DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made to the amendment received April 14, 2026, amending Claims 1, 9, 11, 15, and 17.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “system” in Claims 1-14, “lift mechanism” in Claims 1, 5, 11, and 17, “user device” in Claims 7, 8, 13, 14, 19, and 20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
As necessitated by amendment, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer et al. DE 102022205975 A1 (hereafter Schaefer et al.) in view of Kirch FR 2633507 A1 (hereafter Kirch), Brock US 2,954,095 (hereafter Brock), Amaral et al. US 2023/0031127 (hereafter Amaral et al.), and Simplify Mechanical - “Telescopic (Hydraulic) Cylinder Working Animation” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZp0l0fSg-g, April 23, 2021 (hereafter Simplify Mechanical).
Regarding Amended Claim 1, Schaefer et al. teaches:
1. A system (cleaning device 105) comprising:
an intake (suction mouth 205);
a suction arm (cleaning tool 160 with a suction opening 160d);
a filter (filter 320);
a collection bin (storage container) downstream from the filter;
a turbine (fan 315) enclosed within an explosion-proof enclosure (see discussion below);
an explosion-proof motor (motor of fan 315 - see discussion below) enclosed within the explosion-proof enclosure, the explosion-proof motor configured to drive the turbine to create a suction force through the intake and the suction arm to force debris through the filter and into the collection bin (standard operation);
a housing (base unit 130) configured to contain the intake, the suction arm, the filter, the collection bin, and the explosion-proof enclosure including the turbine and the explosion-proof motor;
a lift mechanism (support arm 135) comprising a piston (see discussion below) attached to the housing and configured to move in an upward direction (Figure 5) and a downward direction (Figures 3 and 4) relative to the housing, the lift mechanism being designed to withstand heavy loads to enable the system to transport external components and structures (multi-stage telescopic drives 150 and 155 can be implemented to electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically change lengths of the respective arm sections 140 and 145. Device is designed to allow a loading and exchange station with “supply of interchangeable cleaning tools 160a to 160e (external components or structures), each of which can optionally be picked up and held by the holder 161 of the cleaning device 105 in order to carry out the respective type of cleaning, and then from the holder 161 can be placed back at the exchange station or elsewhere”. See discussion below regarding “designed to withstand “heavy” loads as claimed’);
a plurality of sensors (sensors 185 – multiple shown in Figure 1) disposed on the housing (Figure 1) and configured to obtain directional data, location data, and debris data (scan surroundings allowing it to move through the household 120);
one or more wheels (wheels of drive device 180); and
a controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) configured to control the wheels and the lift mechanism to move the housing based on at least one of the directional data, the location data, and the debris data (creates 3D model of household 120 allowing it to navigate)(device is an autonomous, therefore, all operation is controlled by the control device 170).
Schaefer et al. discloses a cleaning device that combines an autonomous vacuum cleaner with an articulating arm with another suction opening. The articulating arm uniquely providing the ability to clean surfaces at a significant distance from or above the floor as well as surfaces close to the floor. Schaefer et al. does not disclose provide significant detail regarding the commonly known parts inside an autonomous vacuum cleaner. For example, Schaefer et al. doesn’t disclose that the fan is attached to, or includes, a motor. Another example, he doesn’t disclose how the debris passes through the device and is collected in a storage bin. It would have been obvious common knowledge to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the Schaefer et al. device includes a motor to create suction that moves debris through the device and collects it in a storage bin because this operation is old and well known and is necessary for the device to operate as an autonomous vacuum cleaner. Additionally, Schaefer et al. discloses the operation of the device without specifically disclosing that the operation, such as navigation, image processing, and articulating arm operation, is controlled by the cited controller. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that all operation disclosed by Schaefer et al. is controlled by the controller with the motivation to operate autonomously. Lastly, Schaefer et al. discloses a number of embodiments, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments of Schaefer et al. as presented to fill in missing elements (such as the fan 315) that are obviously present in other embodiments.
