Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the inner gate structures recited in claim 1, 9 , 16 and 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 9 , 16 and 21 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim appears to have a typographical error " wherein each of the one or more inner gate structures has a generally concave outer edge that conforms to a generally convex inner edge of an associated inner gate spacer of the one or more inner gate spacers". The inner gate structures are formed by removing and replacing sacrificial SiGe sheets 208, 210 and 212 in paragraph [0042] fig2F. The inner gate structure will have the same shape as replaced 208, 210 and 212 as shown in fig2F. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the above limitation as "wherein each of the one or more inner gate structures has a generally convex outer edge that conforms to a generally concave inner edge of an associated inner gate spacer of the one or more inner gate spacers". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, 16-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by More et al. US 2022/0149176.
Re claim 1, More teaches an electronic device having one or more Gate-All-Around (GAA) transistors (fig1 and 17E), at least one of the one or more GAA transistors comprising:
one or more inner gate structures (100/102, fig17E, [64, 68]) having a work function metal (work function tuning layers, [64]) bounded by a gate dielectric (100, fig17E, [64]); and
one or more inner gate spacers (90, fig17E, [68]) associated with the one or more inner gate structures (100/102, fig17E, [68]),
wherein each of the one or more inner gate structures has a generally convex outer edge that conforms to a generally concave inner edge of an associated inner gate spacer of the one or more inner gate spacers (fig17E).
Re claim 2, More teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the generally convex outer edge of each of the one or more inner gate structures comprises a generally flat region terminating at upper and lower rounded corners (center region of 100/102, fig17E).
Re claim 3, More teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein: the upper and lower rounded corners have a corner rounding between about 1 nanometer to 2 nanometers (thickness of 90 of 1-5nm, fig17E, [23]).
Re claim 4, More teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the GAA transistor further comprises: a first stack of channel structures (54A/B, fig17E and 18A/B, [61]) extending between a source structure (92, fig17E and 18B, [68]) and a drain structure (92, fig17E and 18B, [68]) of the GAA transistor; and
wherein the one or more inner gate structures comprise a second stack of inner gate structures (100/102 of fig 17E on other side of fig 18A/B) associated with the first stack of channel structures, and the one or more inner gate spacers comprise a third stack of inner gate spacers (90 of fig 17E on other side of fig 18A/B) associated with the second stack of inner gate structures.
Re claim 8, More teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of: a music player; a video player; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device ([2]); a mobile device ([2]); a mobile phone ([2]); a smartphone; a personal digital assistant; a fixed location terminal; a tablet computer, a computer ([2]); a wearable device; a laptop computer; a server; an internet of things (IoT) device; or a device in an automotive vehicle.
Re claim 9, More teaches a Gate-All-Around (GAA) transistor (fig1 and 17E), comprising:
one or more inner gate structures (100/102, fig17E, [64, 68]) having a work function metal (work function tuning layers, [64]) bounded by a gate dielectric (100, fig17E, [64]); and
one or more inner gate spacers (90, fig17E, [68]) associated with the one or more inner gate structures (100/102, fig17E, [68]),
wherein each of the one or more inner gate structures has a generally convex outer edge that conforms to a generally concave inner edge of an associated inner gate spacer of the one or more inner gate spacers (fig17E).
Re claim 10, More teaches the GAA transistor of claim 9, wherein: the generally convex outer edge of each of the one or more inner gate structures comprises a generally flat region terminating at upper and lower rounded corners (center region of 100/102, fig17E).
Re claim 11, More teaches the GAA transistor of claim 10, wherein: the upper and lower rounded corners have a corner rounding between about 1 nanometer and 2 nanometers (thickness of 90 of 1-5nm, fig17E, [23]).
Re claim 12, More teaches the GAA transistor of claim 9, wherein the GAA transistor further comprises: a first stack of channel structures (54A/B, fig17E and 18A/B, [61]) extending between a source structure (92, fig17E and 18B, [68]) and a drain structure (92, fig17E and 18B, [68]) of the GAA transistor; and wherein the one or more inner gate structures comprise a second stack of inner gate structures (100/102 of fig 17E on other side of fig 18A/B) associated with the first stack of channel structures, and the one or more inner gate spacers comprise a third stack of inner gate spacers (90 of fig 17E on other side of fig 18A/B) associated with the second stack of inner gate structures.
Re claim 16, More teaches a method of forming a gate-all-around (GAA) transistor (fig1 and 17E), comprising:
forming a plurality of channel structures (54A/B, fig17E and 18A/B, [61]) between a source (92, fig17E and 18B, [68]) and a drain (92, fig17E and 18B, [68]) of the GAA transistor;
forming a plurality of inner gate structures (100/102, fig17E, [68]),
wherein each inner gate structure of the plurality of inner gate structures (100/102, fig17E, [68]) is associated with a corresponding channel structure (54A/B, fig17E and 18A/B, [61]) of the plurality of channel structures; and
forming a plurality of inner gate spacers (90, fig17E, [68]), wherein each inner gate spacer of the plurality of inner gate spacers is associated with a corresponding inner gate structure (100/102, fig17E, [68]) of the plurality of inner gate structures, and
wherein each inner gate structure is formed to have a generally convex outer edge conforming to a generally concave inner edge of a corresponding inner gate spacer (fig17E).
