The claims filed 9/25/2023 have been considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 09/25/2023 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed 9/25/2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: AUTOMATED SWITCHING OF OUTLETS OPEN OR CLOSED IN RESPONSE TO POWER LOAD.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 12-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul et al. (US 20130245849 A1) in light of Nelson et al. (US 7657763 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Paul teaches a system (abstract), comprising:
a plurality of smart plugs in electrical communication with each other (Paragraphs 28-29), the plurality of smart plugs each having a respective priority (Paragraph 18) and being configured to be in one of an open state or a closed state (Paragraph 17 “on or off”);
a controller in communication with the plurality of smart plugs (Paragraph 43) and a power source (Paragraph 43 “central utility”), the controller comprising at least one processor (Paragraph 17 “processor”) and at least one computer-readable storage medium comprising a plurality of instructions (Paragraph 17 “memory of a computing device”) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive, from each of the plurality of smart plugs, data comprising power consumption information (Paragraph 30), the power consumption information being based on at least one of a maximum power consumption or an average power consumption (Paragraph 30 “watts consumed”);
update historical data for each of the plurality of smart plugs based on the data received from each of the plurality of smart plugs (Paragraph 59 “usage history”);
determine a power scheme for the plurality of smart plugs based on a maximum power output of the power source (Paragraph 60 “power usage…greater than available supply”), the historical data of each of the plurality of smart plugs (Paragraphs 59-60 “usage history”, “data from the power grid 115 and from respective customer homes 210”) and the respective priority of each of the plurality of smart plugs (Paragraph 59 “customer choices of priorities”), the power scheme defining an assignment of each of the plurality of smart plugs to one of a first subset of the plurality of smart plugs to be configured in the closed state or a second subset of the plurality of smart plugs to be configured in the open state (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”), the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs having a predicted collective power consumption less than the maximum output of the power source (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”), the first subset and the second subset of the plurality of smart plugs having a predicted collective power consumption greater than the maximum output of the power source (Paragraph 60 “decide when power usage will be greater than available supply”);
transmit a close command to each of the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs according to the power scheme (Paragraph 61 “send commands”), the close command configured cause each smart plug of the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs to enter the closed state (Paragraph 61 “The processors…may activate or deactivate the relay or switch 116 connected to the socket 104”);
transmit an open command to each of a second subset of the plurality of smart plugs according to the power scheme (Paragraph 61 “send commands”), the open command configured to cause each smart plug of the second subset of the plurality of smart plugs to enter the open state (Paragraph 61 “The processors…may activate or deactivate the relay or switch 116 connected to the socket 104”); and
monitor a collective power consumption of the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs with respect to the maximum output of the power source (Paragraphs 60-61 “decide when power usage will be greater than available supply”, “surplus of power”).
While Paul teaches a system to determine a power scheme for a plurality of smart plugs, Paul does not explicitly teach that these smart plugs are equivalent to outlets.
However, Nelson teaches a system (abstract) comprising determining a power scheme for a plurality of outlets. Nelson also teaches the plurality of outlets each having a respective priority (Col. 11-12 Lines 60-67, Lines 1-3) and being configured to be in one of an open state or a closed state (Col. 3 Lines 10-15), with a central controller comprising of a processor and memory in electronic communication with the outlets (
Both Paul and Nelson are analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the field of electrical management. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system for controlling outlets of Nelson with the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul in order to account for devices directly hardwired into the electrical system (Col. 5 Lines 47-55), as the functionality of the system for controlling outlets of Nelson and the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul is similar save for direct integration into the outlet instead of requiring a smart plug.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 1.
Paul also teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the at least one processor to change the assignment of an assigned smart plug of one of the first subset or the second subset to the other of the first subset and the second subset based on a criterion being met (Paragraph 61 “restore power”), and;
the criterion being based on at least one of:
additional historical data;
a change in monitored power consumption of the assigned outlet;
a change in time of day;
a change in day of a week;
or a change in the power source (Paragraph 61 “restore power…surplus of power”).
