DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the at least one first via is in direct contact with the first pattern and extends between the first pattern and a power line extending under the substrate” in lines 13-14 (emphasis added), and “a first power line extending under the substrate” in line 16. It is unclear if the power line recited in line 13 is the same power line as recited in claim 14, or a different power line. This renders the scope of claim 1 indefinite.
Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1 and are rejected under 35 USC § 112(b) for implicitly including the indefinite subject matter above.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 1 to mean:
1. (Currently amended) An integrated circuit comprising:
a plurality of gate lines extending in a first horizontal direction over a substrate;
first, second, third, and fourth active patterns extending in a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction over the substrate;
a first pattern extending in the second horizontal direction over a region between the first active pattern and the second active pattern, wherein the first pattern is configured to receive a first voltage;
a second pattern extending in the second horizontal direction over a region between the third active pattern and the fourth active pattern, wherein the second pattern is configured to receive a second voltage;
at least one first via contacting the first pattern and electrically connecting the first pattern to one or more bodies of devices comprising at least a portion of the first active pattern or the second active pattern, wherein the at least one first via is in direct contact with the first pattern and extends between the first pattern and a first power line extending under the substrate; and
at least one second via passing through the substrate in a vertical direction, and electrically connecting the second pattern to [[a]] the first power line
Claim 11 recites “a first via passing through the substrate in a vertical direction and electrically connecting the first pattern to a first power line extending under the substrate, wherein the at least one first via is in direct contact with the first pattern and extends between the first pattern and the first power line” in lines 11-13. The term “at least one first via” lacks proper antecedent basis, rendering claim 11 indefinite.
Claims 12-17 depend on claim 11 and are rejected under 35 USC § 112(b) for implicitly including the indefinite subject matter above.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 11 to mean:
“…a first via passing through the substrate in a vertical direction and electrically connecting the first pattern to a first power line extending under the substrate, wherein the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0365509 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches an integrated circuit (figs. 6 & 7A-7B among others) comprising:
a plurality of gate lines (¶ 0030: GE) extending in a first horizontal direction over a substrate (fig. 6: plurality of GE lines extend in D1 direction over substrate SL);
first, second, third, and fourth active patterns (¶ 0022: FN1, FN2 in each region PR, NR) extending in a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction over the substrate (figs. 6, 7A: FN1/FN2 patterns extend in D2 direction over SL);
a first pattern (¶ 0081: POR2 or POR1 of layer UML1) extending in the second horizontal direction (fig. 6: POR2/POR1 extends in D2 direction) over a region between the first active pattern and the second active pattern (fig. 6: POR2/POR1 extends in D2 direction between pair of NR/FN2 patterns), wherein the first pattern is configured to receive a first voltage (¶¶ 0038, 0084: POR2 and/or POR1 configured to receive VDD and/or VSS);
a second pattern (¶ 0081: POR1 or POR2 of UML1) extending in the second horizontal direction over a region between the third active pattern and the fourth active pattern (fig. 6: POR1 or POR2 extends in D2 direction between pair of PR/FN1 patterns), wherein the second pattern is configured to receive a second voltage (¶ 0038, 0084: POR1/POR2 configured to receive VDD and/or VSS);
at least one first via (¶ 0042: UVI) contacting the first pattern (figs.6, 7B: UVI contacts POR2 or POR1) and electrically connecting the first pattern to one or more bodies of devices comprising at least a portion of the first active pattern or the second active pattern (figs. 6, 7A-7B: UVI electrically connects POR2/POR1 to body SD2 of FN2/NR device or body SD1 of FN1/PR device), wherein the at least one first via is in direct contact with the first pattern (fig. 7B: UVI in direct contact with POR2 or POR1) and extends between the first pattern and a power line extending under the substrate (fig. 7B: UVI vertically extends between POR2 or POR1 and at least LML1 of power network PON under substrate SL); and
at least one second via (¶ 0021: TVI) passing through the substrate in a vertical direction (fig. 7A: TVI vertically passes through SL), and electrically connecting the second pattern to a first power line extending under the substrate (¶ 0046 & fig. 7A: TVI electrically connects POR1 or POR2 to LML1 of PON).