The reference Amaral et al. discloses a mobile cleaning robot with an articulating arm 148, a housing 102, a vacuum system 119 to move debris into debris bin 138 for collection, and controller 108 that is part of a control system 106. In Paragraph [0029], Amaral et al. discloses “The vacuum system 119 can include a fan or impeller and a motor operable by the controller 108 to control the fan to generate airflow through the cleaning inlet 117 between the roller 118 and into a debris bin 138 (shown in FIG. 1B).”
Therefore, Amaral et al. discloses the basic features of an autonomous robot, that are not disclosed by Schaefer et al. Specifically, “the fan is attached to, or includes, a motor” is taught in Paragraph [0029]. Secondly, “debris passes through the device and is collected in a storage bin” is taught in Paragraph [0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include the necessary structure taught by Amaral et al. such as a motor to create suction that moves debris through the device and collects it in a storage bin with the motivation to include the necessary components necessary for the device to operate as an autonomous vacuum cleaner.
In Paragraph [0032], Amaral et al. discloses “The control system 106 can further include a sensor system with one or more electrical sensors, for example. The sensor system, as described herein, can generate a signal indicative of a current location of the robot 100, and can generate signals indicative of locations of the robot 100 as the robot 100 travels along the floor surface 50. The controller 108 can also be configured to execute instructions to perform one or more operations as described herein.” In Paragraph [0047], Amaral et al. discloses “The controller 108 can use data collected by the sensors of the sensor system to control navigational behaviors of the robot 100 during the mission. For example, the controller 108 can use the sensor data collected by obstacle detection sensors of the robot 100, (the cliff sensors 124, the proximity sensors 126, and the bump sensors 130) to enable the robot 100 to avoid obstacles within the environment of the robot 100 during the mission.” In Paragraph [0089], Amaral et al. discloses “In operation, the controller 108 can operate the motor 143 of the drive assembly 142 to move the arms 148a and 148b to retract the dustpan 122 when the controller 108 determines that the mobility mode should be selected.” Therefore, Amaral et al. discloses the basic features of an autonomous robot, that are not disclosed by Schaefer et al. Specifically, “the operation of the device without specifically disclosing that the operation, such as navigation, image processing, and articulating arm operation, is controlled by the cited controller” is taught in Amaral et al. Paragraphs [0032], [0047], and [0089].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include the necessary controller control taught by Amaral et al. with the motivation to completely operate autonomously as taught by Amaral et al.
The Schaefer et al. device is specifically configured for cleaning households. However, it is obvious that the articulating arm feature would be advantageous for environments other than households to clean debris from areas other than the floor. The reference Kirch discloses that it is common knowledge that “these conventional vacuum cleaners are not suitable for working in grain silos where a gaseous atmosphere is formed from the fermentation of waste, resulting in a high risk of explosion.” Kirch discloses an invention that aims to create an explosion-proof suction device, that includes an explosion-proof motor integral with a turbine, to create the suction force. The reference Brock discloses a vacuum cleaner with an explosion-proof design that includes an explosion-proof motor, explosion-proof switches, explosion-proof housing, and electrically conductive wheels that allow the device to always be grounded. Therefore, motivated to allow the Schaefer et al. device to safely operate in environments where a spark or static discharge could ignite an explosion, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include, at the least, an explosion-proof motor and an explosion-proof enclosure, in combination with the additional details taught by Kirch and Brock.
Schaefer et al. discloses multi-stage telescopic drives 150 and 155 can be implemented to electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically change lengths of the respective arm sections 140 and 145. It is common knowledge that pneumatic and hydraulic telescopic drives employ at least one internal piston inside the device, however, Schaefer et al. does not disclose the piston. Simplify Mechanical, dated April 23, 2021, discloses a video animation showing how a hydraulic cylinder operates. As shown in a snapshot of the video below, the device includes a piston that is pressurized by a fluid (or air in the case of pneumatic operation) to drive the overall length to a desired position. Therefore, as evidenced by Simply Mechanical, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the multi-stage telescopic drive taught by Schaefer et al. to be modified, if necessary, to include a piston since it is an essential component that allows fluid to extend and support the multi-stage telescopic drives at a desired length necessary for the device to operate as disclosed.
