DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: G1 (mentioned in paragraph [0019]).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a passive element disposed over the electronic component,” as recited in claim 9, and “disposing a passive element over the electronic component,” as recited in claim 19, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Figures 1B, 2B, 4A and 5A show a passive element (160) disposed over the adapter (130), but do not show a passive element disposed over the electronic component (120). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“1400” should read “140” ([0024], line 2);
“electronic component 120” should read “adapter 130” ([0053], lines 2, 4, 5 and 6).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 6, 9, 10 and 12-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“comprises” should read “comprising” (claim 2, line 2; claim 3, line 2; claim 4, line 2; claim 9, line 1; claim 10, line 1; claim 12, line 2; claim 13, line 2; claim 14, line 2);
“outer lead” should read “the outer lead” (claim 3, line 4 and claim 13, line 5);
“RDL” should read “redistribution layer (RDL)” (claim 6, line 2);
“semiconductor” should read “manufacturing” (claim 13, line 1; claim 14, lines 1 and 4; claim 15, line 1; claim 16, line 1; claim 17, line 1; claim 18, line 1; claim 19, line 1; claim 20, line 1);
“device” should read “method” (claim 20, line 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 10, 11, 13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0099896 A1 (hereinafter “Shen”).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses in Fig. 28 and related text a semiconductor device, comprising:
a carrier (600 (610, 620); [0096]; note: reference numeral 600, which signifies the entirety of the leadframe carrier, is omitted from Fig. 28);
an electronic component (500d; [0103]) disposed on the carrier;
an adapter (611, 613; [0103]) disposed on the carrier;
a first metal wire (640d; [0103]) connecting the electronic component and the adapter; and
a second metal wire (640e; [0103]) connecting the adapter and the carrier.
Regarding claim 3, Shen discloses the carrier is a leadframe comprising a die pad (portion 615 of the inner lead 610; Fig. 28; [0096] and [0103]) and an outer lead (620 (the right one of the two shown in Fig. 28); [0096]), the electronic component is disposed on the die pad, the second metal wire connects (electrically) the adapter and the outer lead.
Regarding claim 7, Shen discloses the adapter does not comprise any active element and passive element ([0103]).
Regarding claim 10, Shen discloses a package body (70; Fig. 28; [0099]) encapsulating the electronic component, the adapter, the first metal wire and the second metal wire.
Regarding claim 11, Shen discloses in Fig. 28 and related text a manufacturing method, comprising:
disposing an electronic component (500d; [0103]) on a carrier (600 (610, 620); [0096]; note: reference numeral 600, which signifies the entirety of the leadframe carrier, is omitted from Fig. 28);
disposing an adapter (611, 613; [0103]) on the carrier;
connecting the electronic component and the adapter by a first metal wire (640d; [0103]);
connecting the adapter and the carrier by a second metal wire (640e; [0103]).
Regarding claim 13, Shen discloses the carrier is a leadframe comprising a die pad (portion 615 of the inner lead 610; Fig. 28; [0096] and [0103]) and an outer lead (620 (the right one of the two shown in Fig. 28); [0096]), in disposing the electronic component on the carrier, the electronic component is disposed on the die pad; in connecting the adapter and the carrier by the second metal wire, the second metal wire connects (electrically) the adapter and the outer lead.
Regarding claim 17, Shen discloses the adapter does not comprise any active element and passive element ([0103]).
Regarding claim 20, Shen discloses forming a package body (70; Fig. 28; [0099]) to encapsulate the electronic component, the adapter, the first metal wire and the second metal wire.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 9, 11, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0269805 A1 (hereinafter “Lai”).
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses in Fig. 4 and related text a semiconductor device (400; [0042]), comprising:
a carrier (70, 72A, 72B; [0043]-[0044]);
an electronic component (26; [0017]) disposed on the carrier;
an adapter (20, 22A, 22B; [0010]) disposed on the carrier;
a first metal wire (28; [0019]-[0020]) connecting the electronic component and the adapter; and
a second metal wire (74; [0044]) connecting the adapter and the carrier.
Regarding claim 6, Lai discloses the adapter comprises a silicon base (20; Fig. 4; [0010]) and a RDL (22A, 22B; Fig. 4; [0010]) formed on the silicon base.
Regarding claim 8, Lai discloses the adapter is a substrate ([0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Lai discloses a passive element (30; Fig. 4; [0021]) disposed over the electronic component.
Regarding claim 11, Lai discloses in Fig. 4 and related text a manufacturing method, comprising:
disposing an electronic component (26; [0017]) on a carrier (70, 72A, 72B; [0043]-[0044]);
disposing an adapter (20, 22A, 22B; [0010]) on the carrier;
connecting the electronic component and the adapter by a first metal wire (28; [0019]-[0020]);
connecting the adapter and the carrier by a second metal wire (74; [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Lai discloses in disposing the adapter on the carrier, the adapter comprises a silicon base (20; Fig. 4; [0010]) and a RDL (22A, 22B; Fig. 4; [0010]) formed on the silicon base.
Regarding claim 18, Lai discloses the adapter is a substrate ([0010]).
Regarding claim 19, Lai discloses disposing a passive element (30; Fig. 4; [0021]) over the electronic component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10, 11, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0128876 A1 (hereinafter “Liu”) in view of US 10,147,697 B1 (hereinafter “Hegde”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses in Fig. 3 and related text a semiconductor device (100; [0026] and [0035]), comprising:
a carrier (10; [0036]);
an electronic component (40; [0036]) disposed on the carrier;
an adapter (30; [0036]) disposed on the carrier;
a first wire (70; [0037]) connecting the electronic component and the adapter; and
a second wire (70; [0037]) connecting the adapter and the carrier.
