Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 26, 2023 & February 09, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 29, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-45 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-5, 13, 15-17, 19, 25, 36-39, and 45 are amended. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 30, 2025, hereafter referred to as the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been entered and fully considered but they are not persuasive. In light of the amendments, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn. However, upon further reconsideration, new grounds of rejections have been made, and applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
In response to applicant's arguments, please see pages 10-12 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 1, amended independent claim 15, amended independent claims 36-37, and amended independent claim 45, under U.S.C §103, that the prior art references, Duncan (US 2002/0043969), in view of Walker (US10623099), as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually or in combination, each and every limitation of amended independent claims 1, 15, 36-37 & 45, to include the amended claim features of the invention, Claim 1: “electro-optical modules in the form of cards installable in the module slots of the housing of the modular telemetry and control units to be hot-swappable while the unit is operating and to be in communication with the respective processors thereof.”, Claim 15: “receiving, by an electro-optical module card installed in one of the card slots and connected to a backplane bus, an optical or electrical signal from a sensor.”, Claim 36: “the sensor and the analog-to-digital converter [be] disposed on a hot-swappable module card.”, Claim 37: “a modular telemetry and control unit having a processor, associated memory, and card slots; a sensor module installable in at least one of the card slots of the modular telemetry and control unit to be in communication with the processor.”, and Claim 45: “sensor modules implemented as hot-swappable cards installed in modular telemetry and control units” and “receiving, by a sensor module card connected via a backplane bus, a signal from a sensor or device, the sensor module card being in communication with a modular telemetry and control unit.” With respect to the rejection of dependent claims 11-34 & 31-34, under U.S.C. §103, that the prior art references Duncan, in view of Walker, and further in view of Duncan (WO00/23811, hereinafter Duncan’811), or with respect to the rejection of dependent claim 27, under U.S.C. §103, that the prior art references Duncan, in view of Walker, and further in view of non-patent publication, Kanabar, “A review of smart grid standards for protection, control, and monitoring applications,“ 2012 65th Annual Conference for Protective Relay Engineers, College Station, Tx, USA, 2012, pp. 281-289, as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually or in combination, each and every limitation of amended independent claims 1, 15, 36-37 & 45.
A new ground of rejection is made over Zer et al. (US 2017/0363826 A1, hereinafter Zer). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Duncan, in view of Walker, in light of new prior art reference Zer, for amended independent claims 1, 15, 36-37 & 45, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest, individually or in combination, each and every limitation of these claims, to include the amended features of the invention, mentioned in the above paragraph.
Duncan, in view of Walker, and further in view of Zer, in amended independent claims 1, 15, 36-37 & 45, further disclose the additional claim limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claims 1, 15, 36-37 & 45, and dependent claims (original and amended), including dependent claims 2-14, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 1, dependent claims 16-35, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 15, and dependent claims 38-44, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 37, are respectively maintained. Amended independent claims 36 & 45 do not contain dependent claims. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 39, “wherein and the sensor module” in ll. 1-2, should read “wherein the sensor module”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14, 15-35 & 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "electro-optical modules in the form of cards" in line 5, without previous disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the form of cards” limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “electro-optical modules in a form of cards”. Claims 2-13 are rejected by virtue of dependency to independent claim 1, and do not rectify the defect.
Claims 2-14, 16-24 & 26-35 are rejected due to indefiniteness, due to each claim failing to point out claim dependency, each claim reciting a similar phrase in line 1, “They system/method of claim 0,”. The examiner is unable to determine which claim depends from which previous independent or dependent claim. Examiner will consider using the original claim set dated September 26, 2023, and follow claim dependency based on the original set of claims as best understood, taking into account no claims have been withdrawn, restricted, or cancelled, in order to move the prosecution forward and for the purpose of examination.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " in communication with the electro-optical modules installed therein" in line 5, without previous disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the electro-optical modules” limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “electro-optical modules installed therein”. Claims 16-35 are rejected by virtue of dependency to independent claim 15, and do not rectify the defect.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the electro-optical module is in the form of a card”, in ll. 2-3, without previous disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the form of a card” limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “the electro-optical module is in a form of a card”.
Claim 39 recites the limitation “the sensor module is in the form of a card”, in ll. 1-3, without previous disclosure. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the form of a card” limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets this claim limitation as “the sensor module is in a form of a card”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 15-26, 28-30, & 35-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan et al. (US 2002/0043969 A1, Pub. Date Apr. 18, 2003, hereinafter Duncan), in view of Walker et al. (US 10623099 B2, Pat. Date Apr. 14, 2020, hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Zer et al. (US 2017/0363826 A1, Pub. Date Dec. 21, 2017, hereinafter Zer).
Regarding independent claim 1, Duncan teaches:
A telemetry and control system for electrical grid sensors and devices (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0016]), the system comprising:
modular telemetry and control units (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]: remote field unit (RFU) with functional blocks), each comprising a processor and associated memory ([0043]-[0045]: control function is the processor/memory, “The control function is the “heart” of the RFU. Depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”)
wherein the respective processors ([0043]-[0045]) of the modular telemetry and control units (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0018] & [0027]-[0034]) are adapted to ([Abstract], [0018] & [0027]-[0034]: details the specific remote server telemetry architecture):
receive the incoming data from the electro-optical modules ([0018] & [0038]-[0039]: “A signal processing function preferably contains three inputs or input sets: (1) a set of inputs from a sensor function, (2) a set of inputs from a control function, and (3) a set of inputs from a power function.”),
apply a first data model to the incoming data to produce telemetry data (Fig. 1; [0018], [0038]-[0041] & [0045]), and
send the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network ([0018], [0024], & [0046]-[0056]).
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
and having a housing comprising module slots;
electro-optical modules in the form of cards installable in the module slots of the housing of the modular telemetry and to be in communication with the respective processors thereof, each of the electro-optical modules comprising one or more photodetectors and one or more analog-to-digital converters, each of said one or more photodetectors being in communication with an analog-to-digital converter of said one or more analog-to-digital converters, the electro-optical modules being adapted to:
receive an optical or electrical signal from a sensor, and
decode the optical or electrical signal to produce incoming data,
However, Walker, further teaches:
and having a housing comprising module slots ([Col. 1, ll. 20-21], [Col. 2, ll. 22-26, 32-34, & 50-56], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11,18-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-58], [Col. 6, ll. 41-65], [Claim 1], & [Claim 5]: teaches modular units with a housing containing openings for modules, a processor, memory, and other components);
electro-optical modules (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 50-65]) in the form of cards installable in the module slots of the housing of the modular telemetry (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 32-34 & 61-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]: teaches pluggable optical modules on Printed Circuit Board Assembly (PCBA) carriers (cards)) and to be in communication with the respective processors thereof ([Col. 3, ll. 18-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-64 ] & [Col. 5, ll. 21-36 & 52-58]), each of the electro-optical modules comprising one or more photodetectors and one or more analog-to-digital converters ([Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 33-42], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10] & [Col. 7, ll. 25-59]: teaches the modules contain photodiodes (photodetectors) and analog-to-digital converters), each of said one or more photodetectors being in communication with an analog-to-digital converter of said one or more analog-to-digital converters ([Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 33-42], [Col. 4, ll. 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10] & [Col. 7, ll. 25-59]: teaches the signal flow from the photodiode to the converter), the electro-optical modules being adapted to (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 50-65]):
receive an optical or electrical signal from a sensor ([Col. 2, ll. 22-31], [Col. 3, ll. 62-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 60-62], [Col. 8, ll. 1-4] & [Claim 1]: teaches receiving the optical signal and converting it to digital data), and
decode the optical or electrical signal to produce incoming data ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-31], [Col. 3, ll. 62-67], [Col. 6, ll. 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 25-34 & 63-67], [Col.8, ll. 5-8], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches receiving the optical signal and converting it to digital data),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the modular, electro-optical sensor system in the electrical grid with module slots in the form of cards that accepts additional opto-electronic modules containing photodiodes (photodetectors) and ADCs to receive and process signals from optical sensors on the power grid, of Walker to Duncan, in order to improve the telemetry platform, according to known methods with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
and control units to be hot-swappable while the unit is operating
However, Zer, further teaches:
and control units to be hot-swappable while the unit is operating ([Title], [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0008], [0010]-[0013], [0028], [0030]-[0036], [0041]-[0044], & [Claim 1] : teaches making the optical modules hot-swappable/field-replaceable without taking the main system offline),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular opt-electronic telemetry system of Walker with the field-replaceable optical module architectures of Zer. Further integrating Duncan’s teachings on routing grid telemetry data to a remote server for analysis into Walker’s network interface, which represents a simple substitution of known data transmission methods to achieve centralized grid monitoring. Walker recognized the need for “pluggable modules” to reduce installation time, and Zer provides the mechanical electronic teachings to make optical modules completely “field replaceable” (hot-swappable) without disrupting the entire operational unit. The motivation to combine is derived from the known vulnerability of optical components to fail, therefore implementing Zer’s field-replaceable design into Walker and Duncan’s grid monitoring system, would yield predictable results (KSR), according to known methods and minimize system downtime during repairs.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]), wherein each electro-optical module ([0038]-[0041])
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
is connected to a bus of the modular telemetry and control unit.
However, Walker, further teaches:
is connected to a bus (Fig. 3; [Col. 4, ll. 43-64] & [Col. 5, ll. 37-52]: bus 126) of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Col. 4, ll. 43-64] & [Col. 5, ll. 37-52]: teaches that the unit comprises a standardized bus system and that the analog optical conversion device (electro-optical module) is coupled to a backplane that serves as the interface to the bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the hot-swappable electro-optical modules taught by the combination of Walker and Zer to Duncan, to connect to the telemetry unit’s internal communication bus. Walker teaches utilizing a backplane as a standard electronic interface to system bus to couple with optical conversion modules to the microcontroller. Utilizing a standard bus architecture would ensure seamless data routing and modular interchangeability, therefore, would improve the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules in grid telemetry systems, simplifying field installation, according to known methods with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 2 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein the electro-optical modules are adapted to be installed, and wherein the bus comprises a backplane connecting the module slots to the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit.
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein the electro-optical modules (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 50-65]) are adapted to be installed (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 32-34 & 61-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65], [Col. 7, ll. 46-59], [Claim 1], & [Claim 5]: teaches a housing with “openings” (slots) configured to receive the telemetry modules), and wherein the bus comprises a backplane connecting the module slots to the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1-3; [Col. 4, ll. 1-12,18-21, & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-52], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches that the bus uses a backplane to connect the optical module (installed in the slot/opening) to the microcontroller (processor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the card-slot and backplane architecture and bus of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker to Duncan, in order to improve the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules that allow expansion of modules in grid telemetry systems, according to known methods, simplifying field installation with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
in said plurality of slots
However, Zer, further teaches:
in said plurality of slots ([0030] & [0042]-[0043]: defines physical slots/cutouts for receiving the field-replaceable optical modules)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the telemetry and control system of Walker in combination with Duncan, so that the electro-optical modules install into specific housing slots and connect to the processor via a backplane bus architecture, as further taught by Zer. Walter teaches the electrical architecture with a microcontroller (processor) connected to a backplane (system bus), which connects to the optical conversion devices when they are installed into the housing openings. Zer provides the mechanical blueprint by teaching the use of physical “cut outs” on a main housing’s front panel designed to receive the sliding housings of modular optical units. The motivation to combine Zer’s mechanical slot/cutout design with Walker’s backplane architecture, in combination with Duncan, according to known methods, to yield predictable results (KSR), creating a plug and play modular telemetry system that allows for easy interchangeability, quick field replacements, and reliable connections.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 2 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]), further comprising at least one of a time sensor, and a location sensor (Fig. 2; [0033], [0037]-[0039] & [0059]-[0060: teaches a remote field unit comprising a GPS function that acts as both a time sensor and a location sensor)
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a weather sensor,
in the form of a card
However, Walker, further teaches:
a weather sensor ([Col. 4, ll. 1-67]: teaches an environmental/weather sensor (temperature)), in the form of a card ([Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-3 & 37-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-25, 35-40 & 50-65]: teaches that the modular components are designed as Printed Circuit Board Assemblies (PCBAs) and “cards” that plug into the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular telemetry and control system of Walker by incorporating the GPS (time/location) sensor taught by Duncan into the physical form of a pluggable modular card. Duncan teaches the precise time-stamping (for time-correlating multiple data sets at a network operations center) and positioning information are both critical functions for remote telemetry systems deployed in the field. Walker establishes a framework to include functionality to the telemetry unit via modular PCBA cards (such as the CPU daughter card) that connect to the main bus. The motivation to combine these teachings is to expand the modular unit’s diagnostic and synchronization capabilities while maintaining the plug and play interoperability taught by Walker. Therefore, configuring Duncan’s GPS/time sensor as one of Walker’s pluggable modules (cards) to be installed in an available slot, according to known methods, would yield predictable use of the prior art elements (KSR), according to their established functions.
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
adapted to be installed in one of the module slots.
However, Zer, further teaches:
adapted to be installed in one of the module slots ([0030] & [0042]-[0043]: further supports adapting modules to slide into specific slots/cutouts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular telemetry and control system of Walker and Zer by incorporating the GPS (time/location) sensor taught by Duncan into the physical form of a pluggable modular card. Duncan teaches the precise time-stamping (for time-correlating multiple data sets at a network operations center) and positioning information are both critical functions for remote telemetry systems deployed in the field. Walker establishes a framework to include functionality to the telemetry unit via modular PCBA cards (such as the CPU daughter card) that connect to the main bus. The motivation to combine these teachings is to expand the modular unit’s diagnostic and synchronization capabilities while maintaining the plug and play interoperability taught by both Walker and Zer. Therefore, configuring Duncan’s GPS/time sensor as one of Walker’s pluggable modules (cards) to be installed in an available slot, according to known methods, would yield predictable use of the prior art elements (KSR), according to their established functions.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]), wherein the modular telemetry and control unit is positioned (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018, [0027], [0047], [0054], [0064], [0086]-[0087] & [0107]-[0108]: teaches that the remote field unit (RFU) is located directly at the monitoring sites in the field alongside the sensors, “A system for gathering, transmitting, and storing data captured from remote monitoring sites positioned in the field.”, the RFU (modular telemetry and control unit) is designed to be “completely autonomous” and “ground-based”, and placed “at or near an RFU” where power is generated, indicates the unit is positioned at a sensor’s location, Fig. 1 further illustrates the physical “sensor” directly attached to the “Field Equipment” electronics, is designed to be “completely autonomous” and “ground-based”, and placed “at or near an RFU” where power is generated, indicates the unit is positioned at a sensor’s location).
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a location of the sensor.
