Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 8/4/2025 is acknowledged.
Examiner’s Comment
Examiner notes that claim 7 in particular is replete with issues (see 112s below).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: in Figure 1, “36” is not identified in the specification. Examiner has identified camera system 34 and image processing device 35. Would this be the control device in view of [0063]?. Additionally, the originally-filed claims appear to assign “36” to the control device. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner has applied 112(f) interpretation to the following:
device for sensing (claim 1): a camera system (see Applicant’s Figure 1, camera system 34. [0030]. refer to claim 8)
control device (claim 1): a controller, processor, microcomputer, etc. as understood in the art that would be capable of logic (see Applicant’s [0063]-[0066])
evaluation device (claim 8): image processor (see Applicant’s Figure 1, image processing device 35. [0059])
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9-10 objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite instances of “characterized in that”. This should be followed by a colon. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-11 objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite instances of “configured in order to”, which should be “configured to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 6, “which device” should be “said device for sensing”. This should be followed by a colon. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: on 2, “average loading level” should be “determined average loading level” to be correspond with claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: on lines 3-4, the terms “remaining load capacity” and “remaining loading capacity” are used. The “load/loading” usage should be consistent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 3, “the end” should be “an end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 6, “the treatment” should be “treatment”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 7, “at least one measure influencing the quality of a washing liquid” should be “at least one first measure influencing quality of a washing liquid”. Examiner notes that dependent claims 5-7 would need to account for this. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: the various measures should be introduced with “a” or “an”, rather than “the”. For example, on line 4, “the temperature” should be “a temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 1, remove the numbering “(1)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: on lines 6-7, “wash nozzle” should be “washing nozzle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 9, “which screen” should be rephrased (e.g. “said tank cover screen”, etc.). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 8, “the image capture” should be “the capture” or “the capture of the at least one image”. This should be followed by a colon. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: on lines 6-7, “the washing personnel” and “the operator” should be “washing personnel” and “an operator”, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the treatment zones" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 introduces at least one washing zone and at least one rinsing zone.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the observation period" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 introduces “at least one observation period” and “a plurality of observation periods” in the second clause.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the determined average loading level" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the remaining loading capacity of the conveyor apparatus corresponding to the second relative value" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 introduces “a remaining load capacity of the conveyor apparatus” on line 3, which appears to be distinct due to the absence of mentioning any relative value.
Claim 4 recites “a washing liquid” on line 11, but this term had already been introduced on line 7. Depending on Applicant’s intentions, Applicant must amend to account for this, either referring back to the previously introduced washing liquid, or introducing a distinct second washing liquid.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the measure influencing the treatment of the washware” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 introduces at least one first measure and at least one second measure influencing the treatment of the washware.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the rinsing liquid" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 introduces a washing liquid.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the measure influencing the quality of the washing liquid” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 introduces at least one measure and at least one second measure influencing the quality of the washing liquid.
Claim 7 is narrative in form and requires additional spacing/indentations.
Claim 7 appears to introduce two soil discharge systems. Applicant must not reuse the same term.
Claim 7 recites “which system” on line 14, but antecedent basis has been established for multiple systems, including a washing system, a nozzle system, two soil discharge systems, etc.
Claim 7 recites phrasings “in particular as needed” and “if necessary at delay”. The language must be removed, as it appears to be exemplary and/or ambiguous.
Claim 9 recites “a control device” on line 4, but this structural element had already been introduced in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “it on line 7. This must be clarified/replaced.
Claim 10 recites “a control device” on line 4, but this structural element had already been introduced in claim 1.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the loading level" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “it” on line 3. This must be clarified/replaced.
Claim 11 recites “a recommendation for optimized operation of the conveyor warewasher with regard to the cleaning efficiency”. This appears to be relying on relative terminology, particularly the use of the terms “optimized” and “cleaning efficiency”. Applicant must further clarify via argument and/or amendment.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 10 appears to be encompassed by the last clause of claim 1 (e.g. the “create statistics” aspect is optional). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaus (US 20210267431) in view of McGinness et al. (US 20210369076, “McGinness”).
Gaus teaches a cleaning system comprising:
For Claim 1:
A conveyor warewasher for cleaning washware, wherein the conveyor warewasher comprises at least one washing zone and at least one rinsing zone and a conveyor apparatus for conveying washware through the at least one washing zone and the at least one rinsing zone, wherein the conveyor warewasher comprises a device for sensing a loading of the conveyor apparatus, which device is configured in order to determine a loading of the conveyor apparatus with the washware to be conveyed through the treatment zones of the conveyor warewasher (see Figure 1, washing zone 124, main cleaning nozzle system 126, rinsing zone 130, rinsing nozzle system 130, second conveying apparatus 148, sensor 160. [0005], [0042], [0044], [0056]-[0060], [0118]),
characterized in that
the conveyor warewasher comprises a control device, which is configured in order to, during a learning or observation phase over at least one observation period or over a plurality of observation periods each relating to a washing shift or a washing day of the conveyor warewasher or a portion thereof, determine a chronological profile of the loading of the conveyor apparatus with washware to be conveyed through the treatment zones of the conveyor warewasher, wherein the control device is further configured in order to deduce a pattern or a regularity based on the determined chronological profile of the loading of the conveyor apparatus with washware ([0005], [0042], [0044], [0056]-[0060], [0068], [0118]). Gaus teaches using a controller and sensor to characterize utilization/peak loads, and to factor in times of the day or days of the week.