Liu does not explicitly disclose the wires are made of metal.
Hegde teaches in Fig. 1 and related text the wires (112; col. 2, lines 58-59) are made of metal (e.g., copper).
Liu and Hegde are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Liu with the specified features of Hegde because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the wires of metal, as taught by Hegde, because of the low resistivity of metals such as copper, thereby ensuring a sufficiently short resistance-capacitance (RC) delay of signals transmitted along the wires.
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Hegde disclose the carrier is a leadframe comprising a die pad (Liu: 50; Fig. 3; [0036]) and an inner lead (Liu: 20; Fig. 3; [0036]), the electronic component is disposed on the die pad (Liu: [0036]), the semiconductor device further comprises:
a third metal wire (Liu: 70; Fig. 3; [0037]) connecting the die pad and the adapter.
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Hegde disclose a package body (Liu: 80; Fig. 3; [0038]) encapsulating the electronic component, the adapter, the first metal wire and the second metal wire.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses in Fig. 3 and related text a manufacturing method, comprising:
disposing an electronic component (40; [0036]) on a carrier (10; [0036]);
disposing an adapter (30; [0036]) on the carrier;
connecting the electronic component and the adapter by a first wire (70; [0037]);
connecting the adapter and the carrier by a second wire (70; [0037]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose the wires are made of metal.
Hegde teaches in Fig. 1 and related text the wires (112; col. 2, lines 58-59) are made of metal (e.g., copper).
Liu and Hegde are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Liu with the specified features of Hegde because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the wires of metal, as taught by Hegde, because of the low resistivity of metals such as copper, thereby ensuring a sufficiently short resistance-capacitance (RC) delay of signals transmitted along the wires.
Regarding claim 14, Liu in view of Hegde disclose the carrier is a leadframe comprising a die pad (Liu: 50; Fig. 3; [0036]) and an inner lead (Liu: 20; Fig. 3; [0036]); in disposing the electronic component on the carrier, the electronic component is disposed on the die pad (Liu: [0036]); the manufacturing method further comprises:
connecting the die pad and the adapter by a third metal wire (Liu: 70; Fig. 3; [0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Liu in view of Hegde disclose forming a package body (Liu: 80; Fig. 3; [0038]) to encapsulate the electronic component, the adapter, the first metal wire and the second metal wire.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 10, 11, 15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0157304 A1 (hereinafter “Chiou”) in view of Hegde.
Regarding claim 1, Chiou discloses in Figs. 2A-2B and related text a semiconductor device (200; [0024]), comprising:
a carrier (222, 228; [0025]);
an electronic component (210; [0025]) disposed on the carrier;
an adapter (224, 226; [0025]) disposed on the carrier;
a first wire (230; [0026]) connecting the electronic component and the adapter; and
a second wire (240; [0026]) connecting the adapter and the carrier.
Chiou does not explicitly disclose the wires are made of metal.
Hegde teaches in Fig. 1 and related text the wires (112; col. 2, lines 58-59) are made of metal (e.g., copper).
Chiou and Hegde are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chiou with the specified features of Hegde because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the wires of metal, as taught by Hegde, because of the low resistivity of metals such as copper, thereby ensuring a sufficiently short resistance-capacitance (RC) delay of signals transmitted along the wires.
Regarding claim 5, Chiou in view of Hegde disclose the adapter surrounds the electronic component (Chiou: Fig. 2A; [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Chiou in view of Hegde disclose the adapter does not comprise any active element and passive element (Chiou: [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Chiou in view of Hegde disclose a package body (Chiou: 250; Fig. 2B; [0026]) encapsulating the electronic component, the adapter, the first metal wire and the second metal wire.
Regarding claim 11, Chiou discloses in Figs. 2A-2B and related text a manufacturing method, comprising:
disposing an electronic component (210; [0025]) on a carrier (222, 228; [0025]);
disposing an adapter (224, 226; [0025]) on the carrier;
connecting the electronic component and the adapter by a first wire (230; [0026]);
connecting the adapter and the carrier by a second wire (240; [0026]).
Chiou does not explicitly disclose the wires are made of metal.
Hegde teaches in Fig. 1 and related text the wires (112; col. 2, lines 58-59) are made of metal (e.g., copper).
Chiou and Hegde are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device packages and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chiou with the specified features of Hegde because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the wires of metal, as taught by Hegde, because of the low resistivity of metals such as copper, thereby ensuring a sufficiently short resistance-capacitance (RC) delay of signals transmitted along the wires.
Regarding claim 15, Chiou in view of Hegde disclose in disposing the adapter on the carrier, the adapter surrounds the electronic component (Chiou: Fig. 2A; [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, Chiou in view of Hegde disclose the adapter does not comprise any active element and passive element (Chiou: [0025]).
Regarding claim 20, Chiou in view of Hegde disclose forming a package body (Chiou: 250; Fig. 2B; [0026]) to encapsulate the electronic component, the adapter, the first metal wire and the second metal wire.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or suggest “the adapter bridges the die pad and the inner lead” as recited in claims 2 and 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0080991 A1 discloses a packaged semiconductor device comprising a lead frame including a flag having a top surface and a bottom surface, a redistribution layer (RDL) structure formed on the top surface of the flag, the RDL structure including a first connection path having a first exposed bonding surface in a top surface of the RDL structure, and a first bonding wire connected to the first exposed bonding surface and to a lead of the lead frame.
/PETER M ALBRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811