DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Election filed on 03/09/2026.
Currently, claims 1-26 are pending in the application. Currently, claims 10-11 and 24-25 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Fig. 9) in the reply filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-11 and 24-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-selected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-9, 12-23, and 26 are examined in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0407217) in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0151543)
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang teaches a display panel (Fig. 6) comprising:
a first sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 11A, 7, ¶ [0078]) at a first display area (Figs. 6 & 11A, AA1 outside of area C, ¶ [0133]), and comprising:
a first transistor (Fig. 11A, T, ¶ [0079]) comprising a first semiconductor layer (Fig. 11A, T1, ¶ [0079]) and a first gate electrode (Fig. 11A, T4, ¶ [0079]);
a storage capacitor (Fig. 11A, C1 + C2, ¶ [0079]); and
a second transistor (¶ [0078] teaches that each of Wang’s subpixels includes a pixel circuit 7 that each include a plurality of thin film transistors T) comprising a second semiconductor layer and a second gate electrode (It would be obvious that the rest of Wang’s thin film transistors T in the pixel circuit for the subpixel pictured in Fig. 11A would have an active layer and gate electrode in a same or similar manner as the thin film transistor T pictured in Fig. 11A. Also see ¶¶ [0085]-[0086]);
an insulating layer (Fig. 11A, 63, ¶ [0167] teaches a planarization layer made of an insulating material) on the first transistor and the second transistor (The plurality of Wang’s thin film transistors T would be on a same layer, see ¶¶ [0085]-[0086]);
a first light-emitting diode (Fig. 11A, 3, ¶ [0079]) at the first display area, and electrically connected to the first sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 11A), the first light-emitting diode comprising a first electrode (Fig. 11A, 311, ¶ [0080]) on the insulating layer;
a second light-emitting diode (Fig. 9B, 3 in AA2, ¶ [0079]) at a second display area (Figs. 6 & 9B, AA2, ¶ [0101]) at least partially surrounded by the first display area (Fig. 6), and comprising a first electrode (Fig. 9B, 312, ¶ [0136]) on the insulating layer, the second display area comprising a transmission area (¶ [0133] teaches that AA2 is a transparent area with high light transmittance);
a bank layer (Fig. 11A, 34, ¶ [0080]) having a first opening (Fig. 11A, opening in 34 overlapping with 311) overlapping with the first electrode of the first light-emitting diode, and a second opening (Fig. 9B, opening in 34 overlapping with 312) overlapping with the first electrode of the second light-emitting diode;
at least one line (Fig. 11A, 53c, ¶ [0191]) overlapping with the first electrode of the first light-emitting diode and the first opening of the bank layer (Fig. 11A); and
a conductive pattern layer (Fig. 9B, 53B, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) at the second display area and overlapping with the first electrode of the second light-emitting diode and the second opening of the bank layer (Fig. 9B),
wherein the at least one line comprises at least one of a driving power line (¶¶ [0195]-[0196] teaches that 53c transmits voltage signal Vdd, and is therefore capable of transmitting at least a driving power signal), a data connection line, or a data line, and
wherein the conductive pattern layer is located at a same layer as that of the at least one line (Figs. 9B & 11A, 53b and 53c are both at layer 63).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach a material of their planarization layer 63.
However, He is a pertinent art that teaches that an organic material can be used for a planarization layer (see Fig. 8, 18, ¶¶ [0103] & [0187]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s planarization layer to be an organic material according to the teaching of He (¶ [0187]) in order to reduce manufacturing costs. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Wang modified by He teaches a lower organic insulating layer (Wang Fig. 11A, 62, ¶ [0167] teaches a lower planarization layer made of an insulating material. He Fig. 8, 17, ¶ [0187] teaches that an organic material can be used for a lower planarization layer) under the organic insulating layer (Wang Fig. 11A, 63, ¶ [0167] teaches a planarization layer made of an insulating material. He ¶ [0187] teaches that an organic material can be used for a planarization layer),
wherein the conductive pattern layer (Wang Fig. 9B, 53B, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) and the at least one line (Wang Fig. 11A, 53c, ¶ [0191]) are located between the lower organic insulating layer and the organic insulating layer (Wang Figs. 9B & 11A, 53b and 53c are both between layers 62 and 63).
