Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galatage (PGPub No. 20240204060) in further view of Lin (PGPub No. 20190067442).
Regarding claim 1, Galatage teaches an electronic device having one or more non-planar transistors (Fig. 1 points to an IC device 100 comprising a nanoribbon transistor 100.), at least one of the one or more non-planar transistors comprising: one or more gate structures (Id. points to a gate stack 106.); and one or more gate spacers respectively associated with each of the one or more gate structures, at least one gate spacer of the one or more gate spacers having a multi-layer dielectric structure comprising a first dielectric structure comprising a first dielectric material, the first dielectric structure forming an interior wall disposed next to a respective gate structure of the one or more gate structures, a second dielectric structure comprising a second dielectric material, the second dielectric structure forming an exterior wall spaced apart from the interior wall, and a third dielectric structure comprising a third dielectric material, the third dielectric structure extending between and separating the interior wall from the exterior wall, wherein a dielectric constant of the third dielectric material is lower than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric material and lower than a dielectric constant of the second dielectric material ([0026] and [0040] point to alternative embodiments where the gate stack 106 is surrounded by a gate spacer comprising air gaps (third dielectric structure) that separate portions (first dielectric structure; second dielectric structure).).
Galatage fails to teach wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall.
Lin teaches wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall (Figs. 1B-1D point to a gate structure 40 comprising an airgap 50 (third dielectric material).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage and Lin, such that the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer in order to create an insulating material that utilizes the substance with the lowest dielectric constant, i.e., air, that can further reduce the effective k value of adjacent conductive features.
Regarding claim 3, Galatage teaches wherein: the first dielectric material and the second dielectric material are a same dielectric material ([0040] points to a gate spacer comprising air gaps surrounded by a low-k dielectric material (first dielectric material; second dielectric material).).
Regarding claim 4, Galatage teaches wherein: the third dielectric material comprises an air gap ([0040] points to a gate spacer comprising air gaps (third dielectric material) surrounded by a low-k dielectric material.).
Regarding claim 5, Galatage teaches wherein the one or more gate spacers further comprise: an upper wall of a fourth dielectric material overlying the third dielectric material and extending between the interior wall and the exterior wall; and a lower wall of a fifth dielectric material below the third dielectric material and extending between the interior wall and the exterior wall ([0040] points to a gate spacer (upper wall; lower wall) comprising air gaps surrounded by a low-k dielectric material (fourth dielectric material; fifth dielectric material).).
Regarding claim 6, Galatage teaches wherein: the first dielectric material, the second dielectric material, the fourth dielectric material, and the fifth dielectric material are a same dielectric material ([0040] points to a gate spacer comprising air gaps surrounded by a low-k dielectric material (first dielectric material; second dielectric material; fourth dielectric material; fifth dielectric material).).
Regarding claim 8, Galatage teaches wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of: a music player; a video player; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a mobile device; a mobile phone; a smartphone; a personal digital assistant; a fixed location terminal; a tablet computer, a computer; a wearable device; a laptop computer; a server; an internet of things (IoT) device; or a device in an automotive vehicle (FIG. 7 and [0101] point to a block diagram of an example computing device 2400 that may include one or more components including one or more nanoribbon stacks and may have any desire form factor such as a handheld or mobile computing device.).
Regarding claim 9, Galatage teaches a non-planar transistor comprising: one or more gate structures (Fig. 1 points to a transistor 110 comprising a gate stack 106 (gate structure).); and one or more gate spacers respectively associated with each of the one or more gate structures, at least one gate spacer of the one or more gate spacers having a multi-layer dielectric structure comprising a first dielectric structure comprising a first dielectric material, the first dielectric structure forming an interior wall disposed next to a respective gate structure of the one or more gate structures, a second dielectric structure comprising a second dielectric material, the second dielectric structure forming an exterior wall spaced apart from the interior wall, and a third dielectric structure comprising a third dielectric material, the third dielectric structure extending between and separating the interior wall from the exterior wall, wherein a dielectric constant of the third dielectric material is lower than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric material and lower than a dielectric constant of the second dielectric material ([0026] and [0040] point to alternative embodiments where the gate stack 106 is surrounded by a gate spacer comprising a low-k dielectric material such as silicon dioxide (first dielectric material; second dielectric material), which may further include air gaps (third dielectric material).).
Galatage fails to teach wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall.
Lin teaches wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall (Figs. 1B-1D point to a gate structure 40 comprising an airgap 50 (third dielectric material).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage and Lin, such that the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer in order to create an insulating material that utilizes the substance with the lowest dielectric constant, i.e., air, that can further reduce the effective k value of adjacent conductive features.
Regarding claim 11, Galatage teaches wherein: the first dielectric material and the second dielectric material are a same dielectric material ([0040] points to a gate spacer comprising air gaps surrounded by a low-k dielectric material (first dielectric material; second dielectric material).).
Regarding claim 12, Galatage teaches wherein: the third dielectric material comprises an air gap ([0040] points to a gate spacer comprising air gaps (third dielectric material) surrounded by a low-k dielectric material.).
Regarding claim 13, Galatage teaches wherein the one or more gate spacers further comprise: an upper wall of a fourth dielectric material overlying the third dielectric material and extending between the interior wall and the exterior wall; and a lower wall of a fifth dielectric material below the third dielectric material and extending between the interior wall and the exterior wall ([0040] points to a gate spacer (upper wall; lower wall) comprising air gaps surrounded by a low-k dielectric material (fourth dielectric material; fifth dielectric material).).