Regarding claim 3, Paul teaches a system (abstract), comprising:
a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of smart plugs (Paragraph 43), each of the plurality of smart plugs being switchable between an open state and a closed state (Paragraph 17 “on or off”), the controller comprising at least one processor (Paragraph 17 “processor”) and at least one computer-readable storage medium (Paragraph 17 “memory of a computing device”) comprising a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive, from each of the plurality of smart plugs, data associated with power consumption of a respective smart plug (Paragraph 30);
update historical data for each of the plurality of smart plugs based on the data received from each of the plurality of smart plugs (Paragraph 59 “usage history”);
determine a power scheme for the plurality of smart plugs based at least on the historical data (Paragraphs 59-60 “usage history”, “data from the power grid 115 and from respective customer homes 210”), the power scheme being configured such that a predicted collective power consumption of the plurality of smart plugs is less than a maximum output of a power source (Paragraph 60 “power usage…greater than available supply”); and
configure, based on the power scheme, at least one of the plurality of smart plugs to enter the open state and at least one other of the plurality of smart plugs to enter the closed state (Paragraph 61 “Send commands”, “The processors…may activate or deactivate the relay or switch 116 connected to the socket 104”).
While Paul teaches a system to determine a power scheme for a plurality of smart plugs, Paul does not explicitly teach that these smart plugs are equivalent to outlets.
However, Nelson teaches a system (abstract) comprising determining a power scheme for a plurality of outlets. Nelson also teaches the plurality of outlets each having a respective priority (Col. 11-12 Lines 60-67, Lines 1-3) and being configured to be in one of an open state or a closed state (Col. 3 Lines 10-15), with a central controller comprising of a processor and memory in electronic communication with the outlets (abstract Col. 3 Lines 9-23), wherein the controller collects data comprising power consumption information from the outlets (Col. 3 Lines 9-23 “power profile”, Col. 12 Lines 14-23), updates historical data for each of the plurality of outlets (Col. 12 Lines 14-23, log 1100), and transmits open or close commands to each individual outlet in the event that the power supply is curtailed accounting for priority (Col. 11-12 Lines 60-67, Lines 1-3).
Both Paul and Nelson are analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the field of electrical management. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system for controlling outlets of Nelson with the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul in order to account for devices directly hardwired into the electrical system (Col. 5 Lines 47-55), as the functionality of the system for controlling outlets of Nelson and the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul is otherwise similar save for direct integration into the outlet instead of requiring a smart plug.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 3.
Paul also teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the power consumption is based on at least one of a maximum power consumption or an average power consumption (Paragraph 30 “watts consumed”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 3.
Paul also teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the power scheme comprises a first subset of the plurality of smart plugs being in the open state and a second subset of the plurality of smart plugs being in the closed state (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 3.
Paul also teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the power scheme is determined based at least on a plurality of priority parameters associated with the plurality of smart plugs, each of the plurality of priority parameters indicating a priority of the corresponding smart plug (Paragraph 59 “customer choices of priorities”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 3.
Paul also teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the power scheme comprises:
an assignment of each outlet of the plurality of smart plugs to one of a first subset of the plurality of or a second subset of the plurality of smart plugs based on a respective priority parameter of each smart plug (Paragraph 59 “customer choices of priorities”);
an assignment of the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs to the closed state (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”);
an assignment of the second subset of the plurality of smart plugs to the open state (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”); and
the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs having a predicted collective power consumption less than less than a maximum output of the power source (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 3.
Paul also teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the power scheme comprises a first configuration of the states of the plurality of smart plugs and a second configuration of the states of the plurality of smart plugs, the first configuration differing from the second configuration (Paragraph 61 “it is the turn of other customer(s) and/or appliance(s) to be disconnected or power thereto adjusted”); and
the power scheme defines a triggering of a transition of the plurality of smart plugs from the first configuration to the second configuration based on a criterion being met (Paragraph 61 “restore power”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 9.
Nelson also teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the criterion is met based on one of:
a change in time of day (Col. 3 Line 42);
or a change in day of a week.