Regarding claim 3, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Wang teaches a second sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 7, 72, ¶ [0134]) at a third display area (Figs. 6 & 7, C, ¶ [0099]) between the first display area (Figs. 6 & 11A, AA1 outside of area C, ¶ [0133]) and the second display area (Figs. 6 & 9B, AA2, ¶ [0101]), and electrically connected to the second light-emitting diode (¶ [0134]); and
a conductive bus line (Figs. 7 & 9B, 5d, ¶ [0139]) extending towards the second display area at the third display area to electrically connect the second sub-pixel circuit (¶ [0139]) to the second light-emitting diode (Fig. 9B, 3 in AA2, ¶ [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Wang modified by He teaches that the organic insulating layer (Wang Fig. 11A, 62, ¶ [0167] teaches a lower planarization layer made of an insulating material. He Fig. 8, 17, ¶ [0187] teaches that an organic material can be used for a lower planarization layer) has a first via contact hole (Wang Fig. 11A, space occupied by 53a, 52a, and 51a, ¶ [0192]) for electrically connecting the first sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 11A, 7, ¶ [0078]) to the first electrode (Fig. 11A, 311, ¶ [0080]) of the first light-emitting diode (Fig. 11A, 3, ¶ [0079]), and a second via contact hole (Fig. 9B, area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) for electrically connecting the conductive pattern layer (Fig. 9B, 53b, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) to the first electrode (Fig. 9B, 312, ¶ [0136]) of the second light-emitting diode, and wherein each of the first via contact hole (Fig. 11A, opening in pixel defining layer 34 corresponds to the area of anode 311 (see ¶ [0080]). In Fig. 10, 5a, which includes 53a, 52a, and 51a (see ¶ [0192]) overlap a portion of space not overlapping anode 311. Therefore, the space occupied by 53a, 52a, and 51a at least partially overlaps the pixel defining layer 34) and the second via contact hole (Fig. 9B, area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) overlaps with the bank layer (Fig. 9B, at least a portion of the area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d overlaps with pixel defining layer 34).
Regarding claim 13, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 12, and Wang teaches that an angle between a first virtual line (Fig. 11A, a line can vertically extend from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 directly downwards and overlapping with at least a portion of the area occupied by 53a, 52a, and 51a) extending from a center of the first opening of the bank layer towards the first via contact hole and a virtual reference line (Fig. 11A, another line can horizontally extend at a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34) passing the center of the first opening in a first direction (Fig. 11A, at least a portion of the area occupied by 53a, 52a, and 51a vertically overlaps a horizontal center of the opening in 34. Therefore, it would be obvious that there would be a 90 degree angle between a vertical line vertically extending from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 and a horizontal line passing through a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34) is the same as an angle between a second virtual line (Fig. 9B, a line can vertically extend from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 directly downwards and overlapping with at least a portion of the area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d) extending from a center of the second opening of the bank layer towards the second via contact hole and a virtual reference line (Fig. 9B, another line can horizontally extend at a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34) passing the center of the second opening in the first direction (Fig. 9B, at least a portion of the area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d vertically overlaps a horizontal center of the opening in 34. Therefore, it would be obvious that there would be a 90 degree angle between a vertical line vertically extending from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 and a horizontal line passing through a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34).