However, Walker, further teaches:
at a location of the sensor ([Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-25, 35-40 & 50-65]: teaches that the telemetry device provides sensing directly at the location where the measurement occurs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the modular telemetry and control unit taught by Walker (and modified by Zer) directly at the location of the sensor, as further evidenced by Duncan. Walker teaches that the sensors are coupled to the conversion device to provide sensing at the sensing point. Duncan corroborates by detailing that the remote field units (which handle telemetry and signal processing) are specifically deployed at physical tie points within the power grid. The motivation to physically co-locate the modular telemetry unit with the sensor is to minimize signal degradation over long wire runs, reduce installation complexity, and create autonomous “ground-based satellite” nodes that process and transmit data directly from the measurement site, according to know methods, and outlined by Duncan, to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]), wherein, to decode the optical or electrical signal to produce incoming data ([Abstract] & [0038]-[0041]: “A signal processing function…primary task of a signal processing block is to convert physical signal(s) from a sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, conversion decodes the signal to produce incoming data, contains “all electronics and optics necessary to convert the signals from the sensor function to their representative values.”, and the system monitors “electrical power parameters” that include optical signals),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
the electro-optical modules are further adapted to use an analog-to-digital converter for the electrical signal, or a photodetector and the analog-to-digital converter for the optical signal.
However, Walker, teaches:
the electro-optical modules (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]) are further adapted to use an analog-to-digital converter for the electrical signal (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 13-67], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-42 & 50-64], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-34 & 50-67] [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: Fig. 3 illustrates the processor 120 and memory 122 with communication interface 124 and bus 126 for digital data processing), or a photodetector and the analog-to-digital converter for the optical signal (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col 2, ll. 13-31], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-34 & 50-65]: teaches the optical conversion path utilizing a photodetector (photodiode) followed by an analog-to-digital converter to produce the digital signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the electro-optical modules of the telemetry system to decode optical signals using a photodetector and analog-to-digital converter (ADC). Walker teaches this exact hardware progression to decode incoming sensor data. Walker’s analog optical conversion device utilizes photodiodes to first convert the incoming optical signal into an analog electrical signal, which is fed into an ADC to generate the digital facsimile. The motivation to utilize this photodetector-to-ADC pathway is to move the signal to the “insensitive digital electronic domain, ” avoiding signal degradation associated with analog optical telemetry systems, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]), wherein, to apply the first data model, the respective processors of the modular telemetry and control units are further adapted to extract data from one or more of the following ([0039]-[0045], [0077]-[0078], & [0093]: contains the processor, “performing data formatting, storage, and relaying”, “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, indicates applying the model, the RFU collects and stores “formatted sensor data” and “data will be stored onboard in memory”, and can also “services user requests” and perform “data analysis and data presentation capabilities.”): formatted logs, stored data files ([0077] & [0084]: “After processing, the data will be stored onboard in memory until emptied by a transition from the RUN to RF states.”, “Data collected by an RFU can be stored in a first in, first out (FIFO) queue; database; or other data storage system.”, corresponding to stored data filed and formatted logs), SCADA data structures, DNP points, and IEC 61850 data structures ([0039]-[0047], [0103] & [0107]-[0108]: “the control function formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the telemetry function receives “data intended for the RFU” and transfers “sensor data to the telemetry function as well as control information”, where the data structures (SCADA, DNP, IEC 61850) form part of standard protocols, represent industry-standard “data communication protocols” for electrical grid monitoring).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]), wherein the respective processors ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]: control function is the processor/memory, “The control function is the “heart” of the RFU. Depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”) of the modular telemetry and control units (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]: remote field unit (RFU) with functional blocks) are further adapted to determine the first data model to interpret the incoming data ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]: Depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, indicates defining and applying a “data model” to interpret and structure “numerical representations” (incoming data), and the processor is “under program control”, indicating execution of instructions to perform the above mentioned tasks, determining the appropriate data model).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]), wherein, to apply the first data model ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]), the respective processors ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]) of the modular telemetry and control units (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]) are further adapted to transform the telemetry data in accordance with a target database schema ([0024], [0039]-[0045], [0084], [0097] & [0101]: “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, “the data is relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for later retrieval by a customer.”, the formatting and storage indicates transforming according to the database schema for “secure servers” (database), also mentions “database generation” and that “RFU data can be time stamped”, both part of a database schema).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034], [0039], & [0045]), wherein the respective processors ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]) of the modular telemetry and control units (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]) are further adapted to: (a) receive, from the remote computer system via the network ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], [0099] & [0103]: teaches a two-way telemetry function where the host server stores and analyzes data (trend analysis, etc.), and the remote unit receives updated configurations (like alarm setpoints) initiated by the customer/host over the network based on that analysis, further, the RFU’s “two-way telemetry function”, can send and receive data, data “electrical power parameters is transmitted to the Internet or Intranet via a communications link.” and “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for customer retrieval” (remote computer system), the system allows for “customer interaction” where “data that is initiated from the customer, such as alarm setpoints, request for diagnostics, current position, and request for immediate sample.”),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a second data model based at least in part on an analysis of the telemetry data by the remote computer system; and (b) apply the second data model to the incoming data to produce the telemetry data.
However, Walker, further teaches:
a second data model based at least in part on an analysis of the telemetry data by the remote computer system ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-64] & [Col. 5, ll. 21-29]: teaches that the remote unit applies these newly received setpoints/parameters (second data model) to the incoming data to determine if an alarm state exists, thereby shaping the resulting telemetry data and notification strategy, further, microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, where the system can receive “configuration files” and mentions “preemptive condition monitoring systems where alarms are triggered due to wear, degradation, and failure.”, where the “configuration files” include parameters to interpret data (data model), and the ability to update “calibration parameters and configuration files” (second data model) from a “nonvolatile memory”, where the “sensors associated with the modular system to connect within the “Internet of Things”, supports remote interaction and control of data analysis (data models)); and (b) apply the second data model to the incoming data to produce the telemetry data ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 65-67] & [Col. 5, ll. 1-20]: further supports processors applying updated configurations/algorithms to process the sensor data, further, “digital electronic facsimiles” (incoming data) “can be processed using a digital signal processor applying appropriate algorithms”, the “algorithms” represent the data model, if the “configuration files” or “calibration parameters” received from a remote system contain updated algorithms or parameters to process incoming data, the processor would apply the new data “second data model” to the incoming data to create new telemetry data such as “measurements” or “alarms”, and the modularity and “plug and play” architecture and be able to update “calibration information” support a system where the processing (data model) can be adjusted, and the processor “executes a program of instructions stored in memory 122”, indicating the interpretation and processing logic is programmable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the processors of the modular telemetry and control units to receive and apply a second data model from a remote computer system based on data analysis, and apply it to incoming data. Duncan teaches a bidirectional (“two-way”) telemetry system where data is transmitted to a host server for formatting, storage, and complex analysis (e.g., trend analysis). Based on the analysis, the remote system can send “data intended for the RFU,” including updated “alarm setpoints” and configuration requests. An alarm setpoint, under BRI constitutes a data model or threshold algorithm used to evaluate data. When the local processor receives the updated setpoints (“second data model”), it applies them to the incoming sensor data. If the data falls outside the newly defined limits, the unit produces specific telemetry data (alarm notifications). Walker supports the dynamic application of algorithms and configuration files stored in memory to process digital facsimiles. The motivation to combine these teachings is to allow remote updates of the data models to ensure the remote field units remain adaptive to changing grid conditions, allowing operators to refine detection algorithms, adjust thresholds, or correct calibration without having to physically travel to the deployed hardware, according to known methods, and to improve the modular telemetry platform calibration process and create a more effective and adaptable monitoring system, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 15, Duncan teaches:
A method to provide telemetry and control for electrical grid sensors and devices (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0016]) via a telemetry and control system comprising (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]) and comprising a processor and memory ([0043]-[0045]: control function is the processor/memory, “The control function is the “heart” of the RFU. Depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”)
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
electro-optical cards installed in card slots with a housing of modular telemetry and control units, each of the modular telemetry and control units installable in one of the card slots in communication with the electro-optical modules installed therein, each of the electro-optical modules comprising one or more photodetectors and one or more analog-to-digital converters, the method comprising:
receiving, by an electro-optical module card installed in one of the card slots and connected to a backplane bus, an optical or electrical signal from a sensor, the electro-optical module being in communication with a modular telemetry and control unit;
decoding the optical or electrical signal to produce incoming data;
receiving, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, the incoming data from the electro-optical module;
applying, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, a first data model to the incoming data to produce telemetry data;
sending, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network.
However, Walker, further teaches:
with a housing of modular telemetry and control units (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 20-35], [Col. 2, ll. 22-56 & 61-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-26 & 43-67], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 41-65], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches pluggable optical modules on Printed Circuit Board Assembly (PCBA) carriers (cards)), each of the modular telemetry and control units installable in one of the card slots (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 20-35], [Col. 2, ll. 22-56 & 61-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the method and system context for grid telemetry utilizing a modular device with a processor, memory, and optical-to-digital converters (photodiodes) as well as modular units with a housing containing openings for modules, a processor, memory, and other components, where the pluggable modules are on PCBAs (cards)) in communication with the electro-optical modules installed therein ([Col. 3, ll. 18-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65] & [Col. 7, ll. 25-59]: teaches the modules contain photodiodes (photodetectors) and analog-to-digital converters), each of the electro-optical modules (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, ll. 50-65]) comprising one or more photodetectors and one or more analog-to-digital converters ([Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 33-42], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10] & [Col. 7, ll. 25-59]: teaches the modules contain photodiodes (photodetectors) and analog-to-digital converters), the method comprising (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 22-31, ], [Col. 3, ll. 18-24, 33-42 & 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 25-62], [Col. 8, ll. 1-4] & [Claim 1]: teaches the signal flow from the photodiode to the converter):
receiving, by an electro-optical module card ([Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-67]) installed in one of the card slots and connected to a backplane bus, an optical or electrical signal from a sensor, the electro-optical module being in communication with a modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-49], [Col. 3, ll. 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23 & 60-62], [Col. 8, ll. 1-4], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the module receiving the signal from the sensor and the connection to the backplane);
decoding the optical or electrical signal to produce incoming data ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-31, ][Col. 3, ll. 4-10 & 62-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-14 & 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 25-34 & 63-67], [Col. 8, ll. 5-8], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches receiving the optical signal and converting/decoding the optical signal into digital data (facsimiles), “The analog optical conversion device 104 also includes an analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electrical signal to a digital signal that is a digital facsimile of the received optical signal.”, where the “digital facsimile” is the incoming data, and the conversion moves “the optical connection system to the digital electronic domain.”);
receiving, by the processor ([Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 33-42]) of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract]), the incoming data from the electro-optical module ([Col. 4, ll. 57-64], [Col. 7, ll. 46-62], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the processor receiving the decoded data, “microcontroller 102 that includes a processor 120, a memory 122, and a communication interface 124, which are coupled together by a bus 126 or other communication link”, the microcontroller is configured to “receive the digital facsimiles of the optical signs from the analog optical conversion device”, where the “digital facsimiles” are the incoming data);
applying, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract] & [Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 33-42]), a first data model to the incoming data to produce telemetry data ([Col.3, ll. 25-42], [Col. 4, ll. 27-37 & 65-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-36], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the processor applying algorithms (data models) to the incoming data to determine environmental factors/telemetry, “digital electronic facsimiles” (incoming data) being “processed using a digital signal processor applying appropriate algorithms”, the “algorithms” are a “first data model” applied by the processor, the system uses “standard physical interfaces and communication protocols”, where data can be stored/formatted as a model for further use (telemetry));
sending, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract] & [Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 25-42], ), the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network ([Abstract], [Col.3, ll. 18-24 & 25-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67] & [Col. 5, ll. 1-58]: teaches the processor communicating via a network, “microcontroller 102” (processor) has a “communication interface 124” used to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network”, the device is designed to “connect within the “Internet of Things””, which involves sending data to remote systems via a network, and the ”digital facsimiles” represents the telemetry data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated specific components (photodetectors, analog-to-digital converters, processor, memory) and their communication methods, receiving and decoding data for digital conversion for the optical signals, format the data and send the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network, of Walker to Duncan. Walker teaches a method of receiving an optical signal from a sensor at a modular conversion device, decoding the signal into a digital facsimile, passing that data via a backplane to a processor, and having that processor apply appropriate algorithms to the data. Further integrating Duncan’s teachings on routing grid telemetry data to a remote server for storage and analysis into Walker’s network interface, which represents a simple substitution of known data transmission methods to achieve centralized grid monitoring. Walker recognized the need for “pluggable modules” to reduce installation time. The motivation to combine is derived from the known vulnerability of optical components to fail, to improve the methodology of the telemetry platform, yielding predictable results (KSR), according to known methods and minimize system downtime during repairs, accurately capturing analog sensor data, securely digitizing and processing data locally to avoid signal degradation, and reliably transmit to a central remote computer system for utility operators to monitor the grid health.
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
electro-optical cards installed in card slots
However, Zer, further teaches:
electro-optical cards installed in card slots ([Title], [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0008], [0010]-[0013], [0028], [0030]-[0036], [0041]-[0044], & [Claim 1] : teaches making the modular card slot structure)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the telemetry and control for electrical grids using the combined teachings of Walker, Zer, and Duncan. Walker teaches a method of receiving an optical signal from a sensor at a modular conversion device, decoding the signal into a digital facsimile, passing that data via a backplane to a processor, and having that processor apply appropriate algorithms to the data. Zer provides the operation mechanics of utilizing hot-swappable cards in specific housing cutouts (slots) for the optical modules. Further integrating Duncan’s teachings on routing grid telemetry data to a remote server for storage and analysis into Walker’s network interface, which represents a simple substitution of known data transmission methods to achieve centralized grid monitoring. Walker recognized the need for “pluggable modules” to reduce installation time, and Zer provides the mechanical electronic teachings to make optical modules completely “field replaceable” (hot-swappable) without disrupting the entire operational unit. The motivation to combine is derived from the known vulnerability of optical components to fail, therefore implementing Zer’s field-replaceable design into Walker and Duncan’s grid monitoring system, would yield predictable results (KSR), according to known methods and minimize system downtime during repairs, accurately capturing analog sensor data, securely digitizing and processing data locally to avoid signal degradation, and reliably transmit to a central remote computer system for utility operators to monitor the grid health.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein the electro-optical module is installed within the housing of the modular telemetry and control unit and is connected to a bus of the modular telemetry and control unit.