The Applicant claims that the lift mechanism must be designed to withstand heavy loads. However, “heavy” is a relative term. Therefore, the Examiner is relying on the Applicant’s Specification for determining the scope of a heavy load. The Specification states “The lift mechanism 130 is designed to withstand heavy loads and, in some implementations, is configured to lift external components and structures. For example, the lift mechanism 130 may lift pallets of components or materials, and move them to a desired location. In other implementations, the lift mechanism 130 is configured to lift the vacuum 100 so that the vacuum 100 can go above and over obstacles or other items on the floor. In other implementations, the lift mechanism 130 is configured to rise up so the suction arm 116 can reach areas with a higher elevation. The lift mechanism 130 may combine any of the foregoing implementations as required for a particular application”. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will use the underlined and boldface example for defining the claimed “designed to withstand heavy loads”. Therefore, Schaefer et al. teaches that the cited lift mechanism (support arm 135) is configured to rise up (Figure 5) so that the suction arm (cleaning tool 160 with a suction opening 160d) can reach areas with a higher elevation (shown in Figure 5) to enable the system (cleaning device 105) to transport external components and structures (external interchangeable cleaning tools 160a to 160e). Therefore, by teaching the Applicant’s example of a “heavy load, Schaefer et al. teaches the claim limitation.
Regarding Claim 2, Schaefer et al. teaches:
2. The system of Claim 1, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) is configured to move (Figures 2-5) the suction arm (cleaning tool 160 with a suction opening 160d).
Regarding Claim 3, Schaefer et al. teaches:
3. The system of Claim 2, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) moves the suction arm (cleaning tool 160 with a suction opening 160d) to debris in response to the debris data (removes cobwebs).
Regarding Claim 4, Schaefer et al. teaches:
4. The system of Claim 1, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) moves the housing (base unit 130) to debris in response to the debris data (“The cleaning devices 160 are each set up to pick up dust or other contamination from objects or surfaces in the household 120”).
Regarding Claim 5, Schaefer et al. teaches:
5. The system of Claim 1, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) is configured to control the lift mechanism (support arm 135) to move the lift mechanism in the upward direction and the downward direction (Figures 2-5).
Regarding Claim 6, Schaefer et al. teaches:
6. The system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors (sensors 185 – multiple shown in Figure 1) includes at least one of a camera, a Lidar sensor, a radar sensor, a sonar sensor, a GPS sensor, an accelerometer, or a gyrometer (“The sensors 185 may include, for example, a radar sensor, a Li-DAR sensor, a camera, a stereo camera, or an ultrasonic sensor”).
Regarding Claim 7, Schaefer et al. teaches:
7. The system of Claim 1, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) is in communication with a user device (central location 115 through communication device 190).
Schaefer et al. discloses a cleaning device that employs a communication device 190 to remotely communicate to a central location 115. Schaefer et al. does not identify that the central location is a user device, however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the central location 115 to include a user operating a device that would allow the user to provide operational direction since it is obvious that the device is incapable of autonomously making all the operational decisions without user input.
Regarding Claim 8, Schaefer et al. teaches:
8. The system of Claim 7, wherein the user device is configured to define directional parameters (see Claim 7 discussion) for the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) to control the wheels (wheels of drive device 180) to move the housing (base unit 130).
