DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims status: amended claims: 1, 3, 8, 10; canceled claims: 6 & 13; the rest is unchanged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior arts rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new secondary reference is currently being used in the present rejection.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “first scan unit” recited in L2 of claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for scan). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a processor, a memory, etc. as described in para. [0078]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a processor, a memory, etc. or its equivalent.
The limitation “second scan unit” recited in L8 of claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for scan). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a processor, a memory, etc. as described in para. [0078]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a processor, a memory, etc. or its equivalent.
The limitation “extraction unit” recited in L2 of claim 12 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for extraction). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a processor, a memory, etc. as described in para. [0078]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a processor, a memory, etc. or its equivalent.
The limitation “segmentation unit” recited in L8 of claim 8 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for segmentation). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a processor, a memory, etc. as described in para. [0078]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a processor, a memory, etc. or its equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Fan et al. disclose: A computed tomography imaging method, comprising: performing a three-dimensional scan of an examined site to obtain a three-dimensional scan image of the examined site and attenuation information of the examined site, wherein the three-dimensional scan image is used to position a scan range (para. [0049]-[0050], [0065]), calculating a tube current profile of an X-ray radiation dose of the examined site according to the three-dimensional organ picture and attenuation information corresponding to the three-dimensional organ picture (para. [0048]-[0049]); and performing a main scan of the examined site while modulating the tube current according to the calculated tube current profile to obtain a main scan image (para. [0048]-[0049]).
Fan et al. are silent about: performing organ segmentation on the three-dimensional scan image to generate a three- dimensional organ picture of a target organ, the organ picture registered with the attenuation information.
In a similar field of endeavor Braunagel et al. disclose: performing organ segmentation on the three-dimensional scan image to generate a three- dimensional organ picture of a target organ, the organ picture registered with the attenuation information (para. [0038]), [0057], [0059]) motivated by the benefits for an improved technique for providing diagnostic information based on 3D X-ray imaging data (Braunagel et al. para. [0006]).
In light of the benefits for an improved technique for providing diagnostic information based on 3D X-ray imaging data as taught by Braunagel et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al. with the teachings of Braunagel et al.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) and further in view of Rackow et al. (US 2015/0164440 A1; pub. Jun. 18, 2015).
Regarding claim 2, the combined references are silent about: the X-ray radiation dose used for the three- dimensional scan is within 4% of the X-ray radiation dose used for the main scan.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rackow et al. disclose: modulating the subsequent CT scan dose (para. [0075]) motivated by the benefits for preventing overexposure.
In light of the benefits for preventing overexposure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al. and Braunagel et al. with the teachings of Rackow et al.
Rackow et al. are silent about: the X-ray radiation dose used for the three- dimensional scan is within 4% of the X-ray radiation dose used for the main scan. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, Fan et al., Braunagel et al. and Rackow et al. disclose: the X-ray radiation dose used for the three-dimensional scan is approximately 1% of the X-ray radiation dose used for the main scan (the claim is rejected on the basis as claim 2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0081601 A1; pub. Mar. 16, 2023).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references are silent about: the pitch factor of a pitch used for the three- dimensional scan is greater than 1.0.
In a similar field of endeavor Wang et al. disclose: the pitch factor of a pitch used for the three- dimensional scan is 0.99 (para. [0086]) motivated by the benefits for applying appropriate dose on the ROI (Wang et al. para. [0059]).
In light of the benefits for applying appropriate dose on the ROI as taught by Wang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al. and Braunagel et al. with the teachings of Wang et al.
Wang et al. are silent about: the pitch factor of a pitch used for the three- dimensional scan is greater than 1.0. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) and further in view of Thibault et al. (US 2021/0045706 A1; pub. Feb. 18, 2021).
Regarding claim 5, the combined references are silent about: extracting attenuation information for all angles in the scan range from raw scan data and the three-dimensional scan image obtained by carrying out the three-dimensional scan of the examined site.
In a similar field of endeavor Thibault et al. disclose: extracting attenuation information for all angles in the scan range from raw scan data and the three-dimensional scan image obtained by carrying out the three-dimensional scan of the examined site (para. [0032], [0085]) motivated by the benefits for improved diagnostic scan (Thibault et al. para. [0060]).
In light of the benefits for improved diagnostic scan as taught by Thibault et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al. and Braunagel et al. with the teachings of Thibault et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) and further in view of Klinder et al. (US 2016/0310090 A1; pub. Oct. 27, 2016).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references are silent about: the three-dimensional scan is a spiral scan.
In a similar field of endeavor Klinder et al. disclose: the three-dimensional scan is a spiral scan (para. [0037]) motivated by the benefits for image quality at which the image data can be used for diagnostic purposes (Klinder et al. para. [0037]).
In light of the benefits for image quality at which the image data can be used for diagnostic purposes as taught by Klinder et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al. and Braunagel et al. with the teachings of Klinder et al.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) and further in view of Jianying (US 2009/0168950 A1; pub. Jul. 2, 2009).