Regarding claim 12, Paul teaches a method implemented by a system (abstract), the system comprising a controller configured to communicate with a plurality of smart plugs (Paragraph 43), each of the plurality of smart plugs being switchable between an open state and a closed state (Paragraph 17 “on or off”), the method comprising:
receiving, from each of the plurality of smart plugs, data associated with power consumption of a respective smart plug (Paragraph 30);
updating historical data for each of the plurality of smart plugs based on the data received from each of the plurality of smart plugs (Paragraph 59 “usage history”);
determining a power scheme for the plurality of smart plugs based at least on the historical data (Paragraphs 59-60 “usage history”, “data from the power grid 115 and from respective customer homes 210”), the power scheme being configured such that a predicted collective power consumption of the plurality of smart plugs is less than a maximum output of a power source (Paragraph 60 “power usage…greater than available supply”); and
configuring, based on the power scheme, at least one of the plurality of smart plugs to enter the open state and at least one other of the plurality of smart plugs to enter the closed state (Paragraph 61 “Send commands”, “The processors…may activate or deactivate the relay or switch 116 connected to the socket 104”).
While Paul teaches a method to determine a power scheme for a plurality of smart plugs, Paul does not explicitly teach that these smart plugs are equivalent to outlets.
However, Nelson teaches a method (Col. 5 Line 7) comprising determining a power scheme for a plurality of outlets. Nelson also teaches the plurality of outlets each having a respective priority (Col. 11-12 Lines 60-67, Lines 1-3) and being configured to be in one of an open state or a closed state (Col. 3 Lines 10-15), with a central controller comprising of a processor and memory in electronic communication with the outlets (abstract Col. 3 Lines 9-23), wherein the controller collects data comprising power consumption information from the outlets (Col. 3 Lines 9-23 “power profile”, Col. 12 Lines 14-23), updates historical data for each of the plurality of outlets (Col. 12 Lines 14-23, log 1100), and transmits open or close commands to each individual outlet in the event that the power supply is curtailed accounting for priority (Col. 11-12 Lines 60-67, Lines 1-3).
Both Paul and Nelson are analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the field of electrical management. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system for controlling outlets of Nelson with the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul in order to account for devices directly hardwired into the electrical system (Col. 5 Lines 47-55), as the functionality of the system for controlling outlets of Nelson and the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul is similar save for direct integration into the outlet instead of requiring a smart plug.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 12.
Paul also teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the power consumption is based on at least one of a maximum power consumption or an average power consumption (Paragraph 30 “watts consumed”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 12.
Paul also teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the power scheme comprises a first subset of the plurality of smart plugs being in the open state and a second subset of the plurality of smart plugs being in the closed state (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 12.
Paul also teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the power scheme is determined based at least on a plurality of priority parameters associated with the plurality of smart plugs, each of the plurality of priority parameters indicating a priority of the corresponding smart plug (Paragraph 59 “customer choices of priorities”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 12.
Paul also teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the power scheme comprises:
an assignment of each smart plug of the plurality of smart plugs to one of a first subset of the plurality of smart plugs or a second subset of the plurality of smart plugs based on a respective priority parameter of each smart plug (Paragraph 59 “customer choices of priorities”);
an assignment of the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs to the closed state (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”);
an assignment of the second subset of the plurality of smart plugs to the open state (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”); and
the first subset of the plurality of smart plugs having a predicted collective power consumption less than less than a maximum output of the power source (Paragraph 60, “The analytics and rules engine 266 may then select…reduce the demand sufficiently so that it is not greater than the supply”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 12.
Paul also teaches the method of claim 12, wherein: the power scheme comprises a first configuration of the states of the plurality of smart plugs and a second configuration of the states of the plurality of smart plugs, the first configuration differing from the second configuration (Paragraph 61 “it is the turn of other customer(s) and/or appliance(s) to be disconnected or power thereto adjusted”); and
the power scheme defines a triggering of a transition of the plurality of smart plugs from the first configuration to the second configuration based on a criterion being met (Paragraph 61 “restore power”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 18.
