiving, from the anchor device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted; and sending the positioning assistance data based on receiving the response indicating that the permission request is granted with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in Wachter, the motivation for the combination would be to use the permission request through the assistance data indicating the granted position to communicate more efficiently becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 20, CHOI disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted as recited in claim 20.
Wachter from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted (Paragraphs [0007] and [0091], lines 1-18). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted as taught by Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI.
The receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving, from the first device, a permission request for providing the positioning assistance data to the second device; determining to grant the permission request; and based on the determining, sending, to the first device, a response indicating that the permission request is granted with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Wachter into the distributed device management for position of CHOI. As disclosed in Wachter, the motivation for the combination would be to use the permission request through the assistance data indicating the granted position to communicate more efficiently becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 13, 15 and 16 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642