Regarding Amended Claim 9, Schaefer et al. teaches:
9. A system (cleaning device 105) comprising:
an intake (suction mouth 205);
a turbine (fan 315) enclosed within an explosion-proof enclosure (see discussion below);
an explosion-proof motor (motor of fan 315 - see discussion below) enclosed within the explosion-proof enclosure, the explosion-proof motor configured to drive the turbine to create a suction force through the intake to force debris through the intake (standard operation);
a housing (base unit 130) configured to contain the intake and the explosion-proof enclosure including the turbine and the explosion-proof motor;
a lift mechanism comprising a piston (see discussion below) attached to the housing and configured to move in an upward direction (Figure 5) and a downward direction (Figures 3 and 4) relative to the housing, the lift mechanism being designed to withstand heavy loads to enable the system to transport external components and structures (multi-stage telescopic drives 150 and 155 can be implemented to electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically change lengths of the respective arm sections 140 and 145. Device is designed to allow a loading and exchange station with “supply of interchangeable cleaning tools 160a to 160e (external components or structures), each of which can optionally be picked up and held by the holder 161 of the cleaning device 105 in order to carry out the respective type of cleaning, and then from the holder 161 can be placed back at the exchange station or elsewhere”. See discussion below regarding “designed to withstand “heavy” loads as claimed’);
a plurality of sensors (sensors 185 – multiple shown in Figure 1) disposed on the housing (Figure 1) and configured to obtain directional data, location data, and debris data (scan surroundings allowing it to move through the household 120);
one or more wheels (wheels of drive device 180); and
a controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) configured to control the wheels and the lift mechanism to move the housing based on at least one of the directional data, the location data, and the debris data (creates 3D model of household 120 allowing it to navigate)(device is an autonomous, therefore, all operation is controlled by the control device 170).
Schaefer et al. discloses a cleaning device that combines an autonomous vacuum cleaner with an articulating arm with another suction opening. The articulating arm uniquely providing the ability to clean surfaces at a significant distance from or above the floor as well as surfaces close to the floor. Schaefer et al. does not disclose provide significant detail regarding the commonly known parts inside an autonomous vacuum cleaner. For example, Schaefer et al. doesn’t disclose that the fan is attached to, or includes, a motor. Another example, he doesn’t disclose how the debris passes through the device and is collected in a storage bin. It would have been obvious common knowledge to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the Schaefer et al. device includes a motor to create suction that moves debris through the device and collects it in a storage bin because this operation is old and well known and is necessary for the device to operate as an autonomous vacuum cleaner. Additionally, Schaefer et al. discloses the operation of the device without specifically disclosing that the operation, such as navigation, image processing, and articulating arm operation, is controlled by the cited controller. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that all operation disclosed by Schaefer et al. is controlled by the controller with the motivation to operate autonomously. Lastly, Schaefer et al. discloses a number of embodiments, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments of Schaefer et al. as presented to fill in missing elements (such as the fan 315) that are obviously present in other embodiments.
The reference Amaral et al. discloses a mobile cleaning robot with an articulating arm 148, a housing 102, a vacuum system 119 to move debris into debris bin 138 for collection, and controller 108 that is part of a control system 106. In Paragraph [0029], Amaral et al. discloses “The vacuum system 119 can include a fan or impeller and a motor operable by the controller 108 to control the fan to generate airflow through the cleaning inlet 117 between the roller 118 and into a debris bin 138 (shown in FIG. 1B).”
Therefore, Amaral et al. discloses the basic features of an autonomous robot, that are not disclosed by Schaefer et al. Specifically, “the fan is attached to, or includes, a motor” is taught in Paragraph [0029]. Secondly, “debris passes through the device and is collected in a storage bin” is taught in Paragraph [0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include the necessary structure taught by Amaral et al. such as a motor to create suction that moves debris through the device and collects it in a storage bin with the motivation to include the necessary components necessary for the device to operate as an autonomous vacuum cleaner.
