DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species B in the reply filed on January 04, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-11 and 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 04, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the display terminal and terminal body of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, this claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
The limitation in lines 3-5 referring to the interlayer insulating layers can present confusion. The disposition of the interlayer insulating layers between electrodes can be read as a stack of insulating layers between a first and second auxiliary electrode and another stack of insulating layers between a second and third auxiliary electrode. This would increase the overall thickness as there would be two stacks of interlayer insulating layers. The disposition of the interlayer insulating layers between electrodes can also be read as a stack of insulating layers alternating between a first and second auxiliary electrode and between a second and third auxiliary electrode. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret this to mean “whereina first layer of the interlayer insulating layers is disposed between the first auxiliary electrode and the second auxiliary electrode, and a second layer of the interlayer insulating layers is disposed between the second auxiliary electrode and the third auxiliary electrode.”
Claims 2-4 are also rejected as they are dependent on claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, similar to claim 1, this claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
The limitation in lines 5-7 referring to the interlayer insulating layers can present confusion. The disposition of the interlayer insulating layers between electrodes can be read as a stack of insulating layers between a first and second auxiliary electrode and another stack of insulating layers between a second and third auxiliary electrode. This would increase the overall thickness as there would be two stacks of interlayer insulating layers. The disposition of the interlayer insulating layers between electrodes can also be read as a stack of insulating layers alternating between a first and second auxiliary electrode and between a second and third auxiliary electrode. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret this to mean “whereina first layer of the interlayer insulating layers is disposed between the first auxiliary electrode and the second auxiliary electrode, and a second layer of the interlayer insulating layers is disposed between the second auxiliary electrode and the third auxiliary electrode.”
Claims 13-15 are also rejected as they are dependent on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baek et. al. (KR 20180013226 A), hereinafter Baek.
Regarding claim 1, Baek teaches an organic light emitting diode (OLED) display panel (Fig 1 not labeled organic light emitting diode display device, [0007] of translation), comprising: an array substrate (Fig 3 substrate 101, [0019] of translation) comprising a first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation), a second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation), a third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation), and interlayer insulating layers (Fig 3 buffer film 104 and interlayer insulating film 116, [0038] of translation); wherein the interlayer insulating layers (Fig 3 buffer film 104, [0038] of translation) are disposed between the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) and the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation), and between (Fig 3 interlayer insulating film 116, [0038] of translation) the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation); the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) is disposed on the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation), and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is disposed on the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation); and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is connected to the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) and the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation); a protective layer (Fig 3 protective film 118 and planarization layer 126, [0028] of translation) disposed on the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) and is provided with a undercut opening (Fig 3 undercut UC, [0028] of translation), wherein the undercut opening (Fig 3 undercut UC, [0028] of translation) is configured to expose a portion ([0029] of translation) of the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation); an anode (Fig 3 anode electrode 132, [0023] of translation) disposed on the protective layer (Fig 3 protective film 118 and planarization layer 126, [0028] of translation); a light emitting functional layer (Fig 3 light-emitting layer 134, [0024] of translation) disposed on the anode (Fig 3 anode electrode 132, [0023] of translation); and a cathode (Fig 3 cathode electrode 136, [0025] of translation) disposed on the light emitting functional layer (Fig 3 light-emitting layer 134, [0024] of translation), wherein the cathode (Fig 3 cathode electrode 136, [0025] of translation) extends into ([0029] of translation) the undercut opening (Fig 3 undercut UC, [0028] of translation) and is connected to ([0029] of translation) the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation).
Regarding claim 2, Baek teaches the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is connected to the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) by at least one first conductive hole (See annotated figure; comprising longer and shorter hole); and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is connected to the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) by at least one second conductive hole (See annotated figure; shorter hole, darker shade).
