DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the snap fit groove on the crimp probe head, as required by claims 1 and 11; the threaded holes, as required by claim 6; the base connected to one end of the second clamping portion, as required by claim 10; a bottom wall, as required by claim 14; must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l). Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well- defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(1). When an exploded view is shown in a figure which is on the same sheet as another figure, the exploded view should be placed in brackets. See Figure 9.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14 line 3, “an insertion manner” should be --the insertion manner--, per claim 11. Inline 4, “a probe” should be --the probe-- per line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 requires a threaded hole. However, this is contrary to the snap fit connection required by claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. It is unclear how the interface can have both. See also claim 16.
Claim 13 requires the crimp head structure being a non-closed structure. However, it is unclear what the term refers to. While the specification uses the term, it does not provide a definition or explanation of what’s encompassed by the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chait (US 10,938,130) in view of Liao et al. (US 8,506,318).
Regarding claim 1, Chait discloses a test clip, comprising: a clip body (12); and a base (12A) connected to the clip body, wherein the base is configured to be detachably connected to a crimp probe head to achieve an electrical connection between the crimp probe head and the clip body, wherein the base has a first inserting portion (opening receiving 16), and the first inserting portion is a jack (opening) configured to fit with the crimp probe head in an insertion manner.
Liao teaches an inner wall of the jack (30) provided with a snap-fit portion (304) configured to be snap fitted into a snap-fit groove of the crimp probe head after the crimp probe head is inserted into the jack, the snap-fit portion has, in an axial direction of the jack, a first guide slope (right side of 304) and a second guide slope (left side of 304) opposite each other, the first guide slope is configured to guide snap-fitting of the snap-fit portion into the snap-fit groove of the crimp probe head during insertion of the crimp probe head into the jack, and the second guide slope is configured to guide disengagement of the snap-fit portion from the snap-fit groove during withdrawal of the crimp probe head from the jack (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a snap-fit structure, as taught by Liao, in order to provide a more secure mechanical connection.
Regarding claim 6, to the extent that Chait and Liao does not disclose the jack being a threaded hole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a known and reliable interface, such as a threaded hole, in order to provide a secure connection.
Regarding claim 8, Chait, as modified by Liao, discloses the base being cylindrical, and the base being coaxial with the jack.
Regarding claim 9, Chait discloses the clip body connected to one end of the base (left side in Fig. 1), and the jack provided at the other end (right side) of the base and recessed toward a direction approaching the clip body.
Regarding claim 10, Chait discloses the clip body comprising a first clamping portion (bottom) and a second clamping portion (top), wherein the first clamping portion is hinged to the second clamping portion, the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion are configured to cooperate to clamp a piece under test, and the base is connected to one end of the first clamping portion or one end of the second clamping portion (intended use).
Regarding claim 11, Chait discloses a testing assembly, comprising: a test clip comprising a clip body (12) and a base (12A) connected to the clip body; a tester (14); and a crimp probe head (16) electrically connected to the tester, wherein the crimp probe head is configured to be detachably connected to the base to achieve an electrical connection between the crimp probe head and the clip body,
Liao teaches the crimp probe head (34) comprising a snap-fit groove (right of 342, Fig. 2), wherein the base has a first inserting portion (302), and the first inserting portion is a jack configured to fit with the crimp probe head in an insertion manner, an inner wall of the jack is provided with a snap-fit portion (304) configured to be snap fitted into the snap-fit groove of the crimp probe head after the crimp probe head is inserted into the jack, the snap-fit portion has, in an axial direction of the jack, a first guide slope (right side of 304, Fig. 2) and a second guide slope opposite each other, the first guide slope is configured to guide snap-fitting of the snap-fit portion into the snap-fit groove of the crimp probe head during insertion of the crimp probe head into the jack, and the second guide slope (left side of 304) is configured to guide disengagement of the snap-fit portion from the snap-fit groove during withdrawal of the crimp probe head from the jack (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a snap-fit structure, as taught by Liao, in order to provide a more secure mechanical connection.
Regarding claim 12, Liao teaches the snap-fit groove of the crimp probe head being a ring groove.
Regarding claim 13, Liao teaches the snap-fit groove of the crimp probe head being a non-closed structure in a circumferential direction of the jack (as best understood, Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Liao teaches the crimp probe head further comprising a second inserting portion (342, 344) and a probe (36), wherein the second inserting portion is configured to fit with the jack in an insertion manner, the second inserting portion has an insertion end (left side, Fig. 2) to be inserted into the jack,; and the jack has a bottom wall, and the bottom wall (32, 306) is used to abut against a part of the probe at the insertion end after the second inserting portion is inserted into the jack, so as to achieve an electrical connection between the probe and the clip body. To the extent that Liao does not disclose the probe (36) partially protruding, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the probe (instead of the bottom wall) partially protruding, in order to provide a dependable connection, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It has been held that a mere reversal of the essential parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claim 15, Liao teaches the snap-fit groove (right of 342, Fig. 2) provided on the second inserting portion (34).
Regarding claim 16, to the extent that Chait and Liao does not disclose the jack being a threaded hole, the second inserting portion having an external thread that matches an internal thread of the threaded hole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a known and reliable interface, such as a threaded connection, in order to provide a secure connection.
Regarding claim 17, Liao teaches the snap-fit portion (304) being a resilient protrusion with a curved surface (Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 18, Chait discloses the clip body further comprises a first clamping portion (top) and a second clamping portion (bottom), wherein the first clamping portion is hinged to the second clamping portion, the first clamping portion and the second clamping portion are configured to cooperate to clamp a piece under test, and the base is connected to one end of the first clamping portion or one end of the second clamping portion (intended use).
Regarding claim 20, Chait discloses the first clamping portion has a first corrugated surface, and the second clamping portion has a second corrugated surface that matches the first corrugated surface (Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chait and Liao, and further in view of LeBlanc (US 4,640,563).
Regarding claim 19, LeBlanc teaches the first clamping portion comprising two opposite connecting portions (79, 82, Fig. 10) spaced apart, and the base (60) connected to the first clamping portion via the two opposite connecting portions (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the first clamping portion with opposite connecting portions, as taught by LeBlanc, in order to provide rigidity while minimizing the amount of material used.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831