In Paragraph [0032], Amaral et al. discloses “The control system 106 can further include a sensor system with one or more electrical sensors, for example. The sensor system, as described herein, can generate a signal indicative of a current location of the robot 100, and can generate signals indicative of locations of the robot 100 as the robot 100 travels along the floor surface 50. The controller 108 can also be configured to execute instructions to perform one or more operations as described herein.” In Paragraph [0047], Amaral et al. discloses “The controller 108 can use data collected by the sensors of the sensor system to control navigational behaviors of the robot 100 during the mission. For example, the controller 108 can use the sensor data collected by obstacle detection sensors of the robot 100, (the cliff sensors 124, the proximity sensors 126, and the bump sensors 130) to enable the robot 100 to avoid obstacles within the environment of the robot 100 during the mission.” In Paragraph [0089], Amaral et al. discloses “In operation, the controller 108 can operate the motor 143 of the drive assembly 142 to move the arms 148a and 148b to retract the dustpan 122 when the controller 108 determines that the mobility mode should be selected.” Therefore, Amaral et al. discloses the basic features of an autonomous robot, that are not disclosed by Schaefer et al. Specifically, “the operation of the device without specifically disclosing that the operation, such as navigation, image processing, and articulating arm operation, is controlled by the cited controller” is taught in Amaral et al. Paragraphs [0032], [0047], and [0089].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include the necessary controller control taught by Amaral et al. with the motivation to completely operate autonomously as taught by Amaral et al.
The Schaefer et al. device is specifically configured for cleaning households. However, it is obvious that the articulating arm feature would be advantageous for environments other than households to clean debris from areas other than the floor. The reference Kirch discloses that it is common knowledge that “these conventional vacuum cleaners are not suitable for working in grain silos where a gaseous atmosphere is formed from the fermentation of waste, resulting in a high risk of explosion.” Kirch discloses an invention that aims to create an explosion-proof suction device, that includes an explosion-proof motor integral with a turbine, to create the suction force. The reference Brock discloses a vacuum cleaner with an explosion-proof design that includes an explosion-proof motor, explosion-proof switches, explosion-proof housing, and electrically conductive wheels that allow the device to always be grounded. Therefore, motivated to allow the Schaefer et al. device to operate in environments where a spark or static discharge could ignite an explosion, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include, at the least, an explosion-proof motor and an explosion-proof enclosure, in combination with the additional details taught by Kirch and Brock.
Schaefer et al. discloses multi-stage telescopic drives 150 and 155 can be implemented to electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically change lengths of the respective arm sections 140 and 145. It is common knowledge that pneumatic and hydraulic telescopic drives employ at least one internal piston inside the device, however, Schaefer et al. does not disclose the piston. Simplify Mechanical, dated April 23, 2021, discloses a video animation showing how a hydraulic cylinder operates. As shown in a snapshot of the video below, the device includes a piston that is pressurized by a fluid (or air in the case of pneumatic operation) to drive the overall length to a desired position. Therefore, as evidenced by Simply Mechanical, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the multi-stage telescopic drive taught by Schaefer et al. to be modified, if necessary, to include a piston since it is an essential component that allows fluid to extend and support the multi-stage telescopic drives at a desired length necessary for the device to operate as disclosed.
The Applicant claims that the lift mechanism must be designed to withstand heavy loads. However, “heavy” is a relative term. Therefore, the Examiner is relying on the Applicant’s Specification for determining the scope of a heavy load. The Specification states “The lift mechanism 130 is designed to withstand heavy loads and, in some implementations, is configured to lift external components and structures. For example, the lift mechanism 130 may lift pallets of components or materials, and move them to a desired location. In other implementations, the lift mechanism 130 is configured to lift the vacuum 100 so that the vacuum 100 can go above and over obstacles or other items on the floor. In other implementations, the lift mechanism 130 is configured to rise up so the suction arm 116 can reach areas with a higher elevation. The lift mechanism 130 may combine any of the foregoing implementations as required for a particular application”. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will use the underlined and boldface example for defining the claimed “designed to withstand heavy loads”. Therefore, Schaefer et al. teaches that the cited lift mechanism (support arm 135) is configured to rise up (Figure 5) so that the suction arm (cleaning tool 160 with a suction opening 160d) can reach areas with a higher elevation (shown in Figure 5) to enable the system (cleaning device 105) to transport external components and structures (external interchangeable cleaning tools 160a to 160e). Therefore, by teaching the Applicant’s example of a “heavy load, Schaefer et al. teaches the claim limitation.