Regarding claim 12, Baek teaches a display terminal (video display devices, [0002] of translation), comprising a terminal body (video display devices would have a body, [0002] of translation) and an organic light emitting diode display panel (Fig 1 not labeled organic light emitting diode display device, [0007] of translation) connected to each other, the organic light emitting diode display panel (Fig 1 not labeled organic light emitting diode display device, [0007] of translation) comprising: an array substrate (Fig 3 substrate 101, [0019] of translation) comprising a first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation), a second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation), a third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation), and interlayer insulating layers (Fig 3 buffer film 104 and interlayer insulating film 116, [0038] of translation); wherein the interlayer insulating layers (Fig 3 buffer film 104 and interlayer insulating film 116, [0038] of translation) are disposed between the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) and the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation), and between the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation); the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) is disposed on the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation), and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is disposed on the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation); and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is connected to the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) and the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation); a protective layer (Fig 3 protective film 118 and planarization layer 126, [0028] of translation) disposed on the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) and is provided with a undercut opening (Fig 3 undercut UC, [0028] of translation), wherein the undercut opening (Fig 3 undercut UC, [0028] of translation) is configured to expose a portion of the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation); an anode (Fig 3 anode electrode 132, [0023] of translation) disposed on the protective layer (Fig 3 protective film 118 and planarization layer 126, [0028] of translation); a light emitting functional layer (Fig 3 light-emitting layer 134, [0024] of translation) disposed on the anode (Fig 3 anode electrode 132, [0023] of translation); and a cathode (Fig 3 cathode electrode 136, [0025] of translation) disposed on the light emitting functional layer (Fig 3 light-emitting layer 134, [0024] of translation), wherein the cathode (Fig 3 cathode electrode 136, [0025] of translation) extends into the undercut opening (Fig 3 undercut UC, [0028] of translation) and is connected to the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation).
Regarding claim 13, Baek teaches the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is connected to the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) by at least one first conductive hole (See annotated figure; comprising longer and shorter hole); and the third auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) is connected to the second auxiliary electrode (Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) by at least one second conductive hole (See annotated figure; shorter hole, darker shade).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et. al. (KR 20180013226 A), hereinafter Baek, in view of Yang et. al. (CN 212725313 U), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 3, Baek fails to teach the third auxiliary electrode is connected to the first auxiliary electrode by two first conductive holes; one of the two first conductive holes is connected to one side of the first auxiliary electrode, and another one of the two first conductive holes is connected to another side of the first auxiliary electrode; and the second auxiliary electrode is disposed between the two first conductive holes.
However, Yang teaches two sub-resistance-reducing devices (Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811 and 812, [n0054] of translation) that are connected in parallel to each other with two connecting lines (Fig 4 connecting lines 813 and 814, [n0054] of translation). Multiple resistance-reducing devices are used to further reduce the resistance of cathode layer ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). The multiple connecting lines are used to ensure connection of the upper sub-resistance-reducing device with the lower sub-resistance-reducing device ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to ensure the reliability of the connection between the different metal layers. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to combine the connecting lines of Yang with the layers of Baek as each element performs the same function as it does separately and the result from the combination of the different structures would have been predictable. Thus, by combining the teachings of Yang with the layers of Baek the structure of the claimed invention would be realized. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
In doing so, the third auxiliary electrode (Yang: Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 812, [n0054] of translation corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) would be connected to the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811, [n0054] of translation corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) by two first conductive holes (See annotated figure; Examiner notes the holes are placed far from each other similar to the teachings of Yang); one of the two first conductive holes (See annotated figure) is connected to one side of (See annotated figure) the first auxiliary electrode (Baek: Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation), and another one of the two first conductive holes (See annotated figure) is connected to another side (See annotated figure) of the first auxiliary electrode (Baek: Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation); and the second auxiliary electrode (Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) is disposed between (See annotated figure) the two first conductive holes (See annotated figure).
Regarding claim 4, Baek fails to teach the third auxiliary electrode is connected to the second auxiliary electrode by two second conductive holes.