Nelson also teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the criterion is met based on one of:
a change in time of day (Col. 3 Line 42); or
a change in day of a week.
Claim(s) 8, 11, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul and Nelson in light of Thornton et al. (US 20200136385 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 7.
Paul also teaches wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the at least one processor to change the assignment of at least one of the plurality of smart plugs from one of the first subset or the second subset to the other of the first subset or the second subset (Paragraph 61).
The combination of Paul and Nelson does not teach the system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the at least one processor to change the assignment of at least one of the plurality of outlets from one of the first subset or the second subset to the other of the first subset or the second subset based on a change to at least one of: the historical data, a monitored power consumption, or the power source.
However, Thornton teaches a change from the power source to another power source (Paragraph 39). Thornton also teaches automatically disabling circuits/devices based on a change to the power source having a different maximum output (Paragraph 39 “if grid power goes down”) with priority parameters associated with individual circuits/devices (Paragraph 39 “define priorities when power is limited”).
Both Paul and Thornton are analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of electrical management. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system for switching between grid and solar power of Thornton with the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul in order to minimize power draw from the grid when solar is sufficient (Paragraph 39), as the functionality of the breaker panel of Thornton similarly controls the power load based on a change in the power source.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the system of claim 9.
Paul also teaches wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the at least one processor to change the assignment of at least one of the plurality of smart plugs from one of the first subset or the second subset to the other of the first subset or the second subset (Paragraph 61).
The combination of Paul and Nelson does not teach the system of claim 9, wherein the criterion is met based on a change from the power source to another power source having a different maximum output.
However, Thornton teaches a change from the power source to another power source (Paragraph 39). Thornton also teaches automatically disabling circuits/devices based on a change to the power source having a different maximum output (Paragraph 39 “if grid power goes down”) with priority parameters associated with individual circuits/devices (Paragraph 39 “define priorities when power is limited”).
Both Paul and Thornton are analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of electrical management. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system for switching between grid and solar power of Thornton with the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul in order to minimize power draw from the grid when solar is sufficient (Paragraph 39), as the functionality of the breaker panel of Thornton similarly controls the power load based on a change in the power source.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 16.
Paul also teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising changing the assignment of at least one of the plurality of smart plugs from one of the first subset or the second subset to the other of the first subset or the second subset (Paragraph 61).
The combination of Paul and Nelson does not teach the method of claim 16, further comprising changing the assignment of at least one of the plurality of outlets from one of the first subset or the second subset to the other of the first subset or the second subset based on a change to at least one of: the historical data, a monitored power consumption, or the power source.
However, Thornton teaches a change from the power source to another power source (Paragraph 39). Thornton also teaches automatically disabling circuits/devices based on a change to the power source having a different maximum output (Paragraph 39 “if grid power goes down”) with priority parameters associated with individual circuits/devices (Paragraph 39 “define priorities when power is limited”).
Both Paul and Thornton are analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of electrical management. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system for switching between grid and solar power of Thornton with the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul in order to minimize power draw from the grid when solar is sufficient (Paragraph 39), as the functionality of the breaker panel of Thornton similarly controls the power load based on a change in the power source.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Paul and Nelson teaches the method of claim 18.
The combination of Paul and Nelson fails to teach the method of claim 18, wherein the criterion is met based on a change from the power source to another power source having a different maximum output.
However, Thornton teaches a change from the power source to another power source (Paragraph 39). Thornton also teaches automatically disabling circuits/devices based on a change to the power source having a different maximum output (Paragraph 39 “if grid power goes down”) with priority parameters associated with individual circuits/devices (Paragraph 39 “define priorities when power is limited”).
Both Paul and Thornton are analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of electrical management. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the system for switching between grid and solar power of Thornton with the system for controlling smart plugs of Paul in order to minimize power draw from the grid when solar is sufficient (Paragraph 39), as the functionality of the breaker panel of Thornton similarly controls the power load based on a change in the power source.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM XIANG ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117