Regarding Claim 10, Schaefer et al. teaches:
10. The system of Claim 9, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) moves the housing (base unit 130) to debris in response to the debris data (“The cleaning devices 160 are each set up to pick up dust or other contamination from objects or surfaces in the household 120”).
Regarding Amended Claim 11, Schaefer et al. teaches:
11. The system of Claim 9, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) is configured to control the lift mechanism (support arm 135) to move the lift mechanism in the upward direction (Figure 5) and the downward direction (Figures 3 and 4)(device is autonomous, therefore, all operation is controlled by the control device 170).
Regarding Claim 12, Schaefer et al. teaches:
12. The system of Claim 9, wherein the plurality of sensors (sensors 185 – multiple shown in Figure 1) includes at least one of a camera, a Lidar sensor, a radar sensor, a sonar sensor, a GPS sensor, an accelerometer, or a gyrometer (“The sensors 185 may include, for example, a radar sensor, a Li-DAR sensor, a camera, a stereo camera, or an ultrasonic sensor”).
Regarding Claim 13, Schaefer et al. teaches:
13. The system of Claim 9, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) is in communication with a user device (central location 115 through communication device 190).
Schaefer et al. discloses a cleaning device that employs a communication device 190 to remotely communicate to a central location 115. Schaefer et al. does not identify that the central location is a user device, however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the central location 115 to include a user operating a device that would allow the user to provide operational direction since it is obvious that the device is incapable of autonomously making all the operational decisions without user input.
Regarding Claim 14, Schaefer et al. teaches:
14. The system of Claim 13, wherein the user device is configured to define directional parameters (see Claim 13 discussion) for the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) to control the wheels (wheels of drive device 180) to move the housing (base unit 130).
Regarding Amended Claim 15, Schaefer et al. teaches:
15. An autonomous explosion-proof wet separator vacuum (cleaning device 105) comprising:
an intake (suction mouth 205);
a turbine (fan 315) enclosed within an explosion-proof enclosure (see discussion below);
an explosion-proof motor (motor of fan 315 - see discussion below) enclosed within the explosion-proof enclosure, the explosion-proof motor configured to drive the turbine to create a suction force through the intake to force debris through the intake (standard operation);
a housing (base unit 130) configured to contain the intake and the explosion-proof enclosure including the turbine and the explosion-proof motor;
a lift mechanism (support arm 135) comprising a suction arm (cleaning tool 160 with a suction opening 160d), the lift mechanism being attached to the housing and configured to move in an upward direction (Figure 5) and a downward direction (Figures 3 and 4) relative to the housing to enable the suction arm to access debris at different elevations (multi-stage telescopic drives 150 and 155 change lengths of the respective arm sections 140 and 145);
a plurality of sensors (sensors 185 – multiple shown in Figure 1) disposed on the housing (Figure 1) and configured to obtain directional data, location data, and debris data (scan surroundings allowing it to move through the household 120); and
a controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) configured to move the housing and the lift mechanism based on at least one of the directional data, the location data, and the debris data (creates 3D model of household 120 allowing it to navigate)(device is an autonomous, therefore, all operation is controlled by the control device 170).
Schaefer et al. discloses a cleaning device that combines an autonomous vacuum cleaner with an articulating arm with another suction opening. The articulating arm uniquely providing the ability to clean surfaces at a significant distance from or above the floor as well as surfaces close to the floor. Schaefer et al. does not disclose provide significant detail regarding the commonly known parts inside an autonomous vacuum cleaner. For example, Schaefer et al. doesn’t disclose that the fan is attached to, or includes, a motor. Another example, he doesn’t disclose how the debris passes through the device and is collected in a storage bin. It would have been obvious common knowledge to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the Schaefer et al. device includes a motor to create suction that moves debris through the device and collects it in a storage bin because this operation is old and well known and is necessary for the device to operate as an autonomous vacuum cleaner. Additionally, Schaefer et al. discloses the operation of the device without specifically disclosing that the operation, such as navigation, image processing, and articulating arm operation, is controlled by the cited controller. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that all operation disclosed by Schaefer et al. is controlled by the controller with the motivation to operate autonomously. Lastly, Schaefer et al. discloses a number of embodiments, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the embodiments of Schaefer et al. as presented to fill in missing elements (such as the fan 315) that are obviously present in other embodiments.