Re claim 17, More teaches the method of claim 16, wherein: the plurality of channel structures (54A/B, fig17E and 18A/B, [61]) is formed as a first stack of inner channel structures; plurality of inner gate structures is formed as a second stack of inner gate structures (100/102 of fig 17E on other side of fig 18A/B); and the plurality of inner gate spacers (90 of fig 17E on other side of fig 18A/B) are formed as a third stack of inner gate structures.
Re claim 21, More teaches a method of forming a gate-all-around (GAA) transistor (fig1 and 17E), comprising:
forming a multi-layer structure having alternating silicon (53 as Si, fig2B, [19]) and silicon-germanium sheets (51 as SiGe, fig2B, [19]),
wherein the silicon-germanium sheets have different interlayer layer germanium concentrations (51A-D, fig2B, [20]);
subjecting the multi-layer structure to an etching process to form etched silicon-germanium sheets (52, fig10D, [48]),
wherein the etching process employs an etchant that etches each silicon-germanium sheet at a rate corresponding to a germanium concentration of the silicon-germanium sheet (fig10D, [20, 48]);
forming inner gate spacers (90, fig17E and 11B, [68]) about the etched silicon-germanium sheets;
removing the etched silicon-germanium sheets from the multi-layer structure (98, fig16B, [61]); and
forming gate structures (100/102, fig17E, [68]) in regions of the multi-layer structure from which the etched silicon-germanium sheets were removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 13-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More et al. US 2022/0149176 in view of Zhang et al. US 2020/0066839.
Re claim 5, More does not explicitly show the electronic device of claim 4, wherein: the second stack of inner gate structures has an outer edge profile that is substantially vertical.
Zhang teaches the second stack of inner gate structures (36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]) has an outer edge profile that is substantially vertical (fig13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of More and Zhang to adjust the thickness of the gate dielectric material according to the required voltage drop. The motivation to do so is to improve integration density and design flexibility according to device application (Zhang, [3, 4]; More, [3]).
Re claim 6, More modified above teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein: the outer edge profile has a slope greater than 87 degrees (Zhang, 36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]).
Re claim 7, More modified above teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein: the outer edge profile has a slope of approximately 90 degrees (Zhang, 36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]).
Re claim 13, More does not explicitly show the GAA transistor of claim 12, wherein: the second stack of inner gate structures has an outer edge profile that is substantially vertical.
Zhang teaches the second stack of inner gate structures (36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]) has an outer edge profile that is substantially vertical (fig13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of More and Zhang to adjust the thickness of the gate dielectric material according to the required voltage drop. The motivation to do so is to improve integration density and design flexibility according to device application (Zhang, [3, 4]; More, [3]).
Re claim 14, More modified above teaches the GAA transistor of claim 13, wherein: the outer edge profile has a slope greater than 87 degrees (Zhang, 36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]).
Re claim 15, More modified above teaches the GAA transistor of claim 14, wherein: the outer edge profile has a slope of approximately 90 degrees (Zhang, 36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]).
Re claim 18, More does not explicitly show the method of claim 17, wherein: the second stack of inner gate structures has an outer edge profile that is substantially vertical.
Zhang teaches the second stack of inner gate structures (36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]) has an outer edge profile that is substantially vertical (fig13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of More and Zhang to adjust the thickness of the gate dielectric material according to the required voltage drop. The motivation to do so is to improve integration density and design flexibility according to device application (Zhang, [3, 4]; More, [3]).
Re claim 19, More modified above teaches the method of claim 18, wherein: the outer edge profile has a slope greater than 87 degrees (Zhang, 36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]).
Re claim 20, More modified above teaches the method of claim 18, wherein: the outer edge profile has a slope of approximately 90 degrees (Zhang, 36, 38 and 40 of 102, fig13, [69, 70, 71, 73]).
Claim(s) 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More et al. US 2022/0149176 in view of Wu et al. US 2023/0137528.
Re claim 22, More does not explicitly show the method of claim 21, wherein: at least one silicon-germanium sheet has an intra-layer germanium concentration that varies across a height of the at least one silicon-germanium sheet.
Wu teaches tuning etching profile of SiGe layer ([25]) with nonuniform Ge distribution along Z direction ([25]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of More and Wu to adjust the Ge concentration of the sacrificial layer as in Wu. The motivation to do so is to achieve desired etch profile (Wu, [25]) and simplify process by reducing an implantation etching tuning step.
Re claim 23, More modified above teaches the method of claim 22, wherein: the at least one silicon-germanium sheet includes: an upper region having a first germanium concentration (Wu, top CGmax, [25]), a mid-region having a second germanium concentration (Wu, middle CGmin, [25]), and a lower region having a third germanium concentration (Wu, bottom CGmax, [25]).
Re claim 24, More modified above teaches the method of claim 23, wherein: the first and third germanium concentrations have a substantially same germanium concentration (Wu, top/bottom CGmax, [25]); and the second germanium concentration is less than both the first and third germanium concentrations (Wu, middle CGmin, [25]).
Re claim 25, More modified above teaches the method of claim 23, wherein: the etched silicon-germanium sheets have a generally vertical recess profile (More, fig17D-E or 17G-H).
Re claim 26, More modified above teaches the method of claim 25, wherein: the generally vertical recess profile has a slope greater than 87 degrees (More, fig17D, or 17G).
Re claim 27, More modified above teaches the method of claim 25, wherein: the generally vertical recess profile has a slope of approximately 90 degrees (More, fig17D, or 17G).
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812