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein the electro-optical module (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 50-65])) is installed ([Col. 3, ll. 4-10]: “modular system of the present technology solves engineering, manufacturing, and field issues of optical connector degradation and contamination, and therefore optical loss, by moving the connection interface from the optical domain to the digital electronic domain.”) within the housing (Fig. 2; [Col. 3, ll. 62-67] & [Col. 4, ll. 1-11 & 43-64]: modules installable in housing slots) of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-67] & [Col. 3, ll. 59-67]: teaches that the analog optical conversion device is located inside the device’s housing) and is connected to a bus of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 3; [Col. 4, ll. 1-26 & 43-64] & [Col. 5, ll. 37-67]: teaches that the telemetry device utilizes a standardized bus system, and that the optical module connects to it via a backplane; bus 126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and perform the method wherein the electro-optical module is installed within the housing and connected to a bus of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker (in combination with Zer) to Duncan. Walker teaches a method of assembling and operating the unit such that the analog optical conversion device is housed internally and communicatively coupled to the microcontroller via a backplane that serves as the standard electronic interface to system bus. The motivation to install the module within the housing and connect it to a standard bus is provided by Walker, to create a self-contained, modular, and plug and play device that moves the sensitive optical connections into the digital electronic domain, improving the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules in grid telemetry systems, simplifying field installation, solving issues of contamination and degradation common in field installations, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 16 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein the electro-optical module is in the form of a card adapted to be installed in one of the card slots, and wherein the bus comprises a backplane connecting the card slots to the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit.
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein the electro-optical module (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 50-65]) is in the form of a card ([Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-3 & 37-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-25, 35-40 & 50-65] & [Col. 7, ll. 46-59]: teaches that the modular components are designed as Printed Circuit Board Assemblies (PCBAs) and “cards” that plug into the system) and wherein the bus comprises a backplane connecting the card slots to the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1-3; [Col. 4, ll. 1-12,18-21, & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-52], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches that the bus uses a backplane to connect the optical module (installed on the PCBA card) to the microcontroller (processor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the electro-optical module in the form of a card and backplane architecture and bus within a housing of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker to Duncan, in order to improve the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules that allow expansion of modules in grid telemetry systems, simplifying field installation with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
adapted to be installed in one of the card slots,
However, Zer, further teaches:
adapted to be installed in one of the module slots ([0030] & [0042]-[0043]: defines physical slots/cutouts for receiving the field-replaceable optical modules).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and perform the method wherein the electro-optical module is in the form of a card adapted to be installed in the card-slot, connected via the backplane architecture to the processor and bus within a housing of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker (in combination to Zer) to Duncan. Walker teaches the electrical and mechanical architecture of a microcontroller (processor) connected to a backplane (system bus), which connects to the optical conversion devices that are mounted on PCBA carrier (cards). Zer provides a mechanical blueprint, teaching the use of physical cut outs on a main housing’s front panel designed to receive the housings of modular optical units. The motivation to combine Zer’s mechanical slot/cutout design with Walker’s PCBA card and backplane architecture would improve the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules that allow expansion of modules in grid telemetry systems, according to known methods, simplifying field installation, allowing for easy interchangeability, quick field replacements without taking the entire unit offline, and reliable connections with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 16 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein said receiving, by the processor ([0043]-[0045]: control function receives inputs from signal processing/telemetry) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1 & 2; [0027]-[0034]: RFU with different functions (sensor, control, telemetry, etc.)),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
the incoming data from the electro-optical module comprises receiving the incoming data from the electro-optical module via the bus.
However, Walker, further teaches:
the incoming data ([Col. 6, ll. 1-10]: “The analog optical conversion device 104 also includes an analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electrical signal to a digital signal that is a digital facsimile of the received optical signal.”) from the electro-optical module ((Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 20-25 & 50-65])) comprises receiving the incoming data from the electro-optical module via the bus (Figs. 1-3; [Col. 4, ll. 1-12, 18-21, & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-52], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches that the device comprises a standardized bus, the backplane acts as the interface to the bus, and the microcontroller receives the digital facsimiles (incoming data) from the conversion device via the backplane connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and perform the method where the processor receives incoming data from the electro-optical module(s) via a backplane (bus) of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker to Duncan. Walker teaches the internal communication method, the microcontroller (processor) coupled to the analog optical conversion device (electro-optical module), also taught by Duncan, through a backplane, which is the standard electronic interface to system bus. Walker further teaches a programmatic step where the microcontroller, coupled to the backplane, executes instructions to receive the digital facsimiles from the conversion device. The motivation for routing data via the standard bus systems is to improve the modular telemetry platform communication between a processor and an electro-optical module via a bus to receive data, allow for easy interconnection, modular interchangeability, and to utilize standard physical interfaces for reliable data transfer in the digital electronic domain, according to known methods, and to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein the modular telemetry and control unit is positioned (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0018, [0027], [0047], [0054], [0064], [0086]-[0087] & [0107]-[0108]: teaches that the remote field unit (RFU) is located directly at the monitoring sites in the field alongside the sensors, “A system for gathering, transmitting, and storing data captured from remote monitoring sites positioned in the field.”, the RFU (modular telemetry and control unit) is designed to be “completely autonomous” and “ground-based”, and placed “at or near an RFU” where power is generated, indicates the unit is positioned at a sensor’s location, Fig. 1 further illustrates the physical “sensor” directly attached to the “Field Equipment” electronics, is designed to be “completely autonomous” and “ground-based”, and placed “at or near an RFU” where power is generated, indicates the unit is positioned at a sensor’s location)
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a location of the sensor.
However, Walker, further teaches:
at a location of the sensor ([Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-25, 35-40 & 50-65]: teaches that the telemetry device provides sensing directly at the physical location where the measurement occurs (the sensing point)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the modular telemetry and control unit taught by Walker (and modified by Zer) directly at the location of the sensor, as further evidenced by Duncan. Walker teaches that the sensors are coupled to the conversion device to provide sensing at the sensing point. Duncan corroborates by detailing that the remote field units (which handle telemetry and signal processing) are specifically deployed at physical tie points within the power grid. The motivation to physically co-locate the modular telemetry unit with the sensor is to minimize signal degradation over long wire runs, reduce installation complexity, and create autonomous “ground-based satellite” nodes that process and transmit data directly from the measurement site, according to know methods, and outlined by Duncan, to yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein said decoding ([Abstract] & [0038]-[0045]: “A signal processing function…primary task of a signal processing block is to convert physical signal(s) from a sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, conversion decodes the signal to produce incoming data, contains “all electronics and optics necessary to convert the signals from the sensor function to their representative values.”, and the system monitors “electrical power parameters” that include optical signals),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
uses an analog-to-digital converter for the electrical signal, or a photodetector and the analog-to-digital converter for the optical signal.
However, Walker, further teaches:
uses an analog-to-digital converter for the electrical signal (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-42 & 50-64], & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-34 & 50-67], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: Fig. 3 illustrates the processor 120 and memory 122 with communication interface 124 and bus 126 for digital data processing), or a photodetector and the analog-to-digital converter for the optical signal (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 15-34 & 50-65]: teaches the method step of decoding the optical signal utilizing a photodetector (photodiode) followed by an analog-to-digital converter to produce the digital signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and perform the method, wherein decoding uses a photodetector and an analog-to-digital converter for the electrical signals and photodetectors coupled to analog-to-digital converters for optical signals of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker to Duncan. Walker teaches the operational progression required to decode incoming optical sensor data, the method utilizes photodiodes to first convert the incoming optical signal into an analog electric signal, which is then processed by an ADC to generate the final digital facsimile. The motivation to utilize the photodetector-to-ADC decoding method is to improve the signal processing and the electro-optical conversion for the sensors, according to known methods, translating the signal into the “insensitive digital electronic domain,” avoiding signal degradation associated with analog optical telemetry systems, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein said applying the first data model comprises extracting data from one or more of the following ([0039]-[0045], [0077]-[0078], & [0093]: contains the processor, “performing data formatting, storage, and relaying”, “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, indicates applying the model, the RFU collects and stores “formatted sensor data” and “data will be stored onboard in memory”, and can also “services user requests” and perform “data analysis and data presentation capabilities.”): formatted logs, stored data files ([0077] & [0084]: “After processing, the data will be stored onboard in memory until emptied by a transition from the RUN to RF states.”, “Data collected by an RFU can be stored in a first in, first out (FIFO) queue; database; or other data storage system.”, corresponding to stored data filed and formatted logs), SCADA data structures, DNP points, and IEC 61850 data structures ([0039]-[0047], [0103] & [0107]-[0108]: “the control function formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the telemetry function receives “data intended for the RFU” and transfers “sensor data to the telemetry function as well as control information”, where the data structures (SCADA, DNP, IEC 61850) form part of standard protocols, represent industry-standard “data communication protocols” for electrical grid monitoring).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 21 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein said applying the first data model further comprises converting the extracted data into elements formatted to populate a database ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0045], [0084], [0100]-[0101]: teaches the method step of the control function formatting the collected data so it can be stored in a database, describes a “control function” (processor) that performs “data formatting, storage, and relaying”, the control function “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols”, then data is “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for later retrieval by a customer”, where “storing” data on “secure servers” indicates a database, also mentions “database generation”, where “RFU data can be time stamped as well as positional stamped”, indicating the data is converted into “data sets” for database population, the “signal processing function”, converts raw signals into “numerical representations” and “formatted sensor data”, that are passed to the Control Function for further formatting and storage).
Regarding dependent claim 23, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 22 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein the database elements are formatted in Structured Query Language (SQL) ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0043]-[0045], [0052],[0084], [0090], [0093]-[0097], & [0100]-[0101]: describes data being “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for later retrieval by a customer”, the “Database Generation”, “Data collected by an RFU can be stored in a first in, first out (FIFO) queue; database; or other storage system”, indicating database elements can be formatted for a (SQL) database or other database type (storage system), “The architecture outlined above provides a high availability, scalable data storage, analysis, and presentation platform capable of storing data from a large number of RFUs, storing data for an indefinite period of time, and providing users with readily accessible data analysis and data presentation capabilities.”, and discusses various communication protocols like “ISP” and industry-standard protocols, including “POTS”, “Intranet via a local service provider (ISP)”, “satellite systems”, etc., and “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and formatted the database elements in Structured Query Language (SQL). While Duncan and Walker teach formatting data for storage in a database using industry-standard protocols, they don’t explicitly specify formatting the database elements in SQL. However, it is well known in the art at the time of the invention that SQL is a standard protocol for formatting, inserting, and querying elements in a database. Doing so constitutes the use of a known technique to achieve the predictable result of structured data for database storage. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize a standardized, universally supported, and robust programming language to ensure the efficient storage, retrieval, and analysis of the collected grid telemetry data on the remote servers, according to known methods, to yield predictable results (KSR) of structuring data for reliable database storage.
Regarding dependent claim 24, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 22 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein said applying the first data model ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]) further comprises processing ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]) the extracted data into sub-units of a structured database ([Abstract], [0018], [0020], [0024], [0039]-[0045], [0084], [0090], [0093]-[0097], [0101] & [0103]: teaches the method step of the control function formatting and processing the collected data into structures so it can be stored in a database, mentions XML (which utilizes tagged sub-units), “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.” (extracted data into sub-units), the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, “the data is relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for later retrieval by a customer.”, the formatting and storage indicates transforming according to the database schema for “secure servers” (database), also mentions “database generation” and that “RFU data can be time stamped”, both part of a structured database schema).
Regarding dependent claim 25, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 22 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein the structured database is a Structured Query Language (SQL) database ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0043]-[0045], [0052], [0084], [0090], [0093]-[0097], & [0100]-[0101]: describes data being “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for later retrieval by a customer”, the “Database Generation”, “Data collected by an RFU can be stored in a first in, first out (FIFO) queue; database; or other storage system”, indicating database can be formatted for a (SQL) database or any other database type (storage system), “The architecture outlined above provides a high availability, scalable data storage, analysis, and presentation platform capable of storing data from a large number of RFUs, storing data for an indefinite period of time, and providing users with readily accessible data analysis and data presentation capabilities.”, and discusses various communication protocols like “ISP” and industry-standard protocols, including “POTS”, “Intranet via a local service provider (ISP)”, “satellite systems”, etc., and “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and formatted the database elements in Structured Query Language (SQL). Duncan establishes the cored method of receiving, formatting, and storing raw sensor data in a database hosted on secure servers. Walker and Duncan establish that the data flowing into this database is formatted using structured, industry-standard protocols (e.g., XML). While Duncan and Walker teach formatting data for storage in a database using industry-standard protocols, they don’t explicitly specify formatting the database elements in SQL. However, it is well known in the art at the time of the invention that SQL is a standard protocol for formatting, inserting, and querying elements in a database. A POSITA seeking to implement the telemetry database taught by Duncan to hold structured grid data would select an SQL database. Doing so constitutes the use of a known technique to achieve the predictable result of structured data for database storage. The motivation for doing so would be to utilize a standardized, universally supported, and robust programming language to ensure the efficient storage, capable of handling high-volume, structured sub-units of data generated by an electrical grid telemetry network, retrieval, and analysis of the collected grid telemetry data on the remote servers, according to known methods, to yield predictable results (KSR) of structuring data for reliable database storage using a known technology (SQL database) to perform its established function of storing structured data.
Regarding dependent claim 26, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), further comprising determining, by the processor ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]), the first data model to interpret the incoming data ([0039], [0043]-[0045],& [0074]: teaches the method step where a central control function (processor) determines and dictates the algorithmic manipulations (data models) used to interpret the incoming sensor signals, depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, indicates defining and applying a “data model” to interpret and structure “numerical representations” (incoming data), and the processor is “under program control”, indicating execution of instructions to perform the above mentioned tasks, determining the appropriate data model).
Regarding dependent claim 28, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein said applying the first data model ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]) comprises transforming the telemetry data in accordance with a target database schema ([0024], [0039]-[0045], [0084], [0097] & [0101]: “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, “the data is relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for later retrieval by a customer.”, the formatting and storage indicates transforming according to the database schema for “secure servers” (database), also mentions “database generation” and that “RFU data can be time stamped”, both part of a database schema).
Regarding dependent claim 29, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), further comprising: receiving, by the processor ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0039], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]), from the remote computer system via the network ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]: teaches a two-way telemetry function where the host server stores and analyzes data (rend analysis, etc.), and the remote units receives updated configurations (e.g., alarm setpoints) initiated by the customer/host over the network based on the analysis, further, the RFU’s “two-way telemetry function”, can send and receive data, data “electrical power parameters is transmitted to the Internet or Intranet via a communications link.” and “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for customer retrieval” (remote computer system), the system allows for “customer interaction” where “data that is initiated from the customer, such as alarm setpoints, request for diagnostics, current position, and request for immediate sample.”),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a second data model based at least in part on an analysis of the telemetry data by the remote computer system; and
applying, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, the second data model to the incoming data to produce the telemetry data.