Regarding independent claim 14, Wang teaches an electronic apparatus (¶ [0028]) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 6) comprising:
a first display area (Figs. 6 & 11A, AA1 outside of area C, ¶ [0133]); and
a second display area (Figs. 6 & 9B, AA2, ¶ [0101]) at least partially surrounded by the first display area, and comprising a transmission area (¶ [0133] teaches that AA2 is a transparent area with high light transmittance); and
a component (¶ [0141] teaches a camera under display region AA2) under the display panel, and corresponding to the second display area,
wherein the display panel comprises:
a first sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 11A, 7, ¶ [0078]) at the first display area, and comprising:
a first transistor (Fig. 11A, T, ¶ [0079]) comprising a first semiconductor layer (Fig. 11A, T1, ¶ [0079]) and a first gate electrode (Fig. 11A, T4, ¶ [0079]);
a storage capacitor (Fig. 11A, C1 + C2, ¶ [0079]); and
a second transistor (¶ [0078] teaches that each of Wang’s subpixels includes a pixel circuit 7 that each include a plurality of thin film transistors T) comprising a second semiconductor layer and a second gate electrode (It would be obvious that the rest of Wang’s thin film transistors T in the pixel circuit for the subpixel pictured in Fig. 11A would have an active layer and gate electrode in a same or similar manner as the thin film transistor T pictured in Fig. 11A. Also see ¶¶ [0085]-[0086]);
an insulating layer (Fig. 11A, 63, ¶ [0167] teaches a planarization layer made of an insulating material) above the first transistor and the second transistor (The plurality of Wang’s thin film transistors T would be on a same layer, see ¶¶ [0085]-[0086]);
a first light-emitting diode (Fig. 11A, 3, ¶ [0079]) at the first display area, and electrically connected to the first sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 11A), the first light-emitting diode comprising a first electrode (Fig. 11A, 311, ¶ [0080]) on the insulating layer;
a second light-emitting diode (Fig. 9B, 3 in AA2, ¶ [0079]) at the second display area, and comprising a first electrode (Fig. 9B, 312, ¶ [0136]) on the insulating layer;
a bank layer (Fig. 11A, 34, ¶ [0080]) having a first opening (Fig. 11A, opening in 34 overlapping with 311) overlapping with the first electrode of the first light-emitting diode, and a second opening (Fig. 9B, opening in 34 overlapping with 312) overlapping with the first electrode of the second light-emitting diode;
at least one line (Fig. 11A, 53c, ¶ [0191]) overlapping with the first electrode of the first light-emitting diode and the first opening of the bank layer (Fig. 11A); and
a conductive pattern layer (Fig. 9B, 53B, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) at the second display area, and overlapping with the first electrode of the second light-emitting diode and the second opening of the bank layer (Fig. 9B),
wherein the at least one line comprises at least one of a driving power line (¶¶ [0195]-[0196] teaches that 53c transmits voltage signal Vdd, and is therefore capable of transmitting at least a driving power signal), a data connection line, or a data line, and
wherein the conductive pattern layer is located at a same layer as that of the at least one line (Figs. 9B & 11A, 53b and 53c are both at layer 63).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach a material of their planarization layer 63.
However, He is a pertinent art that teaches that an organic material can be used for a planarization layer (see Fig. 8, 18, ¶¶ [0103] & [0187]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s planarization layer to be an organic material according to the teaching of He (¶ [0187]) in order to reduce manufacturing costs. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 15, Wang modified by He teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, and Wang teaches that the component (¶ [0141] teaches a camera under display region AA2) comprises a camera or a sensor.
Regarding claim 16, Wang modified by He teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, and Wang teaches a lower organic insulating layer (Wang Fig. 11A, 62, ¶ [0167] teaches a lower planarization layer made of an insulating material. He Fig. 8, 17, ¶ [0187] teaches that an organic material can be used for a lower planarization layer) under the organic insulating layer (Wang Fig. 11A, 63, ¶ [0167] teaches a planarization layer made of an insulating material. He ¶ [0187] teaches that an organic material can be used for a planarization layer),
wherein the conductive pattern layer (Wang Fig. 9B, 53B, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) and the at least one line (Wang Fig. 11A, 53c, ¶ [0191]) are located between the lower organic insulating layer and the organic insulating layer (Wang Figs. 9B & 11A, 53b and 53c are both between layers 62 and 63).
Regarding claim 17, Wang modified by He teaches that the electronic apparatus of claim 14, and Wang teaches a second sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 7, 72, ¶ [0134]) at a third display area (Figs. 6 & 7, C, ¶ [0099]) between the first display area (Figs. 6 & 11A, AA1 outside of area C, ¶ [0133]) and the second display area (Figs. 6 & 9B, AA2, ¶ [0101]), and electrically connected to the second light-emitting diode (¶ [0134]); and
a conductive bus line (Figs. 7 & 9B, 5d, ¶ [0139]) extending towards the second display area at the third display area to electrically connect the second sub-pixel circuit (¶ [0139]) to the second light-emitting diode (Fig. 9B, 3 in AA2, ¶ [0079]).
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0407217) in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0151543) and further in view of WU et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0095593).
Regarding claim 4, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 3. However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that the conductive bus line is located at a same layer as that of any one of the first gate electrode, an electrode of the storage capacitor, or the second gate electrode.
However, it is known in the art that adjusting a position of a capacitor electrode to be closer to can affect the a sub-pixel opening can reduce color cast (as an example, see ¶ [0232] of prior art Wu). Therefore, it would have been obvious to move the position of one of Wang’s capacitor electrodes to be on a same layer as Wang’s wire 5d in order to move the capacitor electrode closer to Wang’s sub-pixel opening and thus reduce color cast. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the position of a capacitor electrode, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 18, Wang modified by He teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 17. However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that the conductive bus line is located at a same layer as that of any one of the first gate electrode, an electrode of the storage capacitor, or the second gate electrode.