If challenged regarding particulars of the control device regarding the observation periods and profile, Examiner further refers to McGinness who teaches using default cleaning cycles and short cleaning cycles, and to monitor average number of racks cleaning cycles per day by hour of day (see McGinness’ Figures 5-8, [0042]-[0043], [0074]-[0089]). McGinness teaches using the short cleaning cycle in response to peak times to condense timeframe while also ensuring adequate cleaning/sanitizing.
Both Gaus and McGinness effectively teach observing peak or high utilization times/rates, and then responding accordingly.
Modified Gaus also teaches the following:
For Claim 2:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 1,
wherein the control device is further configured in order to divide the observation period relating to a washing shift or a washing day of the conveyor warewasher or a portion thereof into a first sub-period and into at least one further second sub-period, wherein, in the first sub-period of the observation period, the determined average loading level of the conveyor apparatus with the washware corresponds to a first relative value or falls within a first relative value range, and wherein, in the at least one second sub-period of the observation period, the determined average loading level of the conveyor apparatus with the washware corresponds to a second relative value or falls within a second relative value range (see Gaus’ [0042], [0056]. see McGinness’ Figures 5-8, [0042]-[0043], [0074]-[0089]). Both Gaus and McGinness are characterizing peak/high utilization rates and times, and rely on using threshold values (see MPEP 2144.05, “Routine Optimization”).
For Claim 3:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 2,
wherein the first relative value of the average loading level of the conveyor apparatus corresponds to a remaining load capacity of the conveyor apparatus that is greater than the remaining loading capacity of the conveyor apparatus corresponding to the second relative value of the average loading level of the conveyor apparatus (refer to claim 2 rejection).
For Claim 4:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 2,
wherein the control device is further configured in order to initiate, for the first sub-period, after the end of the learning or observation phase, at least one first measure influencing the treatment of the washware in the treatment zones of the conveyor warewasher and/or at least one measure influencing the quality of a washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone of the conveyor warewasher and to initiate, for the at least one second sub-period, at least one second measure influencing the treatment of the washware in the treatment zones of the conveyor warewasher and/or at least a second measure influencing the quality of a washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone of the conveyor warewasher (see Gaus’ [0069]. See McGinness’ [0043]).
For Claim 5:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 4,
wherein the measure influencing the treatment of the washware in the treatment zones of the conveyor warewasher is at least one of the measures listed below (refer to claim 4 rejection. see Gaus’ [0069]. see McGinness’ [0043]). Examiner notes that claim 4 renders this optional:
increasing or decreasing the temperature of the rinsing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one rinsing zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the pressure of the rinsing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one rinsing zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the amount of rinsing liquid sprayed per unit of time in the at least one rinsing zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the temperature of the washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the pressure of the washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the amount of washing liquid sprayed per unit time in the at least one washing zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the pressure of drying air to be sprayed in an optional drying zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the temperature of drying air to be sprayed in an optional drying zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the amount of drying air sprayed per unit time in an optional drying zone; and/or
increasing or decreasing the conveying speed of the conveyor apparatus.
For Claim 6:
The conveyor warewasher (1) according to claim 4,
wherein the measure influencing the quality of the washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone of the conveyor warewasher is at least one of the measures listed below (refer to claim 4 rejection). Examiner notes that claim 4 renders this optional:
increasing or decreasing a regeneration of the washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone of the conveyor warewasher;
increasing or decreasing a dirt-carrying capacity of the washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone; and/or
activating or deactivating a dirt discharge from the washing liquid to be sprayed in the at least one washing zone.
For Claim 8:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 1,
wherein the device for sensing a loading of the conveyor apparatus comprises a camera system, which is arranged above or below or to the side of the conveyor apparatus and is configured in order to capture at least one image of a region of the conveyor apparatus continuously or at predetermined or determinable times and/or events, wherein an evaluation device is further provided, which is configured in order to evaluate and determine whether, at the time of the image capture, washware-free regions are present in the region of the conveyor apparatus, and/or what the loading level of the conveyor apparatus is (see Gaus’ Figure 1, sensor 160. [0059]). If argued that the controller performs the image processing rather than a distinct device/processor, Examiner considers using a separate device which still interacts with the controller to perform the same collective functionality as the obvious act of making separable (see MPEP 2144.04, “Making Separable”).
For Claim 9:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 1,
characterized in that
the conveyor warewasher comprises a control device, which is configured in order to output a notification to the washing personnel assigned to the conveyor warewasher and/or to the operator of the conveyor warewasher, when it is determined by the device for sensing a loading of the conveyor apparatus that a current or average loading level of the conveyor apparatus is above or below a predetermined or determinable loading level of the conveyor apparatus (see McGinness’ [0055], [0065]-[0067]). McGinness teaches notifications for the short cleaning cycle.
For Claim 10:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 1,
characterized in that
the conveyor warewasher comprises a control device, which is configured in order to determine a chronological profile of the loading of the conveyor apparatus with washware to be conveyed through the treatment zones of the conveyor warewasher and/or to create statistics about the loading level of the conveyor apparatus (refer to 112(d) rejection. refer to claim 1 rejection. see McGinness’ [0055], [0065]-[0067]).
For Claim 11:
The conveyor warewasher according to claim 10,
wherein the control device is further configured in order to generate a corresponding notification and/or output it to the operator of the conveyor warewasher depending on the determined chronological profile and/or the statistics created, wherein the notification contains a recommendation for optimized operation of the conveyor warewasher with regard to the cleaning efficiency (see McGinness’ [0055], [0065]-[0067]).
Conclusion
/MARC LORENZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718