DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) cited within the IDS document(s) submitted on 9/26/2023 have been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: - -DISPLAY DEVICE WITH SUB-ORGANIC FILM IN TRANSMISSION AREA- -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a connection line electrically connecting the circuit element layer and each of the first light emitting diodes; and a sub-organic film covering the connection line in the transmission area.” Parent claim 1 recites “first light emitting diodes disposed in the non-transmission area.”
As seen in Applicant’s Figs. 4 and 5, the first light emitting diodes correspond to LD1 in the non-transmission area. However, as seen in Fig. 4, each connection line CL appears to connect to only one first light emitting diode. This does not appear to satisfy the claimed limitation that “a connection line electrically connecting the circuit element layer and each of the first light emitting diodes.” As seen in Fig. 5, other light emitting diodes LD2 are drawn, but they are not in the non-transmission area and therefore not considered first light emitting diodes.
Specifically, it appears that the drawings depict one connection line for each first light emitting diode, whereas the claims recite that only one connection line connects all the first light emitting diodes to the circuit element layer.
It is unclear if Applicant intended to claim the scope of the claim language as written in claim 5 or as depicted in the Figures.
For the purposes of Examination, claim 5 will be examined as though claim 5 recited a plurality of connection lines, each respectively connecting the circuit element layer and a respective one of the first light emitting diodes; and a sub-organic film covering the connection line in the transmission area.
Claims 6-8 are dependent on claim 5 and contain the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US PGPub 2021/0376279 A1).
As to claim 1, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 1, 2, 7 and 9) a display device comprising: a first area CA including a transmission area TA and a non-transmission area (area of CA that is not TA, associated with Pa) adjacent to the transmission area TA and a second area MDA adjacent to the first area CA; a circuit element layer (layers associated with PC, PC’, including 112, 113, 115, TFT, TFT’) disposed in the second area MDA on a substrate 100a; a light emitting element layer (layers associated with Pa, Pm, including 122a, 122b’, 122c) disposed on the circuit element layer PC, electrically connected to the circuit element layer PC, PC’, and including first light emitting diodes OLED’ disposed in the non-transmission area Pa (Paragraph 98, unit U is repeated in the x and y direction, and therefore there will be a light emitting diode Pa on either side of TA); and an organic layer 117, 119 (Paragraphs 143, 144, 152) disposed on the circuit element layer PC, PC’, adjacent to the light emitting element layer 122, and including an opening (associated with TA) overlapping the transmission area TA in a plan view and between the first light emitting diodes OLED’ (Paragraph 98).
As to claim 2, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that the opening of the organic layer 117, 119 is spaced apart from the first light emitting diodes OLED’ in a plan view.
As to claim 3, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that the organic layer 119 includes: a first organic film 117 disposed between the circuit element layer PC, PC’ and the light emitting element layer Pa, Pm, overlapping the second area MDA and the non-transmission area Pa in a plan view, and including a first opening (associated with TA) overlapping the transmission area TA in a plan view; and a second organic film 119 disposed on the first organic film 117, overlapping the second area MDA and the non-transmission area Pa in a plan view, and including a second opening (associated with TA) overlapping the transmission area TA in a plan view, the first opening and the second opening overlap, in a plan view, and the first opening and the second opening constitute the opening of the organic layer 117, 119.
As to claim 4, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that the first organic film 117 overlaps the first light emitting diodes OLED’ in a plan view, and the second organic film 119 is adjacent to the first light emitting diodes OLED’.
As to claim 9, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that the light emitting element layer Pa, Pa’ further includes second light emitting diodes OLED disposed on the circuit element layer TFT, TFT’ and disposed in the second area MDA.
As to claim 10, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that each of the first light emitting diodes OLED’ includes: a pixel electrode 121’; and a light emitting layer Pa, 122 disposed on the pixel electrode 121’.
As to 11, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that the first organic film 117 is disposed below the pixel electrode 121’ and overlaps the pixel electrode 121’ in a plan view, the second organic film 119 includes a pixel opening exposing a portion of the pixel electrode 121’, and the light emitting layer 122 is disposed in the pixel opening.
