DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 1/16/2026.
Claims 1-15 are pending, Claims 12-15 are withdrawn, and Claims 1-11 have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 5 recites “zone (10)”. Applicant appears to have amended to claims to remove reference numbers but “(10)” appears accidentally omitted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Engesser et al. (US 2017/0172371 A1)
Re claim 1, Engesser discloses a conveyor warewasher for cleaning washware (abstract), wherein the conveyor warewasher comprises
at least one washing zone (see fig. 1 at refs. 166, 170) and at least one rinsing zone (see fig. 1 at refs. 174, 178) as well as a conveyor apparatus (ref. 118) for conveying the washware through the at least one washing zone and the at least one rinsing zone, characterized in that
the conveyor warewasher has a camera system (ref. 212, ¶ [0126]), which is arranged above or below or to the side of the conveyor apparatus and is adapted to capture at least one image of a portion of the conveyor apparatus, wherein an image processing device (ref. 194) is associated with the camera system that is adapted to determine a location, position, and/or orientation of washware items present in the at least one captured image (¶ [0025], [0126], [0130], [0137] detect…position of articles to be cleaner; detect…incorrect occupancy), wherein an evaluation device (ref. 194, ¶ [0137]) is further provided that is adapted to determine based on the determined location, position, and/or orientation of the washware items whether, at the time of the image capture, washware items are present in the portion of the conveyor apparatus that:
i) are transported incorrectly oriented by the conveyor apparatus (¶ [0126], [0130], [0137] detect…incorrect occupancy…incorrectly arranged); and/or
ii) are transported misaligned by the conveyor apparatus.
Re claims 4-6, Regarding “wherein the conveyor warewasher comprises a control device adapted to output an error or warning message to the washing personnel associated with the conveyor warewasher and/or to the operator of the conveyor warewasher, if it is determined by the evaluation device that at the time of image capture in the portion of the conveyor apparatus: -at least one incorrectly oriented washware item is transported by the conveyor apparatus; and/or -a predetermined or fixed (minimum) number of incorrectly oriented washware items are transported by the conveyor apparatus; and/or -at least one misaligned washware item is transported by the conveyor; and/or a pre-determined or fixed (minimum) number of misaligned washware items are transported by the conveyor apparatus”, Engesser further discloses an error or warning message (¶ [0137] output a warning to the user). Re claim 5, Engesser further discloses stopping (¶ [0137] stop…in the short-term in order to give the user the opportunity to correct the incorrect occupancy). Re claim 6, Engesser further discloses a control device (ref. 194) adapted to activate or deactivate an additional washing system in the at least one washing zone (¶ [0137] nozzle units can be activated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engesser et al. (US 2017/0172371 A1) in view of Scheringer et al. (US 2023/0012018 A1).
Re claims 2-3, Engesser disclose as shown above and further disclose wherein the evaluation device is adapted to determine whether washware item parts are present in the portion of the conveyor apparatus at the time of image capture that are transported incorrectly oriented by the conveyor apparatus (¶ [0126], [0130], [0137] detect…incorrect occupancy…incorrectly arranged)); and/or that are transported misaligned by the conveyor apparatus, but does not explicitly disclose based on training data.
However, Scheringer teaches it is very well-known in the image detection in cleaning art (abstract) to provide evaluation based on training data (¶ [0049], [0065] artificial intelligence may be trained for different washware situations….at least one artificial neural network). Re claim 3, Regarding “wherein the evaluation device is adapted to determine, based on a comparison of at least portions of the at least one captured image using training images captured during a learning phase, whether washware items are present in the portion of the conveyor apparatus at the time of image capture that are transported incorrectly oriented by the conveyor apparatus; and/or that are transported misaligned by the conveyor apparatus”, Scheringer teaches a learning phase (¶ [0049], [0065] neural network…self-learning system.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the evaluation device of Engesser to further be based on training data, as suggested by Scheringer, in order to increase accuracy and flexibility of the sensor/camera detection.
Re claims 9-10, Regarding “pre-process the at least one image capture by the camera system, to segment the pre-processed image, and to extract features of, and to classify, objects contained in the images contained in the image, wherein the image processing device is further adapted to extract a location, position, and/or orientation of the washware items in the portion of the as a feature of the washware items in the image, and wherein the image processing device is further adapted to classify the washware items based on the extracted location, position, and/or orientation of the washware items in the portion of the conveyor apparatus , namely into: a) a first class comprising washware items whose orientation does not correspond to a predetermined or predeterminable orientation; and/orb)a second class comprising washware items whose orientation corresponds to a predetermined or predeterminable orientation; and/or c) a third class comprising washware items whose alignment does not correspond to a predetermined or predeterminable alignment; and/or d) a fourth class comprising washware items whose alignment corresponds to a predetermined or predeterminable alignment conveyor apparatus”, Engesser and/or Scheringer further discloses extracting and classify the location, position and/or orientation (Engesser ¶ [0025], [0037] position of the articles…incorrectly occupied; Scheringer (¶ [0036] position and/or orientation). Examiner notes the creation of multiple classification of incorrect positions and/or orientation is prima facie obvious in neural network created identification profiles to enable identifying multiple incorrect operational states.
Re claim 11, Regarding " wherein the orientation of a washware item corresponds to the predetermined orientation when the washware item is transported upside-down by the conveyor apparatus; and/or wherein the orientation of a washware item corresponds to the predetermined alignment when the washware item is aligned upside down with respect to the conveyor apparatus”, this limitation appears to be an intended use of the claimed conveyor warewasher, so long as the warewasher of Engesser/Scheringer is capable of transporting washware items upside-down, the limitation is met. See MPEP 2114. See also Engesser fig. 1, glasses 114 appear to be transported upside-down.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engesser et al. (US 2017/0172371 A1) in view of Smith et al. (US 2023/0375991 A1).
Re claims 7-8, Engesser discloses as shown above, but does not explicitly disclose a control device adapted to -during an observation phase over an observation period, relates to a washing shift or a washing day of the conveyor warewasher, to determine a development over time of the incorrectly oriented and/or misaligned washware items determined by the evaluation device, and to infer a pattern or a regularity based on the determined development over time; and/or -during an observation phase over an observation period, which relates to a washing shift or a washing day of the conveyor warewasher, to generate statistics on the type and/or timing of the incorrectly oriented and/or incorrectly aligned washware items. However, Smith discloses it is well-known in the warewasher monitoring art (abstract) to provide a control device (ref. 202 processor ¶ [0042]-[0043]) to perform statistical analysis of anomalous operations detected over time, in order to identify root causes or provide remedial actions and enhance predicted states (¶ [0035]-[0036]). Re claim 8, Smith further discloses notification (¶ [0047] Reporting module 216 may generate one or more notifications or reports).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify control device of Smith to further include statistical analysis of the incorrect/anomalous events, as suggested by Engesser, in order to determine root causes and remedial actions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 3505039 A1 note detection for upside down/correct orientation.
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711