The reference Amaral et al. discloses a mobile cleaning robot with an articulating arm 148, a housing 102, a vacuum system 119 to move debris into debris bin 138 for collection, and controller 108 that is part of a control system 106. In Paragraph [0029], Amaral et al. discloses “The vacuum system 119 can include a fan or impeller and a motor operable by the controller 108 to control the fan to generate airflow through the cleaning inlet 117 between the roller 118 and into a debris bin 138 (shown in FIG. 1B).”
Therefore, Amaral et al. discloses the basic features of an autonomous robot, that are not disclosed by Schaefer et al. Specifically, “the fan is attached to, or includes, a motor” is taught in Paragraph [0029]. Secondly, “debris passes through the device and is collected in a storage bin” is taught in Paragraph [0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include the necessary structure taught by Amaral et al. such as a motor to create suction that moves debris through the device and collects it in a storage bin with the motivation to include the necessary components necessary for the device to operate as an autonomous vacuum cleaner.
In Paragraph [0032], Amaral et al. discloses “The control system 106 can further include a sensor system with one or more electrical sensors, for example. The sensor system, as described herein, can generate a signal indicative of a current location of the robot 100, and can generate signals indicative of locations of the robot 100 as the robot 100 travels along the floor surface 50. The controller 108 can also be configured to execute instructions to perform one or more operations as described herein.” In Paragraph [0047], Amaral et al. discloses “The controller 108 can use data collected by the sensors of the sensor system to control navigational behaviors of the robot 100 during the mission. For example, the controller 108 can use the sensor data collected by obstacle detection sensors of the robot 100, (the cliff sensors 124, the proximity sensors 126, and the bump sensors 130) to enable the robot 100 to avoid obstacles within the environment of the robot 100 during the mission.” In Paragraph [0089], Amaral et al. discloses “In operation, the controller 108 can operate the motor 143 of the drive assembly 142 to move the arms 148a and 148b to retract the dustpan 122 when the controller 108 determines that the mobility mode should be selected.” Therefore, Amaral et al. discloses the basic features of an autonomous robot, that are not disclosed by Schaefer et al. Specifically, “the operation of the device without specifically disclosing that the operation, such as navigation, image processing, and articulating arm operation, is controlled by the cited controller” is taught in Amaral et al. Paragraphs [0032], [0047], and [0089].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include the necessary controller control taught by Amaral et al. with the motivation to completely operate autonomously as taught by Amaral et al.
The Schaefer et al. device is specifically configured for cleaning households. However, it is obvious that the articulating arm feature would be advantageous for environments other than households to clean debris from areas other than the floor. The reference Kirch discloses that it is common knowledge that “these conventional vacuum cleaners are not suitable for working in grain silos where a gaseous atmosphere is formed from the fermentation of waste, resulting in a high risk of explosion.” Kirch discloses an invention that aims to create an explosion-proof suction device, that includes an explosion-proof motor integral with a turbine, to create the suction force. The reference Brock discloses a vacuum cleaner with an explosion-proof design that includes an explosion-proof motor, explosion-proof switches, explosion-proof housing, and electrically conductive wheels that allow the device to always be grounded. Therefore, motivated to allow the Schaefer et al. device to operate in environments where a spark or static discharge could ignite an explosion, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include, at the least, an explosion-proof motor and an explosion-proof enclosure, in combination with the additional details taught by Kirch and Brock.
Regarding Claim 16, Schaefer et al. teaches:
16. The autonomous explosion-proof wet separator vacuum of Claim 15, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) moves the housing (base unit 130) to debris in response to the debris data (“The cleaning devices 160 are each set up to pick up dust or other contamination from objects or surfaces in the household 120”).