As to claim 12, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 1, 2, 7 and 9) a display device comprising: a first area CA including a transmission area TA and a non-transmission area (area of CA that is not TA, associated with Pa) adjacent to the transmission area TA and a second area MDA adjacent to the first area CA; a circuit element layer (layers associated with PC, PC’, including 112, 113, 115, TFT, TFT’) disposed in the non-transmission area Pa on a substrate 100a; a light emitting element layer (layers associated with Pa, Pm, including 122a, 122b’, 122c) disposed on the circuit element layer PC, PC’, electrically connected to the circuit element layer PC, PC’, and including light emitting diodes OLED’ disposed in the non-transmission area Pa (Paragraph 98, unit U is repeated in the x and y direction, and therefore there will be a light emitting diode Pa on either side of TA); and an organic layer 117, 119 (Paragraphs 143, 144, 152) disposed on the circuit element layer PC, PC’, adjacent to the light emitting element layer 122, and including an opening (associated with TA) overlapping the transmission area TA in a plan view and between the light emitting diodes OLED’ (Paragraph 98).
As to claim 13, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that the opening (associated with TA) of the organic layer 117, 119 does not overlap the light emitting diodes OLED’ in a plan view.
As to claim 14, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 7 and 9) that the organic layer includes: a first organic film 117 disposed between the circuit element layer TFT, TFT’ and the light emitting element layer 112, overlapping the second area MDA and the non-transmission area Pa in a plan view, and including a first opening (associated with TA) overlapping the transmission area TA in a plan view; and a second organic film 119 disposed on the first organic film 117, overlapping the second area MDA and the non-transmission area Pa in a plan view, and including a second opening (Associated with TA) overlapping the transmission area TA in a plan view.
As to claim 15, Jeon et al. discloses that the first organic film 117 overlaps the light emitting diodes OLED’ in a plan view, and the second organic film 119 is adjacent to the light emitting diodes OLED’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. in view of Wang et al. (US PGPub 2020/0105844 A1).
As to claim 16, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 1, 2, 7 and 9) a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: forming a circuit element layer (layers associated with PC, PC’, including 112, 113, 115, TFT, TFT’) in a second area MDA on a substrate 100a, the display device including a first area CA including a transmission area TA and a non-transmission area (area of CA that is not TA, associated with Pa) adjacent to the transmission area TA, and the second area MDA having a lower transmittance than a transmittance of the first area (Paragraph 41 TA is specifically for transmission. Furthermore, second area MDA have more material that would block more light); forming an organic layer 117, 119 (Paragraphs 143, 144, 152) on the circuit element layer (layers associated with PC, PC’, including 112, 113, 115, TFT, TFT’); forming a light emitting element layer (layers associated with Pa, Pm, including 122a, 122b’, 122c) including first light emitting diodes OLED’ in the non-transmission area Pa on the circuit element layer PC, PC’ (Paragraph 98, unit U is repeated in the x and y direction, and therefore there will be a light emitting diode Pa on either side of TA); and forming an opening (associated with TA) between the first light emitting diodes OLED’ in the transmission area TA.
Jeon et al. discloses the opening TA between light emitting diodes, but Jeon et al. does not explicitly teach the specific method step of patterning the organic insulating layer to form the opening.
Wang et al. teaches (Fig. 4) patterning the insulating layer 30, 70 to form the transmission area 02, such as by etching, and the like (Paragraphs 44 and 52).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pattern the organic insulating layer of Jeon et al. in the transmission area, as taught by Wang et al., in order to achieve the desired hole in the transmission area since it is taught as suitable by Wang et al. and the selection from among known suitable alternatives for their known purposes is generally within the abilities of one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 17-19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. in view of Wang et al as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kim (US PGPub 2017/0148861 A1).
As to claim 17, Jeon et al. in view of Wang et al. teaches that the forming of the light emitting element layer and the forming of the organic layer includes: forming a first organic film (Jeon et al. 117) on the circuit element layer (Jeon et al. PC, PC’); forming a first opening overlapping the transmission area in the first organic film in a plan view (Wang et al. #H); forming a pixel electrode (Jeon et al. #121’) on the first organic film 117; forming a second organic film 119 on the pixel electrode 121’; forming a second opening (Wang et al. #H) overlapping the transmission area in a plan view in the second organic film 119; and forming a light emitting layer (Jeon et al. #122) in the pixel opening OP2.