However, Walker, teaches:
a second data model based at least in part on an analysis of the telemetry data by the remote computer system ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-64] & [Col. 5, ll. 21-29]: teaches that the remote unit applies these newly received setpoints/parameters (second data model) to the incoming data to determine if an alarm state exists, thereby shaping the resulting telemetry data and notification strategy, further, microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, where the system can receive “configuration files” and mentions “preemptive condition monitoring systems where alarms are triggered due to wear, degradation, and failure.”, where the “configuration files” include parameters to interpret data (data model), and the ability to update “calibration parameters and configuration files” (second data model) from a “nonvolatile memory”, where the “sensors associated with the modular system to connect within the “Internet of Things”, supports remote interaction and control of data analysis (data models)); and applying, by the processor ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-67], & [Col. 5, ll. 1-29]: supports processors applying updated configurations/algorithms to process the sensor data, further, microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, where the system can receive “configuration files” and mentions “preemptive condition monitoring systems where alarms are triggered due to wear, degradation, and failure.”, where the “configuration files” include parameters to interpret data (data model), and the ability to update “calibration parameters and configuration files” (second data model) from a “nonvolatile memory”, where the “sensors associated with the modular system to connect within the “Internet of Things”, supports remote interaction and control of data analysis (data models)) of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract]), the second data model to the incoming data to produce the telemetry data ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-67 ], & [Col. 5, ll. 1-29]: further supports applying updated configurations/algorithms to process the sensor data, further, “digital electronic facsimiles” (incoming data) “can be processed using a digital signal processor applying appropriate algorithms”, the “algorithms” represent the data model, if the “configuration files” or “calibration parameters” received from a remote system contain updated algorithms or parameters to process incoming data, the processor would apply the new data “second data model” to the incoming data to create new telemetry data such as “measurements” or “alarms”, and the modularity and “plug and play” architecture and be able to update “calibration information” support a system where the processing (data model) can be adjusted, and the processor “executes a program of instructions stored in memory 122”, indicating the interpretation and processing logic is programmable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the processors of the modular telemetry and control units to receive and apply a second data model from a remote computer system based on data analysis, and apply it to incoming data. Duncan teaches a bidirectional (“two-way”) telemetry system where data is transmitted to a host server for formatting, storage, and complex analysis (e.g., trend analysis). Based on the analysis, the remote system can send “data intended for the RFU,” including updated “alarm setpoints” and configuration requests. An alarm setpoint, under BRI constitutes a data model or threshold algorithm used to evaluate data. When the local processor receives the updated setpoints (“second data model”), it applies them to the incoming sensor data. If the data falls outside the newly defined limits, the unit produces specific telemetry data (alarm notifications). Walker supports the dynamic application of algorithms and configuration files stored in memory to process digital facsimiles. The motivation to combine these teachings is to allow remote updates of the data models to ensure the remote field units remain adaptive to changing grid conditions, allowing operators to refine detection algorithms, adjust thresholds, or correct calibration without having to physically travel to the deployed hardware, according to known methods, and to improve the modular telemetry platform calibration process and create a more effective and adaptable monitoring system, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 30, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 29 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), further comprising: sending, by the processor ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0039], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]: control function is the processor/memory, “The control function is the “heart” of the RFU. Depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]: remote field unit (RFU) with functional blocks), to the remote computer system via the network ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], & [0103]: the RFU’s “two-way telemetry function”, can send and receive data, data “electrical power parameters is transmitted to the Internet or Intranet via a communications link.” and “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for customer retrieval” (remote computer system), the system allows for “customer interaction” where “data that is initiated from the customer, such as alarm setpoints, request for diagnostics, current position, and request for immediate sample.”), parameters characterizing the first data model ([Abstract], [0039]-[0045], [0077], [0093] & [0103]: teaches the method step of the control function (processor) packaging and sending control and diagnostic information (parameters characterizing the data model/algorithms) along with the sensor data, further, the processor, “performing data formatting, storage, and relaying”, “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, indicates applying the first data model, the RFU collects and stores “formatted sensor data” and “data will be stored onboard in memory”, for future retrieval, and can also “services user requests” and perform “data analysis and data presentation capabilities.”), and the parameters characterizing the first data model ([Abstract], [0039]-[0045], [0077], [0093] & [0093]).
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein the second data model is based at least in part on an analysis by the remote computer system of the telemetry data
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein the second data model is based at least in part on an analysis by the remote computer system ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-64], & [Col. 5, ll. 21-29]: teaches that the remote unit applies these newly received setpoints/parameters (second data model) to the incoming data to determine if an alarm state exists, thereby shaping the resulting telemetry data and notification strategy, further, microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, where the system can receive “configuration files” and mentions “preemptive condition monitoring systems where alarms are triggered due to wear, degradation, and failure.”, where the “configuration files” include parameters to interpret data (data model), and the ability to update “calibration parameters and configuration files” (second data model) from a “nonvolatile memory”, where the “sensors associated with the modular system to connect within the “Internet of Things”, supports remote interaction and control of data analysis (data models)) of the telemetry data ([Abstract])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured and performed the method of sending parameters characterizing the first data model to the remote computer system, wherein the second data model is based on an analysis of both the telemetry data and the parameters, as taught by the combination of Duncan and Walker. Duncan teaches a bidirectional (“two-way”) telemetry system method where remote field unit sends system data that includes control, indicator, and diagnostic information generated by the signal processing and control blocks, aside from raw sensor data. Walker discloses that the unit’s processing relies on stored calibration parameters and configuration files. Duncan further teaches that the secure analyze the incoming system data. Based on the analysis of the telemetry data and the unit’s current diagnostic/control state, the remote system can send “data intended for the RFU,” including updated “alarm setpoints” and requests for diagnostics. When the local processor receives the updated setpoints (“second data model”), it applies them to the incoming sensor data. If the data falls outside the newly defined limits, the unit produces specific telemetry data (alarm notifications). Walker supports the dynamic application of algorithms and configuration files stored in memory to process digital facsimiles. The motivation to combine these teachings is to allow remote updates of the data models to ensure the remote field units remain adaptive to changing grid conditions, allowing operators to refine detection algorithms, adjust thresholds, or correct calibration without having to physically travel to the deployed hardware, according to known methods, so that the remote system analyzes both the telemetry data and the unit’s configuration parameters before sending back an updated model (e.g., new setpoints) to ensure that any remotely deployed updates or alarm thresholds are accurately calibrated to the current operating state and diagnostic health of that individual field unit, and to improve the modular telemetry platform calibration process and create a more effective and adaptable monitoring system, according to known methods, yielding predictable results (KSR) and preventing false alarms, ensuring the grid monitoring.
Regarding dependent claim 35, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 33 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), further comprising: receiving, by the processor ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0039], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]: remote field unit (RFU) with functional blocks), control data from a remote computer system via a network ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0042]-[0047], [0052], [0054], [0082], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]: teaches the method step of the control function (processor) receiving control data via the telemetry function (network interface), further describes the “remote field unit (RFU)” as the modular telemetry and control unit, the “control function” within the RFU contains a “processor”, where the RFU has a “two-way telemetry function” and “receiving data intended for the RFU”, the data can originate from a “customer” (remote computer system) via the “Internet or Intranet via a communications link” (network), where the control function’s inputs include “a set of inputs comprised of control data as well as control, indicator, and diagnostic information from the telemetry function”, the system/methodology states it can “receive commands” and that the RFU can be “more interactive when necessary”, indicating commands or “control data”);
determining, by the processor ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0039], [0043]-[0045], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]), a third data model to interpret the control data ([0039] & [0043]-[0045], [0077], & [0093]: teaches the method step where the control function must translate and interpret the incoming formats of the received data, further, depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, indicates defining and applying a “data model” to interpret and structure “numerical representations” (incoming data), and the processor is “under program control”, indicating execution of instructions to perform the above mentioned tasks, determining the appropriate data model, this methodology would be applied for each data model (first, second, third, or more), and “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, indicates applying the third data model, the RFU collects and stores “formatted sensor data” and “data will be stored onboard in memory”, for future retrieval, and can also “services user requests” and perform “data analysis and data presentation capabilities.”); and
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
applying, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, the third data model to the control data to produce the outgoing data.
However, Walker, further teaches:
applying, by the processor ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-67], & [Col. 5, ll. 1-29]: supports processors applying updated configurations/algorithms to process the sensor data, further, microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, where the system can receive “configuration files” and mentions “preemptive condition monitoring systems where alarms are triggered due to wear, degradation, and failure.”, where the “configuration files” include parameters to interpret data (data model), and the ability to update “calibration parameters and configuration files” (second data model) from a “nonvolatile memory”, where the “sensors associated with the modular system to connect within the “Internet of Things”, supports remote interaction and control of data analysis (data models)) of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract]), the third data model to the control data to produce the outgoing data ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-67 ], [Col. 5, ll. 1-29], & [Col. 7, ll. 55-59]: “digital electronic facsimiles” (control data) “can be processed using a digital signal processor applying appropriate algorithms”, the “algorithms” represent the data model, if the “configuration files” or “calibration parameters” or “control data” received from a remote system (e.g., in the form of updated “configuration files, calibration parameters, or control data”) contain updated algorithms or parameters to process control data, the processor would apply the new “third data model” to the control data to create new telemetry data to generate commands or adjust operational parameters, such as “measurements” or “alarms”, and the modularity and “plug and play” architecture and be able to update “calibration information” support a system where the processing (data model) can be adjusted, and the processor “executes a program of instructions stored in memory 122”, indicating the interpretation and processing logic is programmable, where the microcontroller is configured to “execute one or more programmed instructions” that would enable it to take action on the received control data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the processor(s) of the modular telemetry and control units to receive and apply a third data model and control data from a remote computer system via a network based on data analysis, and apply it to incoming third data model to interpret and produce outgoing data, of Walker to Duncan. Duncan teaches a bidirectional (“two-way”) telemetry system where data is transmitted to a host server for formatting, storage, and complex analysis (e.g., trend analysis). Based on the analysis, the remote system can send “data intended for the RFU,” including updated “alarm setpoints” and configuration requests. An alarm setpoint, under BRI constitutes a data model or threshold algorithm used to evaluate data. When the local processor receives the updated setpoints (“third data model”), it applies them to the incoming sensor data. If the data falls outside the newly defined limits, the unit produces specific telemetry data (alarm notifications). Walker supports the dynamic application of algorithms and configuration files stored in the memory to process digital facsimiles. The motivation to combine these teachings is to allow remote updates of the data models to ensure the remote field units remain adaptive to changing grid conditions, allowing operators to refine detection algorithms, adjust threshold, or correct calibration without having to physically travel to the deployed hardware, according to know methods, and to improve the modular telemetry platform calibration process and create a more effective and adaptable monitoring system, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 36, Duncan teaches:
A telemetry and control system for sensors (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]: “system for gathering, transmitting, and storing data captured from remote monitoring sites positioned in the field”, the system has “specific applicability to distributed chemical sensing and reporting, as well as distributed power monitoring and reporting,”, describing a telemetry and control system for sensors), comprising:
and perform extract-transform-load (EIL) operations to the incoming data to produce telemetry data ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0043]-[0045], [0052],[0084], [0090], [0093]-[0097], & [0100]-[0103]: teaches formatting (transforming) collected (extracted) data and storing it in a database (loading)),and
send the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0046]-[0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], & [0103]: teaches sending the formatted telemetry to a remote server, states the “telemetry function serves the purpose of transmitting data from the RFU”, the data is “transmitted to the Internet or Intranet via a communications link”, where it is “relayed to secure servers” (remote computer system), the RFU’s “two-way telemetry function”, can send and receive data, data “electrical power parameters is transmitted to the Internet or Intranet via a communications link.” and “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for customer retrieval” (remote computer system), the system allows for “customer interaction” where “data that is initiated from the customer, such as alarm setpoints, request for diagnostics, current position, and request for immediate sample.”), and
receive, from the remote computer system, a second model and apply the second data model to subsequent incoming data ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0042], [0045]-[0056], [0082], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]: teaches bidirectional telemetry where the unit receives updated parameters (alarm setpoints/data models) from the remote host and applies them).
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a processor communicatively coupled to a memory;
a sensor having a detector;
an analog-to-digital converter, the detector communicatively coupled to the analog-to-digital converter, the sensor adapted to output a signal to the analog-to-digital converter, the analog-to-digital converter adapted to convert the signal to produce incoming data,
wherein the sensor and the analog-to-digital converter are disposed on
wherein the processor is adapted to:
receive the incoming data via a backplane bus,
apply a data model selected from SCADA, DNP, and IEC 61850
However, Walker, further teaches:
a processor communicatively coupled to a memory ([Col. 4, ll. 43-67] & [Col. 5, ll. 1-67]: teaches a microcontroller having a processor and memory connected via bus, describes a “microcontroller 102 that includes a processor 120, a memory 122, and a communication interface 124, which are coupled together by a bus 126 or other communication link”, “The processor 120 executes a program of instructions stored in memory 122”);
a sensor having a detector ([Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 62-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10]): teaches an analog optical module utilizing a light detector, describes “at least one optical sensor located external to the housing. The sensor cable receives the optical signal from the at least one optical sensor and provides the optical signal to the analog optical conversion device”, where the “analog optical conversion device 104 also includes an analog to digital convertor that converts that analog electrical signal to a digital signal”, and contains “optical to electronic components, such as photodiodes”, a photodiode is a type of detector/sensor);
an analog-to-digital converter ([Col. 4, ll. 1-11 & 18-26], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-14, 35-40 & 60-67] & [Col. 7, ll. 1-23]: teaches the inclusion of an ADC), the detector communicatively coupled to the analog-to-digital converter ([Abstract], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-14], [Col. 7, ll. 25-34], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the photodiode (detector) passing the analog signal directly to the ADC for conversion, where the “analog optical conversion device 104 also includes an analog to digital convertor that converts that analog electrical signal to a digital signal” using an “optical to analog converter”, which contains “photodiodes” or detectors, also states that the “analog optical conversion device 104 also includes an analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electrical signal to a digital signal that is a digital facsimile of the received optical signal”, describing a detector (photodiode) communicatively coupled to an analog-to-digital converter), the sensor adapted to output a signal to the analog-to-digital converter ([Abstract], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11 & 18-26], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-14, 35-40 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23 & 25-34], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the optical signal being received and output as an electrical signal to the ADC), the analog-to-digital converter adapted to convert the signal to produce incoming data ([Abstract], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-14, 35-40 & 50-67], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the ADC converting the signal to digital facsimiles (incoming data)),
wherein the sensor and the analog-to-digital converter are disposed on (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 32-34 & 61-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]: teaches the conversion device is housed on a pluggable module PCBA carrier (card))
wherein the processor is adapted to:
receive the incoming data via a backplane bus ([Col. 5, ll. 21-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-40 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the processor receiving the data across a backplane bus),
apply a data model selected from SCADA, DNP, and IEC 61850 ([Col. 3, ll. 4-42 & 57-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and modified the telemetry and control system of Walker to include the remote database/two-way telemetry operations of Duncan. Walker teaches applying algorithms to the data. Duncan further teaches that the remote unit extracts data, formats it into desired communication protocols, and stores it in a database (loading). Duncan also teaches sending the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network (data is transmitted to the Internet/Intranet and relayed to secure servers), and receiving, from the remote computer system, a second data model and applying the second data model to subsequent incoming data (receiving customer-initiated data such as updated alarm setpoints and applying them). A POSITA would find it obvious to configure the processors of Walker’s telemetry units to execute the bidirectional telemetry and database formatting methodologies taught by Duncan. The motivation for the modification would be to ensure the telemetry data is properly formatted for remote database storage, to allow for operators to update diagnostic parameters or alarm thresholds without traveling to the deployed hardware, according to known methods, in order to attain signal processing requirements for the telemetry platform, and yield predictable results (KSR). The combined references of Walker and Duncan do not explicitly disclose that the formatting operations constitute “extract-transform-load (ETL) operations,” of applying a data model selected from “SCADA, DNP, and IEC 61850.” However, it is well known in the art at the time of the invention that Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA), Distributed Network Protocol (DNP), and IEC 61850 are industry-standard communication protocols utilized for transmitting and formatting electric grid telemetry. The process of pulling data from a source, transforming it into a structured protocol, and loading it into a database is defined in computer science as an Extract, Transform, Load (ETL) operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to apply models selected from SCADA, DNP, or IEC 61850 to the incoming data, and to characterize the formatting taught by Duncan as an ETL operation. Doing so constitutes applying known, standardized electrical power grid communication protocols to an electrical grid monitoring system to achieve the predictable results (KSR) of interoperable data formatting.