Regarding Amended Claim 17, Schaefer et al. teaches:
17. The autonomous explosion-proof wet separator vacuum of Claim 15, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) is configured to control the lift mechanism (support arm 135) to move the lift mechanism in the upward direction (Figure 5) and the downward direction (Figures 3 and 4)(device is autonomous, therefore, all operation is controlled by the control device 170).
Regarding Claim 18, Schaefer et al. teaches:
18. The autonomous explosion-proof wet separator vacuum of Claim 15, wherein the plurality of sensors (sensors 185 – multiple shown in Figure 1) includes at least one of a camera, a Lidar sensor, a radar sensor, a sonar sensor, a GPS sensor, an accelerometer, or a gyrometer (“The sensors 185 may include, for example, a radar sensor, a Li-DAR sensor, a camera, a stereo camera, or an ultrasonic sensor”).
Regarding Claim 19, Schaefer et al. teaches:
19. The autonomous explosion-proof wet separator vacuum of Claim 15, wherein the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) is in communication with a user device (central location 115 through communication device 190).
Schaefer et al. discloses a cleaning device that employs a communication device 190 to remotely communicate to a central location 115. Schaefer et al. does not identify that the central location is a user device, however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the central location 115 to include a user operating a device that would allow the user to provide operational direction since it is obvious that the device is incapable of autonomously making all the operational decisions without user input.
Regarding Claim 20, Schaefer et al. teaches:
20. The autonomous explosion-proof wet separator vacuum of Claim 19, wherein the user device is configured to define directional parameters (see Claim 19 discussion) for the controller (control device 170 with processing device 175) to control the location of the housing (base unit 130).
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with amendments, filed April 14, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) of Claims 1-20 under Schaefer et al. DE 102022205975 A1 in view of Kirch FR 2633507 A1, and Brock US 2,954,095 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. However, as necessitated by amendment, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been modified to reflect the current claim language.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments, the Applicant is surprisingly unconvinced that is would be obvious common knowledge that the fan 315 of the autonomous cleaner taught by Schaefer et al. would include a motor to drive an impeller of fan blade to create a suction air flow collects debris and passes it through the device and where it is collected in a storage bin. The Applicant is also unconvinced that is would be obvious common knowledge that the control device 170 with processing device 175 of the autonomous cleaner taught by Schaefer et al. would control all operation of the device, such as navigation, image processing, and articulating arm operation. Therefore, for clarity, the rejection has been modified to include the combination with the Amaral et al. US 2023/0031127 reference that teaches it would have been obvious to modify the Schaefer et al. device to include the structure necessary for the device to operate autonomously. Failure of the device to include these obvious features that perform the intended operation would result in the inability for the device to operate as disclosed.
The Applicant’s additional argument regarding the lifting mechanism to move upward and downward and withstand a “heavy load” (relative to what?) is taught by Schaefer. Specifically, the multi-stage telescopic drives 150 and 155 can be implemented to electrically, pneumatically, or hydraulically change lengths of the respective arm sections 140 and 145. Hydraulic and pneumatic multi-stage telescopic drives are common knowledge in the prior art to include pistons (see Simplify Mechanical reference) and are employed in prior art mechanisms such as garbage trucks, cranes, jacks, to lift loads significantly larger than those expected to be necessary in the environment where the Schaefer et al. device operates. In this case Schaefer et al. teaches that the cited lift mechanism (support arm 135) is configured to rise up (Figure 5) so that the suction arm (cleaning tool 160 with a suction opening 160d) can reach areas with a higher elevation (shown in Figure 5) to enable the system (cleaning device 105) to transport external components and structures (external interchangeable cleaning tools 160a to 160e). Therefore, the device is designed to allow a “heavy” loading and exchange station with “supply of interchangeable cleaning tools 160a to 160e (external components or structures), each of which can optionally be picked up and held by the holder 161 of the cleaning device 105 in order to carry out the respective type of cleaning, and then from the holder 161 can be placed back at the exchange station or elsewhere”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723