Jeon et al. discloses a pixel opening OP2, but does not explicitly state how the pixel opening is formed.
Kim teaches (Fig. 5K) forming second organic insulating material and then patterned to form opening 120a exposing a portion of the pixel electrode 150 (Paragraph 160).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in the absence of an explicit teaching by Jeon et al. in how to make the opening that exposes the pixel electrode, to look to the prior art for suitable method steps to do so and therefore find it obvious to make a layer and then form the opening, as taught by Kim, since it is taught as suitable by Kim and the selection from among known suitable alternatives for their known purposes is generally within the abilities of one having ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 18, Jeon et al. discloses (Figs. 3, 4 and 9) a connection line PL electrically connected (Fig. 4) to the circuit element layer PC’ and the pixel electrode 121’ (part of OLED’).
As to claim 19, Jeon et al. discloses forming a sub-organic film 117b overlapping the connection line PL in a plan view by patterning the first organic film 117 (patterning to form hole overlapping transmission area TA in view of Wang et al.).
As to claim 22, Jeon et al. discloses forming a sub-organic film 119 overlapping the connection line PL in a plan view by patterning the second organic film 119 (patterning to form hole overlapping transmission area TA in view of Wang et al.).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US PGPub 2021/0233474 A1) discloses (Figs. 9 and 10) wiring 130 in the transmission area 1A, covered by organic insulating layer 320.
Yang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0352292 A1) teaches (Figs. 2A and 9A) a transmissive area 1/10 with a connection line 101 connecting the circuit element layer 12 and a respective one of the first light emitting diodes 114, with the connection line covered by sub-organic insulation layer 146 (Paragraph 117).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the 112 rejections were overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, the Jeon et al. teaches (Fig. 9) a plurality of connection lines CM’, each respectively connecting the circuit element layer PC’ and a respective one of the first light emitting diodes OLED’, but the connection line does not have a sub-organic film covering the connection line in the transmission area.
While it is known per se in a device with openings recited in parent claims 1 and 3, as seen in view of Jeon et al., and it is known to have wiring in the transmission area, covered by a sub-organic layer as seen in Lee et al., this wiring is not for connecting the circuit element layer and a respective one of the first light emitting diodes.
While it is known per se to have a transmissive area 1/10 with a connection line 101 connecting the circuit element layer 12 and a respective one of the first light emitting diodes 114 with the connection line covered by sub-organic insulation layer 146 (Paragraph 117) as seen in view of Yang et al., Yang et al. does not have the openings recited in parent claims 1 and 3.
Therefore, while the prior art teaches the openings and the specified connection line covered by the sub-organic layer separately, the prior art does not teach or suggest the combination of these limitations and it would not be obvious to combine these limitations based on the teachings of the cited prior art.
It is contemplated that the openings in the transmission area allow for more transmission as there would be less material to block the transmission. Furthermore, the connection line being covered with a sub-organic film in the transmission area allows for the connection line to connect to light emitting layers on the opposite side of the transmission area while still protecting the connection line.
Claims 6-8 are dependent on claim 5 and contain the same allowable subject matter.
As to claim 20, the prior art does not teach or suggest that the forming of the sub-organic film is performed simultaneously with the forming of the first organic film, and a height of the sub-organic film is less than a height of the first organic film. It is contemplated that forming a sub-organic film in the transmission area on the connection line may serve to protect the connection line, while having a lower height allows less material in the transmission area, potentially leading to higher transmission.
Claim 21 is dependent on claim 20 and contains the same allowable subject matter.
As to claim 23, the prior art does not teach or suggest that the forming of the sub-organic film is performed simultaneously with the forming of the second organic film, and a height of the sub-organic film is smaller than a height of the second organic film. It is contemplated that forming a sub-organic film in the transmission area on the connection line may serve to protect the connection line, while having a lower height allows less material in the transmission area, potentially leading to higher transmission.
Claim 24 is dependent on claim 23 and contains the same allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/S.Y.H/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875