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
a hot-swappable module card;
However, Zer, further teaches:
a hot-swappable module card ([Title], [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0008], [0010]-[0013], [0028], [0030]-[0036], [0041]-[0044], & [Claim 1]: teaches the modular cards are hot-swappable/field-replaceable without system downtime);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and modified the telemetry and control system of Walker to include the hot-swappable modular card capabilities of Zer and the remote database/two-way telemetry operations of Duncan. The motivation to do so would be to create a plug and play system that allows for easy, rapid field replacements and interchangeability without causing extensive system downtime. Walker teaches applying algorithms to the data. Duncan further teaches that the remote unit extracts data, formats it into desired communication protocols, and stores it in a database (loading). Duncan also teaches sending the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network (data is transmitted to the Internet/Intranet and relayed to secure servers), and receiving, from the remote computer system, a second data model and applying the second data model to subsequent incoming data (receiving customer-initiated data such as updated alarm setpoints and applying them). A POSITA would find it obvious to configure the processors of Walker’s telemetry units to execute the bidirectional telemetry and database formatting methodologies taught by Duncan. The motivation for the modification would be to ensure the telemetry data is properly formatted for remote database storage, to allow for operators to update diagnostic parameters or alarm thresholds without traveling to the deployed hardware, according to known methods, in order to attain signal processing requirements for the telemetry platform, and yield predictable results (KSR). The combined references of Walker, Zer, and Duncan do not explicitly disclose that the formatting operations constitute “extract-transform-load (ETL) operations,” of applying a data model selected from “SCADA, DNP, and IEC 61850.” However, it is well known in the art at the time of the invention that Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA), Distributed Network Protocol (DNP), and IEC 61850 are industry-standard communication protocols utilized for transmitting and formatting electric grid telemetry. The process of pulling data from a source, transforming it into a structured protocol, and loading it into a database is defined in computer science as an Extract, Transform, Load (ETL) operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to apply models selected from SCADA, DNP, or IEC 61850 to the incoming data, and to characterize the formatting taught by Duncan as an ETL operation. Doing so constitutes applying known, standardized electrical power grid communication protocols to an electrical grid monitoring system to achieve the predictable results (KSR) of interoperable data formatting.
Regarding independent claim 37, Duncan teaches:
A telemetry and control system for sensors (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]: “system for gathering, transmitting, and storing data captured from remote monitoring sites positioned in the field”, the system has “specific applicability to distributed chemical sensing and reporting, as well as distributed power monitoring and reporting,”, describing a telemetry and control system for sensors), comprising:
apply a data model to the incoming data to produce telemetry data (Fig. 1; [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0042], [0045]-[0056], [0082], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103] : teaches applying algorithmic manipulations (data models) to produce the resulting data payload, “the control function” (processor) performs “data formatting” and “formats system data into a desired communications protocol or protocols”, where the “desired data communications protocol” is a “data model” applied to the “incoming data” (formatted sensor data) to produce “telemetry data” for transmission, where the processor performs “algorithmic manipulations of the sensor signal(s)”), and send the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0046]-[0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095] & [0103]: teaches sending telemetry data to remote servers over the Internet/Intranet, further states the “telemetry function serves the purpose of transmitting data from the RFU”, the data is “transmitted to the Internet or Intranet via a communications link”, where it is “relayed to secure servers” (remote computer system)).
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a modular telemetry and control unit having a processor, associated memory,
a sensor module installable in at least one of the card slots of the modular telemetry and control unit to be in communication with the processor, the sensor module having a detector and an analog-to-digital converter, the detector being in communication with the analog-to-digital converter, the sensor module adapted to receive a signal from the sensor and decode the signal to produce incoming data,
wherein the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit is adapted to: receive the incoming data from the sensor module,
However, Walker, further teaches:
a modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract]) having a processor [Col. 2, ll. 32-34 & 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], & [Col. 5, ll. 1-29 & 37-67], associated memory [Col. 4, ll. 43-67] & [Col. 5, ll. 1-67]: teaches a microcontroller having a processor and memory connected via bus),
a sensor module installable in at least one of the card slots of the modular telemetry and control unit to be in communication with the processor (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll.1-29 & 37-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 20-25 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23, 25-34 & 46-54], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches a module (conversion device) is installable via a PCBA carrier/card and communicates with the processor via a backplane, describes “one or more opto-electronic telemetry device modules” which are “installable in the housing” through “openings configured to receive the one or more opto-electronic telemetry device modules”, the modules such as the “analog optical conversion device 104”, include “optical sensors for voltage, current, and temperature sensors”, the modules are “coupled to the backplane” which is then “communicatively couples to the microcontroller 102” (processor), establishing communication, maps to a “sensor module installable in the module slot….to be in communication with the processor”), the sensor module having a detector and an analog-to-digital converter ([Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 62-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-67] & [Col. 7, ll. 1-23]: teaches the analog optical module contains a detector (photodiode) that feeds the signal to an analog-to-digital converter), the detector being in communication with the analog-to-digital converter ([Abstract], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23 & 25-34], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the photodiode (detector) passing the analog signal directly to the ADC for conversion), the sensor module adapted to receive a signal from the sensor and decode the signal to produce incoming data ([Abstract], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-67], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the module receiving the optical signal and converting (decoding) it to a digital facsimile (incoming data)),
wherein the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit is adapted to: receive the incoming data from the sensor module ([Col. 2, ll. 22-31], [Col. 3, ll. 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 57-64], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23 & 60-62], [Col. 8, ll. 5-8], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the processor receiving the digital data from the conversion device, further, “microcontroller 102” (processor) is configured to “receive the digital facsimiles of the optical signals from the analog optical conversion device” (sensor module), the “digital facsimiles” are the incoming data), apply a data model to the incoming data to produce telemetry data,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and combined the teachings of Walker and Duncan. Walker teaches the foundational architecture with a microcontroller with a processor and memory that receives digitized sensor data from an installable optical module (containing a detector and ADC). Walker, further teaches that the processor applies algorithms to the data and interfaces with a network. Where it would be an obvious operational enhancement to utilize the network transmission schema of Duncan, that details formatting the data using algorithms and transmitting the modular telemetry to a remote secure server system for end-user retrieval. The motivation to combine is to capture sensor data securely (Walker) and reliably centralizing that data on remote servers for off-site utility monitoring (Duncan), and to improve the system’s electro-optical conversion and signal processing of the sensors, according to know methods, with predictable data model results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
and card slots;
However, Zer, further teaches:
and card slots ([Title], [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0008], [0010]-[0013], [0028], [0030]-[0036], [0041]-[0044], & [Claim 1]: teaches openings acting as card slots (cut outs) to receive modules);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and combined the teachings of Walker, Zer, and Duncan. Walker teaches the foundational architecture with a microcontroller with a processor and memory that receives digitized sensor data from an installable optical module (containing a detector and ADC). Incorporating the “cut out” mechanical design taught by Zer for field-replaceable modular units, for a modular pluggable design that enables easy field replacement. Walker, further teaches that the processor applies algorithms to the data and interfaces with a network. Where it would be an obvious operational enhancement to utilize the network transmission schema of Duncan, that details formatting the data using algorithms and transmitting the modular telemetry to a remote secure server system for end-user retrieval. The motivation to combine is to capture sensor data securely (Walker) allowing quick modular maintenance without system downtime (Zer), and reliably centralizing that data on remote servers for off-site utility monitoring (Duncan), and to improve the system’s electro-optical conversion and signal processing of the sensors, according to know methods, with predictable data model results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 38, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 37 (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein the sensor module is installable within a housing comprising the card slots of the modular telemetry and control unit so as to be connected to a bus of the modular telemetry and control unit.
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein the sensor module (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42 & 57-67], [Col. 6, ll. 50-65], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]) is installable within a housing of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll.1-29 & 37-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 20-25 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23, 25-34 & 46-54], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches that the analog optical conversion device (sensor module) is located inside the device’s housing, and that the housing has openings to receive it, the conversion device is installable via a PCBA carrier/card and communicates with the processor via a backplane, describes “one or more opto-electronic telemetry device modules” which are “installable in the housing” through “openings configured to receive the one or more opto-electronic telemetry device modules”, the modules such as the “analog optical conversion device 104”, include “optical sensors for voltage, current, and temperature sensors”, the modules are “coupled to the backplane” which is then “communicatively couples to the microcontroller 102” (processor), establishing communication, maps to a “sensor module installable in the module slot….to be in communication with the processor”) so as to be connected to a bus of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1-3; [Col. 4, ll. 1-12, 18-21, & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 21-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-40 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches that the bus uses a backplane to connect the optical module (installed on the PCBA card) to the microcontroller (processor) and teaches that the telemetry device utilizes a standardized bus system and that the optical module connects to it (via a backplane) when installed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the telemetry and control system such that the sensor module is installable within a housing of the modular telemetry and control units, comprising card slots and connected to a bus, as taught by the combination of Walker to Duncan. Walker, teaches a telemetry unit assembled such that the analog optical conversion device (sensor module) is housed internally within a housing having openings and is communicatively coupled to the microcontroller via a backplane, which is a standard electronic interface to system bus. The motivation to combine Walker’s internally housed backplane architecture, in combination with Duncan, is to create a self-contained, modular, and plug and play device that moves the sensitive optical connections into the digital electronic domain, solving issues of contamination and degradation common in field installations, improving the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules in grid telemetry systems, according to known methods, simplifying field installation, reliable connections, allowing easy hardware interchangeability, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
comprising the card slots
However, Zer, further teaches:
comprising the card slots ([Title], [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0008], [0010]-[0013], [0028], [0030]-[0036], [0041]-[0044], & [Claim 1]: defines physical slots/cutouts on a main housing for receiving modular optical units)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the telemetry and control system such that the sensor module is installable within a housing of the modular telemetry and control units, comprising card slots and connected to a bus, as taught by the combination of Walker and Zer to Duncan. Walker, teaches a telemetry unit assembled such that the analog optical conversion device (sensor module) is housed internally within a housing having openings and is communicatively coupled to the microcontroller via a backplane, which is a standard electronic interface to system bus. Zer provides the specific mechanical blueprint, teaching the use of physical “cut outs” on a main housing designed to receive sliding housings of modular optical interconnect units. The motivation to combine Zer’s specific mechanical slot/cutout design with Walker’s internally housed backplane architecture is to create a self-contained, modular, and plug and play device that moves the sensitive optical connections into the digital electronic domain, solving issues of contamination and degradation common in field installations, improving the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules in grid telemetry systems, according to known methods, simplifying field installation, allowing easy hardware interchangeability, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 39, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 38 (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein the sensor module is in the form of a card adapted to be installed in at least one of the card slots, and wherein the bus comprises a backplane connecting the card slots to the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit.
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein the sensor module (Fig. 1; [Col. 5, ll. 59-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]: analog optical conversion device 104 (sensor module) as it includes photodiodes and ADCs and converts sensor signals) is in the form of a card ([Col. 4, ll. 1-12, 18-21 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-52], & [Col. 7, ll. 46-59]: teaches that the modular components are designed as Printed Circuit Board Assemblies (PCBAs), cards, that plug into the system) and wherein the bus comprises a backplane connecting the card slots to the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1-3; [Col. 4, ll. 1-12, 18-21 & 43-64] & [Col. 5, ll. 21-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-40 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches that the bus uses a backplane to connect the optical conversion device (sensor module installed on the PCBA card) to the microcontroller (processor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the sensor module in the form of a card and backplane architecture and bus within a housing of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker to Duncan, in order to improve the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules that allow expansion of modules in grid telemetry systems, simplifying field installation with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
adapted to be installed in at least one of the card slots,
However, Zer, further teaches:
adapted to be installed in at least one of the card slots ([Title], [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0008], [0010]-[0013], [0028], [0030]-[0036], [0041]-[0044], & [Claim 1]: defines physical slots/cutouts for receiving the field-replaceable optical modules without system downtime),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the telemetry and control system wherein the sensor module is in the form of a card adapted to be installed in the card-slot, wherein the bus comprises a backplane architecture connecting the card slots to the processor, within a housing of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker (in combination to Zer) to Duncan. Walker teaches the electrical and mechanical architecture of a microcontroller (processor) connected to a backplane (system bus), which connects to the optical conversion devices (sensor modules) that are mounted on PCBA carriers (cards). Zer provides a mechanical blueprint, teaching the use of physical cut outs on a main housing’s front panel designed to receive the housings of modular optical units. The motivation to combine Zer’s mechanical slot/cutout design with Walker’s PCBA card and backplane architecture would improve the modular telemetry platform with plug-and-play modules that allow expansion of modules in grid telemetry systems, according to known methods, simplifying field installation, allowing for easy interchangeability, quick field replacements without taking the entire unit offline, and reliable connections across a standard bus interface, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 40, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 38 (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]), wherein the processor ([Abstract], [0018], [00024], [0039] & [0043]-[0045]: control function receives inputs from signal processing/telemetry) of the modular telemetry and control units (Figs. 1 & 2; [0027]-[0034]: RFU with different functions (sensor, control, telemetry, etc.)),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
is further adapted to receive the incoming data from the sensor module via the bus.