[AltContent: textbox (2nd via)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Active patterns)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Active patterns)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st via)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st/2nd patterns)]
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd via)][AltContent: textbox (1st via)]
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, further comprising:
a first well (¶ 0048: WD) extending in the second horizontal direction over the substrate and overlapping the first active pattern and the second active pattern in the vertical direction (FN2 formed in well WD of first region NR, such that WD extends in direction D2 and overlaps pair of NR/FN2 patterns),
wherein the first pattern and the at least one first via are electrically connected to the first well (under device operation, POR2 and UVI electrically connected to well WD in region NR or PR).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the first well overlaps the third active pattern and the fourth active pattern in the vertical direction (FN2 formed in well WD of second region NR, and/or FN1 formed in well WD of first region PR), and the at least one second via passes through the first well (fig. 2B: TVI passes through well WD between FN2 regions or through well WD between FN1 regions).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, further comprising:
a fifth active pattern extending in the second horizontal direction over the substrate, the fifth active pattern being adjacent to the fourth active pattern (figs. 1, 2A-2C: 1st active pattern FN1 in region PR extends in D2 direction and adjacent to FN2 in region NR);
a sixth active pattern extending in the second horizontal direction over the substrate, the sixth active pattern being adjacent to the fifth active pattern (figs. 1, 2A-2C: 2nd active pattern FN1 in region PR);
a third pattern (portion BP of AC in region PR) extending in the second horizontal direction over a region between the fifth active pattern and the sixth active pattern (fig. 1: AC extends in D2 direction and between active patterns FN1), wherein the third pattern is configured to receive the first voltage (fig. 2B: BP in region PR electrically connected to ULM1 and/or ULM2); and
at least one third via (EP between regions PR) contacting the third pattern (fig. 2B: EP between FN1 electrically contacts BP) and electrically connecting the third pattern to a second power line extending under the substrate (¶ 0038 & fig. 2B: EP between FN1 electrically connects BP to second LML1 under SL; POR1 configured with voltage VDD).
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein each of the at least one second via passes through the substrate in a vertical direction between two adjacent gate lines of the plurality of gate lines (figs. 1, 2B: TVI passes through SL between adjacent GE).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein portions of the second active pattern adjacent to the at least one second via and portions of the third active pattern adjacent to the at least one first via have a same conductive type (each FN2 configured as channel regions of n-type devices, and therefore have same conductive type).
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1,
wherein the first pattern and the second pattern are in a first wiring layer closest to the plurality of gate lines (figs. 2A-2C: patterns in UML1 closest to wiring layer to GE).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki teaches an integrated circuit (figs. 6, 7A-7B) comprising:
a plurality of gate lines (¶ 0030: GE) extending in a first horizontal direction over a substrate (figs. 6, 7A-7B: plurality of GE extending in D1 direction on substrate SL);
first, second, third, and fourth active patterns (¶ 0022: at least 4 active patterns FN1 and/or FN2) extending in a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction over the substrate (figs. 6, 7A-7B: FN1/FN2 extend in direction D2);
a first pattern (¶ 0036: UML1) extending in the second horizontal direction (fig. 7A: UML1 extends in D2 direction) over a region between the first active pattern and the second active pattern (at least one UML1 extends in D2 direction between pair of FN1 and/or FN2 patterns), wherein the first pattern is configured to receive a first voltage (¶¶ 0038, 0043: UML1 comprises metal and connected to a source/drain region of an active device, and therefore is implicitly configured to receive a voltage applied to the source/drain region during device operation);