However, it is known in the art that adjusting a position of a capacitor electrode to be closer to can affect the a sub-pixel opening can reduce color cast (as an example, see ¶ [0232] of prior art Wu). Therefore, it would have been obvious to move the position of one of Wang’s capacitor electrodes to be on a same layer as Wang’s wire 5d in order to move the capacitor electrode closer to Wang’s sub-pixel opening and thus reduce color cast. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the position of a capacitor electrode, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 5, 6, 9, 19, 20, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0407217) in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0151543) and further in view of GU et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0260454).
Regarding claim 5, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 1.
However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that the conductive pattern layer comprises a plurality of conductive lines overlapping with the second opening of the bank layer, and wherein an extension direction of each of the plurality of conductive lines is the same as an extension direction of the at least one line overlapping with the first opening of the bank layer.
However, Gu is a pertinent art that teaches that the conductive pattern layer (Figs.10-11, 6 in region Q11, ¶ [0075]) comprises a plurality of conductive lines (Figs. 10-11, multiple connection lines 6 overlap with Gu’s light emitting device 2 in the region Q11) overlapping with the second opening of the bank layer (Gu’s connection line 6 is overlapping with and connected to their anode 21 (see Gu Fig. 10, 21, ¶¶ [0177]-[0178]), Wang’s first electrode corresponds to an area of an opening in their pixel defining layer 34 (see Wang ¶ [0080]). Therefore, Wang modified by Gu’s connection lines would overlap with the opening in Wan’s pixel defining layer), and wherein an extension direction of each of the plurality of conductive lines is the same as an extension direction of the at least one line (Figs. 7 & 10, connection lines 6 in region Q121) overlapping with the first opening of the bank layer (It would be obvious that Wang modified by Gu’s connection line and Wang’s layer 53c would both extend vertically through Wang’s planarization layer 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s conductive layers to comprise a plurality of connection lines according to the teaching of Gu (Figs. 10-11) in order to improve brightness uniformity (Gu ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang modified by He modified by Gu teaches the display panel of claim 5, and Gu teaches that the at least one line (Fig. 7, 6 in Q121, ¶ [0075]) comprises a plurality of data lines (Fig. 7, middle two connection lines 6 overlapping anode 21 in region Q121, ¶ [0131]), and a data connection line (Fig. 7, outer two connection lines 6 overlapping anode 21 in region Q121, the Examiner notes that Gu’s connection lines 6 are capable of transmitting current and would therefore be capable of functioning as data or data connection lines), and wherein a first distance between two adjacent conductive lines selected from among the plurality of conductive lines (Figs. 10-11, multiple connection lines 6 overlap with Gu’s light emitting device 2 in the region Q11) is the same as a second distance between two adjacent lines selected from among the plurality of data lines and the data connection line (Figs. 7-11, spacing between connection lines 6 in region Q121 and region Q11 are the same).
Regarding claim 9, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 1.
However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that a shape in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer is the same as a shape in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with a portion of the at least one line.
However, Gu is a pertinent art that teaches that a shape in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer (Figs.10-11, 6 in region Q11, ¶ [0075]) is the same as a shape (Figs. 7 & 10, 6, ¶ [0074], the shape of connection lines 6 overlapping the anodes 21 in region Q121 and region Q11 are the same. Wang’s first electrode corresponds to an area of an opening in their pixel defining layer 34 (see Wang ¶ [0080]). Therefore, Wang modified by Gu’s connection lines would overlap with the opening in Wan’s pixel defining layer) in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with a portion of the at least one line (Figs. 7 & 10, connection lines 6 in region Q121) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s conductive layers to have a same shape of overlap according to the teaching of Gu (Figs. 7 & 10-11) in order to simplify manufacturing.
Regarding claim 19, Wang modified by He teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14.
However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that the conductive pattern layer comprises a plurality of conductive lines overlapping with the second opening of the bank layer, and wherein an extension direction of each of the plurality of conductive lines is the same as an extension direction of the at least one line overlapping with the first opening of the bank layer.