However, Walker, further teaches:
is further adapted to receive the incoming data ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 22-31], [Col. 3, ll. 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: “The analog optical conversion device 104 also includes an analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electrical signal to a digital signal that is a digital facsimile of the received optical signal.”) from the sensor module (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 20-25, & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: analog optical conversion device 104 (sensor module) as it includes photodiodes and ADCs and converts sensor signals) via the bus (Figs. 1-3; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 22-31], [Col. 3, ll. 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-12, 18-21, & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-52], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches that the device uses a standardized bus, that the backplane acts as the interface to this bus, the bus is coupled to the microcontroller that is coupled to a number of additional components, devices, elements, including the sensor module, and that the microcontroller (which contains the processor) receives the digital facsimiles (incoming data) from the conversion device (sensor module) via this connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the telemetry and control system wherein the processor is adapted to receive the incoming data from the sensor module via a backplane (bus) of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker to Duncan. Walker teaches the internal communication structure, the microcontroller (processor) is communicatively coupled to the analog optical conversion device (sensor module) through a backplane, that Walker defines as the “standard electronic interface to system bus”. Walker further teaches that the microcontroller, coupled to this backplane bus, executes instructions to receive the digital facsimiles from the conversion device, therefore the unit is adapted so that the processor receives the data via the bus. The motivation for routing data via this standard system bus is to allow for easy interconnection, modular interchangeability, and to utilize standard physical interfaces for reliable data transfer within the digital electronic domain, according to known methods, in order to improve the modular telemetry platform communication between a processor and a sensor module via a bus to receive data, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 41, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 37 (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]), wherein the processor ([0039]-[0045], [0077]-[0078] & [0093]: control function receives inputs from signal processing/telemetry) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1 & 2; [0027]-[0034]: RFU with different functions (sensor, control, telemetry, etc.)) is further adapted to extract data from one or more of ([Abstract], [0018], [0024],[0039]-[0045], [0077]-[0078] & [0093]: contains the processor, “performing data formatting, storage, and relaying”, “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, indicates applying the model, the RFU collects and stores “formatted sensor data” and “data will be stored onboard in memory”, and can also “services user requests” and perform “data analysis and data presentation capabilities.”): formatted logs, stored data files ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0040], [0043]-[0045], [0074], [0077]-[0078], [0081] & [0084]: “After processing, the data will be stored onboard in memory until emptied by a transition from the RUN to RF states.”, “Data collected by an RFU can be stored in a first in, first out (FIFO) queue; database; or other data storage system.”, corresponding to stored data filed and formatted logs), SCADA data structures, DNP points, and IEC 61850 data structures ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0047], [0074], [0077]-[0078], [0081], [0084] & [0107]-[0108]: “the control function formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the telemetry function receives “data intended for the RFU” and transfers “sensor data to the telemetry function as well as control information”, where the data structures (SCADA, DNP, IEC 61850) form part of standard protocols, represent industry-standard “data communication protocols” for electrical grid monitoring).
Regarding dependent claim 42, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 37 (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]), wherein the processor ([0039]-[0045], [0077]-[0078] & [0093]: control function receives inputs from signal processing/telemetry, control function is the processor/memory, “The control function is the “heart” of the RFU. Depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”)) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1 & 2; [0027]-[0034]: RFU with different functions (sensor, control, telemetry, etc.)) is further adapted to determine the data model to interpret the incoming data ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0045], [0077]-[0078] & [0093]: teaches the structural hierarchy where a central control function (processor) determines and dictates the algorithmic manipulations (data models) used by the system to interpret the incoming sensor signals, further, depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, indicates determining and applying a “data model” to interpret and structure “numerical representations” (incoming data), and the processor is “under program control”, indicating execution of instructions to perform the above mentioned tasks, determining the appropriate data model).
Regarding dependent claim 43, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 37 (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]), wherein the processor ([0039]-[0045], [0077]-[0078] & [0093]) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]) is further adapted to transform the telemetry data in accordance with a target database schema ([0024], [0039]-[0045], [0084], [0097] & [0101]: teaches the processor (control function) is adapted to format (transform) the data specifically for storage in a database system, further discloses, “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, “the data is relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for later retrieval by a customer.”, the formatting and storage indicates transforming according to the database schema for “secure servers” (database), also mentions “database generation” and that “RFU data can be time stamped”, both part of a database schema).
Regarding dependent claim 44, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 37 (Fig. 2; [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]), wherein the processor ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0039] & [0043]-[0045]) of the modular telemetry and control unit (Fig. 2; [0027]-[0034]) is further adapted to: receive, from the remote computer system via the network ([Abstract], [0018], [0024], [0027]-[0037], [0047], [0054], [0093]-[0095], [0097], [0099] & [0103]: teaches a two-way telemetry function where the host server stores and analyzes data (trend analysis, etc.), and the remote unit receives updated configurations (like alarm setpoints) initiated by the customer/host over the network based on that analysis, further, the RFU’s “two-way telemetry function”, can send and receive data, data “electrical power parameters is transmitted to the Internet or Intranet via a communications link.” and “relayed to secure servers, where it is formatted, analyzed, and stored for customer retrieval” (remote computer system), the system allows for “customer interaction” where “data that is initiated from the customer, such as alarm setpoints, request for diagnostics, current position, and request for immediate sample.”),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
a second data model based at least in part on an analysis of the telemetry data by the remote computer system; and apply the second data model to the incoming data to produce the telemetry data.
However, Walker, further teaches:
a second data model based at least in part on an analysis of the telemetry data by the remote computer system ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 26-64], & [Col. 5, ll. 21-29]: teaches that the remote unit applies these newly received setpoints/parameters (second data model) to the incoming data to determine if an alarm state exists, thereby shaping the resulting telemetry data and notification strategy, further teaches, microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, where the system can receive “configuration files” and mentions “preemptive condition monitoring systems where alarms are triggered due to wear, degradation, and failure.”, where the “configuration files” include parameters to interpret data (data model), and the ability to update “calibration parameters and configuration files” (second data model) from a “nonvolatile memory”, where the “sensors associated with the modular system to connect within the “Internet of Things”, supports remote interaction and control of data analysis (data models)); and apply the second data model to the incoming data to produce the telemetry data ([Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 65-67], & [Col. 5, ll. 1-29]: further supports processors applying updated configurations/algorithms to process the sensor data, further, “digital electronic facsimiles” (incoming data) “can be processed using a digital signal processor applying appropriate algorithms”, the “algorithms” represent the data model, if the “configuration files” or “calibration parameters” received from a remote system contain updated algorithms or parameters to process incoming data, the processor would apply the new data “second data model” to the incoming data to create new telemetry data such as “measurements” or “alarms”, and the modularity and “plug and play” architecture and be able to update “calibration information” support a system where the processing (data model) can be adjusted, and the processor “executes a program of instructions stored in memory 122”, indicating the interpretation and processing logic is programmable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the processors of the modular telemetry and control units to receive and apply a second data model from a remote computer system based on data analysis, and apply it to incoming data. Duncan teaches a bidirectional (“two-way”) telemetry system where data is transmitted to a host server for formatting, storage, and complex analysis (e.g., trend analysis). Based on the analysis, the remote system can send “data intended for the RFU,” including updated “alarm setpoints” and configuration requests. An alarm setpoint, under BRI constitutes a data model or threshold algorithm used to evaluate data. When the local processor receives the updated setpoints (“second data model”), it applies them to the incoming sensor data. If the data falls outside the newly defined limits, the unit produces specific telemetry data (alarm notifications). Walker supports the dynamic application of algorithms and configuration files stored in memory to process digital facsimiles. The motivation to combine these teachings is to allow remote updates of the data models to ensure the remote field units remain adaptive to changing grid conditions, allowing operators to refine detection algorithms, adjust thresholds, or correct calibration without having to physically travel to the deployed hardware, according to known methods, and to improve the modular telemetry platform calibration process and create a more effective and adaptable monitoring system, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding independent claim 45, Duncan teaches:
A method to provide telemetry and control for sensors and devices (Fig. 2; [0003], [0016], [0018], [0027]-[0034], [0039], [0045] & [0093]) via a telemetry and control system (Fig.2; [0003], [0015]-[0016], [0018] & [0027]-[0034]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
comprising sensor modules installed in modular telemetry and control units, each of the modular telemetry and control units comprising a processor and memory in communication with the sensor modules installed therein, each of the sensor modules comprising one or more signal detectors and one or more converters, the method comprising:
receiving, by a sensor module card connected via a backplane bus, a signal from a sensor or device, the sensor module card being in communication with a modular telemetry and control unit;
decoding the signal to produce incoming data;
receiving, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, the incoming data from the sensor module card;
applying, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, a data model to the incoming data to produce telemetry data;
sending, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network,
However, Walker, further teaches:
comprising sensor modules installed in modular telemetry and control units (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 20-35], [Col. 2, ll. 22-56 & 61-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-26 & 43-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10, 20-25, & 50-65], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches utilizing sensor modules on Printed Circuit Board Assembly (PCBA) carriers (cards) installed within the modular and control unit’s openings), each of the modular telemetry and control units comprising a processor and memory in communication with the sensor modules installed therein ([Col. 2, ll. 32-34], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 & 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11 & 43-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65] & [Col. 7, ll. 1-23 & 51-54]: teaches the main unit comprises a microcontroller with a processor and memory that communicates with the installed modules, “modular opto-electronic telemetry device 100” which includes a “microcontroller 102” (processor) and “memory 122”, where the system has a “backplane 103” that is “configured to be coupled to the analog optical conversion device of each of the one or more opto-electronic telemetry modules when installed in the housing”, the backplane acts like a bus system for modular connection, therefore functions as “module slots”, the device is also described as a “modular upgradable system” with an “open design, which permits introduction of pluggable modules”), each of the sensor modules comprising one or more signal detectors and one or more converters (Fig. 1; [Col. 3, ll. 18-42], [Col. 4, ll. 57-64], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67], & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]: teaches the sensor modules (conversion device) utilizes signal detectors (photodiodes) and analog-to-digital converters, “a microcontroller 102” (processor) and “memory 122” that are coupled via a “backplane 103”, where the “analog optical conversion device 104” (sensor module) is coupled to the backplane, the analog optical conversion device includes “optical to electronic components, such as photodiodes” (detectors) and “an analog to digital convertor” (converters)), the method comprising (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 22-31, ], [Col. 3, ll. 18-24, 33-42 & 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 25-62], [Col. 8, ll. 1-4] & [Claim 1]: teaches the signal flow from the photodiode to the converter):
receiving, by a sensor module card ([Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-67]) connected via a backplane bus, a signal from a sensor or device, the sensor module card being in communication with a modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-49], [Col. 3, ll. 62-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 37-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-67], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23 & 60-62], [Col. 8, ll. 1-4], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the module receiving the signal from the sensor and the physical connection to the backplane bus);
decoding the signal to produce incoming data ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 12-31, ][Col. 3, ll. 4-10 & 62-67], [Col. 5, ll. 59-67] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-14 & 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 25-34 & 63-67], [Col. 8, ll. 5-8], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches decoding the signal into digital data (facsimiles) via the converter, describes that the “analog optical conversion device is configured to convert an optical signal to a digital facsimile”, the “digital facsimile” is the incoming data, the conversion process (decoding);
receiving, by the processor ([Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 33-42]) of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract]), the incoming data from the sensor module card ([Col. 3, ll. 33-42], [Col. 4, ll. 57-64], [Col. 6, ll. 1-11], [Col. 7, ll. 46-62], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the processor receiving the decoded data from the module, the “microcontroller 102” (processor) is configured to “receive the digital facsimiles of the optical signals from the analog optical conversion device” (sensor module), the “digital facsimiles” are incoming data);
applying, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit ([Abstract] & [Col. 3, ll. 18-24 & 33-42]), a data model to the incoming data to produce telemetry data ([Col. 3, ll. 25-42], [Col. 4, ll. 27-37 & 65-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10], [Claim1] & [Claim 5]: teaches the processor applying algorithms (data models) to the incoming data, describes that “digital electronic facsimiles” (incoming data) “can be processed using a digital signal processor applying appropriate algorithms”, where the “algorithms” represent a “data model” applied by the processor, which results in data suitable for telemetry);
sending, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit (Figs. 1-3; [Abstract], [Col. 3, ll. 18-42 ], [Col. 4, ll. 1-12,18-21, & 43-64] & [Col. 5, ll. 37-52]), the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network ([Abstract], [Col.3, ll. 18-42], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67] & [Col. 5, ll. 1-58]: teaches the processor communicating via a network, “microcontroller 102” (processor) has a “communication interface 124” used to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network”, the device is designed to “connect within the “Internet of Things””, which involves sending data to remote systems via a network, and the ”digital facsimiles” represents the telemetry data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated specific components (photodetectors, analog-to-digital converters, processor, memory) and their communication methods, receiving and decoding data for digital conversion for the optical signals, format the data and send the telemetry data to a remote computer system via a network, of Walker to Duncan. Walker teaches a method of receiving an optical signal from a sensor at a modular conversion device, decoding the signal into a digital facsimile, passing that data via a backplane to a processor, and having that processor apply appropriate algorithms to the data. Further integrating Duncan’s teachings on routing grid telemetry data to a remote server for storage and analysis into Walker’s network interface, which represents a simple substitution of known data transmission methods to achieve centralized grid monitoring. Walker recognized the need for “pluggable modules” to reduce installation time. The motivation to combine is derived from the known vulnerability of optical components to fail, to improve the methodology of the telemetry platform, yielding predictable results (KSR), according to known methods and minimize system downtime during repairs, accurately capturing analog sensor data, securely digitizing and processing data locally to avoid signal degradation, and reliably transmit to a central remote computer system for utility operators to monitor the grid health.
Duncan, in combination with Walker, are silent in regard to:
implemented as hot-swappable cards
However, Zer, further teaches:
implemented as hot-swappable cards ([Title], [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0008], [0010]-[0013], [0028], [0030]-[0036], [0041]-[0044], & [Claim 1] : teaches the method of making the modular cards “hot-swappable” field replaceable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the telemetry and control for sensors using the combined teachings of Walker, Zer, and Duncan. Walker teaches a method of receiving an optical signal from a sensor at a modular conversion device on a card, decoding the signal into a digital facsimile using detectors and converters, passing that data via a backplane to a processor, having that processor apply appropriate algorithms to the data, and communicating via a network. Zer provides the operation mechanics methodology of utilizing hot-swappable cards in specific housing cutouts (slots) for the optical modules, allowing removal and replacement of the data acquisition modules without incurring system downtime. Further integrating Duncan’s teachings and methodology of applying algorithmic manipulations to format the data and routing grid telemetry data to a remote server, such as an IP network (Internet/Intranet) to a central secure server computer system for remote utility monitoring, database storage and analysis into Walker’s network interface, which represents a simple substitution of known data transmission methods to achieve centralized grid monitoring. The motivation to combine is derived from the known vulnerability of optical components to fail, therefore implementing Zer’s field-replaceable design into Walker and Duncan’s grid monitoring system, would yield predictable results (KSR), according to known methods and minimize system downtime during repairs, accurately capturing sensor data using replaceable modular hardware, securely digitizing and processing data locally to avoid signal degradation, and reliably transmitting it to a central remote computer system for utility operators to monitor the grid health.