a second pattern (¶ 0020: POR1, POR2 and/or UVI) extending in the second horizontal direction over a region between the third active pattern and the fourth active pattern (fig. 7: POR1/POR2 extends in direction D2 between at least two active fins FN1 and/or FN2), wherein the second pattern is configured to receive a second voltage (POR1 electrically connected to power network POR);
a first via (¶ 0021: first TVI) passing through the substrate in a vertical direction and electrically connecting the first pattern to a first power line extending under the substrate (¶ 0021, fig. 7A: TVI passes through SL and electrically connects to LML1 of power network POR), wherein the at least one first via is in direct contact with the first pattern and extends between the first pattern and the first power line (fig. 7A: first TVI in direct contact with POR1 or OR2 of UML1 and vertically extends between POR1/POR2 and first LML1 of PON); and
a second via (second TVI) passing through the substrate in the vertical direction and electrically connecting the second pattern to a second power line extending under the substrate (fig. 7A: second TVI passes through SL and connects POR1/POR2/UVI to second LML1 of POR).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 11,
wherein the gate lines comprise first, second, and third gate lines (fig. 6: at least 3 gate lines GE),
wherein the first via passes through the first gate line in the vertical direction between the second gate line and the third gate line, which are each adjacent to the first gate line (figs. 6, 7A-7B: first TVI passes through pattern including first GE, second and third GE adjacent to first GE), and
the second via passes through the first gate line in the vertical direction between the second gate line and the third gate line (figs. 6, 7A-7B: second TVI passes through pattern including first GE in vertical direction).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 12, wherein respective portions of the first, second, third, and fourth active patterns are cut between the second gate line and the third gate line (figs. 6, 7A-7B: portions of active regions cut to form active fins FN1 and/or FN2 between second and third GE).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claim 11, further comprising:
at least one third via (¶ 0041: UVI) contacting the first pattern and electrically connecting the first pattern to one or more devices comprising the first active pattern and the second active pattern (figs. 7A-7B: at least one UVI electrically connects POR1 to active patterns FN1 and/or FN2);
and at least one fourth via (second UVI) contacting the second pattern and electrically connecting the second pattern to one or more bodies of devices comprising at least a portion of the third active pattern or the fourth active pattern (figs. 7A-7B: second UVI electrically connects POR2 to second active patterns FN1 and/or FN2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 3 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2022/0285434 A1) in view of Kang et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0358902 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Shen teaches an integrated circuit (fig. 3A among others) comprising:
a bit cell array including a plurality of bit cells (¶ 0023, 0031: 100, including array of memory cells MC); and
a peripheral region (¶ 0040: 200) including a peripheral circuit (220), wherein the peripheral region comprises:
a plurality of devices (¶ 0034: D2) over a substrate (¶ 0033, fig. 3A: D2 disposed over substrate 210);
at least one pattern (¶ 0035: 224-1 through 224-5) configured to provide a first voltage to at least one of the plurality of devices (¶ 0035: 224-1/224-5 electrically connected to gate 212b and/or source/drain 214 of devices D2, and therefore implicitly configured to provide a voltage);
at least one power line (¶ 0049: lines of power supply network in circuit structure 300) extending under the substrate (fig. 3B: 300 extends under 210); and
at least one first via (¶ 0036: TV) passing through the substrate in a vertical direction in the peripheral region (fig. 3A: TV vertically passes through 210 in 200) and electrically connecting the at least one pattern to the at least one power line (fig. 3A: at least one 224-1 through 224-5 electrically connected to 300 by TV), wherein the at least one first via extends between the first pattern and the at least one power line (fig. 3B: TV vertically extends between 224-1/225-5 and 300).
Shen does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one first via is in direct contact with the first pattern.