Regarding claim 14, Galatage teaches wherein: the first dielectric material, the second dielectric material, the fourth dielectric material, and the fifth dielectric material are a same dielectric material ([0040] points to a gate spacer comprising air gaps surrounded by a low-k dielectric material (first dielectric material; second dielectric material; fourth dielectric material; fifth dielectric material).).
Regarding claim 16, Galatage teaches a method of forming a fin field effect transistor (FinFET), comprising: forming a channel structure having a semiconductor channel between a source and a drain of the FinFET (Fig. 1 points to a transistor 110 comprising a nanoribbon 104 (channel structure) and S/D regions 114-1 and 114-2 (a source and a drain). [0035] further points to the transistor 110 being formed via “layer transfer”, which allows for the forming of non-planar transistors such as FinFETs or nanoribbon transistors. In light of this, it is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art could form the transistor 110 according to a FinFET structure rather than a nanoribbon structure.); forming a gate structure overlying the semiconductor channel (Fig. 1 points to a gate stack 106.); and forming at least one gate spacer associated with the gate structure, wherein the forming the at least one gate spacer comprises forming a first dielectric structure comprising a first dielectric material, the first dielectric structure forming an interior wall next to the gate structure, forming a second dielectric structure comprising a second dielectric material, the second dielectric structure forming an exterior wall spaced apart from the interior wall, and forming a third dielectric structure comprising a third dielectric material, the third dielectric structure extending between and separating the interior wall from the exterior wall, wherein a dielectric constant of the third dielectric material is lower than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric material and lower than a dielectric constant of the second dielectric material ([0026] and [0040] point to alternative embodiments where the gate stack 106 is surrounded by a gate spacer comprising a low-k dielectric material such as silicon dioxide (first dielectric material; second dielectric material), which may further include air gaps (third dielectric material).).
Galatage fails to teach wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall.
Lin teaches wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall (Figs. 1B-1D point to a gate structure 40 comprising an airgap 50 (third dielectric material).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage and Lin, such that the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer in order to create an insulating material that utilizes the substance with the lowest dielectric constant, i.e., air, that can further reduce the effective k value of adjacent conductive features.
Regarding claim 17, Galatage teaches a method of forming a gate-all-around (GAA) transistor, comprising: forming a plurality of channel structures between a source and a drain of the GAA transistor (Fig. 1 points to a nanoribbon 104 (channel structure) and S/D regions 114-1 and 114-2 (a source and a drain). [0024] further points to alternative embodiments where multiple nanoribbons 104 (plurality of channel structures) are arranged.); forming a gate structure associated with the plurality of channel structures (Fig. 1 points to a gate stack 106.); and forming at least one gate spacer associated with the gate structure, wherein the forming the at least one gate spacer comprises forming a first dielectric structure comprising a first dielectric material, the first dielectric structure forming an interior wall next to the gate structure, forming a second dielectric structure comprising a second dielectric material, the second dielectric structure forming an exterior wall spaced apart from the interior wall, and forming and a third dielectric structure comprising a third dielectric material, the third dielectric structure extending between and separating the interior wall from the exterior wall, wherein a dielectric constant of the third dielectric material is lower than a dielectric constant of the first dielectric material and lower than a dielectric constant of the second dielectric material ([0026] and [0040] point to alternative embodiments where the gate stack 106 is surrounded by a gate spacer comprising a low-k dielectric material such as silicon dioxide (first dielectric material; second dielectric material), which may further include air gaps (third dielectric material).).
Galatage fails to teach wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall.
Lin teaches wherein the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer that extends from an interior surface of the interior wall and an interior surface of the exterior wall (Figs. 1B-1D point to a gate structure 40 comprising an airgap 50 (third dielectric material).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage and Lin, such that the third dielectric material is formed as a single layer in order to create an insulating material that utilizes the substance with the lowest dielectric constant, i.e., air, that can further reduce the effective k value of adjacent conductive features.
Regarding claim 18, Galatage teaches wherein: the first dielectric material and the second dielectric material are a same dielectric material ([0040] points to a gate spacer comprising air gaps surrounded by a low-k dielectric material (first dielectric material; second dielectric material).).
Claim(s) 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galatage et al. in further view of Chanemougame (PGPub No. 20180204927).
Regarding claim 2, Chanemougame teaches wherein: the interior wall is disposed adjacent a gate dielectric layer of the respective gate structure (Fig. 8A points to an integrated circuit structure comprising a gate sidewall spacer 240 (interior wall) and a gate dielectric layer 261). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage et al. and Chanemougame, such that a gate dielectric layer is formed between the interior wall and the gate structure in order to achieve desired work functions given the conductivity type of the FET.
Regarding claim 10, Chanemougame teaches wherein: the interior wall is disposed adjacent a gate dielectric layer of the respective gate structure (Fig. 8A points to an integrated circuit structure comprising a gate sidewall spacer 240 (interior wall) and a gate dielectric layer 261). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage et al. and Chanemougame, such that a gate dielectric layer is formed between the interior wall and the gate structure in order to achieve desired work functions given the conductivity type of the FET.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, 16, and 17 (and by extension any dependent claims) under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Galatage in further view of Lin (PGPub No. 20190067442).
Conclusion
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899