Claims 11-14 & 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan, in view of Walker, in view of Zer, and further in view of Duncan et al. (WO 00/23811 A1, Pub. Date Apr. 27, 2000, hereinafter Duncan ‘811).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 1 (Fig. 2; [0003], [0016], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]), wherein each of the electro-optical modules ([0038]-[0041]: signal processing function decoding sensor data)
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
and the electro-optical modules are further adapted to output an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid.
However, Walker, further teaches:
and the electro-optical modules (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]) are further adapted to output an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11, 18-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 21-29 & 59-67], [Col. 7, II. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, the system processes “optical light signals and passes them through an analog to digital conversion to produce digital electronic facsimiles.”, describes “a modular upgradable system for connection with optical sensors for voltage, current, temperature, vibration” among a variety of sensors, and an “open design which permits introduction of pluggable modules to address parameters such as voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurements within a common measurement system platform.”, the open modular design for electrical grid parameters indicates capabilities beyond just receiving and being able to control optical or electrical signal outputs back to the electrical grid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the adapted electro-optical modules to output an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid, of Walker to Duncan, in order to attain a light source and enable the output of control signals back to the electrical grid with of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
further comprises one or more light sources,
However, Duncan’811, further teaches:
further comprises one or more light sources ([Pg. 1, ll. 16-19], [Pg. 9, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 13, ll. 4-20], [Pg. 26, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 28, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 29, ll. 1-2] & [Pg. 32, ll. 20-21]: teaches a fiber optic sensor system module that comprises an integrated light source (LED or laser) to generate the optical signal, “The fiber optic sensor system” (electro-optical module) “according to claim 22, wherein said light source comprises an LED light source”, which processes optical signals and interacts with the light source via “signal processing electronics”, and demonstrates a “semiconductor field sensor system” with a ”light source for emitting a light beam”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the one or more light sources from the electro-optical modules of the modular telemetry and control units of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer, and to be adapted to output an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid. Walker establishes the architecture of modular opto-electronic telemetry devices used for grid monitoring. Duncan‘811 provides the optical hardware mechanics, teaching a fiber optic system comprising an LED or laser source. Describes the method of outputting this generated optical signal down an optical fiber and coupling it into a remotely located sensor assembly (device) designed to measure electrical current on the grid. Combining Walker’s modular housing architecture with the optical hardware of Duncan’811 provides a complete electro-optical module that generates and outputs an optical signal to a grid device. The motivation to incorporate an active light source within the electro-optical module (Duncan’811), is to generate a linearly polarized wavefront necessary to interrogate the garnet sensor elements in order to accurately measure the electrical current, attaining a necessary optical component for the modular telemetry platform, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 11 (Fig. 2; [0003], [0016], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]),
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
wherein said one or more light sources comprise one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs).
However, Duncan’811, further teaches:
wherein said one or more light sources comprise one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Fig. 4; [Pg. 7, ll. 4-5], [Pg. 9, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 13, ll. 4-20], [Pg. 15, ll. 2-5], [Pg. 27, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 28, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 29, ll. 1-2] & [Pg. 32, ll. 20-21]: teaches that the light source of the fiber optic sensor system comprises an LED, “The fiber optic sensor system” (electro-optical module) “according to claim 22, wherein said light source comprises an LED light source”, which processes optical signals and interacts with the light source via “signal processing electronics”, and demonstrates a “semiconductor field sensor system” with a ”light source for emitting a light beam”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the light sources for the electro-optical modules in the telemetry system using one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs), as taught by the combination of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer. Walker and Duncan establish the opto-electronic telemetry devices used for electrical grid monitoring. Duncan’811 provides the optical hardware mechanics disclosing the light source used to emit the interrogating light beam can be an LED light source. Combining the prior art references with Duncan’811 teaching of utilizing an LED light source combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR). The motivation to utilize an LED over other light sources (such as a laser) would be to reduce the overall manufacturing cost of the modular unit, enabling a cost-effective light source option (LEDs) that is suitable for optical sensing applications of the modular telemetry platform, decrease power consumption, and increase the lifespan of the optical source deployed within the field hardware.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 11 (Fig. 2; [0003], [0016], [0027]-[0034], [0039] & [0045]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein each of the electro-optical modules further comprises one or more digital-to-analog converters, and, to output the optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid, and the electro-optical modules are further adapted to: (a) receive, from the respective processors of the modular telemetry and control units, outgoing data;
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein each of the electro-optical modules (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]) further comprises one or more digital-to-analog converters (Fig. 3; [Col. 2, ll. 32-39], [Col. 3, ll. 4-10], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11 & 43-64], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65], & [Col. 7, ll. 1-23]: Fig. 3 illustrates the processor 120 and memory 122 with communication interface 124 and bus 126 for digital data processing, “describes a “modular opto-electronic telemetry device 100”, that includes an “analog optical conversion device 104.”, the conversion device is configured to convert “optical signals to digital facsimiles.”, and describes an “open design” to introduce “pluggable modules to address (parameters) voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurement within a common measurement system.”, indicating a versatile platform that can “be used with any optical or non-optical sensor including those that have not yet been developed” where the examples provided are “not intended to limit the scope of the present technology.”, suggesting a versatile platform that can also support the output of optical or electrical signal, where the overall system moves “the optical connection system to the digital electronic domain” and also describes moving to the “digital electronic domain” and mentions an “analog optical conversion device”, that includes an “analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electric signal to a digital signal”, the general architecture of a modular system for “automation” and “control”, indicating bidirectional conversion capabilities, to include digital to analog conversion to output electric signals), and, to output the optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11, 18-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 21-29 & 59-67], [Col. 7, II. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, the system processes “optical light signals and passes them through an analog to digital conversion to produce digital electronic facsimiles.”, describes “a modular upgradable system for connection with optical sensors for voltage, current, temperature, vibration” among a variety of sensors, and an “open design which permits introduction of pluggable modules to address parameters such as voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurements within a common measurement system platform.”, the open modular design for electrical grid parameters indicates capabilities beyond just receiving and being able to control optical or electrical signal outputs back to the electrical grid), and the electro-optical modules are further adapted to: (a) receive, from the respective processors of the modular telemetry and control units, outgoing data ([Col. 4, ll. 1-11], [Col. 5, ll. 37-52], [Col. 6, ll. 50-65], & [Col. 7, ll. 46-59]: states the “microcontroller 102” (processor) is “configured to execute one or more programmed instructions”, allowing it to generate “outgoing data”, the microcontroller communicates with the “analog optical conversion device 104” via backplane, and the “open design, which permits introduction of “pluggable modules to address voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurement) within a common measurement platform.”, indicating that the modules can receive control data for output);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the electro-optical modules with one or more analog-to-digital converters to output optical or electrical signal to the device of the modular telemetry and control units, of Walker to Duncan, in order to attain the signal processing and the electro-optical conversion for the sensors with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
each of said one or more light sources being in communication with a digital-to-analog converter of said one or more digital-to-analog converters,
and (b) encode the outgoing data to produce the optical or electrical signal.
However, Duncan’811, further teaches:
each of said one or more light sources being in communication with a digital-to-analog converter of said one or more digital-to-analog converters (Fig. 4; [Pg. 9, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 13, ll. 4-20], [Pg. 15, ll. 2-22], [Pg. 17, ll. 1-2 & 15-22], [Pg. 21, ll. 9-19], [Pg. 28, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 29, ll. 1-2] & [Pg. 32, ll. 20-21]: teaches analog drive electronics consisting of amplifier and voltage sources that command the LED/laser, “The fiber optic sensor system” (electro-optical module) “according to claim 22, wherein said light source comprises an LED light source”, which processes optical signals and interacts with the light source via “signal processing electronics”, and demonstrates a “semiconductor field sensor system” with a ”light source for emitting a light beam”, describes the “LED/laser drive electronics 139” where a “current command” is sent to “V-I amplifier subsystem 129 which converts the command voltage from the previous stage 128 into a current command. The current command then biases the LED/laser 20”, prior stages (op amp systems 127,128) process signals that could originate from a digital controller, the V-I amplifier converts a voltage command to a current command to bias the LED/laser, indicating that a digital-to-analog conversion occurred earlier in the process to provide the analog voltage signal for the V-I amplifier, that then drives the light source, the “output signals are sent to additional signal processing components such as analog-to-digital converters, microprocessors, and/or digital-to-analog converters.”),
and (b) encode the outgoing data to produce the optical or electrical signal ([Pg. 17, ll. 1-2 & 13-22], [Pg. 20, II. 4-7], & [Pg. 21, ll. 9-19]: teaches modulating the light source to enable signal measurement, describes an “opto-electronic front end” and “LED/laser drive electronics 139”, drives the “LED/laser source 20”, and the “current command” that biases the LED/laser converts an electrical signal into an optical output, if the current command originates from digital data (after DAC conversion), represents the encoding of digital data into an optical signal, and the “output signals are sent to additional signal processing components such as analog-to-digital converters”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the electro-optical modules in the telemetry and control system with digital-to-analog-converters (DAC) in communication with the light source, adapting them to receive and encode outgoing data from the processor, as taught by the combination of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer. Duncan and Walker teach a processor that generates outgoing data (with system command sequences) to control system parameters. Duncan’811 teaches a fiber optic sensor system that utilizes an analog LED/laser light source, disclosing the use of digital-to-analog converters within the signal processing chain. Duncan’811 further teaches modulating the optical signal before it is outputted to the grid sensing device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to route the digital outgoing data from the processor taught by Duncan through the DAC taught by Duncan’811 to produce an analog drive signal that would communicate with the light source’s drive electronics to encode the data into the outgoing optical beam. The motivation would be to use a known technique (a DAC) to allow a digital processor to modulate an analog optical transmission circuit, improving the processor’s output capability with the DACs and controllable light sources for optical sensing applications of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR) of encoding data into a transmission signal.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Duncan teaches:
The system of claim 13 (Fig. 2; [0003], [0016], [0027]-[0034] [0039], & [0045]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein, to encode the outgoing data, the electro-optical modules are adapted to use a digital-to-analog converter for the electrical signal or the digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal.
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein, to encode the outgoing data, the electro-optical modules are adapted to use a digital-to-analog converter for the electrical signal ([Abstract], [Col. 3, ll. 4-10], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, II. 1-10 & 50-59], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: describes moving to the “digital electronic domain” and mentions an “analog optical conversion device”, that includes an “analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electric signal to a digital signal”, the general architecture of a modular system for “automation” and “control”, indicating bidirectional conversion capabilities, to include digital to analog conversion to output electric signals)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and combined the teachings of Walker and Duncan, encoding of outgoing data with electro-optical modules adapted to use a digital-to-analog converter for the electrical signal. The motivation is to utilize standard, known electro-optical interface techniques (a DAC driving an LED) to translate digital processor commands into analog optical pulses that are transmittable, and to improve the processor’s output capability with the DACs and controllable light sources to drive devices of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
or the digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal.
However, Duncan’811, further teaches:
or the digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal ([Pg. 13, ll. 4-8], [Pg. 17, ll. 1-2 & 15-22], [Pg. 19, ll. 9-19], [Pg. 20, II. 4-7], [Pg. 21, ll. 9-19] & [Pg. 27, ll. 1-2]: teaches that the module is adapted to use as LED as the light source to generate the optical signal and discloses the use of digital-to-analog converters within the signal processing chain, describes an “opto-electronic front end” and “LED/laser drive electronics 139”, drives the “LED/laser source 20”, based on a “current command” derived from a “common voltage”, that biases the LED/laser converts an electrical signal into an optical output, if the current command originates from digital data (after DAC conversion), represents the encoding of digital data into an optical signal, and the “output signals are sent to additional signal processing components such as analog-to-digital converters”, indicating the use of an electrical signal from a DAC to control a light source (LED) to generate an optical signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the encoding of outgoing data with electro-optical modules adapted to use a digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal, as taught by the combination of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer. Duncan’811 teaches an optical sensor system architecture that utilizes an LED as the optical signal source and includes digital-to-analog converters alongside its process in the signal processing flow. Duncan in combination with Walker, teach the processor generating digital outgoing data (command sequences). It would have been obvious to a POSITA to adapt the system so that digital outgoing data is encoded via the digital-to-analog converter and the LED to produce the final optical signal output. The motivation is to utilize standard, known electro-optical interface techniques (a DAC driving an LED) to translate digital processor commands into analog optical pulses that are transmittable, and to attain the processor’s output control signals to devices of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 31, Duncan teaches:
The method of claim 15 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0027]-[0034] [0039], & [0045]), wherein the electro-optical module ([0038]-[0041]: signal processing function decoding sensor data)
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
the method further comprising outputting, by the electro-optical module, an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid.
However, Walker, teaches:
the method further comprising outputting ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11, 18-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 21-29 & 59-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65], [Col. 7, II. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]), by the electro-optical module (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]), an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11, 18-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 21-29 & 59-67], [Col. 7, II. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, the system processes “optical light signals and passes them through an analog to digital conversion to produce digital electronic facsimiles.”, describes “a modular upgradable system for connection with optical sensors for voltage, current, temperature, vibration” among a variety of sensors, and an “open design which permits introduction of pluggable modules to address parameters such as voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurements within a common measurement system platform.”, the open modular design for electrical grid parameters indicates capabilities beyond just receiving and being able to control optical or electrical signal outputs back to the electrical grid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the adapted electro-optical modules to output an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid, of Walker to Duncan, in order to attain a light source and enable the output of control signals back to the electrical grid with of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
further comprises one or more light sources ([Pg. 1, ll. 16-19], [Pg. 9, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 13, ll. 4-20], [Pg. 26, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 28, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 29, ll. 1-2] & [Pg. 32, ll. 20-21]: teaches a fiber optic sensor system module that comprises an integrated light source (LED or laser) to generate the optical signal, “The fiber optic sensor system” (electro-optical module) “according to claim 22, wherein said light source comprises an LED light source”, which processes optical signals and interacts with the light source via “signal processing electronics”, and demonstrates a “semiconductor field sensor system” with a ”light source for emitting a light beam”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the one or more light sources from the electro-optical modules of the modular telemetry and control units of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer, and to be adapted to output an optical or electrical signal to a device installed in the electrical grid. Walker establishes the architecture of modular opto-electronic telemetry devices used for grid monitoring. Duncan‘811 provides the optical hardware mechanics, teaching a fiber optic system comprising an LED or laser source. Describes the method of outputting this generated optical signal down an optical fiber and coupling it into a remotely located sensor assembly (device) designed to measure electrical current on the grid. Combining Walker’s modular housing architecture with the optical hardware of Duncan’811 provides a complete electro-optical module that generates and outputs an optical signal to a grid device. The motivation to incorporate an active light source within the electro-optical module (Duncan’811), is to generate a linearly polarized wavefront necessary to interrogate the garnet sensor elements in order to accurately measure the electrical current, attaining a necessary optical component for the modular telemetry platform, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 32, Duncan, teaches:
The method of claim 31 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0027]-[0034] [0039], & [0045]),
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
wherein said one or more light sources comprise one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs).