Kang teaches an integrated circuit (fig. 5) including a via (¶ 0041: W1’ or W2’) in direct contact with a first pattern (¶ 0052: C12 or C22) and extending between the first pattern and the at least one power line (fig. 5: W1’/W2’ vertically extends between C12/C22 and power line PR1 or PR2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the via of Shen in direct contact with the first pattern, as a means to prevent or reduce the likelihood of increasing the resistance of the power rails PR, and/or prevent or reduce the likelihood of generating electromigration (EM), e.g. movement of metal leading to open circuits and/or short circuits (Kang, ¶ 0024).
Regarding claim 20, Shen in view of Kang teaches the integrated circuit of claim 19, further comprising:
at least one second via passing through the substrate in the vertical direction and electrically connecting the at least one pattern to the at least one power line (Shen, fig. 3A: at least second TV passes through 210 and electrically connected to 300), the at least one second via being adjacent to a boundary between the bit cell array and the peripheral region (Shen, fig. 3A: second TV adjacent to boundary between 100 and 200).
Regarding claim 21, Shen in view of Kang teaches the integrated circuit of claim 19, wherein the peripheral region comprises a plurality of sub-regions respectively corresponding to a plurality of circuits included in the peripheral circuit (Shen, fig. 3A: 200 includes plurality of subregions), and
the at least one first via is adjacent to boundaries between the plurality of sub-regions (Shen, fig. 3A: first TV adjacent to boundary between subregions of 200).
Claims 4, 6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki as applied to claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of Zhou (PG Pub. No. US 2019/0199339 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuit of claims 5 and 14, comprising a first pattern, at least one first via and a substrate.
Sasaki does not teach wherein the first pattern and the at least one first via are electrically connected to the substrate.
Zhou teaches an integrated circuit (figs. 2-3 among others) wherein a first voltage (VSS) is connected to a first well in a substrate (¶ 0036, fig. 3: body of 309 and 311 connected to VSS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first pattern and the at least one first via of Sasaki to be electrically connected to the substrate, as a means to provide VSS voltage to a well, allowing for optimization of a body effect and threshold voltage control.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuits of claims 5 and 14, further comprising:
a first well (¶ 0047: well dopant WL disposed in SL) extending in the second horizontal direction over the substrate and overlapping the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth active patterns in the vertical direction (figs. 1, 2A-2C: SL, including well dopant WD, overlaps active patterns FN1 and FN2),
Sasaki does not teach wherein the first pattern and the at least one first via are electrically connected to the first well.
Zhou teaches an integrated circuit (figs. 2-3 among others) wherein a first voltage (VSS) is connected to a first well (¶ 0036, fig. 3: body of 309 and 311 connected to VSS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first pattern and the at least one first via of Sasaki to be electrically connected to the first well, as a means to provide VSS voltage to the first well, allowing for optimization of a body effect and threshold voltage control.
Claims 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Shen.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Sasaki teaches the integrated circuits of claims 1 and 11, comprising a plurality of gate lines (GE), at least one first via (UVI) and at least one second via (EP).
Sasaki does not teach wherein the plurality of gate lines comprise:
a first gate line group crossing devices included in a bit cell array; and
a second gate line group crossing devices included in a peripheral circuit, and
the at least one first via and the at least one second via are in a peripheral region comprising the peripheral circuit.
Shen teaches an integrated circuit (fig. 3A among others) including:
a plurality of gate lines (¶¶ 0034: 212a, 212b) comprising:
a first gate line group (112b) crossing devices included in a bit cell array (¶ 0023 & fig. 3A: 112b crosses devices included in cell array 100); and
a second gate line group (212b) crossing devices included in a peripheral circuit (fig. 3A: 212b crosses devices included in peripheral circuit region 200), and
at least one first via and at least one second via (¶¶ 0035-0036: 2128, TV) are in a peripheral region comprising the peripheral circuit (fig. 3A: 218, TV disposed in region comprising 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the integrated circuit of Sasaki with the gate line groups of Shen, as a means to avoid current resistance drop, voltage fluctuation and noise on the power supply network (Shen, ¶ 0030).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/25/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-17 and 19-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818