Regarding claim 8, Fan et al. disclose: A computed tomography imaging apparatus, comprising: a first scan unit that performs a three-dimensional scan of an examined site to obtain a three-dimensional scan image of the examined site and attenuation information of the examined site, the three-dimensional scan image being used to position a scan range (para. [0049]-[0050], [0065]); the organ picture registered with the attenuation information an automatic exposure control unit that calculates a tube current profile of an X-ray radiation dose of the examined site according to a three-dimensional organ picture and the attenuation information corresponding to the three-dimensional organ picture (para. [0049]-[0050]).
Fan et al. are silent about: a segmentation unit that performs organ segmentation on the three-dimensional scan image to generate a three-dimensional organ picture, and a second scan unit that performs a main scan of the examined site while modulating the tube current according to the calculated tube current profile to obtain a main scan image.
In a similar field of endeavor Braunagel et al. disclose: a segmentation unit that performs organ segmentation on the three-dimensional scan image to generate a three-dimensional organ picture (para. [0038]), [0057], [0059]) motivated by the benefits for an improved technique for providing diagnostic information based on 3D X-ray imaging data (Braunagel et al. para. [0006]).
In light of the benefits for an improved technique for providing diagnostic information based on 3D X-ray imaging data as taught by Braunagel et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al. with the teachings of Braunagel et al.
Braunagel et al. are silent about: a second scan unit that performs a main scan of the examined site while modulating the tube current according to the calculated tube current profile to obtain a main scan image.
In a similar field of endeavor Jianying discloses: a second scan unit that performs a main scan of the examined site while modulating the tube current according to the calculated tube current profile to obtain a main scan image (para. [0073]) motivated for stabilizing the quality of each image and performing diagnosing interpretation of X rays easily and accurately (Jianying para. [0069]).
In light of the benefits for stabilizing the quality of each image and performing diagnosing interpretation of X rays easily and accurately as taught by Jianying, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fan et al. and Braunagel et al. with the teachings of Jianying.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) in view of Jianying (US 2009/0168950 A1; pub. Jul. 2, 2009) and further in view of Jianying (US 2009/0168950 A1; pub. Jul. 2, 2009).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references are silent about: the X-ray radiation dose used for the three- dimensional scan is within 4% of the X-ray radiation dose used for the main scan.
In a similar field of endeavor Rackow et al. disclose: modulating the subsequent CT scan dose (para. [0075]) motivated by the benefits for preventing overexposure.
In light of the benefits for preventing overexposure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al., Braunagel et al. and Jianying with the teachings of Rackow et al.
Rackow et al. are silent about: the X-ray radiation dose used for the three- dimensional scan is within 4% of the X-ray radiation dose used for the main scan. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Fan et al., Braunagel et al., Jianying and Rackow et al. disclose: the difference between the X-ray radiation dose used for the three-dimensional scan and 1% of the X-ray radiation dose used for the main scan is within a predetermined range (the claim is rejected on the basis as claim 9).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) in view of Jianying (US 2009/0168950 A1; pub. Jul. 2, 2009) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0081601 A1; pub. Mar. 16, 2023).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references are silent about: the pitch factor of a pitch used for the three- dimensional scan is greater than 1.0.
In a similar field of endeavor Wang et al. disclose: the pitch factor of a pitch used for the three- dimensional scan is 0.99 (para. [0086]) motivated by the benefits for applying appropriate dose on the ROI (Wang et al. para. [0059]).
In light of the benefits for applying appropriate dose on the ROI as taught by Wang et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al., Braunagel et al. and Jianying with the teachings of Wang et al.
Wang et al. are silent about: the pitch factor of a pitch used for the three- dimensional scan is greater than 1.0. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) in view of Jianying (US 2009/0168950 A1; pub. Jul. 2, 2009) and further in view of Thibault et al. (US 2021/0045706 A1; pub. Feb. 18, 2021).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references are silent about: an extraction unit that extracts the attenuation information for all angles in the scan range from raw scan data and the three-dimensional scout scan image obtained by carrying out the three-dimensional scan of the examined site.
In a similar field of endeavor Thibault et al. disclose: an extraction unit that extracts the attenuation information for all angles in the scan range from raw scan data and the three-dimensional scout scan image obtained by carrying out the three-dimensional scan of the examined site motivated by the benefits for improved diagnostic scan (Thibault et al. para. [0060]).
In light of the benefits for improved diagnostic scan as taught by Thibault et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al., Braunagel et al. and Jianying with the teachings of Thibault et a
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Fan et al. (US 2019/0142357 A1; pub. May 16, 2019) in view of Braunagel et al. (US 2024/0354954 A1; pub. Oct.24, 2024) in view of Jianying (US 2009/0168950 A1; pub. Jul. 2, 2009) and further in view of Klinder et al. (US 2016/0310090 A1; pub. Oct. 27, 2016).
Regarding claim 14, the combined references are silent about: the three-dimensional scan is a spiral scan.
In a similar field of endeavor Klinder et al. disclose: the three-dimensional scan is a spiral scan (para. [0037]) motivated by the benefits for image quality at which the image data can be used for diagnostic purposes (Klinder et al. para. [0037]).
In light of the benefits for image quality at which the image data can be used for diagnostic purposes as taught by Klinder et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fan et al., Braunagel et al. and Jianying with the teachings of Klinder et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884