However, Gu is a pertinent art that teaches that the conductive pattern layer (Figs.10-11, 6 in region Q11, ¶ [0075]) comprises a plurality of conductive lines (Figs. 10-11, multiple connection lines 6 overlap with Gu’s light emitting device 2 in the region Q11) overlapping with the second opening of the bank layer (Gu’s connection line 6 is overlapping with and connected to their anode 21 (see Gu Fig. 10, 21, ¶¶ [0177]-[0178]), Wang’s first electrode corresponds to an area of an opening in their pixel defining layer 34 (see Wang ¶ [0080]). Therefore, Wang modified by Gu’s connection lines would overlap with the opening in Wan’s pixel defining layer), and wherein an extension direction of each of the plurality of conductive lines is the same as an extension direction of the at least one line (Figs. 7 & 10, connection lines 6 in region Q121) overlapping with the first opening of the bank layer (It would be obvious that Wang modified by Gu’s connection line and Wang’s layer 53c would both extend vertically through Wang’s planarization layer 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s conductive layers to comprise a plurality of connection lines according to the teaching of Gu (Figs. 10-11) in order to improve brightness uniformity (Gu ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang modified by He modified by Gu teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 19, and Gu teaches that the at least one line (Fig. 7, 6 in Q121, ¶ [0075]) of the display panel comprises a plurality of data lines (Fig. 7, middle two connection lines 6 overlapping anode 21 in region Q121, ¶ [0131]), and a data connection line (Fig. 7, outer two connection lines 6 overlapping anode 21 in region Q121, the Examiner notes that Gu’s connection lines 6 are capable of transmitting current and would therefore be capable of functioning as data or data connection lines), and wherein a first distance between two adjacent conductive lines selected from among the plurality of conductive lines (Figs. 10-11, multiple connection lines 6 overlap with Gu’s light emitting device 2 in the region Q11) is the same as a second distance between two adjacent lines selected from among the plurality of data lines and the data connection line (Figs. 7-11, spacing between connection lines 6 in region Q121 and region Q11 are the same).
Regarding claim 23, Wang modified by He teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14.
However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that a shape in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer is the same as a shape in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with a portion of the at least one line.
However, Gu is a pertinent art that teaches that a shape in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer (Figs.10-11, 6 in region Q11, ¶ [0075]) is the same as a shape (Figs. 7 & 10, 6, ¶ [0074], the shape of connection lines 6 overlapping the anodes 21 in region Q121 and region Q11 are the same. Wang’s first electrode corresponds to an area of an opening in their pixel defining layer 34 (see Wang ¶ [0080]). Therefore, Wang modified by Gu’s connection lines would overlap with the opening in Wan’s pixel defining layer) in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with a portion of the at least one line (Figs. 7 & 10, connection lines 6 in region Q121) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang’s conductive layers to have a same shape of overlap according to the teaching of Gu (Figs. 7 & 10-11) in order to simplify manufacturing.
Regarding claim 26, Wang modified by He teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, and Wang modified by He teaches that the organic insulating layer (Wang Fig. 11A, 62, ¶ [0167] teaches a lower planarization layer made of an insulating material. He Fig. 8, 17, ¶ [0187] teaches that an organic material can be used for a lower planarization layer) has a first via contact hole (Wang Fig. 11A, space occupied by 53a, 52a, and 51a, ¶ [0192]) for electrically connecting the first sub-pixel circuit (Fig. 11A, 7, ¶ [0078]) to the first electrode (Fig. 11A, 311, ¶ [0080]) of the first light-emitting diode (Fig. 11A, 3, ¶ [0079]), and a second via contact hole (Fig. 9B, area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) for electrically connecting the conductive pattern layer (Fig. 9B, 53b, ¶¶ [0139] & [0159]) to the first electrode (Fig. 9B, 312, ¶ [0136]) of the second light-emitting diode, and wherein an angle between a first virtual line (Fig. 11A, a line can vertically extend from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 directly downwards and overlapping with at least a portion of the area occupied by 53a, 52a, and 51a) extending from a center of the first opening of the bank layer towards the first via contact hole and a virtual reference line Fig. 11A, another line can horizontally extend at a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34) passing the center of the first opening in a first direction (Fig. 11A, at least a portion of the area occupied by 53a, 52a, and 51a vertically overlaps a horizontal center of the opening in 34. Therefore, it would be obvious that there would be a 90 degree angle between a vertical line vertically extending from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 and a horizontal line passing through a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34) is the same as an angle between a second virtual line (Fig. 9B, a line can vertically extend from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 directly downwards and overlapping with at least a portion of the area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d) extending from a center of the second opening of the bank layer towards the second via contact hole and a virtual reference line (Fig. 9B, another line can horizontally extend at a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34) passing the center of the second opening in the first direction (Fig. 9B, at least a portion of the area occupied by 53b, 52b, 51b, and 51d vertically overlaps a horizontal center of the opening in 34. Therefore, it would be obvious that there would be a 90 degree angle between a vertical line vertically extending from a horizontal center of the opening in 34 and a horizontal line passing through a height corresponding to a vertical center of the opening in 34).