However, Yang teaches two sub-resistance-reducing devices (Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811 and 812, [n0054] of translation) that are connected in parallel to each other with two connecting lines (Fig 4 connecting lines 813 and 814, [n0054] of translation). Multiple resistance-reducing devices are used to further reduce the resistance of cathode layer ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). The multiple connecting lines are used to ensure connection of the upper sub-resistance-reducing device with the lower sub-resistance-reducing device ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to ensure the reliability of the connection between the different metal layers. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to combine the connecting lines of Yang with the layers of Baek as each element performs the same function as it does separately and the result from the combination of the different structures would have been predictable. Thus, by combining the teachings of Yang with the layers of Baek the structure of the claimed invention would be realized. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
In doing so, the third auxiliary electrode (Yang: Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 812, [n0054] of translation corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) would be connected to the second auxiliary electrode ((Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811, [n0054] of translation corresponds to corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) by two second conductive holes (See annotated figure).
Regarding claim 14, Baek fails to teach the third auxiliary electrode is connected to the first auxiliary electrode by two first conductive holes; one of the two first conductive holes is connected to one side of the first auxiliary electrode, and another one of the two first conductive holes is connected to another side of the first auxiliary electrode; and the second auxiliary electrode is disposed between the two first conductive holes.
However, Yang teaches two sub-resistance-reducing devices (Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811 and 812, [n0054] of translation) that are connected in parallel to each other with two connecting lines (Fig 4 connecting lines 813 and 814, [n0054] of translation). Multiple resistance-reducing devices are used to further reduce the resistance of cathode layer ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). The multiple connecting lines are used to ensure connection of the upper sub-resistance-reducing device with the lower sub-resistance-reducing device ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to ensure the reliability of the connection between the different metal layers. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to combine the connecting lines of Yang with the layers of Baek as each element performs the same function as it does separately and the result from the combination of the different structures would have been predictable. Thus, by combining the teachings of Yang with the layers of Baek the structure of the claimed invention would be realized. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
In doing so, the third auxiliary electrode (Yang: Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 812, [n0054] of translation corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) would be connected to the first auxiliary electrode (Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811, [n0054] of translation corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation) by two first conductive holes (See annotated figure; Examiner notes the holes are placed far from each other similar to the teachings of Yang); one of the two first conductive holes (See annotated figure) is connected to one side of (See annotated figure) the first auxiliary electrode (Baek: Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation), and another one of the two first conductive holes (See annotated figure) is connected to another side (See annotated figure) of the first auxiliary electrode (Baek: Fig 3 low-potential power line 162, [0033] of translation); and the second auxiliary electrode (Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) is disposed between (See annotated figure) the two first conductive holes (See annotated figure).
Regarding claim 15, Baek fails to teach the third auxiliary electrode is connected to the second auxiliary electrode by two second conductive holes.
However, Yang teaches two sub-resistance-reducing devices (Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811 and 812, [n0054] of translation) that are connected in parallel to each other with two connecting lines (Fig 4 connecting lines 813 and 814, [n0054] of translation). Multiple resistance-reducing devices are used to further reduce the resistance of cathode layer ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). The multiple connecting lines are used to ensure connection of the upper sub-resistance-reducing device with the lower sub-resistance-reducing device ([n0054]-[n0055] of translation). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to ensure the reliability of the connection between the different metal layers. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to combine the connecting lines of Yang with the layers of Baek as each element performs the same function as it does separately and the result from the combination of the different structures would have been predictable. Thus, by combining the teachings of Yang with the layers of Baek the structure of the claimed invention would be realized. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
In doing so, the third auxiliary electrode (Yang: Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 812, [n0054] of translation corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary electrode 166, [0033] of translation) would be connected to the second auxiliary electrode ((Fig 4 sub-resistance-reducing 811, [n0054] of translation corresponds to corresponds to Baek: Fig 3 auxiliary intermediate pattern 164, [0033] of translation) by two second conductive holes (See annotated figure).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (CN 113097412 A) teaches different methods of forming an undercut.
Lee (US 20170155078 A1) teaches different structural layouts with auxiliary electrodes on different insulation layers.
Kim et. al. (US 20220005916 A1) teaches different structural layouts with auxiliary electrodes on different insulation layers.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813