However, Duncan’811, teaches:
wherein said one or more light sources comprise one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Fig. 4; [Pg. 7, ll. 4-5], [Pg. 9, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 13, ll. 4-20], [Pg. 15, ll. 2-5], [Pg. 27, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 28, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 29, ll. 1-2] & [Pg. 32, ll. 20-21]: teaches that the light source of the fiber optic sensor system comprises an LED, “The fiber optic sensor system” (electro-optical module) “according to claim 22, wherein said light source comprises an LED light source”, which processes optical signals and interacts with the light source via “signal processing electronics”, and demonstrates a “semiconductor field sensor system” with a ”light source for emitting a light beam”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the light sources for the electro-optical modules in the telemetry system using one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs), as taught by the combination of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer. Walker and Duncan establish the opto-electronic telemetry devices used for electrical grid monitoring. Duncan’811 provides the optical hardware mechanics disclosing the light source used to emit the interrogating light beam can be an LED light source. Combining the prior art references with Duncan’811 teaching of utilizing an LED light source combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR). The motivation to utilize an LED over other light sources (such as a laser) would be to reduce the overall manufacturing cost of the modular unit, enabling a cost-effective light source option (LEDs) that is suitable for optical sensing applications of the modular telemetry platform, decrease power consumption, and increase the lifespan of the optical source deployed within the field hardware.
Regarding dependent claim 33, Duncan, teaches:
The method of claim 31 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0027]-[0034] [0039], & [0045]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein the electro-optical module further comprises one or more digital-to-analog converters, and said outputting, by the electro-optical module, the optical or electrical signal to the device comprises:
sending, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, outgoing data to the electro-optical module,
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein the electro-optical module (Fig. 1; [Col. 2, ll. 12-67], [Col. 3, ll. 1-42] & [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65]) further comprises one or more digital-to-analog converters (Fig. 3; [Col. 2, ll. 32-39], [Col. 3, ll. 4-10], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11 & 43-64], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65], & [Col. 7, ll. 1-23]: Fig. 3 illustrates the processor 120 and memory 122 with communication interface 124 and bus 126 for digital data processing, “describes a “modular opto-electronic telemetry device 100”, that includes an “analog optical conversion device 104.”, the conversion device is configured to convert “optical signals to digital facsimiles.”, and describes an “open design” to introduce “pluggable modules to address (parameters) voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurement within a common measurement system.”, indicating a versatile platform that can “be used with any optical or non-optical sensor including those that have not yet been developed” where the examples provided are “not intended to limit the scope of the present technology.”, suggesting a versatile platform that can also support the output of optical or electrical signal, where the overall system moves “the optical connection system to the digital electronic domain” and also describes moving to the “digital electronic domain” and mentions an “analog optical conversion device”, that includes an “analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electric signal to a digital signal”, the general architecture of a modular system for “automation” and “control”, indicating bidirectional conversion capabilities, to include digital to analog conversion to output electric signals), and said outputting, by the electro-optical module, the optical or electrical signal to the device comprises ([Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 61-67], [Col. 3, 18-42 & 59-67], [Col. 4, ll. 1-11, 18-26 & 43-64], [Col. 5, ll. 21-29 & 59-67], [Col. 7, II. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: microcontroller 102 with a processor 120 and memory 122, using communication interface 124 to “operatively couple and communicate between the microcontroller 102 and one or more other computing devices via a communications network.”, the system processes “optical light signals and passes them through an analog to digital conversion to produce digital electronic facsimiles.”, describes “a modular upgradable system for connection with optical sensors for voltage, current, temperature, vibration” among a variety of sensors, and an “open design which permits introduction of pluggable modules to address parameters such as voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurements within a common measurement system platform.”, the open modular design for electrical grid parameters indicates capabilities beyond just receiving and being able to control optical or electrical signal outputs back to the electrical grid):
sending, by the processor of the modular telemetry and control unit, outgoing data to the electro-optical module ([Col. 4, ll. 1-11], [Col. 5, ll. 37-52], [Col. 6, ll. 50-65], & [Col. 7, ll. 46-59]: states the “microcontroller 102” (processor) is “configured to execute one or more programmed instructions”, allowing it to generate “outgoing data”, the microcontroller communicates with the “analog optical conversion device 104” via backplane, and the “open design, which permits introduction of “pluggable modules to address voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurement) within a common measurement platform.”, indicating that the modules can transmit control data for output),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the electro-optical module with one or more analog-to-digital converters to output optical or electrical signal of the electro-optical module, to the device installed in the electrical grid, to send outgoing data to the electro-optical module, of Walker to Duncan, in order to attain the signal processing and the electro-optical conversion requirement for the sensors with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
and encoding the outgoing data to produce the optical or electrical signal.
However, Duncan’811, further teaches:
and encoding the outgoing data to produce the optical or electrical signal (Fig. 4; [Pg. 9, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 13, ll. 4-20], [Pg. 15, ll. 2-22], [Pg. 17, ll. 1-2 & 13-22], [Pg. 20, ll. 4-7], [Pg. 21, ll. 9-19], [Pg. 28, ll. 1-2], [Pg. 29, ll. 1-2] & [Pg. 32, ll. 20-21]: teaches modulating the light source to enable signal measurement, describes an “opto-electronic front end” and “LED/laser drive electronics 139”, drives the “LED/laser source 20”, and the “current command” that biases the LED/laser converts an electrical signal into an optical output, if the current command originates from digital data (after DAC conversion), represents the encoding of digital data into an optical signal, and the “output signals are sent to additional signal processing components such as analog-to-digital converters”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the electro-optical modules in the telemetry and control system with digital-to-analog-converters (DAC) in communication with the light source, adapting them to receive and encode outgoing data from the processor, as taught by the combination of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer. Duncan and Walker teach a processor that generates outgoing data (with system command sequences) to control system parameters. Duncan’811 teaches a fiber optic sensor system that utilizes an analog LED/laser light source, disclosing the use of digital-to-analog converters within the signal processing chain. Duncan’811 further teaches modulating the optical signal before it is outputted to the grid sensing device. It would have been obvious to a POSITA to route the digital outgoing data from the processor taught by Duncan through the DAC taught by Duncan’811 to produce an analog drive signal that would communicate with the light source’s drive electronics to encode the data into the outgoing optical beam. The motivation would be to use a known technique (a DAC) to allow a digital processor to modulate an analog optical transmission circuit, improving the processor’s output capability with the DACs and controllable light sources for optical sensing applications of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR) of encoding data into a transmission signal.
Regarding dependent claim 34, Duncan, teaches:
The method of claim 33 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0027]-[0034] [0039], & [0045]),
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
wherein said encoding uses a digital-to-analog converter for the electrical signal or the digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal.
However, Walker, further teaches:
wherein said encoding uses a digital-to-analog converter for the electrical signal (Fig. 3; [Abstract], [Col. 2, ll. 32-39], [Col. 3, ll. 4-10], [Col. 4, ll. 1-67], [Col. 5, ll. 1-67], [Col. 6, ll. 1-10 & 50-65], [Col. 7, ll. 1-23], [Claim 1] & [Claim 5]: Fig. 3 illustrates the processor 120 and memory 122 with communication interface 124 and bus 126 for digital data processing, “describes a “modular opto-electronic telemetry device 100”, that includes an “analog optical conversion device 104.”, the conversion device is configured to convert “optical signals to digital facsimiles.”, and describes an “open design” to introduce “pluggable modules to address (parameters) voltage, current, temperature, and vibration measurement within a common measurement system.”, indicating a versatile platform that can “be used with any optical or non-optical sensor including those that have not yet been developed” where the examples provided are “not intended to limit the scope of the present technology.”, suggesting a versatile platform that can also support the output of optical or electrical signal, where the overall system moves “the optical connection system to the digital electronic domain” and also describes moving to the “digital electronic domain” and mentions an “analog optical conversion device”, that includes an “analog to digital convertor that converts the analog electric signal to a digital signal”, the general architecture of a modular system for “automation” and “control”, indicating bidirectional conversion capabilities, to include digital to analog conversion to output electric signals)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the encoding of outgoing data uses a digital-to-analog converter for the electrical signal or a digital-to-analog converter and an LED for the optical signal, of Walker to Duncan’811 and Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), in order to improve the processor’s output capability with the DACs and controllable light sources to drive devices of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
or the digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal.
However, Duncan’811, further teaches:
or the digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal ([Pg. 13, ll. 4-8], [Pg. 17, ll. 1-2 & 15-22], [Pg. 19, ll. 9-19], [Pg. 20, II. 4-7], [Pg. 21, ll. 9-19] & [Pg. 27, ll. 1-2]: teaches that the module is adapted to use as LED as the light source to generate the optical signal and discloses the use of digital-to-analog converters within the signal processing chain, describes an “opto-electronic front end” and “LED/laser drive electronics 139”, drives the “LED/laser source 20”, based on a “current command” derived from a “common voltage”, that biases the LED/laser converts an electrical signal into an optical output, if the current command originates from digital data (after DAC conversion), represents the encoding of digital data into an optical signal, and the “output signals are sent to additional signal processing components such as analog-to-digital converters”, indicating the use of an electrical signal from a DAC to control a light source (LED) to generate an optical signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the encoding of outgoing data with electro-optical modules adapted to use a digital-to-analog converter and a light emitting diode (LED) for the optical signal, as taught by the combination of Duncan’811 to Walker, Duncan (both Duncan patents share same inventorship; Paul G. Duncan), and Zer. Duncan’811 teaches an optical sensor system architecture that utilizes an LED as the optical signal source and includes digital-to-analog converters alongside its process in the signal processing flow. Duncan in combination with Walker, teach the processor generating digital outgoing data (command sequences). It would have been obvious to a POSITA to adapt the system so that digital outgoing data is encoded via the digital-to-analog converter and the LED to produce the final optical signal output. The motivation is to utilize standard, known electro-optical interface techniques (a DAC driving an LED) to translate digital processor commands into analog optical pulses that are transmittable, and to attain the processor’s output control signals to devices of the modular telemetry platform with predictable results (KSR).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan, in view of Walker, in view of Zer, and further in view of Kanabar (NPL: M. G. Kanabar, I. Voloh and D. McGinn, "A review of smart grid standards for protection, control, and monitoring applications," 2012 65th Annual Conference for Protective Relay Engineers, College Station, TX, USA, 2012, pp. 281-289, doi: 10.1109/CPRE.2012.6201239, hereinafter Kanabar).
Regarding dependent claim 27, Duncan, teaches:
The method of claim 26 (Fig. 2; [0003] & [0015]-[0016] & [0018]), wherein the first data model to interpret the incoming data ([0039] & [0043]-[0045]: Depending upon the mode of operation, the control function will orchestrate all inter-processor communications, diagnostic functions, as well as data formatting, storage, and relaying.”, also “formats system data into a desired data communications protocol or protocols, and translates incoming formats into system command sequences.”, the signal processing function converts “physical signal(s) from sensor function to numerical representations of a measured signal.”, that is then sent to the control function as “formatted sensor data”, the act of “formatting” data into a “desired data communications protocol”, indicates defining and applying a “data model” to interpret and structure “numerical representations” (incoming data), and the processor is “under program control”, indicating execution of instructions to perform the above mentioned tasks, determining the appropriate data model)
Duncan, is silent in regard to:
comprises a semantic hierarchical data model
However, Walker, further teaches:
comprises a semantic hierarchical data model ([Col.1, ll. 20-21], [Col. 2, ll. 22-31], [Col. 3, ll. 25-42], [Col. 4, ll. 27-42 & 57-64], [Col. 5, ll. 21-36]: “modular opto-electronic telemetry device” for “monitoring critical infrastructure such as electrical grids”, using a “microcontroller” with a “processor” that applies “appropriate algorithms” to process “digital electronic facsimiles” (incoming data), the system is adapted to “connect within the “Internet of Things” while maintaining cybersecurity standards to IEEE 1686”, “standard physical interfaces and communications protocols” for “industrial, automation, condition monitoring, and utility markets”) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and adapted the processors to interpret the incoming data of a first model using a semantic hierarchical data model according to IEC 61850, of Walker to Duncan, in order to improve the signal processing and the electro-optical conversion for the sensors with modern electrical grid monitoring systems requirements, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Duncan, in combination with Walker, and Zer, are silent in regard to:
according to IEC 61850.
However, Kanabar, further teaches:
according to IEC 61850 (Figs. 2-3; [Pg. 4, Col. 2, paragraph 3], [Pg. 5, Col. 1, paragraph 3] [Pg. 7, Col. 1, paragraph 2]: teaches that IEC 61850 relies on a defined functional hierarchy and utilizes a semantic data modeling structure consisting of abstract data objects and logical nodes to represent grid information, cybersecurity standards to IEEE 1686 is a cybersecurity standard for electric power substations that is closely related to, and often implemented with IEC 61850) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated and configured the telemetry and control systems such that the first data model used to interpret incoming data comprises a semantic hierarchical data model according to IEC 61850, as taught by the combination of Kanabar to Walker, Duncan, and Zer. Walker and Duncan establish the hardware and methodological framework for a processor applying data models (algorithms and formatting protocols) to interpret incoming grid sensor data. Kanabar provides the standard protocol framework, teaching that IEC 61850 provides a highly structured “abstract data and service modeling” architecture for substation automation. Kanabar’s teaching of building larger data objects from “Common data classes” and organized them into “Logical Nodes” constitutes the “semantic data model.” Further, Kanabar, defines the functional hierarchy of IEC 61850. The motivation for a POSITA to implement the semantic hierarchical data model of IEC 61850, as taught by Kanabar, into the modular telemetry devices of Walker/Duncan/Zer is to achieve “seamless interoperability” in the diverse substation computers and intelligent electronic devices (IEDs), and to improve and ensure the cybersecurity standards for substations, for its data models, communication protocols, providing grid protection, control, and monitoring, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 03/10/2026
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 11, 2026