Claim 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0407217) in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0151543) and further in view of LI et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0324352).
Regarding claim 8, Wang modified by He teaches the display panel of claim 1
and Wang teaches the at least one line comprises a plurality of driving power lines (Figs. 9B & 11A, left and right 53c, ¶¶ [0195]-[0196] teaches that 53c transmits voltage signal Vdd, and is therefore capable of transmitting at least a driving power signal).
However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that the at least one line comprises a connection portion of a plurality of driving power lines that are physically connected to each other, and wherein a shape or an area in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer is the same as a shape or an area in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with the connection portion of the plurality of driving power lines.
However, Li is a pertinent art that teaches that the at least one line (Fig. 4, VDD, ¶ [0215] ) comprises a connection portion (Fig. 4, center portion of VDD) of a plurality of driving power lines (Fig. 4, left and right Vdd) that are physically connected to each other, and wherein a shape or an area in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer is the same as a shape or an area in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with the connection portion of the plurality of driving power lines (Fig. 3, Li’s electrode portion B overlaps with central portion of VDD. Wang’s first electrode corresponds to an area of an opening in their pixel defining layer 34 (see Wang ¶ [0080]). Therefore, Wang modified by Li’s lines would overlap with the opening in Wan’s pixel defining layer. When modifying Wang’s pixels according to the teaching of Li, it would be obvious to have an overlapping shape of Wang’s anode and Wang’s modified lines 53c be a same overlapping shape as Wang’s 53a in order to reduce manufacturing costs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang modified by He’s lines according to the teaching of Li (Fig. 4) in order to improve flickering (Li ¶ [0216]).
Regarding claim 22, Wang modified by He teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, and Wang teaches the at least one line comprises a plurality of driving power lines (Figs. 9B & 11A, left and right 53c, ¶¶ [0195]-[0196] teaches that 53c transmits voltage signal Vdd, and is therefore capable of transmitting at least a driving power signal).
However, Wang modified by He does not explicitly teach that the at least one line comprises a connection portion of a plurality of driving power lines that are physically connected to each other, and wherein a shape or an area in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer is the same as a shape or an area in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with the connection portion of the plurality of driving power lines.
However, Li is a pertinent art that teaches that the at least one line (Fig. 4, VDD, ¶ [0215] ) comprises a connection portion (Fig. 4, center portion of VDD) of a plurality of driving power lines (Fig. 4, left and right Vdd) that are physically connected to each other, and wherein a shape or an area in which the second opening of the bank layer overlaps with the conductive pattern layer is the same as a shape or an area in which the first opening of the bank layer overlaps with the connection portion of the plurality of driving power lines (Fig. 3, Li’s electrode portion B overlaps with central portion of VDD. Wang’s first electrode corresponds to an area of an opening in their pixel defining layer 34 (see Wang ¶ [0080]). Therefore, Wang modified by Li’s lines would overlap with the opening in Wan’s pixel defining layer. When modifying Wang’s pixels according to the teaching of Li, it would be obvious to have an overlapping shape of Wang’s anode and Wang’s modified lines 53c be a same overlapping shape as Wang’s 53a in order to reduce manufacturing costs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang modified by He’s lines according to the teaching of Li (Fig. 4) in order to improve flickering (Li ¶ [0216]).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 7 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (claims 5 and 19 respectively), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art known to the Examiner is listed on the PTO 892 forms of record.
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 21, the cited prior art does teach the display panel of claim 5 and the electronic apparatus of claim 19 (see Regarding claim 5 and Regarding claim 19 above). However, the cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia, the step of: “the plurality of conductive lines are integrally connected to a connection conductive line crossing the plurality of conductive lines”.
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2023/0165110 by Yu et al discloses a display device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2023/0045264 by Wang et al discloses a display device.
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813