DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2022/0246533 A1, hereinafter, “Cho”).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Cho, Annotated FIG. 1)][AltContent: textbox (a first region)][AltContent: textbox (a second region)]
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses an electronic package, comprising:
a substrate (10, FIG. 1) having a first region (annotated FIG. 1 above) and a second region (annotated FIG. 1 above);
a first set of electronic components (11b, FIG. 1) mounted on the substrate (10) in the first region;
a second set of electronic components (11a+11b, FIG. 1) mounted on the substrate (10) in the second region;
an encapsulant layer (13, FIG. 1) disposed on the substrate (10) and encapsulating the first and second sets of electronic components (11a+11b);
a set of interconnect components (12, FIG. 1) disposed on the substrate (10) in the second region, and extending through the encapsulant layer (13), wherein the set of interconnect components (12) are electrically coupled to the first and second sets of electronic components (11a+11b, ¶ [0024]); and
a connector (14, FIG. 1) mounted on the encapsulant layer (13) and electrically coupled to the first and second sets of electronic components (11a+11b) through the set of interconnect components (12, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein a portion of the encapsulant layer (13) in the first region is thicker than another portion of the encapsulant layer (13) in the second region (as shown in FIG. 1, both first region and second region have different thickness).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the set of interconnect components (12) are solder balls or conductive pillars (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the connector (14) is a board-to-board connector (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses a method for making an electronic package (see Cho, FIG. 1), the method comprising:
providing a substrate (10, FIG. 1) having a first region (annotated FIG. 1 above) and a second region (annotated FIG. 1 above);
mounting a first set of electronic components (11b, FIG. 1) on the substrate (10) in the first region;
mounting a second set of electronic components (11a+11b, FIG. 1) on the substrate (10) in the second region;
mounting a set of interconnect components (12, FIG. 1) on the substrate (10) in the second region;
forming an encapsulant layer (13, FIG. 1) on the substrate (10) to encapsulate the first and second sets of electronic components (11a+11b) and the set of interconnect components (12, FIG. 1);
forming a set of openings through the encapsulant layer (13) to expose the set of interconnect components (12); and
mounting a connector (14, FIG. 1) on the interconnect components (12), wherein the connector (14) has a set of terminals (14s+14c, FIG. 1) that are aligned with the set of openings respectively, such that the connector (14) is electrically coupled to the first and second sets of electronic components (11a+11b) through the set of interconnect components (12, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses the method of claim 8, wherein before mounting the connector (14) on the encapsulant layer (13), the method further comprises: filling within the set of openings respective conductive fillers to elevate the set of interconnect components (12) to substantially above the encapsulant layer (13, FIGs. 4D and 4E).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses the method of claim 8, wherein a portion of the encapsulant layer (13) in the first region is thicker than another portion of the encapsulant layer (13) in the second region (FIG. 1; thickness of both regions varies).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the set of interconnect components (12) are solder balls or conductive pillars (FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2022/0246533 A1, hereinafter, “Cho”), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and in view of Kim et al. (US PG-Pub No. 2020/0373271 A1, hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses the electronic package of claim 1.
Cho is silent regarding that the set of interconnect components are disposed around the second set of electronic components.
Kim, however, discloses an electronic package (see Kim, FIG. 9), wherein a set of interconnect components (210, FIG. 9) are disposed around a second set of electronic components (220, FIG. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form Cho’s set of interconnect components disposed around the second set of electronic components, as taught by Kim, in order to have multiple outside connections.
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses the method of claim 8.
Cho is silent regarding that the set of interconnect components are disposed around the second set of electronic components.
Kim, however, discloses an electronic package (see Kim, FIG. 9), wherein a set of interconnect components (210, FIG. 9) are disposed around a second set of electronic components (220, FIG. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form Cho’s set of interconnect components disposed around the second set of electronic components, as taught by Kim, in order to have multiple outside connections.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2022/0246533 A1, hereinafter, “Cho”), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and in view of Vincent et al. (US PG-Pub No. 2018/0005957 A1, hereinafter, “Vincent”).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses the electronic package of claim 1.
Cho is silent regarding a shielding layer disposed over the encapsulant layer, wherein the set of interconnect components further extend through the shielding layer, and at least a portion of the set of interconnect components are not electrically connected to the shielding layer.
Vincent, however, discloses an electronic package (see Vincent, FIG. 9), comprising a shielding layer (802, FIG. 9) disposed over an encapsulant layer (202, FIG. 9), wherein a set of interconnect components (112, FIG. 9) further extend through the shielding layer (802), and at least a portion of the set of interconnect components (112) are not electrically connected to the shielding layer (802, FIG. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form a shielding layer disposed over Cho’s encapsulant layer, wherein the set of interconnect components further extend through the shielding layer, and at least a portion of the set of interconnect components are not electrically connected to the shielding layer, as taught by Vincent, in order to eliminate influence of RF radiation.
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses the method of claim 8.
Cho is silent regarding that before forming a set of openings through the encapsulant layer (13), forming a shielding layer over the encapsulant layer, wherein at least a portion of the set of interconnect components are not electrically connected to the shielding layer.
Vincent, however, discloses a method of forming an electronic package (see Vincent, FIG. 9), comprising forming a shielding layer (802, FIG. 9) over an encapsulant layer (202, FIG. 9), wherein at least a portion of a set of interconnect components (112, FIG. 9) are not electrically connected to the shielding layer (802, FIG. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form a shielding layer over the encapsulant layer, wherein at least a portion of the set of interconnect components are not electrically connected to the shielding layer, as taught by Vincent, in order to eliminate influence of RF radiation.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2022/0246533 A1, hereinafter, “Cho”) in view of Vincent et al. (US PG-Pub No. 2018/0005957 A1, hereinafter, “Vincent”), as applied to claims 6 and 9 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US PG-Pub No.: 2022/0262701 A1, hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 7, Cho in view of Vincent discloses the electronic package of claim 6.
Cho in view of Vincent is silent regarding a heat dissipation lid attached onto the shielding layer in the first region.
However, it is well-known to add a heat dissipation lid on top of a semiconductor device. For example, Chen discloses an electronic package (see Chen, FIG. 1), comprising a heat dissipation lid (210, FIG. 1) attached to a semiconductor package (FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form a heat dissipation lid attached onto the shielding layer in the first region in order to dissipate heat.
Regarding claim 10, Cho in view of Vincent discloses the method of claim 9.
Cho in view of Vincent is silent regarding attaching a heat dissipation lid onto the shielding layer in the first region.
However, it is well-known to add a heat dissipation lid on top of a semiconductor device. For example, Chen discloses a method of forming an electronic package (see Chen, FIG. 1), comprising attaching a heat dissipation lid (210, FIG. 1) to a semiconductor package (FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to form a heat dissipation lid attached onto the shielding layer in the first region in order to dissipate heat.
Conclusion
/XIA L CROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892